Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on February 6, 2026 and wherein Claims 1, 16, 26, and 29 are amended, claims 36-37 are newly added and claims 34-35 are cancelled.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20, 26-33 and 36-37 are currently pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the prior art rejection of independent claim 1, 16, 26 and 29 under 35 USC §103, as set forth in the previous Office Action, the claim amendment, and argument (Remarks filed on February 6, 2026, Pages 12-13), have been fully considered, but are
not persuasive.
Applicant submits that, the Office Action has not shown that HOSSEINI teaches an indication comprising unscheduled modulation orders or that an uplink transmission is based on unscheduled modulation orders.
The examiner has considered all the arguments, but disagrees. HOSSEINI further teaches, “one or more power headroom estimation pairs indicating respective unscheduled modulation orders” (see Pg. 10, ¶ 2; Pg. 20, ¶ 1; Pg. 23, ¶ 8, wherein HOSSEINI teaches power headroom estimates based on real-time change in uplink transmit power. Those dynamic power headroom estimations are paired with the unscheduled modulation orders because the requested modulation order change is based on the calculated power headroom and/or power limits. The pairs are included in the same UE request at the power limits because it’s directly related to the modulation order change).
As result, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the 35 USC §103 rejections of independent claim 1, 16, 26 and 29 are maintained.
The 35 USC §103 rejection of dependent claims 2-15, 17-20, 27-28, and 30-35 are maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-10,12, 16, 19-20, 26, 29, 31-33 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by HOSSEINI et al., CN 112514466 A (see the English translated copy), (hereinafter HOSSEINI) in view of AKKARAKARAN et al., US 20180368081 A1, (hereinafter AKKARAKARAN) and in further view of PARK et al., US 20200267661 A1, (hereinafter PARK).
Regarding claim 1, and 26, HOSSEINI teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories
receive, from a network node, one or more signals (see Pg. 14, Paragraph 4, e.g., The receiver device (e.g., UE 115, which may be an example of the mmW receiver device) can receive various signals from the base station 105 (such as synchronous signal, reference signal, beam selection signal, or other control signal) attempting a plurality of receiving beams);
transmit an indication of a UE-proposed power change, the indication comprising the determined transmit power; (see Fig. 5, e.g., element 520 Determine transmit power limits, 525 ask, Pg. 23, Paragraph 8, e.g., At 525, UE 115-c may transmit a request for an updated communication scheme (e.g., a new waveform or modulation scheme). The request may be based on the calculated power headroom and/or power limits; see Pg. 24, Paragraph 4, e.g., The communication manager 615 may also calculate a difference between the maximum transmit power and the transmit power to be used to transmit uplink data to the base station on one or more carriers of the cell, wherein the cell is configured for high priority communication (e.g., communication with a higher priority than other communication); determining a transmit power limit based on the calculated difference; and transmitting a request to modify a communication scheme for communicating with the base station, the request being based on the determined transmit power limit.); and
and one or more power headroom estimation pairs indicating respective unscheduled modulation orders (see Pg. 10, ¶ 2; Pg. 20, ¶ 1; Pg. 23, ¶ 8, wherein the UE can dynamically request the change of the modulation order depending on real-time change in uplink transmit power which is based off and paired to real-time power headroom report and/or power limits; e.g., see ¶1 of P20, UE115-a may report that more power headroom is expected for an increased uplink transmit power. In some cases, the report may include a request to change the waveform and/or modulation order, so as to increase the power headroom of UE 115-a);
and transmit an uplink transmission based at least in part on the UE-proposed power change and a power headroom estimation pair of the one or more power headroom estimation pairs utilizing a corresponding unscheduled modulation order (see Fig. 5, e.g., element 545 uplink transmission, Pg. 24, ¶ 1, e.g., At 545, UE 115-c can use the adjusted transmission parameter to transmit the uplink TB, which may include one or more of new waveform, new modulation order and transmit power increase),
however, it does not explicitly teach, determine one or more beams on which an uplink transmission is to be transmitted based at least in part on the received one or more signals;
determine a transmit power for the uplink transmission based at least in part on the one or more signals and the one or more beams; and transmit an uplink transmission at the determined transmit power using the one or more beams.
