DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 12/16/2025, wherein:
Claim 64-65 and 69-86 are pending.
Claim 64 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claim have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 64-65, 69, 71, 73-74, 76, and 80-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (TW I470560 B) in view of Downie et al. (US 20080218355 A1).
Regarding claim 64, Yeh discloses a peripheral device (Fig. 1 – RFID reader/writer 200) comprising:
a first connector (Fig. 1 – USB connector 210) configured to physically couple to a mobile device (Fig. 1 – mobile phone 100), wherein the mobile device includes including a wireless transmitter (Fig. 1-3 and page 3-4 – “1 and 2 illustrate an RFID read/write assembly 10 in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. in In an embodiment of the disclosure, the RFID reader/writer assembly 10 includes an RFID reader 200 and a mobile phone 100. The RFID reader 200 includes a first micro USB connector 210, and the mobile phone 100 includes a first A second micro USB connector 110, the second micro USB connector 110 is configured to connect to the first micro USB connector 210”); and
a second connector coupled to the first connector (Fig. 5 and description of the figure on page 4-5 disclose RFID reader/writer circuit and antenna connected to the processor and USB controller for interfacing with mobile phone 100).
However, the reference is silent on details about the second connector is configured to wirelessly couple to a printed circuit coupled network component.
Downie discloses the second connector (Fig. 1-4: RFID Reader 22/122/222/322b) configured to wirelessly couple to a printed circuit coupled network component (Fig. 1-4, ¶0021-0022, and ¶0037-0038 disclose optically addressed RFID element 10/110/210/310 integrated on optical fiber and being read – i.e. wirelessly coupled - by RFID Reader 22/122/222/322b which can be a mobile reader).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh to integrate mobile RFID reader to a RFID addressable cable management system from Downie because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to expand the utility of mobile RFID reader into specific application.
Regarding claim 65, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses a system comprising: a mobile device including an RFID device (Downie – Fig. 4 and ¶0037-0038 disclose mobile RFID reader); and the peripheral device of claim 64 (Yeh - Fig. 1 – RFID reader/writer 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh to integrate mobile RFID reader to a RFID addressable cable management system from Downie because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to allow using RFID addressable optic cable that can be read/write by both standalone mobile reader in Downie and mobile device with RFID accessories in Yeh.
Regarding claim 69, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the peripheral device of claim 64, wherein the second connector is configured to transmit data, power, or both, received from the mobile device, to the printed circuit coupled network component (Yeh – Abstract and Fig. 1 disclose RFID reader/writer comprising mobile device 100 and RFID peripheral 200; Downie –Fig. 1 and ¶0022 - “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh to integrate mobile RFID reader to a RFID addressable cable management system from Downie because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to expand the utility of mobile RFID reader into specific application. The combined teaching would provide the RFID reader/writer of Yeh ability to communicate or read RFID data in a similar manner to the stand alone reader in Downie teaching.
Regarding claim 71, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the peripheral device of claim 64, wherein the second connector is configured to receive data from the printed circuit coupled network component (Downie - ¶0022 – “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 73, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the peripheral device of claim 64, wherein the peripheral device is configured to enable the mobile device to communicate with a particular printed circuit coupled cable of a plurality of printed circuit coupled cables in close proximity with each other (Downie - ¶0022 – “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 74, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the peripheral device of claim 64, wherein the printed circuit coupled network component includes: a first controller configured to receive data signals from the peripheral device via an inductor, to process the data signal to generate data, to provide the data to a second controller (Downie - ¶0022 discloses circuit 14 for receiving and storing data from external device 22 via induced radio signal 24), and to transmit second data to the peripheral device (Downie - ¶0022 – “For example, integrated circuit 14 may send an electrical signal to antenna 12 causing a return RF signal to be communicated to an RFID reader”); and the second controller configured to process the data and to provide the second data to the first controller (Downie – ¶0022 – “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications” which indicated RFID reader having controller to process received data). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 76, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the system of claim 65, wherein the peripheral device is configured to enable the mobile device to communicate with a particular printed circuit coupled cable of a plurality of printed circuit coupled cables in close proximity with each other (Downie - ¶0022 – “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 80, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses a method of managing a network component, the method comprising: transmitting data, power, or both from the peripheral device of claim 64 to a printed circuit of the network component (Yeh – Abstract and Fig. 1 disclose RFID reader/writer setting comprising mobile device 100 and RFID peripheral 200; Downie –Fig. 1 and ¶0022 - “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”); and receiving, from the printed circuit of the network component, second data indicating information relevant to the network component (Downie – Fig. 1 and ¶0027 – “The electrical signal generated by transducer 18 may be transmitted to integrated circuit 14 for one or more purposes. For example, the electrical signal may be used to write data to integrated circuit 14, including data regarding whether the optical fiber 26 has optical power propagating in it (i.e. it is active), the time of activity, or other parameters related to the optical signal. Therefore, when RFID element 10 receives the external RF signal 24, the RFID element can responsively transmit the already-written data via a RF signal”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 81, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the method of claim 80, wherein the transmitting the data, the power, or both includes wireless transmitting the data (Yeh – Abstract and Fig. 1 disclose RFID reader/writer setting comprising mobile device 100 and RFID peripheral 200; Downie –Fig. 1 and ¶0022 - “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”), the power, or both, and wherein receiving the second data include wirelessly receiving the second data (Downie – Fig. 1 and ¶0027 – “The electrical signal generated by transducer 18 may be transmitted to integrated circuit 14 for one or more purposes. For example, the electrical signal may be used to write data to integrated circuit 14, including data regarding whether the optical fiber 26 has optical power propagating in it (i.e. it is active), the time of activity, or other parameters related to the optical signal. Therefore, when RFID element 10 receives the external RF signal 24, the RFID element can responsively transmit the already-written data via a RF signal”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 82, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the method of claim 80, wherein the second data includes information relevant to the network component comprising at least one of: an operating status of the network component (Downie – Fig. 1 and ¶0027 disclose the second data including operating status of the optical fiber), a power connection status of the network component, a security setting of the network component, an Internet protocol (IP) address of a device coupled to the network component, or a media access control (MAC) address of a device coupled to the network component. The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 64.
