DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 and 14-24, in the reply filed on 12/3/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 13 and 25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/3/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al. (WO 2019167696, for which English language equivalent PG Pub. US 2020/0369890 will be used as the citation copy, hereafter “Sasaki”) in view of Kondo et al. (JP 2011-99974, “Kondo” a machine translation of which is provided and used as the citation copy).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Sasaki teaches an absorption filter (e.g., [0066]) comprising a resin ([0068]) a dye that has a main absorption wavelength band in the visible light range (i.e., between 400 and 700 nm, [0068], and see colorant squarylium dye described at [0128] Formula (4) as being structurally the same as the squarylium dye compounds described in the present specification at pp. 22-23, General Formula (3) and is therefore considered to possess the same optical properties including wavelength absorption properties). Sasaki additionally teaches the resin compound may include a polystyrene structure (corresponding to the claimed high affinity partial structure, [0158]) and a hydrogenated polybutadiene structure (corresponding to the claimed low affinity partial structure, [0164]; please see also present specification at [0128] describing the above-described compounds as being high-affinity and low-affinity compounds, respectively). Sasaki fails to specifically teach that the composition includes a compound that forms a radical upon ultraviolet irradiation, however in the same field of endeavor of light absorption filters (pp. 1, 18), Kondo teaches that it is known to include a component that creates a radical when subject to UV radiation in a resin composition in order to create a color filter via mask pattern as is conventional and so as to create the filter with high quality and low cost (Kondo, pp. 9-10, 18, 19). It therefore would have been obvious to have included a component that creates a radical when subject to UV radiation in the resin film of Sasaki in order to create a color filter via mask pattern as is conventional and so as to create the filter with high quality and low cost (Kondo, pp. 9-10, 18, 19).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki additionally teaches that its dye includes a squarine-based dye reading on the structure of presently claimed General Formula (1) wherein A and B may be, for example, substituted aryl groups (e.g., [0102] – [0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki additionally teaches the polymer may be a block copolymer (e.g., [0162], [0163], [0164], [0158], wherein the block copolymer may include, e.g., hydrogenated polybutadiene and a polystyrene).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki additionally teaches that the resin may include a polystyrene structure (corresponding to the claimed high affinity partial structure, [0158]).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki additionally teaches that the resin may include a hydrogenated polybutadiene structure (corresponding to the claimed low affinity partial structure, [0164]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a compound that is photocleavable and has a good balance of exposure sensitivity and stability over time for use in making a color filter via a mask and UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 9-10).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, modified Sasaki (Kondo) additionally teaches that the compound that generates a radical upon exposure to UV radiation may generate that radical by extracting a hydrogen from the compound and may be an alkoxy-substituted benzophenone compound (e.g., alkoxybenzophenones, Kondo, pp. 11, 17-18).
Regarding claim 9, Sasaki additionally teaches that the dye may be chemically changed and its color output changed by irradiation (e.g., [0078] – [0083]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Sasaki additionally teaches that the filter may be made via mask exposure by UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 18-19).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki additionally teaches the display may be an organic electroluminescent or liquid crystal display device ([0241]).
Regarding claim 12, Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a viewer-side optical filter blocking or absorbing UV radiation ([0007], [0008], [0194], [0245], Fig. 1, wherein the polarizer may be sandwiched by optical filters).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Sasaki additionally teaches that its dye includes a squarine-based dye reading on the structure of presently claimed General Formula (1) wherein A and B may be, for example, substituted aryl groups (e.g., [0102] – [0107] and the dye may be considered a quenching system, [0085]). Sasaki additionally teaches that at least one of A and B may be an electron quenching moiety (see, e.g., [0090] – [0091], having a moiety that would function as an electron-donating quencher).
Regarding claim 18, modified Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a compound that is photocleavable and has a good balance of exposure sensitivity and stability over time for use in making a color filter via a mask and UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 9-10).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, modified Sasaki (Kondo) additionally teaches that the compound that generates a radical upon exposure to UV radiation may generate that radical by extracting a hydrogen from the compound and may be an alkoxy-substituted benzophenone compound (e.g., alkoxybenzophenones, Kondo, pp. 11, 17-18).
Regarding claim 21, Sasaki additionally teaches that the dye may be chemically changed and its color output changed by irradiation (e.g., [0078] – [0083]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Sasaki additionally teaches that the filter may be made via mask exposure by UV irradiation (see Kondo, pp. 18-19).
Regarding claim 23, Sasaki additionally teaches the display may be an organic electroluminescent or liquid crystal display device ([0241]).
Regarding claim 24, Sasaki additionally teaches the inclusion of a viewer-side optical filter blocking or absorbing UV radiation ([0007], [0008], [0194], [0245], Fig. 1, wherein the polarizer may be sandwiched by optical filters).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782