PARK teaches, determine one or more beams on which an uplink transmission is to be transmitted based at least in part on the received one or more signals (see ¶ [0197], e.g., The UE receives a resource(s) in CSI-RS resource set configured as repetition ‘OFF’ through different Tx beams (DL spatial domain transmission filters) of the eNB (S1220); ¶ [0198], e.g., The UE selects (or determines) a best beam (S1230). ¶ [0199], e.g., The UE reports to the eNB an ID for the selected beam and related quality information (e.g., L1-RSRP); ¶ [0229], e.g., FIGS. 14A and 14B illustrate an example of an uplink beam management procedure using a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS). FIG. 14A illustrates an Rx beam determination procedure of the eNB and FIG. 14B illustrates a Tx beam sweeping procedure of the UE.),
determine a transmit power for the uplink transmission based at least in part on the one or more signals (see ¶ [0454], e.g., the UE may receive a pilot channel/signal from the eNB and estimate a strength of reception power by using the received pilot channel/signal. Thereafter, the UE may control the transmission power by using the estimated strength of the reception power.).
AKKARAKARAN teaches, determine a transmit power for the uplink transmission based at least in part on the one or more beams (see ¶ [0090], the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on a beam via which the uplink transmission is to be transmitted.),
transmit the uplink transmission at the determined transmit power using the one or more beams (see Fig. 7, element 1300, ¶ [0171] As further shown in FIG. 13, in some aspects, process 1300 may include transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power (block 1330). For example, the UE (e.g., using controller/processor 280, transmit processor 264, TX MIMO processor 266, MOD 254, antenna 252, and/or the like) may transmit the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power, ¶ [0173] the signal includes at least one of an uplink control signal, an uplink data signal, or a sounding reference signal.).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining a transmit power for the uplink transmission of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of AKKARAKARAN and PARK to include, determine one or more beams on which an uplink transmission is to be transmitted based at least in part on the received one or more signals; determine a transmit power for the uplink transmission based at least in part on the one or more signals and the one or more beams; and transmit an uplink transmission at the determined transmit power using the one or more beams. Doing so would facilitate in achieving controlling the transmission power without feedback from a transmitting device as suggested by Park (see ¶ [0454], e.g., Specifically, the open-loop power control scheme means a scheme of controlling the transmission power without a feedback from a transmitting device (e.g., the eNB, etc.) to a receiving device (e.g., UE, etc.) and/or a feedback from the receiving device to the transmitting device. As an example, the UE may receive a pilot channel/signal from the eNB and estimate a strength of reception power by using the received pilot channel/signal. Thereafter, the UE may control the transmission power by using the estimated strength of the reception power.).
Regarding claim 5, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to:
receive a transmission configuration that indicates a transmission power level that is based at least in part on the UE-proposed power change (Fig. 5, e.g., element 525 ask, 530 Modify communication plan, 535 Updated configuration, Pg. 23, Paragraph 9, e.g., At 530, the base station 105-c may modify the communication scheme for the UE 115-c based on the received request. In some cases, this may include a waveform change (e.g., change from CP-OFDMto DFT-S-FDM) and/or modulation order change (e.g., from QPSK change to π /2-bpsk). At 535, the base station 105-c may transmit the updated communication scheme configuration to the UE 115-c.).
Regarding claim 6, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 5.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the uplink transmission, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
transmit the uplink transmission based at least in part on the transmission configuration (Fig. 5, e.g., element 540 adjust transmission parameters, 545 uplink transmission, Pg. 23, Paragraph 10, e.g., At 540, UE 115-c may be based on the received updated communication scheme configuration to update its transmission parameter. The UE 115-c may also re-calculate its power headroom to ensure that there is a power sufficient to increase the transmit power for retransmission, Pg. 24, Paragraph 1, e.g., At 545, UE 115-c can use the adjusted transmission parameter to transmit the uplink TB, which may include one or more of new waveform, new modulation order and transmit power increase.).
