DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al, application no. 2025/0266971, hereinafter known as Uesaka in view of Sun et al application no. 2019/0174487, hereinafter known as Sun.
As to claim 1, Uesaka discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Uesaka, [0122], figure 6, wireless device (UE), part 22 with memory and processor), configured to: receive, from a network node associated with a full-duplex (FD) network, one or more tracking reference signals (TRSs) in a slot (Uesaka, [0055], network sending to UE tracking signals associated with FD and HD, for plural processing including for Automatic Gain Control), and calculate an automatic gain control (AGC) for the slot based at least in part on the one or more TRSs received in the slot and information regarding the slot type associated with the slot, including half duplex or full duplex (Uesaka, [0055], performing automatic gain control with both tracking and slot information). Uesaka does not disclose however Sun discloses wherein the slot is a half-duplex (HD) slot or an FD slot based at least in part on a slot type associated with the slot (Sun, [0005], [0030]-[0032], slot format indication for frequency division duplex which indicates full duplex or not).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Uesaka to include the limitations of wherein the slot is a half-duplex (HD) slot or an FD slot based at least in part on a slot type associated with the slot as taught by Sun. Plural indication for slots are provided for UE to process the slots accordingly such as full or half duplex indication where half duplex requires less processing or energy usage.
As to claim 3, Uesaka discloses wherein a slot dependent AGC is enabled based at least in part on the one or more TRSs received in the slot (Uesaka, [0054]-[0055], AGC according to where TRS is received).
As to claim 20, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 above by Uesaka in view of Sun.
Claim 7-13 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka in view of Ren et WIPO Publication No. 2020/186440, hereinafter known as Ren.
As to claim 7, Uesaka discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Uesaka, [0122], figure 6, wireless device (UE), part 22 with memory and processor), configured to: receive, from a network node associated with a full-duplex (FD) network, an indication of an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol at a boundary between a half-duplex (HD) slot or symbol and an FD slot or symbol (Uesaka, [0055], network sending to UE tracking signals associated with FD and HD, for plural processing including for Automatic Gain Control) and performing automatic gain control with both tracking and slot information); Uesaka does not expressly disclose however Ren dicloses and calculate an AGC using the AGC symbol based at least in part on a switching between the HD slot or symbol and the FD slot or symbol (Ren, [0072], communicating full duplex or non-full duplex (half duplex; [0072]-[0078], AGC calculation based on full duplex and when switching to non-full duplex that includes half duplex).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Uesaka to include the limitations of and calculate an AGC using the AGC symbol based at least in part on a switching between the HD slot or symbol and the FD slot or symbol as taught by Ren. Full duplex and non-full duplex have different signal metrics such as signal strength requiring different associated AGC calculation.
As to claim 8, Uesaka discloses wherein the AGC symbol is associated with a sequence or a reference signal, or wherein the AGC symbol is a duplicate of a first symbol in a slot (Uesaka, [0055], network sending to UE tracking reference signal for AGC calculation).
As to claim 9, Uesaka discloses the apparatus of claim 7. Uesaka does not expressly disclose however Ren discloses wherein the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a semi-static radio resource control configuration (Ren, [0081], RRC signaling for AGC indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Uesaka to include the limitations of wherein the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a semi-static radio resource control configuration as taught by Ren. Radio Resource Control signaling is well known in the art to provide control data to UE’s.
As to claim 10, Uesaka discloses the apparatus of claim 7. Uesaka does not expressly disclose however Ren discloses wherein the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a scheduling downlink control information (Ren, [0081]-0082], DCI signaling for AGC indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Uesaka to include the limitations of wherein the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a scheduling downlink control information as taught by Ren. Downlink Control Information is well known in the art to provide control data to UE’s.
As to claim 11, Uesaka discloses the apparatus of claim 7. Uesaka disclose and wherein the configuration for AGC is activated or deactivated by the network node (Uesaka, [0055], activation of AGC is based on when TRS is indicated or not). Uesaka does not expressly disclose however Ren discloses wherein the indication of the AGC symbol is associated with a configuration of the AGC symbol that is received via a medium access control control element (Ren, [0081]-0082], DCI signaling for AGC indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Uesaka to include the limitations of wherein the indication of the AGC symbol is associated with a configuration of the AGC symbol that is received via a medium access control control element as taught by Ren. MAC-CE is well known in the art to provide control data to UE’s.
As to claim 12, Uesaka dicloses wherein the indication of the AGC symbol indicates the AGC symbol as a downlink symbol for the UE (Uesaka, [0047]-[0048], Tracking reference signaling is downlink signaling used for AGC indication).
As to claim 13, Uesaka wherein the AGC symbol is associated with a periodic reference signal or an aperiodic reference signal (Uesaka, [0053]-[0059], AGC calculation done according to TRS for both full duplex and half duplex that are in periodic communications).
As to claims 24 and 25, the claims are rejected as applied to claim 7 and 8 above respectively by Uesaka in view of Ren.
As to claim 26, Uesaka discloses the apparatus of claim 24. Uesaka discloses and wherein the configuration for AGC is activated or deactivated by the network node (Uesaka, [0055], activation of AGC is based on when TRS is indicated or not). Uesaka does not expressly disclose however Ren discloses the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a semi-static radio resource control configuration (Ren, [0081], RRC signaling for AGC indication); the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a scheduling downlink control information (Ren, [0081]-0082], DCI signaling for AGC indication); or the indication of the AGC symbol is associated with a configuration of the AGC symbol that is received via a medium access control control element (Ren, [0081]-0082], DCI signaling for AGC indication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Uesaka to include the limitations of the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a semi-static radio resource control configuration; the indication of the AGC symbol is received via a scheduling downlink control information; or the indication of the AGC symbol is associated with a configuration of the AGC symbol that is received via a medium access control control element as taught by Ren. RRC, DCI and MAC-CE is well known in the art to provide control data to UE’s.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6, 14-19, 21-23 and 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467