DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
126a in FIG. 22A.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A title that reflects the inventive concept of this particular portable charging station that separates it from other portable charging stations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “oblique” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “oblique” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The specification uses "oblique" exclusively to describe insertion axes oriented at an angle relative to the height axis, and does not define or exemplify "oblique" as a geometric relationship between two insertion axes, leaving the requisite angular relationship between the first and second insertion axes without a definite scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by FRY et al. (US 20150171632 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, FRY discloses a portable charging station comprising: a housing (see ¶[0032]: “FIG. 1 shows a battery charger and power supply device 10”; and ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes…a housing 22…”).
FRY further discloses a handle coupled to the housing and extending along a height axis of the portable charging station (see ¶[0033]: “the handle 30 is a telescoping handle movable between an extended position (FIG. 1) and a collapsed position (FIG.10)”; and FIG. 1 — shows the handle 30 coupled to and extending vertically along the height axis of the housing 22).
Furthermore, FRY discloses a charging circuit disposed in the housing, the charging circuit including a rechargeable battery (see ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes a battery receptacle 12 to receive the battery 14”; ¶[0042]: “The battery receptacle 12 is positioned in the base portion 50 of the housing 22”; and ¶[0050]: “As shown in FIG. 13, the illustrated power device 10 includes…a first charging circuit 242, a second charging circuit 244…”).
FRY further discloses a power tool battery pack interface electrically connected to the charging circuit, the power tool battery pack interface defining an insertion axis, the insertion axis extending along the height axis (see ¶[0035]: “The first battery pack port 70 includes an insertion hole 71 to receive tower style battery packs”; ¶[0040]: “The battery pack ports 70, 72 include terminals (FIG. 5) that connect to the terminals of the battery packs 86, 90”; and FIG. 5 — shows the battery pack port 70 oriented to receive the tower-style first battery pack 86 along the height axis of the housing 22).
Finally, FRY discloses a door including a hinge connected to the housing, the door pivotable between an open position and a closed position (see ¶[0034]: “The lid 62 is coupled to the top portion 54 of the power device 10 by a hinge. The lid 62 is pivotable between a closed position (FIG. 2) and an open position (FIG. 3)”). The limitation that the door is intersected by the insertion axis in the closed position is inherent to the lid 62 and battery pack port 70 established in FRY. The lid 62 covers the storage compartment 58 in the closed position, and the insertion axis of the tower-style battery pack port 70 extends vertically through the compartment and necessarily intersects the lid 62 when the lid is closed.
Regarding Claim 2, FRY discloses the housing includes a cavity defined therein, the cavity surrounded by an edge of the housing, a plane coincident with the edge extends uninterrupted over the cavity (see FIG. 3 — the upper rim (the edge) of the storage compartment 58 (the cavity) defines a planar perimeter; when the lid 62 is in the open position, the geometric plane coincident with this rim extends across the opening of the cavity without interruption by any housing structures).
Regarding Claim 3, FRY discloses the power tool battery pack interface is one of a plurality of power tool battery pack interfaces arranged in at least two rows, and each of the plurality of power tool battery pack interfaces is electrically connected to the charging circuit and includes a respective insertion axis, each insertion axis extending along the height axis (see ¶[0034]: “the storage compartment 58 includes…a first battery pack charging port 70 (FIG. 5), a second battery pack charging port 72 (FIG. 5)”; ¶[0035]: “The first battery pack port 70 includes an insertion hole 71 to receive tower style battery packs”; ¶[0036]: “The second battery pack port 72 includes guide rails 75 to receive slide-on style battery packs”; and FIG. 5 — shows ports 70 and 72 positioned in the storage compartment 58, each oriented to receive battery packs along the height axis).
Regarding Claim 4, FRY discloses the power tool battery pack interface includes a first port configured to receive a first power tool battery pack and a second port configured to receive a second power tool battery pack, the first port is configured to deliver power having a different voltage than the second port, and the insertion axis corresponding to at least one of the first port and the second port (see ¶[0035]: “The first battery pack port 70…is configured to receive a first battery pack 86”; ¶[0036]: “The second battery pack port 72…is configured to receive a second battery pack 90”; and ¶[0038]: “the first battery pack 86 is a 12 volt battery and the second battery pack 90 is an 18 volt battery”).