Regarding claim 8, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
transmit the indication in Layer 1 signaling or Layer 2 signaling (Pg. 6, Paragraph 7, e.g.,
transmitting the request to modify the communication scheme may include operation for the following actions, characteristic, device or instruction: The request is transmitted via a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), a scheduling request (SR) resource, a configured resource set, or a combination thereof.).
Regarding claim 9, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are configured, individually or collectively, to transmit the indication in the Layer 1 signaling, and
wherein the Layer 1 signaling comprises uplink control information (UCI) (Pg. 20, Paragraph 2, e.g., The request from UE 115-a of the updated transmission configuration (e.g., waveform and modulation order change) can use the MAC control element, configured SR resource, or dedicated resource (e.g., physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or SR) to transmit to the base station 105-a. Note that, Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) is a Layer 1 (physical layer) signaling channel which carries Uplink Control Information (UCI)).
Regarding claim 10, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication, are configured, individually or collectively, to transmit the indication in the Layer 2 signaling, wherein the Layer 2 signaling comprises a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) (Pg. 20, Paragraph 2, e.g., The request from UE 115-a of the updated transmission configuration (e.g., waveform and modulation order change) can use the MAC control element, configured SR resource, or dedicated resource (e.g., physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or SR) to transmit to the base station 105-a).
Regarding claim 12, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein a value associated with the UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a communication standard (Pg. 20, Paragraph 1, e.g., In some cases, the power limited device (e.g., UE115-a) can request waveform change (e.g., from cyclic prefix OFDM(CP-OFDM) is changed into discrete Fourier transform extended frequency division multiplexing (DFT-s-FDM)); This may be based on the reported power headroom or in the reported power headroom indication. In some cases, the power limited device (e.g., UE 115-a) can request modulation order change (e.g., from quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) is changed to pi/2 binary phase shift keying (BPSK)), which can be based on the reported power headroom or the reported power headroom indication.).
Regarding claim 16, and 29, HOSSEINI teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
one or more memories
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), one or more signals (see Pg. 14, Paragraph 4, e.g., The receiver device (e.g., UE 115, which may be an example of the mmW receiver device) can receive various signals from the base station 105 (such as synchronous signal, reference signal, beam selection signal, or other control signal) attempting a plurality of receiving beams);;
receive an indication of a user equipment (UE)-proposed power change that is associated with an uplink transmission (Fig. 5, e.g., element 520, 525, 530, Pg. 23, Paragraph 7, e.g., At 520, UE115-c may be based on the configured communication scheme to determine the transmit power limit for uplink transmission. In some cases, if the UE115-c is operating in the autonomous uplink mode of the retransmission, it may be expected to be higher transmission power, as described herein. At 525, UE 115-c may transmit a request for an updated communication scheme (e.g., a new waveform or modulation scheme). The request may be based on the calculated power headroom and/or power limits.); and
wherein the indication comprises one or more power headroom estimation pairs indicating respective unscheduled modulation orders (see Pg. 10, ¶ 2; Pg. 20, ¶ 1; Pg. 23, ¶ 8, wherein the UE can dynamically request the change of the modulation order depending on real-time change in uplink transmit power which is based off and paired to real-time power headroom report and/or power limits; e.g., see ¶ 1 of P20, UE115-a may report that more power headroom is expected for an increased uplink transmit power. In some cases, the report may include a request to change the waveform and/or modulation order, so as to increase the power headroom of UE 115-a);
transmit an indication of a scheduled power level for the uplink transmission, the scheduled power level being based at least in part on the UE-proposed power change (Pg. 23, Paragraph 9, e.g., At 530, the base station 105-c may modify the communication scheme for the UE 115-c based on the received request. At 535, the base station 105-c may transmit the updated communication scheme configuration to the UE 115-c.), and
and a power headroom estimation pair of the one or more power headroom estimation pairs utilizing a corresponding unscheduled modulation order (see Fig. 5, e.g., element 540, 545 uplink transmission, Pg. 23, Paragraph 10 - Pg. 24, Paragraph 1, e.g., At 540, UE 115-c may be based on the received updated communication scheme configuration to update its transmission parameter. The UE 115-c may also re-calculate its power headroom to ensure that there is a power sufficient to increase the transmit power for retransmission. At 545, UE 115-c can use the adjusted transmission parameter to transmit the uplink TB, which may include one or more of new waveform, new modulation order and transmit power increase),
however, it does not explicitly teach, receive, from the UE via one or more beams,
wherein the indication of the UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a transmit power for the uplink transmission, the transmit power based at least in part on the one or more signals and the one or more beams.
