DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 14-17, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (WO 2019167696, for which English language equivalent PG Pub. US 2020/0369890 will be used as the citation copy, hereafter “Sasaki”) in view of Kondo et al. (JP 2011-99974, “Kondo” a machine translation of which is provided and used as the citation copy).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Sasaki teaches an absorption filter (e.g., [0066]) comprising a resin ([0068]) a dye that has a main absorption wavelength band in the visible light range (i.e., between 400 and 700 nm, [0068], and see colorant squarylium dye described at [0128] Formula (4) as being structurally the same as the squarylium dye compounds described in the present specification at pp. 22-23, General Formula (3) and is therefore considered to possess the same optical properties including wavelength absorption properties). Sasaki additionally teaches the resin compound may include a polystyrene structure (corresponding to the claimed high affinity partial structure, [0158]) and a hydrogenated polybutadiene structure (corresponding to the claimed low affinity partial structure, [0164]; please see also present specification at [0128] describing the above-described compounds as being high-affinity and low-affinity compounds, respectively). Sasaki fails to specifically teach that the composition includes a compound that forms a radical upon ultraviolet irradiation, however in the same field of endeavor of light absorption filters (pp. 1, 18), Kondo teaches that it is known to include a component that creates a radical when subject to UV radiation in a resin composition in order to create a color filter via mask pattern as is conventional and so as to create the filter with high quality and low cost (Kondo, pp. 9-10, 18, 19). Kondo additionally teaches that the compound that generates a radical upon exposure to UV radiation may generate that radical by extracting a hydrogen from the compound and may be an alkoxy-substituted benzophenone compound (e.g., alkoxybenzophenones, Kondo, pp. 11, 17-18; please also see also present specification, citing to PG Pub 2023/0288748, at [0037], [0038], [0175], [0176], [0180] – [0185], describing benzophenones as possessing the quality of generating a radical by extracting a hydrogen from another compound in the vicinity). It therefore would have been obvious to have included a component that creates a radical when subject to UV radiation in the resin film of Sasaki in order to create a color filter via mask pattern as is conventional and so as to create the filter with high quality and low cost (Kondo, pp. 9-10, 18, 19).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki additionally teaches that its dye includes a squarine-based dye reading on the structure of presently claimed General Formula (1) wherein A and B may be, for example, substituted aryl groups (e.g., [0102] – [0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki additionally teaches the polymer may be a block copolymer (e.g., [0162], [0163], [0164], [0158], wherein the block copolymer may include, e.g., hydrogenated polybutadiene and a polystyrene).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki additionally teaches that the resin may include a polystyrene structure (corresponding to the claimed high affinity partial structure, [0158]).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki additionally teaches that the resin may include a hydrogenated polybutadiene structure (corresponding to the claimed low affinity partial structure, [0164]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a compound that is photocleavable and has a good balance of exposure sensitivity and stability over time for use in making a color filter via a mask and UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 9-10).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sasaki (Kondo) additionally teaches that the compound that generates a radical upon exposure to UV radiation may generate that radical by extracting a hydrogen from the compound and may be an alkoxy-substituted benzophenone compound (e.g., alkoxybenzophenones, Kondo, pp. 11, 17-18).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki additionally teaches that the dye may be chemically changed and its color output changed by irradiation (e.g., [0078] – [0083]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sasaki additionally teaches that the filter may be made via mask exposure by UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 18-19).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki additionally teaches the display may be an organic electroluminescent or liquid crystal display device ([0241]).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a viewer-side optical filter blocking or absorbing UV radiation ([0007], [0008], [0194], [0245], Fig. 1, wherein the polarizer may be sandwiched by optical filters).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Sasaki additionally teaches that its dye includes a squarine-based dye reading on the structure of presently claimed General Formula (1) wherein A and B may be, for example, substituted aryl groups (e.g., [0102] – [0107] and the dye may be considered a quenching system, [0085]). Sasaki additionally teaches that at least one of A and B may be an electron quenching moiety (see, e.g., [0090] – [0091], having a moiety that would function as an electron-donating quencher).
Regarding claim 20, modified Sasaki (Kondo) additionally teaches that the compound that generates a radical upon exposure to UV radiation may generate that radical by extracting a hydrogen from the compound and may be an alkoxy-substituted benzophenone compound (e.g., alkoxybenzophenones, Kondo, pp. 11, 17-18).
Regarding claim 21, Sasaki additionally teaches that the dye may be chemically changed and its color output changed by irradiation (e.g., [0078] – [0083]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Sasaki additionally teaches that the filter may be made via mask exposure by UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 18-19).
Regarding claim 23, Sasaki additionally teaches the display may be an organic electroluminescent or liquid crystal display device ([0241]).
Regarding claim 24, Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a viewer-side optical filter blocking or absorbing UV radiation ([0007], [0008], [0194], [0245], Fig. 1, wherein the polarizer may be sandwiched by optical filters).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/7/26 are considered moot in light of the new grounds of rejection, which were necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. Arguments that are relevant to the current rejections are addressed below.
Applicant argues that the radical-generating compounds of Kondo are typically intramolecular cleavage type compounds rather than ones that generate a radical by extracting a hydrogen atom from another compound in the vicinity. However, the present specification appears to admit that benzophenones as a class of radical initiating compounds possess the quality of generating a radical by extracting a hydrogen from another compound in the vicinity (see also present specification, citing to PG Pub 2023/0288748, at [0037], [0038], [0175], [0176], [0180] – [0185]). Because the present claims do not specify the mechanism of initiation beyond that which is described for benzophenones, such compounds must be considered to generate a radical by extracting a hydrogen from another compound in the vicinity. Therefore, because Kondo teaches that the compound that generates a radical upon exposure to UV radiation may be a benzophenone compound (see Kondo, pp. 11, 17-18), it is considered to teach a compound that may generate a radical by extracting a hydrogen from a compound in the vicinity.
Therefore, claims 1-5, 8-12, 14-17, and 20-24 are rejected as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782