DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I invention (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 11/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-14 are thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on11/06/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 7-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Takashi et al (JP2021/126636A) (for applicant’s convenience, machine translation has been used hereof for citations) in view of Taira (JP2016/147256) (applicant provided machine translation has been used hereof for citations).
Takashi et al teaches an exhaust gas purification catalyst device having a substrate, and a front-side catalyst coating layer and a rear-side catalyst coating layer on the substrate, wherein the front-side catalyst coating layer has a length from an upstream end of the substrate in the exhaust gas flow direction that is 10% to 90% of the length of the substrate (i.e. substrate having a length of Ls between the upstream end and the downstream end), and the rear-side catalyst coating layer has a length from a downstream end of the substrate in the exhaust gas flow direction that is 10% to 90% of the length of the substrate, the front-side catalyst coating layer contains a catalytic precious metal and inorganic oxide particles that are substantially free of an OSC (oxygen storage capacity) material, and the rear-side catalyst coating layer contains a catalytic precious metal and inorganic oxide particles that include an OSC material, and the catalytic precious metal contained in the front-side catalyst coating layer and the rear-side catalyst coating layer includes Rh and is substantially free of catalytic precious metals other than Rh (claim 1, para. [0012]-[0018], example 1-3). Takashi et al further teaches the inorganic oxide particles in the front-side catalyst coating layer may be particles composed of one or more selected from, for example, alumina, silica, silica alumina, zeolite, titania, zirconia, oxides of rare earth elements other than ceria, and composite oxides thereof, specifically alumina and zirconia (para. [0027], [0079]) and the rear-side inorganic oxide particles can be ceria or ceria-zirconia composite oxide (para. [0037], [0038], [0078]). Hence, Takashi et al. disclosed rear-side catalyst coating layer having a cerium content based on volume capacity of the substrate in the rear-side substrate being higher than the front-side catalyst coating layer cerium content based on volume capacity of the substrate in the front-side substrate (see also claim 8’s explanation).
It is noted that Takashi et al disclosed front-side catalyst coating layer reads onto the instantly claimed a second catalyst layer, since such front-side catalyst coating layer has a length from an upstream end of the substrate in the exhaust gas flow direction that is 10% to 90% of the length of the substrate, therefore such front-side catalyst layer extending across a second region, the second region being at a second distance (Lb) from the upstream end toward the downstream end as that of instantly claimed. Similarly, Takashi et al. disclosed rear-front side catalyst coating layers reads onto the instantly claimed a first catalyst layer, since such rear-front side catalyst layer has a length from a downstream end of the substrate in the exhaust gas flow direction that is 10% to 90% of the length of the substrate, therefore, such rear-front side catalyst having a first region extending between the downstream and a first position, the first position being at a first distance (La) from the downstream end toward the upstream end as that of instant claimed.
Regarding claim 1, Takashi et al. does not expressly teach a mean particle size distribution of the rhodium particles of rear side catalyst coating layer being from 1.5 nm to 18 nm.