AKKARAKARAN teaches, receive, from the UE via one or more beams, wherein the indication of the UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a transmit power for the uplink transmission (see ¶ [0171] As further shown in FIG. 13, in some aspects, process 1300 may include transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power (block 1330). For example, the UE (e.g., using controller/processor 280, transmit processor 264, TX MIMO processor 266, MOD 254, antenna 252, and/or the like) may transmit the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power; ¶ [0173] the signal includes at least one of an uplink control signal, an uplink data signal, or a sounding reference signal.),
the transmit power based at least in part on the one or more beams. (see ¶ [0090], the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on a beam via which the uplink transmission is to be transmitted.);
PARK teaches, the transmit power based at least in part on the one or more signals (see ¶ [0454], e.g., the UE may receive a pilot channel/signal from the eNB and estimate a strength of reception power by using the received pilot channel/signal. Thereafter, the UE may control the transmission power by using the estimated strength of the reception power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining a transmit power for the uplink transmission of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of AKKARAKARAN and PARK to include determine one or more beams on which an uplink transmission is to be transmitted based at least in part on the received one or more signals; determine a transmit power for the uplink transmission based at least in part on the one or more signals and the one or more beams; and transmit an uplink transmission at the determined transmit power using the one or more beams. Doing so would facilitate in achieving controlling the transmission power without feedback from a transmitting device as suggested by Park (see ¶ [0454], e.g., Specifically, the open-loop power control scheme means a scheme of controlling the transmission power without a feedback from a transmitting device (e.g., the eNB, etc.) to a receiving device (e.g., UE, etc.) and/or a feedback from the receiving device to the transmitting device. As an example, the UE may receive a pilot channel/signal from the eNB and estimate a strength of reception power by using the received pilot channel/signal. Thereafter, the UE may control the transmission power by using the estimated strength of the reception power.).
Regarding claim 19, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 16.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured, individually or collectively, to:
calculate the scheduled power level based at least in part on the UE-proposed power change (Fig. 5, e.g., element 525 ask, 530 Modify communication plan, Pg. 23, Paragraph 9, e.g., At 530, the base station 105-c may modify the communication scheme for the UE 115-c based on the received request. In some cases, this may include a waveform change (e.g., change from CP-OFDMto DFT-S-FDM) and/or modulation order change (e.g., from QPSK change to π /2-bpsk).); and
transmit a transmission configuration that is associated with the uplink transmission and indicates the scheduled power level (Fig. 5, e.g., element 520, 525 ask, 530 Modify communication plan, 535 Updated configuration, Pg. 23, Paragraph 7, At 520, UE115-c may be based on the configured communication scheme to determine the transmit power limit for uplink transmission. Paragraph 8, e.g., At 525, UE 115-c may transmit a request for an updated communication scheme (e.g., a newwaveform or modulation scheme). The request may be based on the calculated power headroomand/or power limits. Paragraph 9, e.g., At 535, the base station 105-c may transmit the updated communication scheme configuration to the UE 115-c.)).
