DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-18, and 20-22 are presented for consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gingras et al. [ US Patent Application No 2013/0305160 ], in view of Bonev et al. [ US Patent Application No 2009/0157513 ].
As per claim 1, Gingras discloses the invention as claimed including an operating method of a server providing an assistant function linked with an application for a messaging service [ i.e. electronic calendaring application is run on the client device, and participant brief data is sent to the user in a daily message ] [ Figure 1; and paragraphs 0059, and 0149 ], the operating method comprising:
monitoring an execution of the application of a terminal [ i.e. calendar data associated with one or more users may be received ] [ Figure 7; and paragraphs 0090-0092 ];
determining whether a briefing execution condition for the assistant function is satisfied based on a result of the monitoring [ i.e. analysis criterion or meet certain criteria ] [ 708, Figure 7; and paragraphs 0066, 0084, 0097, and 0105 ];
identifying a briefing target from records generated based on an execution of the assistant function of the terminal based on a result of the determining [ i.e. context data, status information and news information associated with at least one participant ] [ paragraph 0043, 0160, and 0169 ], wherein the records correspond to the selected period [ i.e. brief containing information about participants of calendar events occurring on certain date or within a range of dates may be provided to user ] [ paragraphs 0145, 0147, and 0149 ]; and
transmitting, to the terminal, a briefing message in a message format to notify the identified briefing target [ i.e. the briefing may be sent from the server to the client device in an email, SMS, displayed as an alert or a web page ] [ Figure 24; and paragraphs 0149, 0190, and 0191 ].
Gingras does not specifically disclose the terminal logging in with a user account subscribing to the messaging service, and whether the execution of the application is a first execution corresponding to the user account within a select period; and
a designated chatroom, wherein the designated chatroom includes at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account or a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function.
Bonev discloses
the terminal logging in with a user account subscribing to the messaging service [ i.e. the browser running on the client device connects with the FEIA application run by the service provider system ] [ paragraphs 0069, 0075, and 0080 ], and whether the execution of the application is a first execution corresponding to the user account within a select period [ i.e. initial login process ] [ paragraph 0101 ]; and
a designated chatroom [ i.e. integrated web-based graphic user interface to manage communications for a variety of WEB accessible devices, the user devices may provide a communications portal to collect information from and present content to the user ] [ paragraphs 0065, and 0125-0128 ], wherein the designated chatroom includes at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account or a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function [ i.e. present various information pertaining to a particular user, and accessing a portal or other point of entry to the account provided by the online service provider ] [ Figure. 11; and paragraphs 0100, 0102, 0134, and 0135 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gingras and Banov because the teaching of Banov would enable to provide a primary point of interaction between the user and the service provider system [ Banov, paragraph 0126 ].
As per claim 3, Bonev discloses wherein the determining whether the briefing execution condition is satisfied further comprises verifying a reception setting of the user account for the briefing message based on the monitoring result [ i.e. configured setting ] [ paragraphs 0080, and 0284 ].
As per claim 4, Bonev discloses wherein the verifying the reception setting comprises at least one of verifying whether reception of the briefing message is allowed and verifying whether a reception time of the briefing message is limited [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0120, and 0201 ].
As per claim 5, Gingras discloses wherein the identifying the briefing target comprises identifying the briefing target based on time information comprised by the record and a time of the briefing message transmitted [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0041, and 0082 ].
As per claim 6, Gingras discloses identifying the briefing target further comprises identifying the briefing target by each type of the record determined based on the executed assistant function [ i.e. context data includes status information, news information, statistics data ] [ paragraphs 0159-162 ].
As per claim 7, Bonev discloses wherein the assistant function comprises a reserved message management function [ i.e. to-do, reminder ], the records indicate each message to be automatically sent using the messaging service in the select period [ i.e. reminder ] [ paragraph 0116, and 0195 ], the briefing message includes an interfacing object corresponding to a reserved message management interface [ Figure 14; paragraphs 0159-0162 ], and based on receiving selection of the interfacing object, causing the terminal to display the reserved message management interface that indicates each reserved message to be automatically sent in the select period using the messaging service [ i.e. i.e. date completed ] [ paragraphs 0163-0166 ].