Taira teaches noble metal particles selected from the group consisting of platinum, palladium and rhodium supported onto one or more oxides selected from the group consisting of titanium oxide, zirconium oxide and cerium oxide having an average particle size within a range of 2.5 nm to 4.0 nm and having a deviation of ±0.4 nm (claim 10, para. [0016], [0024], [0025], table 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such particle size distribution (with such deviation) of noble metal particle size as shown by Taira to modify rhodium particles of rear side catalyst coating layer in the exhaust gas purification device of Takashi et al. because by doing so can help provide rhodium particles being finely dispersed onto oxide support and aggregation is suppressed as suggested by Taira (para. [0025]). Furthermore, adopting such well-known particle size distribution of noble metal particles (e.g. rhodium particles) to modify a well-known rhodium particles of rear side catalyst coating layer in an exhaust gas purification catalyst for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
Regarding claim 2, Taira already teaches such limitation has discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, Takashi et al. further teaches the rear side catalyst coating layer having a dry mass of 120 gram, metal equivalent Rh of 0.2 gram (para. [0079]-[0080], example 1-3), such catalyst coating layer having a rhodium amount based on the total amount of the metal oxide carrier and such rhodium particles being within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, Takashi et al. also teaches the front side catalyst coating layer length being 20% to 80% of the length of the substrate, while the rear side catalyst coating layer being 20% to 80% of the length of the substrate (claim 2), therefore, Takashi et al. suggests the substrate length Ls, first distance (La)-i.e. rear side catalyst coating layer distance, second distance (Lb)- i.e front side catalyst coating layer distance having La+Lb range from 40% to 160% of substrate length, such ratio overlapping with that of instantly claimed La+Lb range ( i.e. Ls<La+Lb≤1.2 Ls) thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 8, Takashi et al. already teaches the front side catalyst coating layer contains a catalytic precious metal and inorganic oxide particles that are substantially free of an OSC (oxygen storage capacity) material, wherein such inorganic oxide particles being "substantially free of OSC material" means that the
amount of OSC material relative to the total amount of inorganic oxide particles in the front side catalyst coating layer is, for example, 5 mass% or less, 3 mass% or less, 1 mass% or less, specifically 0% (para. [0025], example 1-3), while the amount of the OSC material in the rear-side catalyst coating layer, in terms of the mass of the OSC material relative to the total amount of inorganic oxide particles in the rear side catalyst coating layer, may be, for example, 8 mass% and 30 mass% or less (specifically 10 mass%) (para. [0033], example 1-3). Takashi et al. also teaches the front side catalyst coating layer and the rear side catalyst coating layer having similar coating amount of the catalyst per 1 L of substrate volume based on their corresponding region (para. [0030], [0044]). Therefore, Takashi et al. disclosed the cerium content in the rear side catalyst coating layer based on the volume capacity of the substrate in the first region is twice or more the cerium content in the front side catalyst coating layer based on the volume capacity of the substrate in the second region.
Regarding claim 9, Takashi et al. already teaches such limitation as discussed above.
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Takashi et al (JP2021/126636A) (for applicant’s convenience, machine translation has been used hereof for citations) in view of Kitamoto (US2020/0030775).
Takashi et al. has been described as above.
Regarding claim 1, Takashi et al. does not expressly teach a mean particle size distribution of the first rhodium particles being from 1.5 nm to 18 nm.
Kitamoto teaches an exhaust gas purification catalyst comprising PGM nanoparticles which can be rhodium wherein the PGM nanoparticles have an average particle size of about 1 nm to about 20 nm (or from about 2 to 15 nm or from about 3 to 10 nm) with a standard deviation (SD) no more than 1 nm (para. [0011]-[0013], [0030]-[0033], [0079], [0080], table 1, example 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt Rh nanoparticles with such particle size distribution as shown by Kitamoto to modify rhodium particles of the rear side catalytic coating layer in the exhaust purification catalyst device of Takashi et al. because by doing so can help provide a desired exhaust gas purification catalyst to reduce the emission of NOx, CO and HC through effective suppression of sintering of PGM during aging as suggested by Kitamoto (para. [0010], table 1).
Regarding claim 2-3, Kitamoto already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 4 and 7-9, Takashi et al. already teaches such limitation as discussed above.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt Rh nanoparticles with such particle size distribution as shown by Kitamoto to modify the supported second rhodium particles in the exhaust purification catalyst device of Takashi et al. because by doing so can help provide a desired exhaust gas purification catalyst to reduce the emission of NOx, CO and HC through effective suppression of sintering of PGM during aging as suggested by Kitamoto (para. [0010], table 1).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over Chiba et al (WO2020/203424) (for applicant’s convenience, English equivalent US2022/0152593 has been used hereof for citations) in view of Kitamoto (US2020/0030775).
Chiba et al. teaches an exhaust gas purification catalytic device comprises a substrate (having a length Ls) (item 3, Fig. 1) and a first catalytic coating layer on the substrate wherein the first catalytic coating layer comprises a first catalytic coating layer upstream portion (item 1a, Fig. 1) on an exhaust gas flow upstream side and a first catalytic coating layer downstream portion (item 1b, Fig. 1) on an exhaust gas flow downstream side, wherein the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion and the first catalytic coating layer downstream portion each comprise inorganic oxide particles and rhodium supported on the inorganic oxide particles, wherein at least a part of the inorganic oxide particles contains ceria, wherein the ceria content per unit length of the first catalytic coating layer downstream portion is greater than the ceria content per unit length of the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion (Fig. 1, para. [0035]-[0040]), [0045]-[0052], example 1-4, noted chiba et al disclosed Fig 1 has been reproduced as following).
