DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
Please note that for the reasons internal to the USPTO, this application has been reassigned.
Receipt of applicant’s remarks and claim amendments filed on 03/27/2026 are acknowledged.
In light of claim amendments, previous 102(a)(1) rejection over Loidl is withdrawn.
However, applicants arguments for previous 112(b), 102(a)(1) over Schoenleber, and 103 rejection are found no persuasive and are maintained and modified to address claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ argue that Schoenleber discloses nowhere the combined use of a pseudoproline dipeptide and a non-pseudoproline dipeptide.
In fact Schoenleber does teach these combination. For example, Schoenleber teaches a process, wherein the pseudoproline dipeptide is Fmoc-Val-Ser(Psi(Me,Me)pro)-OH (see 0207) and Schoenleber further teaches that wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide can be Boc-His(Trt)-Aib-OH or Boc-His(Trt)-Ala-OH and Trt is referred to as “1-Trit” (see 0197).
Applicants further argue that Li is merely cited in connection with the additional limitation of dependent claims 4 and 5 and cannot remedy the deficiencies discussed above in connection with claim 1, from which both claims 4 and 5 depend indirectly.
As explained above, Schoenleber teaches both pseudoproline and non-pseudoproline petpides. The purpose of Li is to show that a method for synthesizing semaglutide comprising stepwise coupling of dipeptide fragments and tripeptide fragments with an amino acid N-terminus Fmoc protection to obtain semaglutide (see [0025], [0119]).
Applicants further pointed to Examples 1-3 of Schoenleber, it is not clear what applicants intend to conclude. Moreover, claims do not require any shown data limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites (i) “preparation of glucagon-like-peptide-1 represented by formula (1)”, (ii) “synthesizing a protected peptide” and (iii) “the peptide is semaglutide”. It is not clear whether semaglutide represents former two.
The claimed steps are very vague, and they do not specify which protected peptide is synthesized and which protected amino acids and dipeptides are used. As such, any protected peptide and any protected amino acids or dipeptides may be used. This represents a lack of union between the body of the claims and the subject matter that Applicant regards as the invention. Specifically, the language of the preamble and embodiments in the specification suggest that Applicant regards subject matter directly related to the synthesis of liraglutide and semaglutide as the subject matter of the invention, but the language of the claims is general and can be used for any protected peptide. Here, Applicant has not particularly pointed out and distinctly claimed the subject matter which they regard as the invention, as there is a lack of direct connection between the body of the claims and the subject matter regarded as the invention. It is suggested that Applicant revise the claim language to distinctly claim the subject matter they regard as the invention. More specifically, it is advised that Applicant distinctly claim the synthesis of the peptides that they regard as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoenleber (US 20210009631 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Schoenleber teaches a process of the preparation of glucagon-like peptide-1 agonist peptide represented by the following formula: H(Aib)EGTFTSDVSSYLEGQAAK(R)EFIAWLVRGRG (see Table 1). The method comprises synthesizing a protected peptide on a solid phase by stepwise coupling of a protected amino acid and a protected dipeptide (see claims 43, 52, and 70), the protected dipeptide comprising pseudoproline dipeptide (see claim 53), cleaving the protected peptide from the solid phase (see [0038]), and deprotecting the protected peptide to obtain the peptide (see [0038]), wherein R is -AEEA-AEEA-γ-Glu-octadecanedioic acid (see claim 83), referred to as AEEAc-AEEAc-g-Glu-17-carboxyheptadecanoyl (see claim 83). It is worth noting that, as written, the histidine is at the N terminus of the peptide and would be protonated under physiological conditions (bound to a hydrogen), and the glycine is at the C terminus and would be bound to an OH. As such, it is the examiner’s position that the leftmost H and rightmost OH groups of formula (1) of the instant application are merely a notational difference between formula (1) and Table 1 of Schoenleber.
With regard to claim 2, Schoenleber teaches the process discussed above wherein the pseudoproline dipeptide is Fmoc-Val-Ser(Psi(Me,Me)pro)-OH (see [0207]).
With regard to claim 3, Schoenleber teaches the process discussed above wherein the dipeptide derivative can be Boc-His(Boc)Aib-OH (see [0197]).
With regard to claim 6, Schoenleber teaches the process described above wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide can be Boc-His(Trt)-Aib-OH or Boc-His(Trt)-Ala-OH and Trt is referred to as “1-Trit” (see [0197]).
With regard to claim 7, Schoenleber teaches the process described above wherein the coupling of the non-pseudoproline dipeptide with the protected amino acid is carried out in presence of a coupling reagent consisting of DEPBT and DIPEA (see [0184-0187]).
With regard to claim 8, Schoenleber teaches the process discussed above wherein the protected amino acid is Fmoc-Lys(Alloc)-OH) (see [0323]).
