DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below:
Applicant’s arguments page 8-9, recites, “A mesh network, as required now by claim 1, consists of multiple wireless devices that communicate with each other, form multi-hop paths, and are organized under one gateway per mesh. As claimed in claim 1, each mesh has its own hardware unit and gateway and where the frequency hopping patterns are coordinated across different
meshes. Liu is limited to a single cellular system where a base station schedule user
equipment within the same network. What Liu discloses is a star topology where each
wireless device communicates only with a central hub (e.g., a base station 102, See Fig. I
of Liu). Liu's hopping pattern is a per-UE narrowband hopping mechanism internal to a
cellular frame structure, not a per-mesh pattern. Its scheduling is intra-cell, not internetwork.
Hence, nothing in Liu teaches "one or more meshes, each mesh having a
hardware unit configured for multi-hop communication within the mesh and for receiving
and transmitting communications via a gateway" of claim 1. Examiner acknowledges that Liu fails to teach the limitation that "the generator of the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes incorporates a time division multiple access (TDMA) network," and relies on [0018] of Otis to cure this deficiency. However, Otis does not disclose a TDMA-integrated frequency hopping
pattern. Paragraph [0018] of Otis merely states that the control panel and sensors may
operate under a TDMA format, or alternatively use frequency hopping based on a
predefined reference sequence. This describes separate, alternative operating modes, not
a hopping pattern whose structure incorporates TDMA timing. Otis never teaches a
generator that defines each hop by a specific time-slot-frequency pairing, nor any mechanism that combines TDMA slot assignments with frequency hopping sequences. Furthermore, Otis operates in a single star network and does not generate or coordinate hopping patterns for multiple mesh networks as required by the claims. Otis therefore cannot remedy Liu's deficiency, and the combination still fails to teach or suggest a TDMA-integrated FHP as recited in claim 1.”
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner’s rejections are based on the recited claim limitations and the examiner must interpret each and every claim limitations under BRI (broadest reasonable interpretation). Hence Liu teaches, (1) fig 1, para [0038], a network forming a mesh network showing plurality of coverage area equivalent to a mesh with respective gateway and base stations. Liu also teach hopping pattern see, para [0113], [0171]-[0172], Liu further teaches UL data comprising frequency pattern, para [0173]-[0174], however, Liu does not explicitly teach TDMA systems with sensors where, Otis teaches, see fig 1, para [0018] and [0032], where, a TDMA network with multiple sensors are taught. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teaching of Otis into Liu using wireless sensors in a TDMA network as taught by Otis to generate the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes incorporates a time division multiple access (TDMA) network in order to avoid mutual interference among the coverage areas. Therefore Liu in view of Otis teaches all the claim limitations. Hence the arguments are traversed and maintained the rejections.
All the remaining arguments are based on the arguments above and are responded to in full.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2019/0173521 A1), hereinafter, “Liu” in view of Otis et al (US 2017/0213446 A1), hereinafter, “Otis”.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses: A system of frequency hopping (Liu: fig 4A-C and fig 5, para [0113], shows a frequency hopping pattern), comprising: one or more meshes (Liu: fig 1, coverage area 110 equivalent to subnet 1 or Mesh 1 (plurality of mesh) and , para [0038]), each mesh having a hardware unit configured for multi-hop communication within the mesh and for receiving and transmitting communications via a gateway (Liu: fig 1, para [0044] and fig 4A, para [0075], a mesh network with serving gateway 166, where, UEs are connected to BS directly creating a mesh network, where, the hardware unit UE us configured for multi-hop communication, further, para [0073]-[0074]); and
a generator of a frequency hopping pattern (FHP) consisting of a sequence of frequencies (Liu: fig 10, para [0171]-[0172], where, “in certain configurations, the reception component 1004 may be configured to communicate with the base station using the narrowband frequency hopping pattern by receiving a DRS in each of the plurality of anchor channels at a start (equivalent to “generate”) of each hopping frame”) selected from a predetermined frequency band, connected to the gateway of the hardware unit (Liu: fig 10, para [0169]-[0174], where, in para [0173], “one or more of the reception component 1004 and/or the transmission component 1012 may be configured to communicate with the base station using the narrowband frequency hopping pattern (equivalent to “predetermined frequency band”) of each hopping frame”);