Regarding Claim 5, FRY discloses a latch engageable with an edge of the door opposite the hinge to sealingly secure the door in the closed position (see ¶[0034]: “The lid 62 is coupled to the top portion 54 of the power device 10 by a hinge. The lid 62 is pivotable between a closed position (FIG. 2) and an open position (FIG. 3)”; and ¶[0045]: “the locking mechanism 154 includes two latches 158 (only one of which is shown). The latches 158 securely couple the top portion 54 to the base portion 50”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRY et al. (US 20150171632 A1) in view of MARTINEZ et al. (US 20170182652 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, FRY is silent to a door including a plurality of non-powered power tool battery pack interfaces on a side of the door opposite the housing.
MARTINEZ discloses a door including a plurality of non-powered power tool battery pack interfaces on a side of the door opposite the housing (see ¶[0007]: “a tool box may generally include…a power tool battery charger; and a mounting arrangement between the lid and the battery charger to mount the battery charger to the inner surface of the lid in an operational position”; and ¶[0008]: “the mounting arrangement includes a projection on one of the inner surface of the lid and the battery charger and a recess defined on the other of the inner surface of the lid and the battery charger, the projection being engageable in the recess to mount the charger to the lid”).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to incorporate MARTINEZ’s battery charger mounting arrangement onto the inner surface of FRY’s portable charging station’s door, to mount the battery charger to the inner surface of the lid in an operational position, providing accessible non-powered battery pack interfaces on the inner door surface within the housing.
Claim(s) 7 – 13, 15 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRY et al. (US 20150171632 A1) in view of KENNARD et al. (US 20230163608 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, FRY discloses a portable charging station comprising a housing (see ¶[0032]: “FIG. 1 shows a battery charger and power supply device 10”; and ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes a battery receptacle 12 to receive the battery 14 (see FIG. 9), a power supply unit 16, a power output panel 18, a housing 22, two wheels 26 (only one of which is shown in FIG. 1), a handle 30”).
FRY further discloses a handle coupled to the housing and extending along a height axis of the portable charging station (see ¶[0033]: “the handle 30 is a telescoping handle movable between an extended position (FIG. 1) and a collapsed position (FIG. 10)”; and FIG. 1 — shows the handle 30 coupled to and extending vertically along the height axis of the housing 22).
Furthermore, FRY discloses a charging circuit disposed in the housing, the charging circuit including a rechargeable battery (see ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes a battery receptacle 12 to receive the battery 14”; ¶[0042]: “The battery receptacle 12 is positioned in the base portion 50 of the housing 22”; and ¶[0050]: “These electrical components, except for the battery 14, are supported by the top portion 54 and held in place by the metal plate 179”).
FRY further discloses a power tool battery pack interface electrically connected to the charging circuit (see ¶[0035]: “The first battery pack port 70 includes an insertion hole 71 to receive tower style battery packs”; and ¶[0040]: “The battery pack ports 70, 72 include terminals (FIG. 5) that connect to the terminals of the battery packs 86, 90”).
FRY is silent to a door including a hinge pivotably connecting the door to the housing about a pivot axis extending along the height axis, with the door opposite the handle.
KENNARD discloses a door including a hinge pivotably connecting the door to the housing (see FIG. 1 — shows door 4 pivotably connected to housing 2 by a hinge).
KENNARD further discloses the pivot axis extending along the height axis (see ¶[0093]: “the compartments are substantially vertically disposed”; and FIG. 1 — shows vertically disposed compartments with doors pivoting about a vertical hinge axis extending along the height axis of the housing).
Furthermore, KENNARD discloses the door being opposite the handle (see FIG. 1 — shows handle 10 on one side of housing 2 and doors 4 on the opposite side).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KENNARD’s lockable hinged door arrangement into FRY’s portable charging station, to securely house power tool battery packs within individual compartments while being charged.
Regarding Claim 8, FRY discloses a plurality of power tool battery pack interfaces arranged in at least two columns, each column including a plurality of power tool battery pack interfaces (see ¶[0082]: “The power device 1300 includes two power devices 1100a, 1100b coupled together with a handle 304. The two power devices 1100a, 1100b are similar to the power device 1100 described above”; and FIG. 19 — shows power device 1300 with battery pack interfaces arranged in two columns on opposing sides of handle 304).
Regarding Claim 9, FRY discloses the first column including a first power tool battery pack interface defining a first insertion axis and the second column including a second power tool battery pack interface defining a second insertion axis, the first insertion axis oblique relative to the second insertion axis (see ¶[0035]: “… the first battery pack 86 is a tower style battery pack. Accordingly, the first battery pack port 70 includes an insertion hole 71 to receive tower style battery packs”; and ¶[0036]: “… the second battery pack 90 is a slide-on style battery pack. Accordingly, the second battery pack port 72 includes guide rails 75 to receive slide-on style battery packs”).
