DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 06/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ji et al. (US 9057841 B2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. (US 20180067273 A1) in view of Ji et al. (US 9057841 B2).
Re claim 1, Geng et al. discloses an optical coupling element (110) configured to be positioned between and optically couple a first optical component (140) having a transmitting facet, configured to transmit a light beam (fig. 1), and a second optical component (130) having a receiving facet, configured to receive light of the light beam, the first and the second optical components being positioned with the transmitting facet and the receiving facet facing each other (fig. 1), the optical coupling element (110) comprising a glass coupler body (122; [0036]) having a receiving side surface (112) and an opposite transmitting side surface (114), the glass coupler body comprising: a converging member (150) configured to reduce, in accordance with converging characteristics, divergence of light of the light beam entering the glass coupler body via the receiving side surface (lens’ property/functionality), the converging member (150) being arranged on or at the receiving side surface (112), the converging member and the transmitting facet facing, with the optical coupling element being positioned between the first optical component and the second optical component, each other (fig. 1); and a coupling waveguide (120) extending within the glass coupler body (122) between the converging member (150) and an output facet on the transmitting side surface (114) and being configured to transmit light of the light beam from the converging member to the output facet (fig. 1), the coupling waveguide (120) having a first end at the side of the receiving side surface (112) and a first facet at the first end (fig. 1).
Geng et al. fails to disclose the first facet lying at a non-zero angle relative to the receiving side surface.
However, a waveguide, extending within a glass coupler body, having an end surface lying at a non-zero angle relative to the receiving side surface of the glass body is well-known in the art, as evidenced by Ji et al. Figs. 2-3 and col. 5, line 35 through col. 6, line 16 of Ji et al. teaches a waveguide/fiber (202), extending within the glass coupler body (214) between the converging member (212) and an output facet on the transmitting side surface (port 2 side), having an end surface/first facet (facing lens 212) lying at a non-zero angle (substantially 8 degrees) relative to the receiving side surface of the glass body (214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an end surface of Geng et al.’s coupling waveguide to have a non-zero angle relative to the receiving side surface of the glass body as taught by Ji et al. since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, to stabilize a light source at the end of the fiber/waveguide by preventing light from reflecting back to the fiber/waveguide (Ji et al., col. 5, lines 42-51).
Re claim 2: Geng et al./Ji et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 1 above, and further teaches lens (150) can be a cylindrical lens (Geng et al.: par. [0039]) or lens (212) can be a cylindrical lens (Ji et al.: Figs. 2-3; col. 5, lines 35-54).
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 8942521 B2) in view of Geng et al. (US 20180067273 A1).
Re claim 1, Song et al. discloses an optical coupling element configured to be positioned between and optically couple a first optical component (300) having a transmitting facet, configured to transmit a light beam, and a second optical component (410/510 or 512) having a receiving facet, configured to receive light of the light beam, the first and the second optical components being positioned with the transmitting facet and the receiving facet facing each other (figs. 3 and 5), the optical coupling element comprising a coupler body (400) having a receiving side surface (facing lens array 404) and an opposite transmitting side surface (410 side), the coupler body comprising: a converging member (404 or 402) configured to reduce, in accordance with converging characteristics, divergence of light of the light beam entering the glass coupler body via the receiving side surface (lens’ characteristics), the converging member being arranged on or at the receiving side surface (fig. 3), the converging member (404 or 402) and the transmitting facet facing, with the optical coupling element being positioned between the first optical component and the second optical component, each other (fig. 3); and a coupling waveguide (406 and 408) extending within the coupler body (400) between the converging member (404 or 402) and an output facet on the transmitting side surface (410 side) and being configured to transmit light of the light beam from the converging member to the output facet (fig. 3), the coupling waveguide having a first end (406) at the side of the receiving side surface and a first facet at the first end, the first facet lying at a non-zero angle relative to the receiving side surface (see annotated fig. 4 below).
Song et al. fails to disclose the coupling body is a glass coupling body.
Geng et al. teaches a optical coupling element (110) comprising a glass coupler body (122; [0036]) having a receiving side surface (112) and an opposite transmitting side surface (114), the glass coupler body comprising: a coupling waveguide (120) extending within the glass coupler body (122) between the converging member (150) and an output facet on the transmitting side surface (114) and being configured to transmit light of the light beam from the converging member to the output facet (fig. 1), the coupling waveguide (120) having a first end at the side of the receiving side surface (112) and a first facet at the first end (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coupling body of Song et al. made of glass as taught by Geng et al. since such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, to confines and channels energy via total internal reflection with minimal signal loss, and since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Re claims 3-7: Song et al./Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 1 above, and further teaches the converging member forms a local extension outward of the receiving side surface (Figs. 3-4), wherein the coupling waveguide is configured to narrow towards the output facet (408 is narrower than 406; Figs. 3-4), wherein the coupling waveguide is configured to have a curved section narrowing towards the output facet (Figs. 3-4). Song et al. also discloses the width of the waveguide 408 is approximately 70 µm (col. 5, lines 15-17); thus, based on the dimensions shown in fig. 3, comparing to the width of the waveguide 408, the curved section narrowing towards the output facet is obviously having a length of less than or equal to 200 µm.
