DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 31, 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the Drawing objection and the 112(b) rejections previously set-forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 07/16/2026. Currently, claims 19, 24, 28, 29, 31, and 38 have been amended, and claims 19-38 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-23, 27-30, 35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falwell (U.S. Application No. 20060241366 A1).
Regarding independent claims 19 and 29, Falwell discloses an elongate medical device assembly (100) (pa. 0104 & Fig. 1) comprising:
an elongate catheter shaft body (combination of shaft 110, core 1120, proximal section 1420, intermediate section 1480, and distal section 1440) having an outer diameter (pa. 0106, 0125 & Fig. 14); and
at least one annular electrode (146, 1546) configured to deliver ablative energy (pa. 0104, 0129), the at least one annular electrode fixedly disposed on the elongate catheter shaft body (pa. 0106 & Fig. 15), the at least one annular electrode comprising a first edge and a second edge (see annotated Fig. 15A below);
wherein the at least one annular electrode comprises a continuous curve extending from the first edge to the second edge such that a thickness of the first edge is less than a thickness of an axial center of the at least one annular electrode (see Fig. 15A), and wherein at least a portion of the elongate catheter shaft body (specifically the core 1120, as seen in Fig. 15A) covers at least a portion of each of the first edge and the second edge of the at least one annular electrode (pa. 0134).
For further clarification purposes, the first edge and the second edge are interpreted as the entire side/lateral ends of the electrode, wherein each edge includes an upper and lower corner, an upper and lower horizontal portion (i.e., portion that comprises an inner and outer circumference) of the electrode, and a single vertical portion (i.e., portion that comprises a thickness) of the electrode.
Regarding claims 20 and 30, Falwell discloses wherein the first edge comprises a radially-inward edge or a radially-outward edge (see Fig. 15A).
Examiner is interpreting a radially-outward edge or a radially-inward as the upper and lower corners of the edges/ends of the electrode, respectively. In this case, Figure 15A of Falwell illustrates the first edge comprising a radially-inward lower corner (i.e., a lowermost corner of the electrode’s first edge), and a radially-outward upper corner (i.e., an uppermost corner of the electrode’s first edge).
Regarding claim 21, Falwell discloses wherein the second edge comprises a rounded edge which extends around a circumference of the annular electrode (pa. 0112, 0134), and an outer diameter of the second edge is less than an outer diameter of the axial center of the annular electrode (see Fig. 15A).
For Examination purposes, and in view of Applicant’s remarks made in regard to the Drawing objection issued in the previous Office Action mailed on 07/16/2026, the Examiner will interpret a rounded edge as a combination of a rounded corner, a portion of the thickness of the annular body of the electrode (i.e., the portion of the vertical line, as seen in Applicant’s annotated Fig. 5C of the instant application, provided in the Remarks section), and a portion of the continuous curve that extends between the first edge to the second edge which forms the circumference of the electrode (i.e., a portion of the horizontal line, as seen in Applicant’s annotated Fig. 5C of the instant application, provided in the Remarks section). Therefore, in this case the Falwell reference discloses the second edge comprising a rounded edge, which is interpreted as a combination of a portion of an upper horizontal line that extends between the first edge and the second edge, an upper-leftmost rounded corner, and a portion of the leftmost-vertical line that comprises the electrode’s thickness (see zoomed-in annotated Fig. 15A
below).
Regarding claim 22, Falwell discloses wherein the first edge comprises a radially-inward edge and the second edge comprises a radially-outward edge (see Fig. 15A).
Examiner is interpreting a radially-outward edge or a radially-inward as the upper and lower corners of the edges/ends of the electrode, respectively. In this case, Figure 15A of Falwell illustrates the first edge comprising a radially-inward lower corner since it is the lowermost corner of the electrode’s first edge, and the second edge comprising a radially-outward upper corner since it is the uppermost corner of the electrode’s second edge.
Regarding claims 23 and 35, Falwell discloses wherein the at least one annular electrode is configured to deliver at least one of radiofrequency ablative energy and high intensity focused ultrasound ablative energy (pa. 0104).
Regarding claims 27 and 37, Falwell discloses wherein a length of the annular electrode is about 1 millimeter to about 1.3 millimeter (pa. 0112).
Regarding claims 28 and 38, Falwell discloses wherein the at least one annular electrode is disposed on the elongate catheter shaft body (see Figs. 15-15A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falwell as applied to claims 19 and 29, and further in view of Swanson (U.S. Patent No. 6023638 A).
