DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 1-12, in light of the amendments:
The prior objection to claim 10 is withdrawn
The prior 112(b) rejections to claims 2-9 and 12 are withdrawn
Claims 1-12 are now considered allowable
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazuki (herein after Yama)(US Pub 20200402434) in view of Kim (US Pub 20170161868).
Re claim 13, Yama discloses an electronic device comprising:
a housing (Fig 1/15A; winder 10; Par 35);
a driver disposed in the housing (Fig 1/15A; shaft 11 inside winder 10; Par 35); and
one or more speakers (Fig 1/15A el 13 L/R, Par 35, 37, 94-95, 100) coaxially disposed within the driver (Fig 1/15A el 13 L/R are located inside shaft 11, Par 35, 37, 94-95, 100) and configured to use an inner space of the driver as an enclosure acoustic resonance space (Fig 1/15A el 13 L/R connected to 14 inside 11, Par 35, 37, 92, 94-95, 100, 128 – speaker control and output – speakers are inside the shaft 11); however Yama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the inner space is sealed by a sealing structure such that the inner space is used as an enclosure space for one or more speakers.
This design is however disclosed by Kim. Kim discloses a design comprising wherein the inner space is sealed by a sealing structure such that the inner space is used as an enclosure space for one or more speakers (Fig 10 and 11 showing element 117 inside enclosure element 30; Par 112, 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Yama in order to incorporate the enclosure design of Kim based on the rationale of the use of known techniques to improve similar designs in the same way, in this instance providing audio output to a user through the inclusion and consideration of the specific design parameters to incorporate a sound output to the housing design.
Re claim 14, the combined disclosure of Yama and Kim as a whole discloses the electronic device of claim 13, and Yama further discloses wherein the driver comprises a cylindrical roller housing (Par 35 – roller is substantially cylindrical) comprising an enclosure space for the speakers (Fig 1/15A el 13 L/R are located inside shaft 11, Par 35, 37, 94-95, 100), and wherein the speakers are disposed in the cylindrical roller housing (Fig 1/15A el 13 L/R are located inside shaft 11, Par 35, 37, 94-95, 100).
Re claim 15, the combined disclosure of Yama and Kim as a whole discloses the electronic device of claim 14, Kim further discloses wherein the housing comprises a first housing (Fig 1; winder 10; Par 34-35) and a second housing (Fig 1; unwinder 30; Par 34, 39), and wherein the speakers comprise: a first speaker disposed in the cylindrical roller housing (Fig 1/15A, el 12L; Par 35-36, 94-95) and disposed to emit sound in a first direction oriented in a direction perpendicular to a sliding direction of the second housing (Fig 1/15A depicted sound output direction from 12L is perpendicular to screen extension direction; Par 35-36, 94-95 – unwinder movement direction is perpendicular to rotational axis j10), and a second speaker disposed in the cylindrical roller housing opposite to the first speaker (Fig 1/15A el 12R is shown on the opposite side as 12L; Par 35-36, 94-95) and disposed to emit sound in a second direction opposite to the first direction (Fig 1/15A depicted sound output direction from 12R is perpendicular to screen extension direction and opposite from 12L; Par 35-36, 94-95).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the limitations of the above cited claims. Re claim 1, the prior art fails to explicitly disclose the specific design of the conductive connections and housing component functionality.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R NEFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631