Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 10/01/25 is acknowledged. Currently, claims 13-20 are withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein an axial direction of the first winding is orthogonal to an axial direction of the second winding” in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishii (JP 2002261534).
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses in Figure 3, 1n antenna device comprising:
an antenna circuit having a first inductor (321) that includes a first winding and a core (320) inside the first winding; and
a resistance circuit having a second inductor (311, 321) and that is electrically connected to the antenna circuit, wherein the second inductor has a second winding that forms an air-core coil (310), and
wherein the second winding includes a first winding portion (311) and the second winding portion (321) that are aligned in an axial direction of the air-core coil (310).
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Ishii discloses in Figure 3, wherein the air-core coil comprises the second winding wound (321, 311) with a space therebetween.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (JP 2002261534).
Regarding claim 2, Ishii discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1, except for the second winding having a resistivity greater than a resistivity of the first winding. However, such difference is not patentable merit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to set the resistivity of the first winding and second winding to optimize performance of the antenna device. Therefore, to employ having the second winding coil as claim invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Claims 3, 8 and 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (EP 2093833) in view of Ishii (JP 2002261534).
Regarding claim 3, Ueda discloses in Figure 1, an antenna device comprising:
an antenna circuit having a first inductor (2) that includes a first winding (20) and a core (3) inside the first winding; and
a resistance circuit having a second inductor (10c) and that is electrically connected to the antenna circuit, wherein the second inductor (10c) has a second winding that forms an air-core coil (10),
wherein the second winding (10c) has a number of turns that is less than a number of turns of the first winding (20).
Ueda does not disclose the second winding includes a first winding portion and the second winding portion that are aligned in an axial direction of the air-core coil.
Ishii disclose 3, the second winding includes a first winding portion (311) and the second winding portion (321) that are aligned in an axial direction of the air-core coil (310).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the second winding of Ueda with the second winding as taught by Ishii to adjust inductance for the second winding and achieve desired resonance frequency for the antenna device. Therefore, to employ having the second winding as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Ueda discloses in Figure 5, wherein the antenna circuit has a capacitor (34) electrically connected to the first inductor.
Regarding claim 11, as applied to claim 1, Ueda discloses in Figure 5, further comprising
first and second connection terminals (8, 9) electrically connected to an antenna drive circuit (32, 33, Fig. 5), the antenna circuit and the resistance circuit electrically connected between the first and second connection terminals.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (JP 2002261534) in view of Takeuchi (JP 2002245416).
Regarding claim 4, Ishii discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1, except for an axial direction of the first winding orthogonal to an axial direction of the second winding.
Takeuchi discloses in Figure 18, an axial direction of the first winding (81) orthogonal to an axial direction of the second winding (82).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the axial directions of the first and second windings of Ishii with the axial directions as taught by Takeuchi to shift the phase of magnetic flux of the first winding and the second winding and to reduce mutual interference. Therefore, to employ having the axial axis as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845