DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 13-18 and 20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-12 and 19 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/03/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-12, and 19over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1) and 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, and 19 over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1), of claims 1-7, 9-12, and 19 over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1) and Wenk et al. (US 2012/0308503 A1), of claims 1-12 and 19 over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1) and Wenk et al. (US 2012/0308503 A1) as evidenced by Frihart (Chemistry of Dimer Acid Production from Fatty Acids and the Structure–Property Relationships of Polyamides Made from These Dimer Acids, Polymers, 2023, 15, 3345) are withdrawn by the examiner from the previous Office Action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
New ground of rejections
Upon reconsideration the following new ground of rejections are applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1).
Von Hof et al. meet all of the limitations of claims 1, 5-7, 9, and 19. Von Hof et al. disclose in paragraph 64 A2) and B2) a polyglycerol partial ester with a degree of esterification of 45-85% (the instant claim 9) (claim 18) obtained by esterification of
polyglycerol having an average degree of condensation of 3 to 5 (paragraph 22) (the claimed a) with a carboxylic acid mixture of
at least one C8-12 short-chain dicarboxylic acid (the claimed b1 in the instant claim 1) such as aliphatic, linear dicarboxylic acids, oxalic acid (the instant claims 5 and 19) (claim 5),
at least one C34-38 long-chain dicarboxylic acid (the claimed b2) such as dimer of oleic acid (the instant claim 6) (claim 6), and
at least one C16-20 linear, unsaturated and branched, or saturated fatty acids (monocarboxylic acid, the claimed c in the instant claim 1 and the instant claim 7)
wherein there are 0.3-0.6 mole short-chain dicarboxylic acid / 1 mole of polyglycerol; 0.2-0.5 mol long-chain dicarboxylic acid / 1 mole of polyglycerol, and 1.2-2.2 mol C16-20 linear, unsaturated and branched, or saturated fatty acids / 1 mole of polyglycerol (claim 20).
The molar ratio between the carboxyl groups in the carboxylic acid mixture and the hydroxy groups in the polyglycerol is calculated to be 44 to 100 (the 3rd wherein clause in the instant claim 1) based on 0.3 mole short-chain dicarboxylic acid, 0.2 mol long-chain dicarboxylic acid, 1.2 mol C16-20 fatty acids, and 1 mol triglycerol (5 mole -OH in 1 mole triglycerol, 0.2 mole carboxyl in 0.1 mol short-chain dicarboxylic acid, 0.2 mole carboxyl in 0.1 mol long-chain dicarboxylic acid, 0.5 mole carboxyl in 0.5 mol fatty acid) ((0.6 + 0.4 + 1.2) / 5 = 0.44) and the molar ratio among polyglycerol, the sum of short-chain dicarboxylic acid and long-chain dicarboxylic acid, and fatty acid is calculated to be 1 : 0.5 (0.3 + 0.2) : 1.2 (within the claimed 1:1:1 to 4:1:10 → 1 : 1-0.25 : 1-2.5, (the 4th wherein clause in the instant claim 1).
Von Hof et al. do not disclose the short-chain dicarboxylic acid, the long-chain dicarboxylic acid, and the linear, unsaturated and branched, or saturated fatty acid being impure, thus, the short-chain dicarboxylic acid, the long-chain dicarboxylic acid, and the linear, unsaturated and branched, or saturated fatty acid disclosed by Von Hof et al. are pure and thus short-chain dicarboxylic acid% + long-chain dicarboxylic acid% = 100%, i.e., no impurity (the 1st wherein clause in the instant claim 1), and linear, unsaturated and branched, or saturated fatty acid% = 100%, i.e., no impurity (the 2nd wherein clause in the instant claim 1).