Regarding claim 83, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the method of claim 80, further comprising controlling the peripheral device via a mobile device (Yeh – Fig. 1-3 disclose RFID peripheral device 200 connected to mobile terminal 100, which is obvious that the mobile device control the RFID peripheral).
Claim 70, 75, 84-85, and 86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (TW I470560 B) in view of Downie et al. (US 20080218355 A1) and Kahkoska (US 20140258504 A1).
Regarding claim 70, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the peripheral device of claim 69, however, silent on further details of claim 70.
Kahkoska disclose mobile device with NFC communication capability (¶0054 – “For example, the embodiments have been shown and described herein with relation to specific 802 wireless protocols. However, the embodiments in their broader sense are not as limited, and may, in fact, be used with various other types of wireless protocols (e.g., Bluetooth, NFC technologies, and the like)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh and Downie to incorporate NFC capability to the RFID reader/writer terminal from Kahkoska because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to expand the communication capability of mobile device.
Regarding claim 75, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the system of claim 65, however, silent on details about wherein the RFID device comprises an NFC device including an NFC reader.
Kahkoska discloses mobile device with NFC communication capability (¶0054 – “For example, the embodiments have been shown and described herein with relation to specific 802 wireless protocols. However, the embodiments in their broader sense are not as limited, and may, in fact, be used with various other types of wireless protocols (e.g., Bluetooth, NFC technologies, and the like)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh and Downie to incorporate NFC capability to the RFID reader/writer terminal from Kahkoska because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to expand the communication capability of mobile device.
Regarding claim 84, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the method of claim 83, however, silent on details about displaying the second data on an interface of the mobile device.
Kahkoska discloses displaying the second data on an interface of the mobile device (Fig. 4A-4C disclose displaying network diagnostic information on mobile device interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh and Downie to incorporate NFC capability to the RFID reader/writer terminal from Kahkoska because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to expand the communication capability of mobile device.
Regarding claim 85, the combined teaching of Yeh, Downie, and Kahkoska discloses the method of claim 84, further comprising: initiating transmission, by an application executed by the mobile device, of the data, the power, or both by the peripheral device (Yeh – Abstract and Fig. 1 disclose RFID reader/writer setting comprising mobile device 100 and RFID peripheral 200; Downie –Fig. 1 and ¶0022 - “Source 22 and/or any other RF reading devices within the range of the return RF signal can receive and process the return RF signal. Such functionality can be used for example to identify the presence, location, or status of RFID element 10 or a plurality of such elements, as desired in various applications. Information transmitted by external signal 24 may be stored in the integrated circuit or other structure on RFID element 10, if desired, for example to assign an identification number to the RFID element, or to write data to the memory of integrated circuit 14”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 84.
Regarding claim 86, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the method of claim 83, however, silent on further details of claim 86.
Kahkoska discloses transmitting, from the mobile device to a server, third data indicating identification information or status information about the network component, the third data generated based on the second data (¶0031 – “Network tester 105 also includes a one or more network interfaces of a wireless access point 215 enclosed by the housing member. The one or more network interfaces preferably generate a wireless local area network (WLAN) 145 that communicates diagnostic information of test network 135 to a client device 140 and causes client device 140 to display the diagnostic information as discussed below. Client device 140 can include peripheral devices that can preferably include a web browser. Examples of such devices include, but are not limited to: smart phones”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh and Downie to incorporate NFC capability to the RFID reader/writer terminal from Kahkoska because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to expand the communication capability of mobile device.
Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (TW I470560 B) in view of Downie et al. (US 20080218355 A1) and Lerner (US 20170092090 A1).
Regarding claim 72, the combined teaching of Yeh and Downie discloses the peripheral device of claim 64, however, silent on further detail about wherein the first connector is a USB type C connector.
Lerner discloses peripheral device with USB-C connector (¶0065 – “The RFID reader accessory communicates with the mobile device via a wired channel such as USB and/or via a wireless channel such as near field communications (NFC), Wi-Fi, Bluetooth™ or Bluetooth™ Low Energy (BLE). The RFID reader may use the mobile device's power via a USB connection, and/or it may have its own power-supply (e.g., a battery). In some embodiments the RFID reader can provide power to the mobile device. Optionally, the power-supply may be rechargeable, for example using a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection. The RFID reader accessory may comprise a USB receptacle, for example a Type-A, Micro-AB, Micro-B, or Type-C receptacle”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Yeh and Downie to incorporate USB-C interface from Lerner because doing so would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to implement more up-to-date connection interface into peripheral device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 77-78 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusions
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643