Re claim 8: Song et al./Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 1, wherein the coupling waveguide (406 and 408) is configured to have a straight waveguide section (408) having a substantially constant cross-section (fig. 4).
Re claim 9: Song et al./Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 1 above, and further teaches the first end of coupling waveguide (406 and 408) lying at a converging member (lens 404) separation distance of 0.5 to 1.5 R, as defined along the optical axis, from the receiving interface (see annotated fig. 3 below).
Re claims 10 and 20: Song et al./Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 9 above. Song et al. further discloses a transceiver including an optical coupling arrangement (Fig. 3) comprising: a first optical component (300) having a transmitting facet, configured to transmit a light beam with a beam divergence corresponding to a first numerical aperture out of the transmitting facet (Fig. 3; col. 1, lines 31-34); the converging member (lens 402/404) being configured to reduce the beam divergence of the light beam transmitted by the first optical element (300); and a second optical component (410/510 or 512; figs. 3 and 5) with a second numerical aperture (col. 4, lines 32-42), having a receiving facet, configured to receive light of the light beam via the receiving facet (figs. 3 and 5); the first and the second optical components being positioned with the transmitting and receiving facets thereof facing each other mutually misaligned by an optical component misalignment (Fig. 5); the optical coupling element being positioned between the first and the second optical components with the converging member and the transmitting facet facing each other (see Fig. 3, converging member 402/404 and the transmitting facet (where 410, 412, 414)) mutually misaligned by a coupler misalignment (to some degree, this is inherently present) to optically couple, with a coupling efficiency, the first and the second optical components by transmitting light of the light beam to the output facet and further to the receiving facet (fig. 3); the coupling waveguide (406/408) having a first end at the side of the receiving side surface (facing lens 402/404) and a first facet at the first end, the first facet lying at a non-zero angle relative to the receiving side surface (see annotated fig. 4 above); wherein a coupling waveguide is configured to reduce effect(s) of the misalignments, possible difference between the first and the second numerical apertures, and/or the converging characteristics on the coupling efficiency (Examiner notes that this limitation is an intended use type limitation. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Furthermore, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). In this case, Song et al.’s coupling waveguide (406/408) having the same structure as claimed, i.e., a first facet at the first end, the first facet lying at a non-zero angle relative to the receiving side surface (see annotated fig. 4 above); therefore, the coupling waveguide is capable of performing the claimed functions).
Re claims 11-16: Song et al./Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 9 above. Song et al. further discloses the coupling waveguide has an input numerical aperture (Fig. 3; col. 1, lines 31-34). Geng et al. further discloses the first numerical aperture (numerical aperture of the lens system 150) may be substantially equivalent to or less than the second numerical aperture (numerical aperture at the second end 114 of the planar tapered waveguide coupling element 110) [0038]. Song et al./Geng et al. fails to explicitly discloses the first numerical aperture, the second numerical aperture, and the coupler misalignment’s offset values as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize Song et al./Geng et al.’s device by making the second numerical aperture to be smaller than the first numerical aperture and the coupler misalignment’s offset values as claimed in order to minimize loss in the device, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233).
Re claims 17-18: Song et al./Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 10 above, but fails to disclose the first optical component comprises an active optical component, wherein the active optical component is a semiconductor laser, an optical amplifier, or an optical modulator, wherein at least one of the first and the second optical components comprises a waveguide of a photonic integrated circuit.
Geng et al. teaches an optical coupling (110; Fig. 1) configured to be positioned between and optically couple a first optical component (140) and a second optical component (130), the optical coupling element comprising a glass coupler body (122; par. [0036]) having a receiving side surface (112) and an opposite transmitting side surface (114), the glass coupler body comprising: a coupling waveguide (120) extending within the glass coupler body, the first optical component comprises an active optical component, wherein the active optical component is a semiconductor laser (par. [0038]), wherein at least one of the first and the second optical components comprises a waveguide of a photonic integrated circuit (par. [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first and second optical components of Song et al. to be a semiconductor laser or a waveguide of a photonic integrated circuit as taught by Geng et al. to provide Song et al. with a versatile system which can be applied in various applications for intended use as a matter of design choice.
Re claim 19: Song et al./ Geng et al. discloses the optical coupling element as defined in claim 18 above, wherein the first optical component and the second optical component comprise arrays of pluralities of transmitting and receiving facets, respectively (facets of emitter 302 and waveguides 512 (Figs. 3 and 5; col. 4, lines 62-67 and col. 5, line 64 through col. 6, line 8)); the coupler body comprises an array of a plurality of converging members (lens array 404) and a plurality of coupling waveguides (406/408) between the beam converging members and output facets on the transmitting side surface facing and being aligned with the receiving facets (figs. 3 and 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kimura et al. (WO 2015190127 A1; figs. 4B-5A) and Li (US 9134842 B2; fig. 3) disclose a glass coupling body, disposed between a first optical element and a second optical element, having a lens in the receiving side and a waveguide extending between the lens and the transmitting side of the glass body.
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874