DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 08/18/2025. Claims 1-9 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims, 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, and 9 have been amended.
Reply to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 4 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 08/18/2025, with respect to the claim objection of claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 4 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 08/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 8 under §101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 4-5 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 08/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 under §102 have been fully considered and not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Takiguchi, and Sugano.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Takiguchi, JP-2014004936-A, in view of Sugano et al., US-20090105953-A1, hereinafter referred to as Takiguchi, and Sugano.
As per claim 1
Takiguchi discloses [a] vehicle control device comprising a processor configured to execute non-transitory program instructions stored in a memory, and send a reaction force instruction signal to a reaction force control section, the processor executing the program instructions to acquire a relative speed obtained by subtracting a speed of a preceding vehicle detected by a forward sensor from a speed of an own-vehicle detected by an own vehicle sensor (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle, on-vehicle radar 17, for example, an imaging sensor…image data of the surroundings of the vehicle taken by the on-vehicle camera 15 is sent to a moving object information acquisition unit 41, ECU 11 is configured by a microcomputer including a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), and the like. The microcomputer reads and executes the program stored in the ROM, and executes execution control related to various functions, moving body information acquisition unit 41…acquiring moving body information including relative speed ΔV between a car and a preceding vehicle, magnitude of the reaction force RF…relative velocity ΔV between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28 & ¶32 & ¶44 & ¶51 & ¶68).
Takiguchi does not specifically disclose in a case in which the acquired relative speed becomes less than a predetermined value, reduce a reaction force applied to an accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle by a reaction force application section over time.
However, Sugano teaches in a case in which the acquired relative speed becomes less than a predetermined value, reduce a reaction force applied to an accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle by a reaction force application section over time (relative speed with respect to the preceding vehicle…accelerator pedal reaction force applied on the accelerator pedal is determined by target pedal reaction force determining device 53, In step S 301 , headway distance threshold (steady-state term) L*h1 is computed…In this example, it is set corresponding to relative speed Vr between the given vehicle speed VSP and the obstacle (preceding vehicle). reducing the reaction force to prevent an excessive accelerator pedal reaction force so that any uneasy feeling can be minimized, Final target accelerator pedal reaction force τ is determined in step S 800 and accelerator pedal reaction force controller 60 controls the reaction force generated in accelerator pedal 62. – Sugano Fig 4 (S300-S800) & 11 & 15 + ¶38 & ¶43 & ¶82 & ¶93 – Examiner reasons that as the relative speed data is used, such as in equations, 3, 12 and 13, to set the headway threshold distance that when crossed leads to a series of resulting calculations which themselves lead to the reduction of the reaction force overtime as seen in Figures 11 and 15).
Takiguchi discloses a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle. Sugano teaches a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takiguchi, a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle, with a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force, as taught by Sugano, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improved support running of a given vehicle and to reduce the reaction force while suppressing any uneasy feeling caused by releasing the reaction force, see Sugano ¶4 & ¶80 for details.
As per claim 2
Takiguchi further discloses wherein the processor executes the program instructions to [a reaction force is reduced] in a case in which the relative speed is less than the predetermined value, compared to a reaction force applied to the accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle in a case in which the relative speed is equal to or greater than the predetermined value (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle, magnitude of the reaction force RF…relative velocity ΔV between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28 & ¶51 & ¶68 - Examiner reasons that when the relative velocity between the preceding and host vehicle is less than zero, the reaction force is smaller than the when the relative velocity is greater than zero).
Takiguchi does not specifically disclose reduce a reaction force applied to the accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle.
However, Sugano teaches reduce a reaction force applied to the accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle (relative speed with respect to the preceding vehicle…accelerator pedal reaction force applied on the accelerator pedal is determined by target pedal reaction force determining device 53, In step S 301 , headway distance threshold (steady-state term) L*h1 is computed…In this example, it is set corresponding to relative speed Vr between the given vehicle speed VSP and the obstacle (preceding vehicle). reducing the reaction force to prevent an excessive accelerator pedal reaction force so that any uneasy feeling can be minimized, Final target accelerator pedal reaction force τ is determined in step S 800 and accelerator pedal reaction force controller 60 controls the reaction force generated in accelerator pedal 62. – Sugano Figs 4 (S300-S800) & 11 & 15 + ¶38 & ¶43 & ¶82 & ¶93 – Examiner reasons that as the relative speed data is used, such as in equations, 3, 12 and 13, to set the headway threshold distance that when crossed leads to a series of resulting calculations which themselves lead to the reduction of reaction force overtime as seen in Figures 11 and 15).
