Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot, please refer to rejection below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 1, 7, 9, 13, and, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 2019/0191382 A1) in view of Chandrasekhar (US 2019/0069285 A1).
As per claim 1, ZHANG teaches a computer readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the computer readable storage medium, and a processor executes the computer program to perform (¶0329, computer program is stored in the computer readable storage medium, and a processor executes the computer program to perform): receiving more than one power control parameter sets sent by a network device, wherein the power control parameter set comprises a parameter set of at least one parameter configuration index or parameter value (¶0059-61, obtaining or receiving power control parameter sent by base station (i.e. network device) comprising parameter value for the SRS); determining a target parameter configuration index or a target parameter value according to Downlink Control Information (DCI) for an uplink channel (¶0059-61, determining target power parameter value according to DCI for uplink control channel); transmitting the uplink channel according to the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value, wherein the uplink channel comprises a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (¶0061 and ¶0091, transmitting the uplink control channel according to the target power parameter value and uplink control channel comprises PUSCH).
However, ZHANG does not explicitly teach when a target indication field is detected in the DCI, then determining the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to the target indication field, from the power control parameter set; when the target indication field is not detected in the DCI, then determining the default parameter configuration index or the default parameter value of a first power control parameter set as the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value.
In the same field of endeavor, Chandrasekhar teaches when a target indication field is detected in the DCI, then determining the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to the target indication field, from the power control parameter set (¶0087 and ¶0127-130, presence or detection of beam indication field related to DCI then apply a higher-layer configured set of QCL parameters (i.e. target parameter value) from the beam power parameters); when the target indication field is not detected in the DCI, then determining the default parameter configuration index or the default parameter value of a first power control parameter set as the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value (¶0127-130, absence or not detecting of beam indication field related to DCI then apply a pre-configured behavior such as default set of QCL parameters (i.e. default parameter value)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Chandrasekhar in view ZHANG in order to provide transmission structures and format in advanced communication systems to support various applications.
As per claim 7 as applied to claim 1 above, ZHANG further teaches wherein the parameter set comprises one of: a target received power, a pathloss compensation factor, a reference resource identification of a downlink channel or a reference signal for a pathloss calculation and a process identification of a closed-loop power control (¶0016, received target power value and path loss compensation factor).
As per claim 9, ZHANG teaches a computer readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the computer readable storage medium, and a processor executes the computer program to perform (¶0329, computer program is stored in the computer readable storage medium, and a processor executes the computer program to perform): sending more than one power control parameter sets to a terminal, wherein the power control parameter set comprises a parameter set of at least one parameter configuration index or parameter value (¶0059-61, sending power control parameter to a UE/terminal of parameter value for the SRS); sending Downlink Control Information (DCI) carrying a target indication field to the terminal (¶0059-61, sending DCI carrying target power parameter value to the UE) and receiving an uplink channel sent by the terminal according to the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value, wherein the uplink channel comprises a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (¶0061 and ¶0091, receiving the uplink control channel from the terminal according to the target power parameter value and uplink control channel comprises PUSCH).
However, ZHANG does not explicitly teach when the target indication field is detected in the DCI, then determine the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to the target indication field, from the power control parameter set; when the target indication field is not detected in the DCI, then determine the default parameter configuration index of the default parameter value of a first power control parameter set as the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value.
In the same field of endeavor, Chandrasekhar teaches when a target indication field is detected in the DCI, then determine the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to the target indication field, from the power control parameter set (¶0087 and ¶0127-130, presence or detection of beam indication field related to DCI then apply a higher-layer configured set of QCL parameters (i.e. target parameter value) from the beam power parameters); when the target indication field is not detected in the DCI, then determine the default parameter configuration index or the default parameter value of a first power control parameter set as the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value (¶0127-130, absence or not detecting of beam indication field related to DCI then apply a pre-configured behavior such as default set of QCL parameters (i.e. default parameter value)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Chandrasekhar in view ZHANG in order to provide transmission structures and format in advanced communication systems to support various applications.
As per claim 13 as applied to claim 9 above, ZHANG further teaches wherein the parameter set comprises one of: a target received power, a pathloss compensation factor, a reference resource identification of a downlink channel or a reference signal for a pathloss calculation and a process identification of a closed-loop power control (¶0016, received target power value and path loss compensation factor).
As per claim 21, ZHANG teaches a computer readable storage medium, wherein a computer program is stored in the computer readable storage medium, and a processor executes the computer program to perform (¶0329, computer program is stored in the computer readable storage medium, and a processor executes the computer program to perform): receiving more than one power control parameter sets sent by a network device, wherein the power control parameter set comprises a parameter set of at least one parameter configuration index or parameter value (¶0059-61, obtaining or receiving power control parameter sent by base station (i.e. network device) comprising parameter value for the SRS); determining a target parameter configuration index or a target parameter value according to Downlink Control Information (DCI) for an uplink channel (¶0059-61, determining target power parameter value according to DCI for uplink control channel); transmitting the uplink channel according to the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value, wherein the uplink channel comprises a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (¶0061 and ¶0091, transmitting the uplink control channel according to the target power parameter value and uplink control channel comprises PUSCH).
However, ZHANG does not explicitly teach when a target indication field is detected in the DCI, then determining the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to the target indication field, from the power control parameter set; when the target indication field is not detected in the DCI, then determining the target parameter configuration index or target parameter value based on a second power control parameter set.