Von Hof et al. meet all of the limitations of claims 10-12. Although Von Hof et al. are silent about the properties of polyglycerol partial ester in the instant claims 10-12, as a result of the polyglycerol partial ester is the same as claimed, the polyglycerol partial ester would necessarily have the claimed properties, whether expressly recognized by Von Hof et al. or not. Please refer to MPEP 2112.01 II and MPEP 2112.V:
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
it is noted that In re Best (195 USPQ 430) and In re Fitzgerald (205 USPQ 594) discuss the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter, which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited, or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to “prove that subject matter to be shown in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on” (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph).
Von Hof et al. meet all of the limitations of claim 3. Von Hof et al. disclose the polyglycerol comprising 10-40% diglycerol (paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1).
The teachings of Von Hof et al. are discussed above and applied in the same manner. Von Hof et al. also teach polyglycerol comprising 0-15% glycerol (paragraph 28).
Von Hof et al. do not specify the same weight percentage of glycerine in the instant claim 2 (0-15% vs the claimed 0.05-25%).
This deficiency is cured by the rationale that a prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition overlaps with the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection.
The claimed range of glycerine is 0.05-25% by weight and the range of glycine taught in the prior art is 0-15% by weight and therefor, overlaps with the claimed range.
Claims 1-7, 9-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1) in view of Wenk et al. (US 2012/0308503 A1).
The teachings of Von Hof et al. are discussed above and applied in the same manner. Von Hof et al. also teach the polyglycerol (paragraph 20).
Von Hof et al. do not specify the same weight percentage of cyclic isomer glycerine in the instant claim 4.
This deficiency is cured by Wenk et al. who teach polyglycerol partial esters obtained by esterification of polyglycerol, having an average degree of polymerization of from 2 to 8 and at least 1% cyclic structures, with at least one monocarboxylic acid and at least one dicarboxylic acid (claim 7); wherein the monocarboxylic acid incudes stearic acid (C18 monocarboxylic acid) (paragraph 66) and the dicarboxylic acid includes dimer fatty acids of a mix of acyclic and cyclic dicarboxylic acids, succinic acid (C4 dicarboxylic acid), and phthalic acid (aromatic dicarboxylic acid) (paragraph 69-71) and polyglycerol has d 6.9% cyclic structures as a result of polymerizing in examples 1-7, wherein the percentage are determined by the GC method (paragraph 62) and thus the weight percentage of the cyclic structures in polyglycerol would be about 6.9%.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in Von Hof et al. and Wenk et al. to specify the amount of the polyglycerol for esterification taught by Von Hof et al. being about 6.9% by weight as a by-product. Polymerized glycerol having about 6.9% by weight was well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The motivation for specifying it flows from its having been used in the prior art, and from its being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose.
Claims 1-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Von Hof et al. (US 2019/0202771 A1) as evidenced by Frihart (Chemistry of Dimer Acid Production from Fatty Acids and the Structure–Property Relationships of Polyamides Made from These Dimer Acids, Polymers, 2023, 15, 3345) in view of Wenk et al. (US 2012/0308503 A1).
The teachings of Von Hof et al. are discussed above and applied in the same manner. Von Hof et al. also teach long-chain dicarboxylic acid is selected from those obtainable from the dimerization of oleic acid and/or linoleic acid. The mixtures obtainable from such a process known as dimer fatty acids can comprise not only the long-chain acyclic and cyclic dicarboxylic acids (paragraph 53).
According to Frihart the clay-catalyzed oleic dimer comprising about 25% aromatic acid (the paragraphs on page 5, figure 3, and table 1).
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art can readily envisage the product of dimerization of oleic acid and/or linoleic acid taught by Von Hof et al. including about 25% aromatic acid (the instant claim 8).
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 02/03/2026, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground of rejections in which Von Hof et al.‘s teaching of polyhydroxystearic acid (as component c)) is deleted since polyhydroxystearic acid is not a monocarboxylic acid.
Rejections maintained
The following rejection of the claims is remained for reasons of record and the following.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-12 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,807,603 B2.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in both applications are drawn to the same polyglycerol partial ester.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Argument regarding the rejection is basically the same as the above rejections, thus the response discussed above applies here as well and is not persuasive for reason discussed above.
Correspondence
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614