Takiguchi discloses a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle. Sugano teaches a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takiguchi, a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle, with a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force, as taught by Sugano, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improved support running of a given vehicle and to reduce the reaction force while suppressing any uneasy feeling caused by releasing the reaction force, see Sugano ¶4 & ¶80 for details.
As per claim 3
Takiguchi further discloses wherein the predetermined value is a value at which the relative speed is greater than 0 (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28).
As per claim 4
Takiguchi further discloses wherein the predetermined value is a value at which the relative speed is greater than 0 (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28).
As per claim 5
Takiguchi further discloses wherein the processor executes the program instructions to determine a limit value of the reaction force applied to the accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle based on the relative speed (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle, magnitude of the reaction force RF…relative velocity ΔV between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28 & ¶51 & ¶68).
As per claim 6
Takiguchi further discloses wherein the processor executes the instructions to determine the limit value of the reaction force, [the reaction force decreases] as the relative speed decreases (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle, magnitude of the reaction force RF…relative velocity ΔV between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28 & ¶51 & ¶68).
Takiguchi does not specifically disclose so as to reduce the reaction force applied to the accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle.
However, Sugano teaches so as to reduce the reaction force applied to the accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle (relative speed with respect to the preceding vehicle…accelerator pedal reaction force applied on the accelerator pedal is determined by target pedal reaction force determining device 53, In step S 301 , headway distance threshold (steady-state term) L*h1 is computed…In this example, it is set corresponding to relative speed Vr between the given vehicle speed VSP and the obstacle (preceding vehicle). reducing the reaction force to prevent an excessive accelerator pedal reaction force so that any uneasy feeling can be minimized, Final target accelerator pedal reaction force τ is determined in step S 800 and accelerator pedal reaction force controller 60 controls the reaction force generated in accelerator pedal 62. – Sugano Figs 4 (S300-S800) & 11 & 15 + ¶38 & ¶43 & ¶82 & ¶93 – Examiner reasons that as the relative speed data is used, such as in equations, 3, 12 and 13, to set the headway threshold distance that when crossed leads to a series of resulting calculations which themselves lead to the reduction of reaction force overtime as seen in Figures 11 and 15).
Takiguchi discloses a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle. Sugano teaches a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takiguchi, a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle, with a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force, as taught by Sugano, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improved support running of a given vehicle and to reduce the reaction force while suppressing any uneasy feeling caused by releasing the reaction force, see Sugano ¶4 & ¶80 for details.
As per claim 7
Takiguchi further discloses [a] vehicle comprising: the reaction force application section; and the vehicle control device (the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 3A (11) + ¶68).
As per claim 8
Takiguchi discloses [a] vehicle control method for performing processing by a computer, the computer comprising a processor configured to execute non-transitory program instructions stored in a memory to perform, acquiring a relative speed obtained by subtracting a speed of a preceding vehicle detected by a forward sensor from a speed of an own-vehicle detected by an own-vehicle sensor (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle, on-vehicle radar 17, for example, an imaging sensor…image data of the surroundings of the vehicle taken by the on-vehicle camera 15 is sent to a moving object information acquisition unit 41, ECU 11 is configured by a microcomputer including a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), and the like. The microcomputer reads and executes the program stored in the ROM, and executes execution control related to various functions, moving body information acquisition unit 41…acquiring moving body information including relative speed ΔV between a car and a preceding vehicle, magnitude of the reaction force RF…relative velocity ΔV between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28 & ¶32 & ¶44 & ¶51 & ¶68).
Takiguchi does not specifically disclose in a case in which the acquired relative speed becomes less than a predetermined value, controlling a reaction force applied to an accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle by a reaction force application section to reduce the reaction force applied by the reaction force application section over time.