As per claim 8, Bonev discloses wherein the briefing message is transmitted through the second-type chatroom comprising the official account associated for the assistant function implemented as a chatbot [ i.e. pop-up window ], wherein the official account serves as s sender of the briefing message transmitted through the second-type chatroom [ Figures 16, and 21; and paragraphs 0172, 0197, and 0309 ].
As per claim 9, Gingras discloses wherein the transmitting the briefing message to the terminal comprises: generating information on the number of the identified briefing targets as data in a format to be transmitted as a message [ i.e. context data ] [ paragraphs 0149, 0190, and 0191 ]; and requesting a messaging server to transmit the briefing message based on the generated data [ i.e. retrieve from database ] [ paragraphs 0182, and 0184 ].
12. As per claim 10, Gingras discloses the invention as claimed including an operating method of a terminal [ i.e. client devices ] on which an application for a messaging service is installed [ i.e. electronic calendaring application is run on the client device, and participant brief data is sent to the user in a daily message ] [ Figure 1; and paragraphs 0059, and 0149 ], the operating method comprising:
receiving, in a message format, a briefing message from a server providing an assistant function linked with the application based on an execution of the application [ i.e. the daily message may be presented as a daily “brief” and may be referred to as a “daily digest” ] [ Figure 24; and paragraphs 0149, and 0190 ], and wherein the briefing message is based on records that correspond to the selected period [ i.e. brief containing information about participants of calendar events occurring on certain date or within a range of dates may be provided to user ] [ paragraphs 0145, 0147, and 0149 ];
receiving an input of calling the assistant function through the received briefing message [ i.e. generate participant brief data as a function of calendar data and a selected date range ] [ Figure 19A; and paragraphs 0153-0156 ]; and
displaying an assistant interface comprising a record registered corresponding to the called assistant function [ i.e. display the at least a portion of the participant brief data includes context data associated with the participant, context data includes news information and statistic data ] [ Figures 25A-C; and paragraphs 0157-0161, and 0191 ].
Gingras does not specifically disclose
a designated chatroom, the execution of the application being a first execution corresponding to a user account within a select period, and wherein the designated chatroom includes at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account or a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function.
Banov discloses
a designated chatroom [ i.e. integrated web-based graphic user interface to manage communications for a variety of WEB accessible devices, the user devices may provide a communications portal to collect information from and present content to the user ] [ paragraphs 0065, and 0125-0128 ], the execution of the application being a first execution corresponding to a user account within a select period[ i.e. initial login process ] [ paragraph 0101 ], and wherein the designated chatroom includes at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account or a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function [ i.e. present various information pertaining to a particular user, and accessing a portal or other point of entry to the account provided by the online service provider ] [ Figure. 11; and paragraphs 0100, 0102, 0134, and 0135 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gingras and Banov because the teaching of Banov would enable to provide a primary point of interaction between the user and the service provider system [ Banov, paragraph 0126 ].
13. As per claim 11, Gingras discloses wherein the briefing message comprises information on the number of records corresponding to a specific period among records registered corresponding to the assistant function [ i.e. event within a selected date range ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0045, and 0052-0054 ].
As per claim 12, Banov discloses wherein the briefing message is transmitted through at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account, and a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function [ i.e. present various information pertaining to a particular user, and accessing a portal or other point of entry to the account provided by the online service provider ] [ Figures. 11, and 21; and paragraphs 0100, 0102, 0134, 0135, and 0309 ].
15. As per claim 13, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 7.
16. As per claim 14, Gingras discloses setting a reception condition for the briefing message [ i.e. time ] [ paragraphs 0100, and 0137 ].
17. As per claim 15, Banov discloses wherein the reception condition comprises whether reception of the briefing message is allowed and time information when the reception of the briefing message is allowed [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0120, and 0201 ].
18. As per claim 16, Gingras discloses requesting registration of a new record corresponding to the assistant function based on a record input received through the assistant interface [ i.e. create calendar events, i.e. lunch ] [ paragraphs 0094, and 0101 ].
19. As per claim 17, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
20. As per claim 18, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
21. As per claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 10.
22. As per claim 21, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 3.
23. As per claim 22, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-18, and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bergquist et al. [ US Patent No 9,563,605 ] discloses displaying a selected daily briefing feed
Callaway et al. [ US Patent Application No 2003/0129569 ] discloses daily calendar screen displays the agenda items
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446