DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-18, and 20-22 are presented for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-12, 14-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gingras et al. [ US Patent Application No 2013/0305160 ], in view of Bakshi et al. [ US Patent Application No 2023/0049885 ].
As per claim 1, Gingras discloses the invention as claimed including an operating method of a server providing an assistant function linked with an application for a messaging service [ i.e. electronic calendaring application is run on the client device, and participant brief data is sent to the user in a daily message ] [ Figure 1; and paragraphs 0059, and 0149 ], the operating method comprising:
monitoring an execution of the application of a terminal [ i.e. calendar data associated with one or more users may be received ] [ Figure 7; and paragraphs 0090-0092 ];
determining whether a briefing execution condition for the assistant function is satisfied based on a result of the monitoring [ i.e. analysis criterion or meet certain criteria ] [ 708, Figure 7; and paragraphs 0066, 0084, 0097, and 0105 ];
identifying a briefing target from records generated based on an execution of the assistant function of the terminal based on a result of the determining [ i.e. context data, status information and news information associated with at least one participant ] [ paragraph 0043, 0160, and 0169 ], wherein the records correspond to the selected period [ i.e. brief containing information about participants of calendar events occurring on certain date or within a range of dates may be provided to user ] [ paragraphs 0145, 0147, and 0149 ]; and
transmitting to the terminal a briefing message to notify the identified briefing target [ i.e. the daily message may be presented as a daily “brief” and may be referred to as a “daily digest” ] [ Figure 24; and paragraphs 0149, 0190, and 0191 ].
Gingras does not specifically disclose the terminal logging in with a user account subscribing to the messaging service, and whether the execution of the application is a first execution corresponding to the user account within a select period.
Bakshi discloses the terminal logging in with a user account subscribing to the messaging service [ i.e. user account associated with each notification ] [ paragraphs 0027, 0043, and 0044 ], and whether the execution of the application is a first execution corresponding to the user account within a select period [ i.e. a time, e.g. morning, upon first user log in, associated with the summarized brief of notifications, or beginning of working hours ] [ paragraphs 0033, 0080, and 0107 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gingras and Bakshi because the teaching of Bakshi would enable to determine whether the contextual data suggests it may be useful to refrain from presenting a notification [ Bakshi, paragraph 0016 ].
As per claim 3, Bakshi discloses wherein the determining whether the briefing execution condition is satisfied further comprises verifying a reception setting of the user account for the briefing message based on the monitoring result [ i.e. certain users of users having particular roles (.e. manager, admin, etc..) ] [ paragraphs 0042, 0046, and 0053 ].
As per claim 4, Bakshi discloses wherein the verifying the reception setting comprises at least one of verifying whether reception of the briefing message is allowed and verifying whether a reception time of the briefing message is limited [ i.e. within threshold time duration ] [ paragraphs 0018, and 0089 ].
As per claim 5, Gingras discloses wherein the identifying the briefing target comprises identifying the briefing target based on time information comprised by the record and a time of the briefing message transmitted [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0041, and 0082 ].
As per claim 6, Gingras discloses identifying the briefing target further comprises identifying the briefing target by each type of the record determined based on the executed assistant function [ i.e. context data includes status information, news information, statistics data ] [ paragraphs 0159-162 ].
As per claim 8, Bakshi discloses wherein the briefing message is transmitted through at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account, and a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function [ i.e. public and private ] [ paragraphs 0035, and 0053 ].
As per claim 9, Gingras discloses wherein the transmitting the briefing message to the terminal comprises: generating information on the number of the identified briefing targets as data in a format to be transmitted as a message [ i.e. context data ] [ paragraphs 0149, 0190, and 0191 ]; and requesting a messaging server to transmit the briefing message based on the generated data [ i.e. retrieve from database ] [ paragraphs 0182, and 0184 ].