Regarding Claim 10, FRY discloses the power tool battery pack interface including a first port configured to receive a first power tool battery pack and a second port configured to receive a second power tool battery pack, the first port configured to deliver power having a different voltage than the second port (see ¶[0035]: “The first battery pack port 70 is configured to receive a first battery pack 86”; ¶[0036]: “The second battery pack port 72 is configured to receive a second battery pack 90”; and ¶[0038]: “the first battery pack 86 is a 12 volt battery and the second battery pack 90 is an 18 volt battery”).
Regarding Claim 11, FRY is silent to a plurality of doors opposite the handle, the plurality of doors including the door.
KENNARD discloses a plurality of doors opposite the handle, the plurality of doors including the door (see FIG. 1 — shows a plurality of doors 4 on the side of housing 2 opposite handle 10).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KENNARD’s plurality of individual compartment doors into FRY’s portable charging station, to securely maintain each power tool battery pack in its respective compartment while being charged.
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, FRY is silent to a latch engageable with an edge of the door opposite the hinge to sealingly secure the door to the housing, and a portion of the door configured to receive a lock therethrough to lock the door to the housing.
KENNARD discloses a latch engageable with an edge of the door opposite the hinge to sealingly secure the door to the housing, and a portion of the door configured to receive a lock therethrough to lock the door to the housing (see FIG. 1 — shows the hinge on one vertical side of door 4 and the latching mechanism on the opposing vertical edge; and ¶[0080]: “… a padlock may be attached to an appropriate padlock attachment orifice. A recess 16 may be additionally provided in the door 4 so that the metal tab of the padlock does not protrude past the overall extremities of the housing 1…”).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KENNARD’s padlock orifice and door recess arrangement into FRY’s portable charging station’s door, to secure the door to the housing while protecting the padlock from damage caused by protrusion beyond the housing extremities.
Regarding Claim 15, FRY is silent to a plurality of vents defined in the housing.
KENNARD discloses a plurality of vents defined in the housing (see ¶[0085]: “at least one ventilation cutouts 7”; and FIG. 1 — shows ventilation cutouts 7 defined in housing 2).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KENNARD’s ventilation cutouts into FRY’s portable charging station’s housing, to ensure that power tool batteries, which generate considerable heat during the charging process, do not overheat.
Regarding Claim 16, FRY discloses the charging circuit further including an inverter electrically connected to the rechargeable battery (see ¶[0050]: “the illustrated power device 10 includes…a first charging circuit 242, a second charging circuit 244, an inverter 246”; and ¶[0053]: “The inverter 246 is connected to the DC power input 214, the battery 14, the battery packs 86, 90, the AC power output connector 202, and the controller 234”).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRY et al. (US 20150171632 A1) in view of KENNARD et al. (US 20230163608 A1), and further in view of MARTINEZ et al. (US 20170182652 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, FRY discloses a plurality of wheels rotatably coupled to the housing (see ¶[0033]: “two wheels 26 (only one of which is shown in FIG. 1)”; and ¶[0034]: “The base portion 50 generally supports the components of the power device 10 and includes the wheels 26. The wheels 26 facilitate movement of the power device 10 along a surface”).
FRY is silent to the door including a plurality of non-powered power tool battery pack interfaces on a side of the door opposite the plurality of wheels.
MARTINEZ discloses the door including a plurality of non-powered power tool battery pack interfaces on a side of the door opposite the plurality of wheels (see ¶[0007]: “a tool box may generally include…a power tool battery charger; and a mounting arrangement between the lid and the battery charger to mount the battery charger to the inner surface of the lid in an operational position”; and ¶[0008]: “the mounting arrangement includes a projection on one of the inner surface of the lid and the battery charger and a recess defined on the other of the inner surface of the lid and the battery charger, the projection being engageable in the recess to mount the charger to the lid”).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate MARTINEZ’s battery charger mounting arrangement onto the inner surface of FRY’s portable charging station’s door, to mount the battery charger to the inner surface of the lid in an operational position, providing accessible non-powered battery pack interfaces on the inner door surface within the housing.