Regarding claim 20, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 16.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
receive the indication in Layer 1 signaling or Layer 2 signaling (Pg. 6, Paragraph 7, e.g.,
transmitting the request to modify the communication scheme may include operation for the following actions, characteristic, device or instruction: The request is transmitted via a media access control (MAC) control element (CE), a scheduling request (SR) resource, a configured resource set, or a combination thereof, Pg. 19, Paragraph 5, e.g., The UE 115-a may report its power headroom to the base station 105-a using, for example, the PHR transmitted in the MAC control element. The base station 105-a receives the PHR, and can use the PHR notification (e.g., determine) the uplink scheduling of UE 115-a (e.g., the data rate of the transmission of the UE can be modified).).
Regarding claim 31, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI and PARK does not teach but AKKARAKARAN teaches, wherein the transmit power is a maximum transit power, the maximum transmit power corresponding to a highest priority signal of the one or more signals (see ¶ [0088], e.g., the UE 505 may select a maximum transmit power corresponding to the highest priority signal to be transmitted. For example, if the plurality of signals includes a signal on the uplink control channel (e.g., the PUCCH), then the UE 505 may select the maximum transmit power that corresponds to the uplink control channel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining a transmit power for the uplink transmission of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of AKKARAKARAN to include, wherein the transmit power is a maximum transit power, the maximum transmit power corresponding to a highest priority signal of the one or more signals. Doing so would facilitate in achieving means for transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power as suggested by AKKARAKARAN (see ¶ [0025], e.g., means for determining a signal to be transmitted via a beam; means for determining a maximum transmit power for the beam based at least in part on the signal; and means for transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power.).
Regarding claim 32, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI and PARK does not teach but AKKARAKARAN teaches, wherein the one or more processors, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a maximum transmit power corresponding to one or more combinations of signals of the uplink transmission (see ¶ [0089], Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on an indication, associated with the plurality of signals, indicated in a radio resource control (RRC) message. For example, an RRC message (e.g., from the base station 510) may indicate which maximum transmit power to use for different combinations of multiple signals. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on a maximum transmit power of a signal that is included in the uplink transmission. Additionally, or alternatively, the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on multiple maximum transmit powers corresponding to multiple signals included in the uplink transmission.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining a transmit power for the uplink transmission of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of AKKARAKARAN to include, receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message indicating a maximum transmit power corresponding to one or more combinations of signals of the uplink transmission. Doing so would facilitate in achieving means for transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power as suggested by AKKARAKARAN (see ¶ [0025], e.g., means for determining a signal to be transmitted via a beam; means for determining a maximum transmit power for the beam based at least in part on the signal; and means for transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power.).
Regarding claim 33, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 32.
HOSSEINI and PARK does not teach but AKKARAKARAN teaches, wherein the determined transmit power is an average of the maximum transmit power corresponding to the one or more combinations of signals of the uplink transmission (see ¶ [0089], the UE 505 may determine the maximum transmit power based at least in part on multiple maximum transmit powers corresponding to multiple signals included in the uplink transmission. For example, the UE 505 may average the multiple maximum transmit powers, may select a maximum of the maximum transmit powers, may select a minimum of the maximum transmit powers, and/or the like.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified determining a transmit power for the uplink transmission of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of AKKARAKARAN to include, wherein the determined transmit power is an average of the maximum transmit power corresponding to the one or more combinations of signals of the uplink transmission. Doing so would facilitate in achieving means for transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power as suggested by AKKARAKARAN (see ¶ [0025], e.g., means for determining a signal to be transmitted via a beam; means for determining a maximum transmit power for the beam based at least in part on the signal; and means for transmitting the signal via the beam based at least in part on the maximum transmit power.).