wherein the gateway comprises: a processor (Liu: fig 3, para [0059], ; a random access memory (RAM) connected to the processor (Liu: fig 3, para [0059], where, “a memory 376 that stores program codes and data. The memory 376 may be referred to as a computer-readable medium. Where, para [0036], ‘computer-readable media can comprise a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM)”);
a read only memory (ROM) connected to the processor (Liu: para [0036], where, “computer-readable media can comprise a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM)”); and
one or more radio peripherals connected to the processor (Liu: fig 11, para [0177], where, “The bus 1124 links together various circuits including one or more processors and/or hardware components, represented by the processor 1104, the components 1004, 1006, 1008, 1010, 1012 and the computer-readable medium/memory 1106. The bus 1124 may also link various other circuits such as timing sources, peripherals, voltage regulators, and power management circuits”); wherein the gateway is configured (fig 1, para [0044]) for receiving and transmitting communications of the hardware unit at a frequency and duration of time of the frequency hopping pattern (Liu: fig 4A-C and fig 6, para [0136]-[0137], where, “referring to FIGS. 4A and 5, the base station 502 may communicate with the first UE 504a and the second UE 504b using the narrowband frequency hopping pattern by concurrently transmitting (at 511a) a first downlink transmission to the first UE 504a in a first portion (e.g., second duration 440b in FIG. 4A) of each of the M carriers (e.g., CA0, CA1, CA2 in FIG. 4A)”) that are different than a frequency at a duration of time receiving and transmitting communications a hardware unit of a different mesh (Liu: fig 4A-C, para [0070], where, “A base station operating in DTS mode may use the frequency hopping pattern 400 illustrated in FIG. 4A to monitor, receive, and/or transmit signals by switching among different frequency channels (e.g., anchor channels 404a, 404b, 404c and non-anchor channels 406a, 406b, 406c, 406d, 406e, 406f, 406g) to exploit the frequency diversity of the unlicensed frequency spectrum”), Liu further teaches: wherein the generator of the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes (Liu: fig 5-6 and 10, para [0173]-[0174], where, “The UL data component 1010 may be configured to generate UL data for the base station 1050. The UL data component 1010 may be configured to send a signal associated with the UL data to the transmission component 1012” which include frequency hopping pattern);
or
[[at a distance great enough between the hardware unit and the hardware unit of a different mesh so as to avoid a collision of receiving and transmitting communications between the hardware unit and the hardware unit of a different mesh or even if the latter hardware unit is alternatively of the same mesh;]]
Liu does not explicitly teach: wherein each hardware unit comprises one or more wireless sensors; and wherein the generator of the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes incorporates a time division multiple access (TDMA) network.
Otis teaches: each hardware unit comprises one or more wireless sensors (Otis: para [0032], where, “a plurality of wireless threat sensors of the security system located within the secured area that communicate with the control panel using the reference frequency hopping pattern with a fixed frequency offset for each frequency and each hop of the reference frequency hop pattern where the fixed frequency offset is an integer multiple of the reference frequency offset”, para [0033], where, plurality of sensors are used); and the generator of the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes incorporates a time division multiple access (TDMA) network (Otis: para [0018], where, “the control panel and sensors may operate under a time division, multiple access (TDMA) format. Alternatively, or in addition, the control panel and sensors may also use frequency hopping based upon a predefined, reference frequency hopping sequence”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “each hardware unit comprises one or more wireless sensors; and the generator of the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes incorporates a time division multiple access (TDMA) network” as taught by Otis into Liu in order to avoid mutual interference among the coverage areas (Otis: para [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding data packet communication mechanism, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein each gateway is connected to an authenticator, time server or internet (Liu: fig 1, para [0044], where, the PDN Gateway 172 is connected server/internet).
Regarding claim 3, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 1, wherein a communication of multiple TDMA networking occurs in a specific frequency band (Otis: para [0018], where, TDMA communication occurs based on a predefined frequency hopping).
