DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 11, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 110256803). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 110256803.
Considering Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, and 9: Wang et al. teaches a composition comprising an acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene polymer/thermoplastic resin, xantham gum/an acidic polysaccharide, and a compatibilizer (Abstract).
Wang et al. teaches the composition as comprising 10 parts of xantham gum and 5 parts of compatibilizer in a composition comprising 118.5 parts (Example 1). Thus the xantham gum is 8.4 weight percent and the amount of compatibilizer is 4.2 weight percent.
Wang et al. does not refer to the composition as a flame retardant composition. However, the reference teaches all the claimed components in the claimed amounts, and thus would inherently have flame-retardant properties. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Considering Claims 11 and 14: Wang et al. teaches the compatibilizer as being styrene/maleic anhydride (pg. 3).
Considering Claims 15 and 16: Wang et al. teaches the thermoplastic resin as being acrylonitrile butadiene styrene, which has a softening point below 200 ºC (Abstract).
Considering Claim 17: Wang et al. teaches a molded article made from the composition (pg. 3).
Considering Claims 18 and 19: Wang et al. teaches using the composition to form an electronic appliance part/housing (pg. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kahn (WO 2021/189128).
Considering Claims 1, 2, and 8-10: Kahn teaches a flame retardant (¶0034) composition comprising a thermoplastic polymer, an alginate salt/acidic polysaccharide having a salt of an acid functional group in the backbone, and a compatibilizer (¶0007). Kahn teaches the alginate salt as being calcium alginate (¶0020).
Kahn teaches the alginate salt as providing improved melt strength at a reduced cost compared to other components of the blend (¶0021). Kahn teaches the combined amount of chitosan, alginate salt, and compatibilizer as being 1 to 65% by weight of the composition (¶0025). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of alginate salt through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kahn suggests, to improve the melt strength of the composition, while reducing the costs (¶0021).
Considering Claims 4 and 5: Alginic acid has a DS of 1.00.
Considering Claim 7: Kahn teaches the amount of the compatibilizer as being 1 to 5 weight percent of the composite (¶0030).
Considering Claim 11: Kahn teaches using maleic anhydride grafted polypropylene as the compatibilizer (¶0086), which contains maleic anhydride/a structural unit derived from maleic acid (¶0086).
Considering Claim 15: Kahn teaches the polymer as being polypropylene (¶0086), which has a softening point below 200 ºC.
Considering Claim 17: Kahn teaches a molded article made from the composition (¶0048).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 110256803) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lacroix (US Pat. 6,825,270).
Considering Claims 12 and 13: Wang et al. teaches the composition of claim 11 as discussed above.
Wang et al. is silent towards the acid number of the styrene maleic anhydride polymer. However, Lacroix teaches a styrene maleic anhydride compatibilizer with an acid number between 200 and 240 mg KOH/g (10:4-8). Wang et al. and Lacroix are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polystyrene composites. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have use the compatibilizer of Lacroix as the compatibilizer of Wang et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Lacroix suggests, it is a commercially available and known compatibilizer for polystyrene composites.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that Wang et al. does not teach the limitation of previous claim 3 is not persuasive, as this feature is optional in the newly presented claims. Wang et al. teaches that acidic functional group embodiment of instant claim 1.
B) The applicant’s argument that Kahn does not teach claimed amount of the acidic polysaccharide is not persuasive. Kahn teaches the alginate salt as providing improved melt strength at a reduced cost compared to other components of the blend (¶0021). Kahn teaches the combined amount of chitosan, alginate salt, and compatibilizer as being 1 to 65% by weight of the composition (¶0025). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of alginate salt through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kahn suggests, to improve the melt strength of the composition, while reducing the costs (¶0021).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767