Regarding claim 36, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the one or more power headroom estimation pairs explicitly indicate the respective unscheduled modulation orders (see Pg. 10, Paragraph 2, e.g., Using high priority communication (e.g., configured operation mode, such as URLLC, which may have implicit or explicitly indicated to the UE characteristics) of the operation of the UE may benefit from using real-time power headroom report (PHR) to more frequently inform the base station about the power availability or limit of the UE. The UE may also request the updated communication configuration based on the frequent power headroom measurements (e.g., using less power configuration). For example, by using the real-time report of the power headroom, the UE can dynamically request the change of the modulation order, or the change of the waveform used for communication. In such cases, when an increased transmit power may be required (such as in the case of additional data to be transmitted by the UE), the request transmitted by the UE may improve the capability of the UE to save power and have sufficient power.).
Claim(s) 2-4, 17-18, 27-28 and 30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over HOSSEINI, AKKARAKARAN and PARK and in further view of HSU et al., TW I461010 B (see the English translated copy), (hereinafter HSU).
Regarding claim 2, and 27, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a power class associated with the UE.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but HSU teaches, wherein the UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a power class associated with the UE (Fig. 5, e.g., element 541, 542, Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., if subjected to IDC interference, the UE switches to a different power class, wherein the new power level can be transmitted through UE performance, new Radio Resource Control (RRC) or new media. Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of HSU to include power class associated with the UE. Doing so would facilitate in checking on-the-fly UE performance which can further help to understand the status of IDC interference as suggested by HSU (Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., Since IDC interference can be quite dynamic, if the UE power level is considered part of UE performance, the network needs to support on-the-fly UE performance. In this scheme, the eNB and the network can understand the status of IDC interference.).
Regarding claim 3, and 28, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 2.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is based least in part on a nominal transmission power associated with the power class.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but HSU teaches, wherein the UE-proposed power change indicates a change in power that is based least in part on a nominal transmission power associated with the power class (Fig. 5, e.g., element 541, 542, Pg. 7, Paragraph 2, e.g., if the UE transitions to a lower P .sub.POWERCLASS, the value of P .sub.CMAX can be reduced. After receiving a lower P .sub.CMAX value and a smaller PH value, the eNB can reduce the transmit power of the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of HSU to include power class associated with the UE. Doing so would facilitate in checking on-the-fly UE performance which can further help to understand the status of IDC interference as suggested by HSU (Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., Since IDC interference can be quite dynamic, if the UE power level is considered part of UE performance, the network needs to support on-the-fly UE performance. In this scheme, the eNB and the network can understand the status of IDC interference.).
Regarding claim 4, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
HOSSEINI further teaches, wherein the UE-proposed power change comprises a UE-specific UE-proposed power change that is based at least in part on a power boosting capability of the UE (Fig. 5, e.g., element 520 Determine transmit power limits, 525 ask, Pg. 23, Paragraph 8, e.g., At 525, UE 115-c may transmit a request for an updated communication scheme (e.g., a new waveform or modulation scheme). The request may be based on the calculated power headroom and/or power limits. The UE 115-c may update the power headroom and the limit report more frequently to the base station 105-c).
Regarding claim 17, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 16.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a power class associated with the UE.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but HSU teaches, wherein the UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a power class associated with the UE (Fig. 5, e.g., element 541, 542, Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., if subjected to IDC interference, the UE switches to a different power class, wherein the new power level can be transmitted through UE performance, new Radio Resource Control (RRC) or new media. Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of HSU to include power class associated with the UE. Doing so would facilitate in checking on-the-fly UE performance which can further help to understand the status of IDC interference as suggested by HSU (Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., Since IDC interference can be quite dynamic, if the UE power level is considered part of UE performance, the network needs to support on-the-fly UE performance. In this scheme, the eNB and the network can understand the status of IDC interference.).
