DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed March 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-15 under 35 USC § 102 has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao et al. (US 20240259968 A1) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 20200314701 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Qiao et al. teaches a method of operating a Radio Access Network (RAN) to optimize a handover between a first next Generation Node B (gNB) and a second gNB
comprising: connecting the first gNB and the second gNB by implementing Xn setup procedure (Paragraph 298, This teaches connecting two base stations via an Xn setup procedure over an Xn-C interface), wherein: i) the first gNB is associated with at least a first Access and Mobility Function (AMY) serving a user equipment (UE); ii) the second gNB is associated with at least a second AMF (Paragraph 345, 373, 375, These passages teach that the source base station communicates with a source AMF serving the UE and that a target AMF is involved for the target base station).
Qiao et al. does not explicitly teach iii) the Xn setup procedure includes: a) sending, by the first gNB to the second gNB, an Xn setup request comprising Served Globally Unique AMF Identifier (GUAMI) List Information Element (IE,) including at least a list of (GUAMIs) associated with and supported by the first gNB each GUAMI
comprising Mobile Country Code (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), AMF, Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer; and b) sending, by the second gNB to the first gNB an Xn setup response comprising Served GUAMI List IE including at least a list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB, each GUAMI comprising Mobile Country Code (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), AMF Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer; in the case a user equipment (UE) moves from a first cell of the first gNB to a second cell of the second gNB, l) prior to any Xn handover attempt, confirming, by the first gNB, GUAMI of the first AMY is not included in the list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB; and 2) subsequently, after confirming GUAMI of the first AMF is not included in the list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB, based on the lists of GUAMIs sent in the Xn setup request and the Xn setup response, directly initiating a Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) handover procedure from the first gNB to the second gNB, without sending any Xn handover request. and without initiating an Xn-based handover from the first gNB to the second gNB.
However, Talebi Fard et al. teaches iii) the Xn setup procedure includes: a) sending, by the first gNB to the second gNB, an Xn setup request comprising Served Globally Unique AMF Identifier (GUAMI) List Information Element (IE,) including at least a list of (GUAMIs) associated with and supported by the first gNB each GUAMI
comprising Mobile Country Code (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), AMF, Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer (Paragraph 323, 330, These passages teach that during Xn setup messaging, a base station sends a configuration message including a list of supported identifiers, corresponding to sending a list of supported network identifiers (e.g., GUAMI list) in an Xn setup request); and b) sending, by the second gNB to the first gNB an Xn setup response comprising Served GUAMI List IE including at least a list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB, each GUAMI comprising Mobile Country Code (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), AMF Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer (Paragraph 330, This passage teaches that the second base station responds with a configuration setup response including a list of supported identifiers, corresponding to returning a GUAMI list in an Xn setup response); in the case a user equipment (UE) moves from a first cell of the first gNB to a second cell of the second gNB (Paragraph 323, 330, These passages teach UE movement and handover from a first base station/cell to a second base station/cell), l) prior to any Xn handover attempt, confirming, by the first gNB, GUAMI of the first AMY is not included in the list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB (Paragraph 325, 326, These passages teach comparing identifiers associated with the UE and those supported by the target base station and determining mismatch prior to handover, corresponding to confirming absence of a matching identifier (e.g., GUAMI) before proceeding); and 2) subsequently, after confirming GUAMI of the first AMF is not included in the list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB, based on the lists of GUAMIs sent in the Xn setup request and the Xn setup response, directly initiating a Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) handover procedure from the first gNB to the second gNB, without sending any Xn handover request. and without initiating an Xn-based handover from the first gNB to the second gNB (Paragraph 325, 332, These passages teach that when identifier mismatch is determined, Xn-based handover is avoided and handover signaling proceeds via AMF-level messaging, corresponding to initiating a core-network-based (NGAP) handover instead of Xn handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide iii) the Xn setup procedure includes: a) sending, by the first gNB to the second gNB, an Xn setup request comprising Served Globally Unique AMF Identifier (GUAMI) List Information Element (IE,) including at least a list of (GUAMIs) associated with and supported by the first gNB each GUAMI
comprising Mobile Country Code (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), AMF, Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer; and b) sending, by the second gNB to the first gNB an Xn setup response comprising Served GUAMI List IE including at least a list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB, each GUAMI comprising Mobile Country Code (MCC), Mobile Network Code (MNC), AMF Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer; in the case a user equipment (UE) moves from a first cell of the first gNB to a second cell of the second gNB, l) prior to any Xn handover attempt, confirming, by the first gNB, GUAMI of the first AMY is not included in the list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB; and 2) subsequently, after confirming GUAMI of the first AMF is not included in the list of GUAMIs associated with and supported by the second gNB, based on the lists of GUAMIs sent in the Xn setup request and the Xn setup response, directly initiating a Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) handover procedure from the first gNB to the second gNB, without sending any Xn handover request. and without initiating an Xn-based handover from the first gNB to the second gNB as taught by Talebi Fard et al. in the system of Qiao et al., so that it would enable the gNBs to determine AMF compatibility in advance and efficiently select an appropriate handover procedure that avoids unnecessary Xn handover signaling and reduces handover latency and signaling overhead.