Regarding claim 4, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 3, wherein the specific frequency band is divided into multiple frequencies / channels based on communication needs for bandwidth, data rate and distance (Otis: para [0026], where, “a reference frequency hopping sequence including a channel sequence of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and the second security system uses an integer multiple of one, then the second security system would use the channel sequence of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 using a common time base”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 4, wherein the multiple frequencies / channels are utilized one at a time according to the frequency hopping pattern (FHP) during a communication (Liu: fig 7, para [0141], where, FHPs includes plurality of carrier frequencies or carrier bands).
Regarding claim 6, Liu modified by Otis discloses: 6. The system of claim 5, wherein further comprising a device that generates FHPs (Liu: fig 10, para [0173]-[0175], where, generated frequency hopping pattern) which are orthogonal relative to or different from FHPs of other communications independent of the present communication (Liu: fig 10, para [0173]-[0175], where, generated frequency hopping pattern, which are orthogonal to each other, para [0003] and para [0047])
Regarding claim 7, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 6, wherein an FHP is a sequence of one to n frequencies not necessarily in a numerical or other order (Otis: para [0026], where, “a reference frequency hopping sequence including a channel sequence of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 (equivalent to “n” frequencies, where, n=5) and the second security system uses an integer multiple of one, then the second security system would use the channel sequence of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 using a common time base”).
Regarding claim 8, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 6, wherein an FHP is a sequence of one to n frequencies having an order that changes over time of the present communication (Otis: para [0026], where, “a reference frequency hopping sequence including a channel sequence of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 (equivalent to “n” frequencies, where, n=5) and the second security system uses an integer multiple of one, then the second security system would use the channel sequence of 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 using a common time base”).
Regarding claim 9, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 8, wherein: in an FHP, a first time slot uses a first frequency, a second time slot uses a second frequency, and an nth time slot uses an nth frequency (Liu: fig 4A-C, para [0069]-[0073], shows the nth number of frequency hopping patterns are mapped);
the FHP can repeat the first frequency, the second frequency and the nth frequency in that order and format after the nth time slot indefinitely as long as predetermined, needed, required, or desired (Liu: fig 4C, para [0091]-[0092], where, “The frequency hopping pattern 430 illustrated in FIG. 4B may be used for narrowband communications between a base station (e.g., base station 102, 180, 502, 1050, eNB 301, the apparatus 702/702′) operating in hybrid mode and a UE (e.g., UE 104, 350, 504a, 504b, 750, the apparatus 1002/1002′) operating in frequency hopping mode”);
and n is a whole positive number that indicates a count of a total number of time slots and corresponding frequencies used by the slots (Liu: fig 2A-D, para [0047]-[0048], where, “A radio frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (e.g., subframe 0-subframe 9). Each subframe may include two consecutive time slots (e.g., slot 0 and slot 1). A resource grid may be used to represent the two time slots, each time slot including one or more time concurrent RBs (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) of 180 kHz. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs)”);
Regarding claim 10, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 8, wherein the FHPs of the present communication are orthogonal or different from other FHPs so as to avoid a collision (Otis: para [0024], where, “avoid mutual interference among the coverage areas, each security system may use the reference frequency hopping sequence under a system that avoids the simultaneous use of the same frequency by more than one of the security systems”) with another communication having an overlap of similar FHPs intrusive from nearby geographical areas (Otis: para 0004], where, “an unauthorized intruder, such as a burglar, may present a threat to assets within the area. Intruders have also been known to injure or kill people living within the area”).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The mechanism of claim 12, wherein the frequency hopping pattern is a sequence of frequencies (Liu: fig 4A-C, para [0076], where, “when N=8, CA0 may be associated with the non-anchor channel hopping sequence [1, 2, 6], CA1 is associated with the non-anchor channel hopping sequence [2, 3, 7], and CA2 is associated with the non-anchor channel hopping sequence [3, 4, 8]. In other words, the non-anchor channel hopping sequence may be a pseudo-random hopping sequence with different fixed offsets between non-anchor channels in different hopping frames”).