Regarding claim 18, HOSSEINI teaches the limitations of Claim 17.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is based least in part on a nominal transmission power associated with the power class.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but HSU teaches, wherein the UE-proposed power change indicates a change in power that is based least in part on a nominal transmission power associated with the power class (Fig. 5, e.g., element 541, 542, Pg. 7, Paragraph 2, e.g., if the UE transitions to a lower P.sub.POWERCLASS , the value of P .sub.CMAX can be reduced. After receiving a lower P.sub.CMAX value and a smaller PH value, the eNB can reduce the transmit power of the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of HSU to include power class associated with the UE. Doing so would facilitate in checking on-the-fly UE performance which can further help to understand the status of IDC interference as suggested by HSU (Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., Since IDC interference can be quite dynamic, if the UE power level is considered part of UE performance, the network needs to support on-the-fly UE performance. In this scheme, the eNB and the network can understand the status of IDC interference.).
Regarding claim 30, HOSSEINI teaches the limitations of Claim 29.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is based on a power class associated with the UE and least in part on a nominal transmission power associated with the power class.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but HSU teaches, wherein the UE-proposed power change is based at least in part on a power class associated with the UE (Fig. 5, e.g., element 541, 542, Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., if subjected to IDC interference, the UE switches to a different power class, wherein the new power level can be transmitted through UE performance, new Radio Resource Control (RRC) or new media. Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE).), and
wherein the UE-proposed power change indicates a change in power that is based least in part on a nominal transmission power associated with the power class (Fig. 5, e.g., element 541, 542, Pg. 7, Paragraph 2, e.g., if the UE transitions to a lower P.sub.POWERCLASS , the value of P .sub.CMAX can be reduced. After receiving a lower P.sub.CMAX value and a smaller PH value, the eNB can reduce the transmit power of the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of HSU to include power class associated with the UE. Doing so would facilitate in checking on-the-fly UE performance which can further help to understand the status of IDC interference as suggested by HSU (Pg. 5, Paragraph 4, e.g., Since IDC interference can be quite dynamic, if the UE power level is considered part of UE performance, the network needs to support on-the-fly UE performance. In this scheme, the eNB and the network can understand the status of IDC interference.).
Claim(s) 7, 11, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSSEINI, AKKARAKARAN and PARK and in further view of Tenny et al., US 11653196 B2, (hereinafter Tenny).
Regarding claim 7, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach sending the UE-proposed power change indication in UE capability information.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but Tenny teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
transmit the indication in UE capability information (Fig. 2, e.g., element 207, Fig. 5, e.g.,
Fig. 5, e.g., element 500, 510, 505, 515, 517, 521, Col. 5, lines 45-49, e.g., The UE takes action to reduce power consumption (block 207), Col. 9, lines 66-67, e.g., UE 505 adjusts the UE capability to reduce the heat generated by UE 505, Col. 10, lines 1-10, e.g., UE 505 triggers the transfer of the UE capability information by transmitting an indication for network 510 to obtain the updated UE capability information (event 517). Network 510 transmits a UE capability request to UE 505 (event 519) and UE 505 transmits the UE capability information that includes either the entirety of the UE capability information (with the capability change as proposed by the UE) or a subset of the UE capability information that includes the changed UE capability (as proposed by the UE) to network 510 (event 521).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of Tenny to include sending the UE-proposed power change indication in UE capability information. Doing so would facilitate in reducing the processing requirements and service interruptions as suggested by Tenny (Col. 5, lines 45-49, e.g., enables a UE to dynamically update the UE capability to reduce processing requirements, and therefore, heat dissipation requirements, without having to detach and re-attach to the network, which would lead to service interruptions.).
Regarding claim 11, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach transmitting the UE-proposed power change in a radio resource control (RRC) message.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but Tenny teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
transmit the indication in a radio resource control (RRC) message (Col. 7, lines 20-26, e.g., the UE triggers the transfer of the updated UE capability information by transmitting an indication, such as a message or an instance of control signaling, for the network to obtain the updated UE capability information. Such an indication may be carried by a message of a control plane protocol, for instance, an RRC message.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of Tenny to include sending the UE-proposed power change indication in UE capability information via RRC message. Doing so would facilitate in reducing the processing requirements and service interruptions as suggested by Tenny (Col. 5, lines 45-49, e.g., enables a UE to dynamically update the UE capability to reduce processing requirements, and therefore, heat dissipation requirements, without having to detach and re-attach to the network, which would lead to service interruptions.).
