DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Akiyama.
Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0090900 A1) discloses (see annotated Figure 2):
Regarding claim 1, an illumination system (Figure 2, element 5), comprising: a first light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 10) configured to emit a first light beam (Figure 2, element L1); a first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) configured to reflect the first light beam (Figure 2, element L1) toward a first direction (Figure 2, element A); a second light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 15) configured to emit a second light beam (Figure 2, element L2); and a second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) configured to reflect the second light beam (Figure 2, element L2) toward the first direction (Figure 2, element A), wherein the first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) and the second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) are arranged in a second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to element A in Figure 2), and for a view seeing along the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to element A in Figure 2), the first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) and the second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) form a cross shape (clearly illustrated in Figure 2), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 2, element A).
Regarding claim 2, the first light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 10) comprises a plurality of laser diodes (page 2, paragraph 0019, lines 1-2), and the second light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 15) comprises a plurality of laser diodes (page 2, paragraph 0019, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, the first light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 10) and the second light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 15) comprise at least one row of laser diodes (clearly illustrated in Figure 2), and the at least one row of laser diodes is arranged along the second direction (page 2, paragraph 0019, lines 4-6).
Kim et al. teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except (regarding claim 1) a first light beam reflected by the first reflector without being transmitted to the second reflector, and the second light beam is reflected by the second reflector without being transmitted to the first reflector.
Akiyama (US Pub. No. 2016/0259234 A1) discloses a first light beam (Figure 2, element BL1) reflected by the first reflector (Figure 2, element 23a) without being transmitted to the second reflector (Figure 2, element 23b), and the second light beam (Figure 2, element BL2) is reflected by the second reflector (Figure 2, element 23b) without being transmitted to the first reflector (Figure 2, element 23a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first light beam reflected by the first reflector without being transmitted to the second reflector, and the second light beam is reflected by the second reflector without being transmitted to the first reflector as shown by Akiyama in combination with Kim et al.’s invention for the purpose of having a light source with a low focal magnification but allowing a reduction on the light beam width (Akiyama, page 5, paragraph 0093, lines 1-4).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Akiyama as applied to claims 1, 2 and 9 above, and further in view of Lin et al.
Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0090900 A1) discloses a first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) and a second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) are arranged on a reference axis parallel to the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to element A in annotated Figure 2). Kim et al. in combination with Akiyama (US Pub. No. 2016/0259234 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except a first light-emitting unit and a second light-emitting unit are respectively positioned at opposite sides of the reference axis but not facing each other.
Lin et al. (TW 202014789 A) discloses a first light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 100) and a second light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 300) are respectively positioned at opposite sides of the reference axis but not facing each other (clearly illustrated in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first light-emitting unit and a second light-emitting unit are respectively positioned at opposite sides of the reference axis but not facing each other as shown by Lin et al. in combination with Kim et al. and Akiyama’s invention for the purpose of emitting light simultaneously or alternately, to form a color image without the need for moving parts such as a color wheel or a fluorescent wheel (see translation, Lin et al., page 14, line 20 through page 15, line 2).
Claim 11, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Akiyama, and further in view of Lin et al.
Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0090900 A1) discloses:
Regarding claim 11, a projection apparatus (see projection system illustrated in Figure 2), comprising: an illumination system (Figure 2, element 5), comprising: a first light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 10) configured to emit a first light beam (Figure 2, element L1); a first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) configured to reflect the first light beam (Figure 2, element L1) toward a first direction (Figure 2, element A); a second light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 15) configured to emit a second light beam (Figure 2, element L2); and a second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) configured to reflect the second light beam (Figure 2, element L2) toward the first direction (Figure 2, element A), wherein the first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) and the second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) are arranged in a second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to element A in Figure 2), and for a view seeing along the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to element A in Figure 2), the first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) and the second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) form a cross shape (clearly illustrated in Figure 2), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 2, element A).
Regarding claim 12, the first light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 10) comprises a plurality of laser diodes (page 2, paragraph 0019, lines 1-2), and the second light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 15) comprises a plurality of laser diodes (page 2, paragraph 0019, lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, the first light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 10) and the second light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 15) comprise at least one row of laser diodes (clearly illustrated in Figure 2), and the at least one row of laser diodes is arranged along the second direction (page 2, paragraph 0019, lines 4-6).
Kim et al. teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except (regarding claim 11) a first light beam reflected by the first reflector without being transmitted to the second reflector, and the second light beam is reflected by the second reflector without being transmitted to the first reflector.