Regarding claim 14, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The mechanism of claim 13, wherein: the sequence of frequencies is a defined random frequency hopping pattern or a multiple of orthogonal or different frequency hopping patterns on one or more networks (Liu: fig 4A-C, para [0076], where, “the non-anchor channel hopping sequence may be a pseudo-random hopping sequence with different fixed offsets between non-anchor channels in different hopping frames”); and there is adjustability of one or more parameters of a group comprising frequency hopping pattern, channel bandwidth, channel count, slot count, and data rate at runtime based on mesh requirements or a load (Liu: fig 3 and 4A-C, para [0051], where, may include rate matching, interleaving, mapping onto physical channels, modulation/ demodulation of physical channels, and MIMO antenna processing).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses: A system for implementing frequency hopping (Liu: fig 4A-C, para [0073], where, a system for implementing frequency hopping pattern) comprising: wireless mesh nodes having a processor configured to execute an algorithm or logic, the wireless mesh nodes being configured for multi-hop communication within the mesh (Liu: fig 1 and 5, para [0034] and para [0153], where, a mesh nodes with base station, user equipment and gateway (referred as network node) with processor and memory which is configured to execute algorithms or processes or logic); and
a radio peripheral connected to the processor configured to communicate wirelessly with devices (Liu: fig 8, para [0154], where, the components 704-712 (equivalent to “radio peripherals”) are connected to the processor 804);
a gateway node configured to perform gateway specific actions (Liu: fig 1, para [0044], where, multiple gateway in the network system which perform specific functions based on service requirements);
a router node (Liu: fig 1, para [0037], where, access network 100 includes base station, gateway, router and switches and it is well known in the art) configured to perform routing between nodes and the gateway node (Liu: fig 1, para [0044], where, data packets are routed from home subscriber server to the multiple gateway in the network system);
other nodes configured to send data to the gateway node via router nodes (Liu: fig 1, para [0044], where, the HSS (Home Subscriber Server) node 174, send data to the Serving Gateway 166 via MME node 162 (equivalent to “Router node”)); and Liu does not explicitly teach: wherein in each node, the processor runs logic to switch a frequency to another frequency after completion of a time slot, and the processor configures a transmit or receive frequency for a slot based on a frequency hopping sequence algorithm.
Otis teaches: wherein in each node, the processor runs logic to switch a frequency to another frequency after completion of a time slot, and the processor configures a transmit or receive frequency for a slot based on a frequency hopping sequence algorithm (Otis: fig 1, para [0018], where, “the control panel and sensors may operate under a time division, multiple access (TDMA) format. Alternatively, or in addition, the control panel and sensors may also use frequency hopping based upon a predefined, reference frequency hopping sequence. A communication file 42 within the control panel and each of the wireless sensors defines a communication superframe through which communications occur between each of the sensors and the control panel through one or more TDMA slots of the superframe”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein in each node, the processor runs logic to switch a frequency to another frequency after each slot is executed, and the processor configures a transmit or receive frequency for a slot based on a frequency hopping sequence algorithm” as taught by Otis into the system of Liu in order to avoid mutual interference among the coverage areas (Otis: para [0024]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 18, wherein one or more nodes of the system (Liu: fig 1, para [0044]), which may be comprised of the processor, radio peripheral, read only memory and random access memory, execute logic to understand or identify failures reported by routers and nodes so as to make adjustments to a frequency hopping pattern (Liu: fig 11, processor 1104 and memory 1106, para [0176]-[0177] and para [0059], where, “The controller/processor 375 is also responsible for error detection using an ACK and/or NACK protocol to support HARQ operations”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2019/0173521 A1), hereinafter, “Liu” in view of Otis et al (US 2017/0213446 A1), hereinafter, “Otis” further in view of Olukotun et al (US 2005/0044319 A1), hereinafter, “Olukotun”.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses: The system of claim 6, wherein: the FHP enables nodes to communicate in each frequency within a subject frequency band (Liu: fig 4A-C, para [0073], where, “The anchor channels 404a, 404b, 404c may each be used to carry information that indicates the frequency hopping pattern 400 to the UE. For example, the information may indicate a duration of a hopping frame 430a, 430b, 430c (e.g., 160 ms, 320 ms”) and Liu does not explicitly teach: avoid interference with other frequencies of another frequency band;
Otis teaches: avoid interference with other frequencies of another frequency band (Otis: para [0024], where, “avoid mutual interference among the coverage areas, each security system may use the reference frequency hopping sequence under a system that avoids the simultaneous use of the same frequency by more than one of the security systems”); and
Neither Liu nor Otis explicitly teach: an FHP is based on a uniquely defined hopping length which automatically shifts its frequency or frequencies in each wireless communication slot.