Regarding claim 15, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is based on receiving the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to: receive the indication in UE capability information
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but Tenny teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to: receive the indication in UE capability information (Fig. 5, e.g., element 500, 525 , Col. 10, lines 1-12, e.g., UE 505 transmits the UE capability information that includes either the entirety of the UE capability information (with the capability change as proposed by the UE) or a subset of the UE capability information that includes the changed UE capability (as proposed by the UE) to network 510 (event 521). Network 510 updates stored UE capability information (block 523). Network 510 reconfigures the connection in accordance with the updated UE capability information and transmits configuration information for the connection to UE 505 (block 525)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of Tenny to include receiving the UE-proposed power change indication in UE capability information. Doing so would facilitate in reducing the processing requirements and service interruptions as suggested by Tenny (Col. 5, lines 45-49, e.g., enables a UE to dynamically update the UE capability to reduce processing requirements, and therefore, heat dissipation requirements, without having to detach and re-attach to the network, which would lead to service interruptions.).
Claim(s) 13-14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOSSEINI, AKKARAKARAN and PARK and in further view of JEONG et al., EP 3648515 A1 (see the English translated copy), (hereinafter JEONG).
Regarding claim 13, HOSSEINI teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is transmitted as a value.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but JEONG teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
transmit a value (Fig. 6, e.g., 610, 615, 620, 625, 630, 635, Pg. 7, Paragraph 7, e.g., FIG. 6 is a signaling diagram illustrating operations of a UE and a network for scheduling of an eNB based on a Power Headroom (PH) value and P.sub.CMAX reported by the UE, Pg. 8, Paragraph 7, e.g., The UE can report one of four values of P.sub.CMAX with two bits.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of JEONG to include transmitting the UE-proposed power change as a value. Doing so would facilitate in reducing the scheduling errors or interference to other transmissions as suggested by JEONG ( Pg. 2, Paragraph 6, e.g., PHR is used to prevent the total transmit power from exceeding the maximum transmit power limit when the eNB assigns the resources of uplink transmission of the UE. Since inaccurate PHR information causes scheduling errors or interference to other transmissions, it is very important for the eNB to interpret the PHR reported by the UE correctly.).
Regarding claim 14, HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
HOSSEINI teaches UE-proposed power change, however it does not explicitly teach UE-proposed power change is transmitted as a bit pattern that maps to a value.
HOSSEINI as combined with AKKARAKARAN and PARK does not teach but JEONG teaches, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the indication of the UE-proposed power change, are configured, individually or collectively, to:
transmit a bit pattern that maps to a value (Fig. 7, e.g., element 75 PH Oct1, Pg. 8, Paragraph 6, e.g., the power headroom MAC CE has a length of 1 octet with 6 bits 715 indicating a power headroom level. With 6 bits, it is possible to express 64 power headroom levels, and the index representing a power headroom level is transmitted on behalf of the value of the power headroom level itself, Paragraph 6, e.g., three methods for reporting the PCMAX value to the eNB effectively are provided. tabl0002 tabl0003 tabl0004 In the third method, the power reduction is reported on behalf of the PCMAX value. tabl0005 tabl0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified UE-proposed power change of HOSSEINI to incorporate the teachings of JEONG to include transmitting the UE-proposed power change as a bit pattern that maps to a value. Doing so would facilitate in reducing the scheduling errors or interference to other transmissions as suggested by JEONG ( Pg. 2, Paragraph 6, e.g., PHR is used to prevent the total transmit power from exceeding the maximum transmit power limit when the eNB assigns the resources of uplink transmission of the UE. Since inaccurate PHR information causes scheduling errors or interference to other transmissions, it is very important for the eNB to interpret the PHR reported by the UE correctly.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 37, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250386303 A1 issued to WANG
US 12401487 B2 issued to Loehr et al.
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472