With regard to claim 13, Schoenleber teaches the method discussed above wherein there is a step of purification after cleaving the peptide from the solid phase and deprotecting the protected peptide to obtain the peptide (see [0249]).
Accordingly, claims are fully anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoenleber (US 20210009631 A1) in view of Li (CN109311961; see IDS submitted on 05/18/2023).
Schoenleber teaches the method discussed above in 102 rejection and applied to claims 1 and 3. Schoenleber does not teach the method wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of Boc-Arg(Pbf)Gly-OH and Boc-Glu(OtBu)Gly-OH.
Li teaches a method for synthesizing semaglutide, the method comprising stepwise coupling of dipeptide fragments and tripeptide fragments with an amino acid N-terminus Fmoc protection to obtain semaglutide (see [0025], [0119]). They further teach that their method, which includes the use of Boc-Glu(OtBu)Gly-OH in the synthesis of the peptide, led to a 56.1% yield of Boc-His(trt)-Aib-Glu(OtBu)-Gly-OH with a purity of 96.8% (see [0201-0205]). Boc-His(trt)-Aib-Glu(OtBu)-Gly-OH is then used as a peptide in the preparation of the peptide resin in Example 31 (see [0249]-0252]). Using the peptides of this invention, Li teaches that the synthesis of dipeptide fragments, tripeptide fragments, tetrapeptide fragments, pentapeptide fragments, or combinations thereof with Gly-resin can be carried out simultaneously during the semaglutide synthesis process, shortening the synthesis time (see [0131]). This provides a motivation to use the aforementioned peptides, including Boc-His(trt)-Aib-Glu(OtBu)-Gly-OH, in order to shorten the synthesis time. Here, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the references of Li and Schoenleber to synthesize semaglutide with Boc-His(trt)-Aib-Glu(OtBu)-Gly-OH on account of the shortened synthesis time taught by Li.
With regard to claim 4, Schoenleber teaches the process described and applied above wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide derivative can be Boc-His(Boc)Aib-OH, but Schoenleber does not teaches that the non-pseudoproline dipeptide can be Boc-Arg(Pbf)Gly-OH or Boc-His(Trt)Ala-OH.
As discussed above, Li teaches the aforementioned method wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide can be Boc-Glu(OtBu)-Gly-OH (see [0201]-[0205]). Given the reasoning provided above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the references of Li and Schoenleber to synthesize semaglutide wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide is Boc-Glu(OtBu)-Gly-OH.
With regard to claim 5, Schoenleber teaches the process as described and applied to claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10, 12, and 13 above. Schoenleber does not explicitly teach the process wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide comprises no more than 3 types of dipeptide. With regard to the use of non-pseudoproline dipeptides, Schoenleber teaches that the coupling of His derivatives is preferably carried out by using an amino acid derivative, like Fmoc-His(1-Trt)-OH, or a similar non-pseudoproline dipeptide to optimize racemization (see [0197]). Specifically, they teach the use of the following non-pseudoproline dipeptides: Fmoc-His(1-Trit)-Aib-OH, Boc-His(1-Trit)-Aib-OH, Boc-His(Boc)-Aib-OH, Fmoc-His(Boc)-Aib-OH, Fmoc-His(1-Trit)-Ala-OH, Boc-His(1-Trit)-Ala-OH, Boc-His(Boc)-Ala-OH, or Fmoc-His(Boc)-Ala-OH (see [0197]). Here, Schoenleber imply the use of a single amino acid derivative, like Fmoc-His(1-Trt)-OH, or a single non-pseudoproline dipeptide, like Boc-His(Boc)-Aib-OH, in order to optimize racemization. Seeing as they do not require a non-pseudoproline dipeptide, as a preferred embodiment utilizes Boc-His(Boc)-OH in place of the dipeptide (see [0197]), Schoenleber teaches embodiments that have fewer than 3 types of non-pseudoproline dipeptides.
Further, Schoenleber teaches that the use pseudoproline dipeptides in the synthesis of semaglutide is beneficial because pseudoproline dipeptides advantageously suppress peptide aggregation and hence the formation of by-products due to inefficient synthesis (see [0206], [0208]). Here, they provide a clear motivation to use, try, or experiment to use a greater share of pseudoproline dipeptides as opposed to non-pseudoproline dipeptides on account of their advantageous ability to suppress peptide aggregation. Given this motivation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to try to experiment to maximize the number of pseudoproline dipeptides and, thereby, minimize the number of non-pseudoproline dipeptides with a reasonable expectation of conferring greater ability to suppress aggregation. As such, Schoenleber provides a clear motivation to try the process described above wherein the non-pseudoproline dipeptide comprises no more than 3 types of dipeptide. This practice of routine optimization would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application and would have reasonably led to embodiments with no more than 3 types of dipeptide with a reasonable expectation of decreasing aggregation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SUDHAKAR KATAKAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658