Akiyama (US Pub. No. 2016/0259234 A1) discloses a first light beam (Figure 2, element BL1) reflected by the first reflector (Figure 2, element 23a) without being transmitted to the second reflector (Figure 2, element 23b), and the second light beam (Figure 2, element BL2) is reflected by the second reflector (Figure 2, element 23b) without being transmitted to the first reflector (Figure 2, element 23a).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first light beam reflected by the first reflector without being transmitted to the second reflector, and the second light beam is reflected by the second reflector without being transmitted to the first reflector as shown by Akiyama in combination with Kim et al.’s invention for the purpose of having a light source with a low focal magnification but allowing a reduction on the light beam width (Akiyama, page 5, paragraph 0093, lines 1-4).
Kim et al. in combination with Akiyama teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except a light valve disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam from the first reflector and the second light beam from the second reflector to convert the first light beam and the second light beam into an image light beam.
Lin et al. (TW 202014789 A) discloses a light valve (Figure 1, element 510) disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam (Figure 1, element 101) from the first reflector (Figure 1, element 410) and the second light beam (Figure 1, element 301) from the second reflector (Figure 1, element 420) to convert the first light beam (Figure 1, element 101) and the second light beam (Figure 1, element 301) into an image light beam 512).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light valve disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam from the first reflector and the second light beam from the second reflector to convert the first light beam and the second light beam into an image light beam as shown by Lin et al. in combination with Kim et al. and Akiyama’s invention for the purpose of modulating the illumination beam into an image beam (see translation, Lin et al., page 14, line 16).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Akiyama, and further view of Lin et al.
Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0090900 A1) discloses a first reflector (Figure 2, element 30) and a second reflector (Figure 2, element 35) are arranged on a reference axis parallel to the second direction (i.e. direction perpendicular to element A in annotated Figure 2). Kim et al. in combination with Akiyama (US Pub. No. 2016/0259234 A1) teaches the salient features of the present invention as explained above except a first light-emitting unit and a second light-emitting unit are respectively positioned at opposite sides of the reference axis but not facing each other.
Lin et al. (TW 202014789 A) discloses a first light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 100) and a second light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 300) are respectively positioned at opposite sides of the reference axis but not facing each other (clearly illustrated in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first light-emitting unit and a second light-emitting unit are respectively positioned at opposite sides of the reference axis but not facing each other as shown by Lin et al. in combination with Kim et al. and Akiyama’s invention for the purpose of emitting light simultaneously or alternately, to form a color image without the need for moving parts such as a color wheel or a fluorescent wheel (see translation, Lin et al., page 14, line 20 through page 15, line 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10, 14-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2003/0090900 A1) discloses an illumination system (Figure 2, element 5) comprising: a third light-emitting unit (Figure 2, element 13) configured to emit a third light beam (clearly illustrated in Figure 2). However, Kim et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests an illumination system comprising a third reflector configured to reflect the third light beam toward the first direction, wherein the first reflector, the second reflector, and the third reflector are arranged in the second direction, and for the view seeing along the second direction, the second reflector and the third reflector form a cross shape.
Regarding claim 14, Lin et al. (TW 202014789 A) discloses a projection apparatus (Figure 1, element 500) wherein the illumination system (Figure 1, element 400) further comprises: a third light-emitting unit (Figure 1, element 200) configured to emit a third light beam (Figure 1, element 201); and the light valve (Figure 1, element 510) is disposed on a transmission path of the first light beam (Figure 1, element 101) from the first reflector (Figure 1, element 410), the second light beam (Figure 1, element 301) from the second reflector (Figure 1, element 420), and the third light beam (Figure 1, element 301) from the third reflector (Figure 1, element 420) to convert the first light beam (Figure 1, element 101), the second light beam (Figure 1, element 301), and the third light beam (Figure 1, element 201) into the image light beam (Figure 1, element 512). Lin et al. and the prior art of record neither shows nor suggests a projection apparatus comprising a third reflector configured to reflect the third light beam toward the first direction, wherein the first reflector, the second reflector, and the third reflector are arranged in the second direction, for the view seeing along the second direction, the second reflector and the third reflector form a cross shape.
Regarding claims 5-8, 10, 15-18 and 20, the claims are allowable based on their dependence from claims 4 and 14 (respectively).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAGDA CRUZ/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2882
03/04/2026