In the same field of endeavor, Chandrasekhar teaches when a target indication field is detected in the DCI, then determining the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to the target indication field, from the power control parameter set (¶0087 and ¶0127-130, presence or detection of beam indication field related to DCI then apply a higher-layer configured set of QCL parameters (i.e. target parameter value) from the beam power parameters); when the target indication field is not detected in the DCI, then determining the target parameter configuration index or target parameter value based on a second power control parameter set (¶0087 and ¶0127-130, absence or not detecting of beam indication field related to DCI then apply different/second higher-layer configured set (i.e. target parameter value) from the beam power parameters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of Chandrasekhar in view ZHANG in order to provide transmission structures and format in advanced communication systems to support various applications.
B) Claims 2, 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 2019/0191382 A1) in view of Chandrasekhar (US 2019/0069285 A1) and further in view of Yerramalli (US 2017/0280476 A1).
As per claim 2 as applied to claim 1 above, ZHANG in view of Chandrasekhar does not explicitly teach wherein the target indication field is configured to indicate the parameter configuration index or the parameter value of the power control parameter set.
In the same field of endeavor, Yerramalli teaches wherein the target indication field is configured to indicate the parameter configuration index or the parameter value of the power control parameter set (Yerramalli, ¶0104, target transmission burst index field indicate reference signal of PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
Yerramalli into invention of ZHANG and Chandrasekhar in order for transmitting an uplink transmission using dedicated radio frequency spectrum band to offload some data traffic and enhance data transmission capacity (Yerramalli, background).
As per claim 4 as applied to claim 2 above, Yerramalli further teaches wherein the target indication field is coded independently, or the target indication field is jointly coded with other indication field (Yerramalli, ¶0075 and ¶0104, multiplexing or jointly indicator fields of coded data).
As per claim 10 as applied to claim 9 above, ZHANG in view of Chandrasekhar does not explicitly teach wherein the target indication field is configured to indicate the parameter configuration index or the parameter value of the power control parameter set.
In the same field of endeavor, Yerramalli teaches wherein the target indication field is configured to indicate the parameter configuration index or the parameter value of the power control parameter set (Yerramalli, ¶0104, target transmission burst index field indicate reference signal of PUSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
Yerramalli into invention of ZHANG and Chandrasekhar in order for transmitting an uplink transmission using dedicated radio frequency spectrum band to offload some data traffic and enhance data transmission capacity (Yerramalli, background).
C) Claims 3, 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (US 2019/0191382 A1) in view of Chandrasekhar (US 2019/0069285 A1) and further in view of Yerramalli (US 2017/0280476 A1) and CATT: "Remaining Aspects of NR Power Control", 3GPP DRAFT RI-1720215, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), Reno, NV, U.S.A.; November 27-December 1, 2017 hereinafter CATT.
As per claim 3 as applied to claim 2 above, ZHANG in view of Chandrasekhar and Yerramalli does not explicitly teach wherein subsequent to the determining the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to DCI for the uplink channel, the processor executes the computer program to perform: determining a target parameter configuration index or a target parameter value of other power control parameter item, based on the first power control parameter item, wherein the other power control parameter item is associated with the first power control parameter item.
In the same field of endeavor, CATT teaches wherein subsequent to the determining the target parameter configuration index or the target parameter value according to DCI for the uplink channel, the processor executes the computer program to perform: determining a target parameter configuration index or a target parameter value of other power control parameter item, based on the first power control parameter item, wherein the other power control parameter item is associated with the first power control parameter item (CATT, page 3, section For SRS power control, gNB configures the same values for some parameters between PUSCH power control and SRS power control or the same association rule among P0_SRS,c, α_SRS,c, PL reference and closed-loop is applied for PUSCH and SRS power control In Alt.2, no RRC configuration is needed for signaling the direct linkage between PUSC and SRS power control FFS: details on the indication of the linkage via L1 signaling, e.g., using SRI in DCI, or an association rule among P0_SRS,c, α_SRS,c, PL reference and closed-loop applied for PUSCH and SRS power control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
CATT into invention of ZHANG and Chandrasekhar and Yerramalli in order to process closed loop power control for NR PUSCH to achieve power control setting and service reliability.
As per claim 6 as applied to claim 21 above, ZHANG in view of Chandrasekhar and Yerramalli does not explicitly teach acquiring an association relationship among a plurality of power control parameter items in the power control parameter set.
In the same field of endeavor, CATT teaches acquiring an association relationship among a plurality of power control parameter items in the power control parameter set (CATT, page 11, section 2.3, FFS: details on the indication of the linkage via L1 signaling, e.g., using SRI in DCI, or an association rule among P0_SRS,c, α_SRS,c, PL reference and closed-loop applied for PUSCH and SRS power control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
CATT into invention of ZHANG and Chandrasekhar and Yerramalli in order to process closed loop power control for NR PUSCH to achieve power control setting and service reliability.
As per claim 12 as applied to claim 9 above, ZHANG in view of Chandrasekhar and Yerramalli does not explicitly teach sending, to the terminal, an association relationship among a plurality of power control parameter items in the power control parameter set.
In the same field of endeavor, CATT teaches sending, to the terminal, an association relationship among a plurality of power control parameter items in the power control parameter set (CATT, page 11, section 2.3, FFS: details on the indication of the linkage via L1 signaling, e.g., using SRI in DCI, or an association rule among P0_SRS,c, α_SRS,c, PL reference and closed-loop applied for PUSCH and SRS power control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teaching of
CATT into invention of ZHANG and Chandrasekhar and Yerramalli in order to process closed loop power control for NR PUSCH to achieve power control setting and service reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 5, 11, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARIDEH MADANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643