Regarding claim 2, Qiao et al. teaches the Xn setup request additionally includes AMF region identifier (ID) for the first gNB (Paragraph 298-300, The passage expressly teaches that the Xn setup request sent by the first gNB includes an AMF Region Information IE containing the Global AMF Region IDs associated with (i.e., identifying) the first gNB); and b) the Xn setup response additionally includes AMF region ID for the second gNB (Paragraph 301-302, The passage teaches that the Xn setup response transmitted by the second gNB includes AMF Region Information, which conveys the AMF Region IDs identifying the second gNB).
Regarding claim 3, Qiao et al. teaches the first gNB is associated with the at least one first AMF by implementing a first Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) procedure; and ii) the second gNB is associated with the at least one second AMF by implementing a second NGAP procedure (Paragraph 47-49, 143-144, The passage shows multiple gNBs connecting to distinct AMFs via NG-C control signaling (NGAP) and a registration procedure that establishes association between each gNB and its corresponding AMF).
Regarding claim 4, Qiao et al. teaches the first NGAP procedure is initiated by the first gNB sending a first NG setup request to the first AMF; and ii) the second NGAP procedure is initiated by the second gNB sending a second NG setup request to the second AMF (Paragraph 48-49, 143, 146, These passages show that each gNB connects to its respective AMF through the NG-C interface and initiates control signaling (registration/setup requests) that establish separate NGAP procedures with distinct AMFs).
Regarding claim 5, Qiao et al. teaches the first AMF responds to the first NG setup request by sending a first NG setup response including the GUAMI of the first AMF to the first gNB; and b) the second AMF responds to the second NG setup request by sending a second NG setup response including the GUAMI of the second AMF to the second gNB (Paragraph 48, 49, 63, 143, 144, These passages show that each gNB connects to and exchanges control signaling (setup messages) with a distinct AMF over the NG-C interface, each AMF independently managing network access and responding to setup requests).
Regarding claim 6, Qiao et al. teaches if a change occurs to the list of Globally Unique AMY Identifiers (GUAMls) associated with the first gNB, initiating a New Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) Configuration Update procedure by the first gNB to inform the second gNB of the changed list of GUAMIs associated with the first gNB. wherein the NG-RAN Configuration Update procedure includes sending an NG-RAN Configuration Update message comprising a new list of all GUAMIs associated with the first gNB (Paragraph 304, 306, 308, 323, 324, These passages teach that when AMF-related identifiers (including GUAMI/AMF region information) change, the first base station initiates an NG-RAN node Configuration Update procedure and sends a Configuration Update message containing AMF region information to add/delete).
Regarding claim 7, Qiao et al. teaches if a change occurs to the list of Globally Unique AMY Identifiers (GUAMIs) associated with the second gNB, initiating a New Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) Configuration Update procedure by the second gNB to inform the first gNB of the changed list of GUAMIs associated with the second gNB, wherein the NG-RAN Configuration Update procedure includes sending an NG-RAN Configuration Update message comprising a new list of all GUAMIs associated with the second gNB (Paragraph 300, 304, 306, 308, 323, 324, These passages teach that when AMF region/GUAMI information associated with a base station changes (e.g., AMF Region Information To Add/Delete), the base station initiates a NG-RAN node Configuration Update procedure by sending a NG-RAN Configuration Update message over Xn to a neighbor base station, the message carrying AMF region information corresponding to GUAMIs and effecting an updated (i.e., new complete) GUAMI list at the receiving node, thereby informing the peer of the changed GUAMI list).
Regarding claim 8, Qiao et al. teaches the Xn setup request additionally includes AMF region identifier (ID) for the first gNB; and b) the Xn setup response additionally includes AMF region ID for the second gNB (Paragraph 299, 300, 302, The Xn setup request carries AMF Region Information identifying the first gNB’s AMF regions, and the Xn setup response includes AMF Region Information identifying the second gNB’s AMF regions).