Olukotun teaches: an FHP is based on a uniquely defined hopping length which automatically shifts its frequency or frequencies in each wireless communication slot (Olukotun: para [0069], where, “Each access on the ring "occupies" one hop-length while moving around the ring from its source to its destination. If the destination is busy, and cannot service the access, then the reference is not removed from the ring and simply flows around again, creating an automatic retry mechanism”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “each hardware unit comprises one or more wireless sensors; and the generator of the frequency hopping pattern for each of the one or more meshes incorporates a time division multiple access (TDMA) network” as taught by Olukotun into the system of Liu and Otis in order to increase performance (Olukotun: para [0007]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2019/0173521 A1), hereinafter, “Liu” in view of Otis et al (US 2017/0213446 A1), hereinafter, “Otis” further in view of Pister et al (US 2008/0285582 A1), hereinafter, “Pister”.
Regarding claim 20, neither Liu nor Otis disclose: The approach of claim 17, wherein a FTDMA (frequency hopping time division multiple access) network provides a basis for avoiding a collision of communications among multiple devices in the same network or in different networks doing concurrent communications.
Pister teaches: wherein a FTDMA (frequency hopping time division multiple access) network provides a basis for avoiding a collision of communications among multiple devices in the same network or in different networks doing concurrent communications (Pister: para [0040], where, “Frequency hopping time-division multiple access supports packet communication between intelligent nodes via assigned directed links, each link being assigned to a time-channel offset (cell) in a superframe”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein a FTDMA (frequency hopping time division multiple access) network provides a basis for avoiding a collision of communications among multiple devices in the same network or in different networks doing concurrent communications” as taught by Pister into the system of Liu and Otis in order to maximize power life using a synchronization algorithm that assures all nodes (Pister: para [0040]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al (US 2019/0173521 A1), hereinafter, “Liu” in view of Otis et al (US 2017/0213446 A1), hereinafter, “Otis” further in view of Matsuo et al (US 2018/0220417 A1), hereinafter, “Matsuo”.
Regarding claim 17, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 16, further comprising an algorithm or logic executed by a processor of virtually or nearly all mesh nodes (Liu: fig 5, para [0153], where, “The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor”), neither Liu nor Otis explicitly teach: where statistics can be stored in a random access memory (RAM) for a successful transmit or receive to be used to identify failures.
Matsuo teaches: where statistics can be stored in a random access memory (RAM) for a successful transmit (Matsuo: para [0108], where, “he received MS-BA frame to identify the check result addressed to the terminal itself, and determines whether or not the data frame is successfully transmitted on the basis of the identified check result. The AP 1 may not transmit the MS-BA frame but may transmit the ACK frame (or BA frame) individually to the terminals 11 and 12 depending on their check results in order”) or receive to be used to identify failures (Matsuo: para [0135], where, “the terminal identifies, from a connection history stored in the memory, an AP to which the terminal connected the most times in the past, and determines an AP having the same BSSID as the identified AP as the AP to connect”).
Regarding claim 18, Liu modified by Otis discloses: The system of claim 17, further comprising an algorithm or logic which can be executed by virtually all mesh nodes or a node in charge of frequency hopping pattern (FHP) management (Liu: fig 5, para [0153], where, “The components may be one or more hardware components specifically configured to carry out the stated processes/algorithm, implemented by a processor configured to perform the stated processes/algorithm, stored within a computer-readable medium for implementation by a processor”, further, fig 6, para [0136]-[0139]), neither Liu nor Otis explicitly teach: in the system to communicate the statistics to a gateway node.
Matsuo teaches: in the system to communicate the statistics to a gateway node (Matsuo: para [0135], where, “the terminal identifies, from a connection history stored in the memory, an AP to which the terminal connected the most times in the past, and determines an AP having the same BSSID as the identified AP as the AP to connect”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “in the system to communicate the statistics to a gateway node” as taught by Matsuo into the system of Liu and Otis in order to transmit the trigger frame, the access right to the wireless medium needs to be acquired (Matsuo: para [0122]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461