Regarding claims 24 and 36, Falwell discloses wherein the elongate catheter shaft body comprises a flexible spine, and wherein the at least one annular electrode is disposed on the spine (pa. 0113-0114 & Fig. 3).
However, Falwell does not teach a plurality of flexible spines.
Swanson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches two different embodiments of ablation devices which either include a plurality of splines (30), as seen in Fig. 2, or a single spline, as seen in Figs. 25-28 (Col. 7, lines 61-63).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of spines in the medical device of Falwell for the purpose of allowing a user to ablate a greater surface area in a target site.
Regarding claim 25, Falwell discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 19 and 24 discussed above.
However, Falwell does not disclose wherein the plurality of flexible spines form a basket assembly.
Swanson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an ablation device which includes a plurality of splines (30) that forma basket structure (20) (Col. 7, lines 61-63 & Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of spines in the medical device of Falwell for the purpose of allowing a user to ablate a greater surface area in a target site.
Regarding claim 26, Falwell discloses further comprising an introducer, wherein the medical device assembly is configured to be advanced and retracted from the introducer (pa. 0225).
However, Falwell does not disclose a basket assembly.
Swanson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an ablation device which includes a plurality of splines (30) that forma basket structure (20) (Col. 7, lines 61-63 & Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of spines in the medical device of Falwell for the purpose of allowing a user to ablate a greater surface area in a target site.
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falwell as applied to claim 29, and in view of Govari (E.P. Application No. 2679190 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Falwell discloses an outer diameter of the second edge is less than an outer diameter of the axial center of the annular electrode (see Fig. 15A).
However, Falwell does not disclose wherein the second edge comprises a chamfer edge which extends around the circumference of the annular electrode.
Govari, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a system (10) comprising a catheter and a plurality of ring electrodes (pa. 0042, 0049), wherein the electrodes comprise peripheral sections (91) that are chamfered (see Fig. 7).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the edges of the electrode of Falwell with the chamfer edges taught by Govari, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific shape of the electrode edges solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with any shaped-edge.
Regarding claim 32, Falwell/Govari combination discloses wherein the first edge comprises a radially-inward edge and the second edge comprises a radially-outward edge (Falwell, see Fig. 15A).
Examiner is interpreting a radially-outward edge or a radially-inward as the upper and lower corners of the edges/ends of the electrode, respectively. In this case, Figure 15A of Falwell illustrates the first edge comprising a radially-inward lower corner since it is the lowermost corner of the electrode’s first edge, and the second edge comprising a radially-outward upper corner since it is the uppermost corner of the electrode’s second edge.
Regarding claim 33, Falwell discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 29 discussed above.
However, Falwell does not teach the chamfer edge being a partial chamfer.
Govari, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the chamfer edge is a partial chamfer which extends over less than a full thickness of the annular electrode (see Fig. 7).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the edges of the electrode of Falwell with the partial chamfer edges taught by Govari, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific shape of the electrode edges solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with any shaped-edge.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falwell as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Schmulewitz (D.E. Application No. 69830087 T2).
Regarding claim 34, Falwell discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 29 discussed above.
However, Falwell does not disclose wherein the chamfer edge is a full chamfer which extends over a full thickness of the annular electrode.
Schmulewitz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an energy application device (60) comprising an ablation electrode (65) with a full chamfer edge (64) which extends over a full thickness of the annular electrode (page 6, second to last paragraph & Fig 8A).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the electrode edge of Falwell to be a full chamfer edge, as taught by Schmulewitz, in order to aid in introducing and advancing the medical device into biological tissue (Schmulewitz, page 6, second to last paragraph).
Double Patenting
Claims 19, 28-29, 33, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-8, 13, and 21 of U.S. Application No. 20160346038 A1, in view of Falwell (U.S. Application No. 20060241366 A1).
