METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR A PRISMATIC BATTERY CELL ASSEMBLY
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I, Subspecies Ia (Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 13-16) in the reply filed on 1/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0170811 A1) and further in view of Masumara et al. (US 2020/0274133 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. a prismatic battery cell assembly (Paragraph 0032 discloses a prismatic battery.), comprising:
a prismatic container (Fig. 1, element 115 discloses prismatic housing.), the prismatic container including a body portion composed with plurality of side portions (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, element 135 discloses sidewalls.), a bottom portion arranged on a first end of the body portion (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, element 130 discloses a second wall, located on the bottom.), and a top portion arranged on a second end of the body portion (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, element 125 discloses first wall, located at the top.);
a first terminal (Fig. 1, element 105 discloses a first terminal.) and a second terminal (Fig. 1, element 110 discloses a second terminal.); and
a plurality of battery cells, the plurality of battery cells being disposed in the prismatic container (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, elements 140 and 170.);
wherein the plurality of battery cells are arranged in a stack (Paragraph 0031 discloses a stacking arrangement.);
wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has a first current collector electrically connected to a first foil and disposed on the first end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a first tab, element 155 or element 175, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil.) ;
wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has a second current collector electrically connected to a second foil and disposed on the second end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a second tab, element 160 or element 180, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil. Finally, fig. 1 discloses the second tabs are located at the top or second end.);
wherein the second terminal is arranged on the second end (Fig. 1, element 110 discloses the second terminal is located at the top or second end.);
wherein a plurality of the second foils are joined to the second terminal (Fig. 1 shows element 180, the foil second tabs, are joined to the second terminal, element 110.).
However, Wang et al. do not teach wherein a plurality of the first foils are joined to the prismatic container; and wherein the first terminal comprises the body portion of the prismatic container.
Masumara et al. teach a battery comprising a case (Fig. 4, element 11) having a positive terminal (Fig. 4, element 3) and a negative terminal (Fig. 4, element 2). Further, the negative electrode (Fig. 4, element 15) comprises exposed negative electrode current collectors (See annotated Fig. 4 below) which are connected to the negative electrode terminal and the case (Paragraph 0089). In other worse, the case itself, comprising the bottom and side walls, acts as a negative terminal.
Fig. 4 of Masumara
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with Masumara in order to prevent the phenomenon in which the external lead for electrically connecting the battery to an external apparatus peels from the electrode terminal.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 1. Further, Wang et al. teach wherein the second terminal is electrically isolated from the prismatic container (Paragraph 0083; Fig. 1 discloses the second terminal, element 110, can be insulated from the housing, element 115, through the use of insulative members, element 195.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 1. Further, Wang et al. teach the plurality of the first foils are joined via welding (Paragraph 0042). However, they do not disclose laser welding.
However, laser welding is merely a product by process limitation.
MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims
I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 1. Further, Wang et al. teach the plurality of the first foils are electrically joined proximal to a first end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a first tab, element 155 or element 175, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil. Finally, fig. 1 shows the foils are at an end of the prismatic container.); and, wherein the plurality of the second foils are electrically joined proximally to a second end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a second tab, element 160 or element 180, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil. Finally, fig. 1 discloses the second tabs are located at and end of the container.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 1. Further, Wang et al. teach wherein the prismatic container comprises a rigid walled container that is fabricated from electrically conductive material (Paragraph 0032).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. a prismatic battery cell assembly (Paragraph 0032 discloses a prismatic battery.), comprising:
a prismatic container (Fig. 1, element 115 discloses prismatic housing.), the prismatic container including a body portion composed with plurality of side portions (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, element 135 discloses sidewalls.), a bottom portion arranged on a first end of the body portion (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, element 130 discloses a second wall, located on the bottom.), and a top portion arranged on a second end of the body portion (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, element 125 discloses first wall, located at the top.);
a first terminal (Fig. 1, element 105 discloses a first terminal.) and a second terminal (Fig. 1, element 110 discloses a second terminal.); and
a plurality of battery cells, the plurality of battery cells being disposed in the prismatic container (Paragraph 0031; Fig. 1, elements 140 and 170.);
wherein the plurality of battery cells are arranged in a stack (Paragraph 0031 discloses a stacking arrangement.);
wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has a first current collector electrically connected to a first foil and disposed on the first end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a first tab, element 155 or element 175, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil.);
wherein each of the plurality of battery cells has a second current collector electrically connected to a second foil and disposed on the second end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a second tab, element 160 or element 180, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil. Finally, fig. 1 discloses the second tabs are located at the top or second end.);
wherein the second terminal is arranged on the second end (Fig. 1, element 110 discloses the second terminal is located at the top or second end.);
wherein a plurality of the second foils are joined to the second terminal (Fig. 1 shows element 180, the foil second tabs, are joined to the second terminal, element 110.); and wherein the prismatic container comprises a rigid walled container that is fabricated from electrically conductive material (Paragraph 0032).
However, Wang et al. do not teach wherein a plurality of the first foils are joined to the prismatic container; and wherein the first terminal comprises the body portion of the prismatic container.
Masumara et al. teach a battery comprising a case (Fig. 4, element 11) having a positive terminal (Fig. 4, element 3) and a negative terminal (Fig. 4, element 2). Further, the negative electrode (Fig. 4, element 15) comprises exposed negative electrode current collectors (See annotated Fig. 4 below) which are connected to the negative electrode terminal and the case (Paragraph 0089). In other worse, the case itself, comprising the bottom and side walls, acts as a negative terminal.
Fig. 4 of Masumara
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wang with Masumara in order to prevent the phenomenon in which the external lead for electrically connecting the battery to an external apparatus peels from the electrode terminal.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 13. Further, Wang et al. teach wherein the second terminal is electrically isolated from the prismatic container (Paragraph 0083; Fig. 1 discloses the second terminal, element 110, can be insulated from the housing, element 115, through the use of insulative members, element 195.).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 13. Further, Wang et al. teach the plurality of the first foils are joined via welding (Paragraph 0042). However, they do not disclose laser welding, an electrically conductive paste, or solder.
However, laser welding is merely a product by process limitation.
MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims
I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
Regarding claim 16 the combination of Wang and Masumara et al. teach the prismatic battery cell assembly of claim 13. Further, Wang et al. teach the plurality of the first foils are electrically joined proximal to a first end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a first tab, element 155 or element 175, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil. Finally, fig. 1 shows the foils are at an end of the prismatic container.); and, wherein the plurality of the second foils are electrically joined proximally to a second end of the prismatic container (Paragraphs 0039, 0046; Fig. 1 disclose a second tab, element 160 or element 180, which can be connected to a current collector layer, element 150 or 153. Further, paragraphs 0075-0076 disclose the tabs are made of a foil. Finally, fig. 1 discloses the second tabs are located at and end of the container.).
Conclusion
Daniel S. Gatewood, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1729
/DANIEL S GATEWOOD, Ph. D/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729 February 9th, 2026