Regarding claim 9, Qiao et al. teaches the first gNB is associated with the at least one first AMF by implementing a first Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) procedure; and ii) the second gNB is associated with the at least one second AMF by implementing a second NGAP procedure (Paragraph 319, 322, 325, 340, 345, The passage describes NG setup messaging between the first gNB and a first AMF and subsequent NGAP-based handover/context procedures involving a second AMF and the second gNB).
Regarding claim 10, Qiao et al. teaches the first NGAP procedure is initiated by the first gNB sending a first NG setup request to the first AMF; and ii) the second NGAP procedure is initiated by the second gNB sending a second NG setup request to the second AMF (Paragraph 47-49, 63, Together these show that multiple gNBs (e.g., first and second) each establish control-plane connectivity to respective AMFs through NG-C interfaces).
Regarding claim 11, Qiao et al. teaches the first AMF responds to the first NG setup request by sending a first NG setup response including the GUAMI of the first AMF to the first gNB; and b) the second AMF responds to the second NG setup request by sending a second NG setup response including the GUAMI of the second AMF to the second gNB (Paragraph 319, 322-324, teaches that an AMF responds to an NG setup request from a gNB by sending an NG setup response that includes a Served GUAMI List identifying the AMF, which applies equally to a first AMF–first gNB exchange and a second AMF–second gNB exchange).
Regarding claim 12, Qiao et al. teaches the Xn setup request additionally includes AMF region identifier (ID) for the first gNB; and b) the Xn setup response additionally includes AMF region ID for the second gNB (Paragraph 299-300, 302, The passage discloses that the Xn setup request carries AMF Region Information identifying the first gNB’s AMF region(s), and the Xn setup response includes AMF Region Information identifying the second gNB’s AMF region(s)).
Regarding claim 13, Qiao et al. teaches the first gNB is associated with the at least one first AMF by implementing a first Next Generation Application Protocol (NGAP) procedure; and ii) the second gNB is associated with the at least one second AMF by implementing a second NGAP procedure (Paragraph 319, 322, 340, 345, 349, The passage shows each gNB being associated with its respective AMF through NGAP signaling, with the first gNB establishing NG setup with a first AMF and the second gNB being engaged via NGAP procedures involving a second AMF during handover).
Regarding claim 14, Qiao et al. teaches the first NGAP procedure is initiated by the first gNB sending a first NG setup request to the first AMF; and ii) the second NGAP procedure is initiated by the second gNB sending a second NG setup request to the second AMF (Paragraph 48, 143-144, These passages show that each gNB communicates with its respective AMF via an NG interface to initiate registration or setup signaling, and when a UE moves to a new AMF region, the second gNB initiates a new NG setup with the second AMF while the first gNB had previously done so with the first AMF).
Regarding claim 15, Qiao et al. teaches the first AMF responds to the first NG setup request by sending a first NG setup response including the GUAMI of the first AMF to the first gNB; and b) the second AMF responds to the second NG setup request by sending a second NG setup response including the GUAMI of the second AMF to the second gNB (Paragraph 319, 322-324, The passage describes an AMF receiving an NG setup request from a gNB and responding with an NG setup response that includes a Served GUAMI List, which contains the GUAMI identifying that AMF and is provided back to the requesting gNB).
Allowable Subject Matter
The applicant could strengthen the claim by adding concepts that explicitly recite that, during the Xn setup procedure, the exchanged information includes all supported GUAMIs of each gNB rather than only an AMF Region ID, thereby making clear that the Xn setup procedure is modified from the conventional 3GPP TS 38.423 behavior to proactively provide complete peer support information. The claim could also incorporate the concept that the first gNB performs the GUAMI support check before initiating any Xn handover signaling and selectively chooses between Xn-based handover and NGAP-based handover depending on whether the target gNB supports the specific AMF serving the UE, thereby avoiding a reactive failure-based fallback. Further, the applicant could add that the proactive determination avoids Xn handover preparation failure causes such as “Invalid AMF Set ID” and “Unknown GUAMI ID,” reducing signaling overhead, handover delay, and KPI degradation. The claim could additionally reflect that the exchanged GUAMI list includes full GUAMI structure information (MCC, MNC, AMF Region ID, AMF Set ID, and AMF Pointer) for each supported AMF, enabling granular AMF compatibility determination at the set and pointer level. Finally, the applicant could incorporate the concept that whenever there is any addition, deletion, or modification of supported GUAMIs, a New Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) Configuration Update procedure is triggered to send the complete updated GUAMI list to the peer gNB, thereby maintaining up-to-date proactive handover decision capability even after initial Xn setup.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barac et al. (US 12363597 B2)
Sogabe et al. (US 20240064588 A1)
Ramachandra et al. (US 20230292205 A1)
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464