Regarding instant claims 19 and 29, it is the Examiner’s position that copending claims 1-2, 6-8, 13, and 21 are narrower in some aspects given that the copending claim recites a plurality of the limitations that overlap, or otherwise narrower in scope than, those in instant claims 19 and 29. These narrower aspects include the claimed elongate medical assembly, elongate shaft body, annular electrode, outer diameter of the electrode, a first edge, a second edge, and a continuous curve. With respect to the narrower aspects, the Examiner notes that it has been held that the generic aspects of the instant invention would be anticipated by the narrower species aspects of the copending claim. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to the broader aspects of the copending claim, the Examiner notes that the difference between the instant claims 19 and 29 and the copending claims 1-2, 6-8, 13, and 21 exist in that the copending claims fail to provide an annular electrode “fixedly disposed of the elongate catheter shaft body”. Falwell, however, provides for a similar system as that of the copending claim and specifically contemplates the modifying the annular electrode to be fixedly disposed on the elongate catheter shaft body (pa. 0106). Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated such properties of the annular electrode of Falwell in combination with the elongate medical device in copending claims 1-2, 6-8, 13, and 21 to provide for a combined annular electrode with the desired physical characteristics.
With respect to dependent claims 28, 33, and 38, see copending application dependent claims 1 and 4.
Claims 19, 23-24, 28-29, 33, 35-36, and 38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11690670 B2, in view of Falwell (U.S. Application No. 20060241366 A1).
Regarding instant claims 19 and 29, it is the Examiner’s position that copending claims 1, 5, and 8 are narrower in some aspects given that the copending claim recites a plurality of the limitations that overlap, or otherwise narrower in scope than, those in instant claims 19 and 29. These narrower aspects include the claimed elongate medical assembly, elongate shaft body, annular electrode, outer diameter of the electrode, a first edge, a second edge, and a continuous curve. With respect to the narrower aspects, the Examiner notes that it has been held that the generic aspects of the instant invention would be anticipated by the narrower species aspects of the copending claim. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With respect to the broader aspects of the copending claim, the Examiner notes that the difference between the instant claims 19 and 29 and the copending claims 1, 5, and 8 exist in that the copending claims fail to provide an annular electrode “fixedly disposed of the elongate catheter shaft body”. Falwell, however, provides for a similar system as that of the copending claim and specifically contemplates the modifying the annular electrode to be fixedly disposed on the elongate catheter shaft body (pa. 0106). Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have incorporated the physical properties of the annular electrode of Falwell in combination with the elongate medical device in copending claims 1, 5, and 8 to provide for a combined annular electrode with the desired characteristics.
With respect to dependent claims 23-24, 28, 33, 35-36, and 38, see copending application dependent claims 1, 4, 7, 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3 filed 08/31/2026, with respect to the 102 rejection of independent claims 19 and 29 under Falwell have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 19 and 29 to further require the at least one annular electrode to be fixedly disposed on the elongate catheter shaft body is defined over the prior art previously cited given that they do not contemplate this claimed structure. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the following new grounds of rejection have been set forth in the action above using a new interpretation of the prior art:
Claims 19-23, 27-30, 35, and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falwell (U.S. Application No. 20060241366 A1).
Claims 24-26, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falwell as applied to claims 19 and 29, and further in view of Swanson (U.S. Patent No. 6023638 A).
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falwell as applied to claim 29, and in view of Govari (E.P. Application No. 2679190 A1).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falwell as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Schmulewitz (D.E. Application No. 69830087 T2).
It is the Examiner’s position that the newly filed rejections based on the references above are tenable for at least the reasoning set forth in the action above.
With regards to the remarks of the Drawing objection set-forth in the previous Office Action, the Examiner has withdrawn the objection. However, in order to further stablish clarity for the record, Examiner will be interpreting a rounded edge as a combination of a rounded corner, a portion of the thickness of the annular body of the electrode (i.e., the portion of the vertical line, as seen in Applicant’s annotated Fig. 5C of the instant application), and a portion of the continuous curve that extends between the first edge to the second edge which forms the circumference of the electrode (i.e., a portion of the horizontal line, as seen in Applicant’s annotated Fig. 5C of the instant application). Therefore, in this case the Falwell reference discloses the second edge comprising a rounded edge, which is interpreted as a combination of a portion of an upper horizontal line that extends between the first edge and the second edge, an upper-leftmost rounded corner, and a portion of the leftmost-vertical line that comprises the electrode’s thickness (see zoomed-in annotated Fig. 15A above). Therefore, for all the reasonings set-forth above, the claims are rejected under a new interpretation of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Goldin (US 6408199 B1) teaches a catheter comprising an elongated tubular body having a distal region and a circumferential recess along the length of the distal region, a first electrode mounted on the distal region in close proximity to the circumferential recess, and a second electrode mounted within the circumferential recess.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794