Chiba et al. also teaches the length of the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion may be, for example, 30% or greater, and, for example, 70% or less (para. [0062]), while the length of the first catalytic coating layer downstream portion may be a length obtained by subtracting the length of the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion from the total length of the first catalytic coating layer (para. [0060]-[0063]). It is noted that Chiba et al. disclosed 1a reads onto the instantly claimed second catalyst layer, while Chiba et al. disclosed 1b layer reads onto the instantly claimed first catalyst layer.
Regarding claim 1, Chiba et al. does not expressly teach a mean particle size distribution of the first rhodium particles being from 1.5 nm to 18 nm.
Kitamoto has been described as above.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt Rh nanoparticles with such particle size distribution as shown by Kitamoto to modify rhodium particles of first catalytic coating layer downstream portion in the exhaust purification catalyst device of Chiba et al. because by doing so can help provide a desired exhaust gas purification catalyst to reduce the emission of NOx, CO and HC through effective suppression of sintering of PGM during aging as suggested by Kitamoto (para. [0010], table 1).
Regarding claim 6, Chiba et al further teaches a second catalytic coating layer containing pallidum particles (para. [0082]- [0084], example 4) wherein such second catalytic coating layer length can be present in a region of 80% or more the substrate length, apparently extending from an upstream end of the substrate to a third position, wherein the third position being a third distance (Lc) from the upstream end toward the downstream end (para. [0083], Fig. 1).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 and 8 of co-pending Application No. 18/318,238 in view of Chiba et al (WO2020/203424). Co-pending application’238 teaches a substantially the same exhaust gas purification catalyst device, except the first catalyst layer containing ceria or a second catalyst layer containing rhodium, or cerium content in the first catalyst layer being higher than the second catalyst layer. Chiba et al. has been described as above. Chiba et al. also teaches the ceria content (ceria concentration) per unit length of the first catalytic coating layer downstream portion is greater than the ceria content (ceria concentration) per unit length of the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion (para. [0067]). It is noted that Chiba et al. disclosed first catalytic coating layer downstream portion reads onto the instantly claimed second instantly claimed second catalyst layer. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt ceria content (ceria concentration) per unit length of the first catalytic coating layer downstream portion is greater than the ceria content (ceria concentration) per unit length of the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion as shown by Chiba et al. to modify the first catalyst layer in the exhaust gas purification catalyst device of co-pending application’238 because by doing so can help effectively mitigate fluctuations in the air-fuel ratio in the first catalytic upstream portion without increasing absorption of HCs as suggested by Chiba et al. (para. [0067]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such first catalytic coating layer upstream portion containing rhodium particles supported on metal oxide carrier as shown by Chiba et al. to modify an exhaust gas purification device of co-pending application’238 because adopt such well-known first catalytic coating layer upstream portion containing rhodium particles supported on metal oxide carrier as shown by Chiba et al. to modify a well-known exhaust gas purification device of co-pending application’238 for improvement would have predictable results (see MPEP §2143 KSR).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 and 8 of co-pending Application No. 18/318,238 in view of Chiba et al (WO2020/203424) as applied above, and further in view of Kitamoto (US2020/0030775). Copending appplication’238 in view of Chiba et al does not expressly teach the mean particle size distribution of the second rhodium particles being from 0.1 nm to 1.0 nm. Kitomoto has been described as above. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt Rh nanoparticles with such particle size distribution as shown by Kitamoto to modify the supported rhodium particles of the first catalytic coating layer upstream portion in the exhaust purification catalyst device of co-pending application in view of Chia et al. because by doing so can help provide a desired exhaust gas purification catalyst to reduce the emission of NOx, CO and HC through effective suppression of sintering of PGM during aging as suggested by Kitamoto (para. [0010], table 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732