However, Sugano teaches in a case in which the acquired relative speed becomes less than a predetermined value, controlling a reaction force applied to an accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle by a reaction force application section to reduce the reaction force applied by the reaction force application section over time (relative speed with respect to the preceding vehicle…accelerator pedal reaction force applied on the accelerator pedal is determined by target pedal reaction force determining device 53, In step S 301 , headway distance threshold (steady-state term) L*h1 is computed…In this example, it is set corresponding to relative speed Vr between the given vehicle speed VSP and the obstacle (preceding vehicle). reducing the reaction force to prevent an excessive accelerator pedal reaction force so that any uneasy feeling can be minimized, Final target accelerator pedal reaction force τ is determined in step S 800 and accelerator pedal reaction force controller 60 controls the reaction force generated in accelerator pedal 62. – Sugano Fig 4 (S300-S800) & 11 & 15 + ¶38 & ¶43 & ¶82 & ¶93 – Examiner reasons that as the relative speed data is used, such as in equations, 3, 12 and 13, to set the headway threshold distance that when crossed leads to a series of resulting calculations which themselves lead to the reduction of the reaction force overtime as seen in Figures 11 and 15).
Takiguchi discloses a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle. Sugano teaches a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takiguchi, a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle, with a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force, as taught by Sugano, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improved support running of a given vehicle and to reduce the reaction force while suppressing any uneasy feeling caused by releasing the reaction force, see Sugano ¶4 & ¶80 for details.
As per claim 9
Takiguchi discloses [a] non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a vehicle control program executable by a computer to perform processing, the processing comprising: acquiring a relative speed obtained by subtracting a speed of a preceding vehicle from a speed of an own-vehicle (FIG. 1B is a reaction force application characteristic diagram showing the magnitude of the reaction force applied corresponding to the change in relative speed between the host vehicle and the preceding vehicle, on-vehicle radar 17, for example, an imaging sensor…image data of the surroundings of the vehicle taken by the on-vehicle camera 15 is sent to a moving object information acquisition unit 41, ECU 11 is configured by a microcomputer including a central processing unit (CPU), a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), and the like. The microcomputer reads and executes the program stored in the ROM, and executes execution control related to various functions, moving body information acquisition unit 41…acquiring moving body information including relative speed ΔV between a car and a preceding vehicle, magnitude of the reaction force RF…relative velocity ΔV between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle, the reaction force control unit 53 of the ECU 11 executes reaction force control of the accelerator pedal 13 applied by the reaction force actuator 27 based on the target reaction force set by the target reaction force setting unit 49 - Takiguchi Fig 1B + ¶28 & ¶32 & ¶44 & ¶51 & ¶68).
Takiguchi does not specifically disclose in a case in which the acquired relative speed becomes less than a predetermined value, reducing a reaction force applied to an accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle by a reaction force application section over time.
However, Sugano teaches in a case in which the acquired relative speed becomes less than a predetermined value, reducing a reaction force applied to an accelerator pedal of the own-vehicle by a reaction force application section over time (relative speed with respect to the preceding vehicle…accelerator pedal reaction force applied on the accelerator pedal is determined by target pedal reaction force determining device 53, In step S 301 , headway distance threshold (steady-state term) L*h1 is computed…In this example, it is set corresponding to relative speed Vr between the given vehicle speed VSP and the obstacle (preceding vehicle). reducing the reaction force to prevent an excessive accelerator pedal reaction force so that any uneasy feeling can be minimized, Final target accelerator pedal reaction force τ is determined in step S 800 and accelerator pedal reaction force controller 60 controls the reaction force generated in accelerator pedal 62. – Sugano Fig 4 (S300-S800) & 11 & 15 + ¶38 & ¶43 & ¶82 & ¶93 – Examiner reasons that as the relative speed data is used, such as in equations, 3, 12 and 13, to set the headway threshold distance that when crossed leads to a series of resulting calculations which themselves lead to the reduction of the reaction force overtime as seen in Figures 11 and 15).
Takiguchi discloses a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle. Sugano teaches a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Takiguchi, a pedal reaction force control device that performs control to apply a reaction force to an operation of an accelerator pedal by a driver of a vehicle, with a vehicle headway keeping system that calculates target pedal reaction reduction force and reduces the reaction force, as taught by Sugano, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide an improved support running of a given vehicle and to reduce the reaction force while suppressing any uneasy feeling caused by releasing the reaction force, see Sugano ¶4 & ¶80 for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668