10. As per claim 10, Gingras discloses the invention as claimed including an operating method of a terminal [ i.e. client devices ] on which an application for a messaging service is installed [ i.e. electronic calendaring application is run on the client device, and participant brief data is sent to the user in a daily message ] [ Figure 1; and paragraphs 0059, and 0149 ], the operating method comprising:
receiving a briefing message from a server providing an assistant function linked with the application based on an execution of the application [ i.e. the daily message may be presented as a daily “brief” and may be referred to as a “daily digest” ] [ Figure 24; and paragraphs 0149, and 0190 ], and wherein the briefing message is based on records that correspond to the selected period [ i.e. brief containing information about participants of calendar events occurring on certain date or within a range of dates may be provided to user ] [ paragraphs 0145, 0147, and 0149 ];
receiving an input of calling the assistant function through the received briefing message [ i.e. generate participant brief data as a function of calendar data and a selected date range ] [ Figure 19A; and paragraphs 0153-0156 ]; and
displaying an assistant interface comprising a record registered corresponding to the called assistant function [ i.e. display the at least a portion of the participant brief data includes context data associated with the participant, context data includes news information and statistic data ] [ Figures 25A-C; and paragraphs 0157-0161, and 0191 ].
Gingras does not specifically disclose
the execution of the application being a first execution corresponding to a user account within a select period.
Bakshi discloses
the execution of the application being a first execution corresponding to a user account within a select period [ i.e. a time, e.g. morning, upon first user log in, associated with the summarized brief of notifications, or beginning of working hours ] [ paragraphs 0033, 0080, and 0107 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gingras and Bakshi because the teaching of Bakshi would enable to determine whether the contextual data suggests it may be useful to refrain from presenting a notification [ Bakshi, paragraph 0016 ].
11. As per claim 11, Gingras discloses wherein the briefing message comprises information on the number of records corresponding to a specific period among records registered corresponding to the assistant function [ i.e. event within a selected date range ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0045, and 0052-0054 ].
As per claim 12, Bakshi discloses wherein the briefing message is transmitted through at least one of a first-type chatroom not comprising another user account, and a second-type chatroom comprising an official account for the assistant function [ i.e. public and private ] [ paragraphs 0035, and 0053 ].
13. As per claim 14, Gingras discloses setting a reception condition for the briefing message [ i.e. time ] [ paragraphs 0100, and 0137 ].
14. As per claim 15, Bakshi discloses wherein the reception condition comprises whether reception of the briefing message is allowed and time information when the reception of the briefing message is allowed [ i.e. event within a selected date range ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0045, and 0052-0054 ].
15. As per claim 16, Gingras discloses requesting registration of a new record corresponding to the assistant function based on a record input received through the assistant interface [ i.e. create calendar events, i.e. lunch ] [ paragraphs 0094, and 0101 ].
16. As per claim 17, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
17. As per claim 18, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
18. As per claim 20, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 10.
19. As per claim 21, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 3.
20. As per claim 22, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 3.
Claim(s) 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gingras et al. [ US Patent Application No 2013/0305160 ], in view of Bakshi et al. [ US Patent Application No 2023/0049885 ], and further in view of Dotan-Cohen et al. [ US Patent Application No 2016/0249319 ].
As per claim 7, Gingras in view of Bakshi does not specifically disclose wherein the assistant function comprises at least one of a scheduling function, a to-do management function, and a reserved message management function, and the record comprises: a first-type record on a schedule generated based on an execution of the scheduling function; a second-type record on a to-do generated based on an execution of the to-do management function; and a third-type record on a reserved message generated based on an execution of the reserved message management function. Dotan-Cohen discloses wherein the assistant function comprises at least one of a scheduling function, a to-do management function, and a reserved message management function, and the record comprises: a first-type record on a schedule generated based on an execution of the scheduling function [ i.e. schedule ] [ paragraphs 0123, and 0142 ]; a second-type record on a to-do generated based on an execution of the to-do management function [ i.e. to-do list ] [ paragraph 0089 ]; and a third-type record on a reserved message generated based on an execution of the reserved message management function [ i.e. making reservation ] [ paragraphs 0067, and 0074 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Gingras, Bakshi and Dotan-Cohen because the teaching of Dotan-Cohen would enable to provide personalized notification content to users regarding events associated with the user [ Dotan-Cohen, paragraph 0004 ].
As per claim 13, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-18, and 20-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhong et al. [ US Patent No 10,051,600 ] discloses selective notification delivery based on user presence detections
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446