Claim(s) 17 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRY et al. (US 20150171632 A1) in view of KOHLER et al. (US 20190372354 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, FRY discloses a portable charging station comprising a housing and a handle coupled to the housing and extending along a height axis of the portable charging station (see ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes … a housing 22… a handle 30; the handle 30 is a telescoping handle movable between an extended position (FIG. 1) and a collapsed position (FIG. 10). The handle 30 includes an inner tube 38 and an outer tube 42”; and FIG. 1 — shows handle 30 coupled to and extending vertically along the height axis of housing 22).
FRY further discloses a charging circuit disposed in the sealed internal cavity, the charging circuit including a rechargeable battery (see ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes a battery receptacle 12 to receive the battery 14”; and ¶[0042]: “The battery receptacle 12 is positioned in the base portion 50 of the housing 22”).
Furthermore, FRY discloses a plurality of wheels rotatably coupled to the housing (see ¶[0033]: “The power device 10 includes … two wheels 26 (only one of which is shown in FIG. 1)”; and ¶[0034]: “The base portion 50 generally supports the components of the power device 10 and includes the wheels 26. The wheels 26 facilitate movement of the power device 10 along a surface”).
FRY is silent to a housing at least partially defining a sealed internal cavity therein, and an interface wall including a power tool battery pack interface, the interface wall cooperating with the housing to enclose the sealed internal cavity, the power tool battery pack interface electrically connected to the charging circuit.
KOHLER discloses a housing at least partially defining a sealed internal cavity therein (see ¶[0182]: “the carrier 200 includes a housing 202 ... The carrier housing 202 includes side walls. The carrier 200 may also include a door or cover 204”).
KOHLER further discloses an interface wall cooperating with the housing to enclose the sealed internal cavity and including a power tool battery pack interface electrically connected to the charging circuit (see ¶[0182]: “The carrier housing 202 includes a plurality of receptacles 208. Each receptacle 208 is configured to receive a rechargeable, removable battery pack 300. The cover 204 may be configured to allow access to a plurality of the receptacles 208”; and ¶[0184]: “each receptacle 208 includes an interface for mating with the battery pack 300…The receptacle interface includes a terminal block 256 for electrically coupling the battery pack 300 to the internal circuitry of the carrier 200”).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KOHLER’s sealed carrier housing with battery pack receptacle interface wall into FRY’s portable charging station’s framework, to provide a sealed internal cavity protecting the rechargeable battery and charging circuits from environmental exposure during transport and worksite use.
Regarding Claim 18, FRY discloses a plurality of wheels (see ¶[0034]: “The housing 22 includes a base portion 50 and a top portion 54. The base portion 50 generally supports the components of the power device 10 and includes the wheels 26”).
FRY is silent to the interface wall defines a stepped surface.
KOHLER discloses an interface wall defines a stepped surface (see ¶[0182]: “The carrier 200 may also include a door or cover 204”; and FIG. 41 — shows a tiered profile of the interface area to accommodate battery packs and the door 204).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KOHLER’s stepped interface wall into FRY’s portable charging station’s framework to provide a protected internal mounting area for battery packs.
Regarding Claim 19, FRY discloses a first port configured to receive a first power tool battery pack and a second port configured to receive a second power tool battery pack, the first port configured to deliver power having a different voltage than the second port (see ¶[0035]: “The first battery pack port 70 is configured to receive a first battery pack 86”; ¶[0036]: “The second battery pack port 72 is configured to receive a second battery pack 90”; and ¶[0038]: “the first battery pack 86 is a 12 volt battery and the second battery pack 90 is an 18 volt battery”).
Regarding Claim 20, FRY discloses the power tool battery pack interface is one of a plurality of power tool battery pack interfaces arranged in at least two rows, and wherein each of the plurality of power tool battery pack interfaces is electrically connected to the charging circuit (see ¶[0034]: “the storage compartment 58 includes…a first battery pack charging port 70 (FIG. 5), a second battery pack charging port 72 (FIG. 5)”; and ¶[0040]: “The battery pack ports 70, 72 include terminals (FIG. 5) that connect to the terminals of the battery packs 86, 90”).
Regarding Claim 21, FRY is silent to at least one of the rows cooperating with the stepped surface to define a battery receiving trench.
KOHLER discloses at least one of the rows cooperates with the stepped surface to define a battery receiving trench (see FIGS. 41-43 — the recessed/stepped portion of the carrier 200, when populated with a row of battery interfaces, defines a longitudinal channel or "trench" that receives the battery packs).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate KOHLER’s recessed mounting geometry into FRY’s housing to provide a to provide a protected location for the batteries.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859