DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 7, the limitation “…a pipe support coupled to the pipe, such that a lower portion of the pipe support contacts a ground surface to hold the pipe a distance above the ground surface…” is not shown in any figures.
In claim 16, the limitation “…a pipe support coupled to the pipe, such that a lower portion of the pipe support contacts a ground surface to hold the pipe a distance above the ground surface…” is not shown in any figures.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 11 and 12, the term “about” in the claims, should be removed, because such term is a relative term and may raise 112b issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Ferrone (US2013/0042938A1) herein set forth as Ferrone.
Regarding claim 1, Long discloses a system (refer to fig.1) for transporting a food grade fluid from a fluid source to an effects pod to provide atmospheric effects to an audience in a venue, the system (refer to fig.1) comprising:
a pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3) comprising:
a pipe (hollow shaft #26 and manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) for fluid communication with the fluid source (stand pipe #31, fig.1),
a connection (refer to Col 2 line 38 -41 cited: “A relatively large reel 27 is mounted on the shaft 26 and such reel receives an elongated flexible hose 28 one end of which is in communication with the interior of the hollow shaft 26”) disposed at an end of the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) to couple to a flexible conduit (hose #28, fig.1), and
a pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) coupled to the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3), such that a lower portion (refer to the wheels #17 portion in fig.1) of the pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) contacts a ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4) to hold the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) a distance (refer to the distance between the ground and the #26 in fig.1) above the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4); and
a cart (vehicle #15 fig 4) to transport the pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3),
the cart comprising: a rack (support member #25, fig.1-2) to retain the pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3).
Long only does not specifically discloses the use of a connector for connection.
In the similar field of weather protection of pipe assembly, Ferrone discloses the use of connector (#14, fig.1) for connection of pipe (pipe #30, fig.1) and hose (hose #10, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with the use of connector for the connection, as taught by Ferrone, in order to provide a more secure connection that will prevent leakage and would reduce wasting the fluid being transported.
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Long and Ferrone discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Long further discloses wherein the lower portion (refer to the wheels #17 portion in fig.1) of the pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) contacts the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4) to hold the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) the distance (refer to the distance between the ground and the #26 in fig.1) above the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4) while not being fixed (refer to the wheels #17 in fig. 1-3 and 4) to the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Ferrone (US2013/0042938A1) herein set forth as Ferrone, further in view of CN110081698A herein set forth as CN81698A.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Long and Ferrone discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Long further discloses the pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3) is connected between flexible conduits (feeding pipe #30 and flexible hose #28, fig.1).
However, Long or Ferrone does not explicitly disclose the system includes a plurality of pipe assemblies to be connected in series.
In the similar field of fluid transfer, CN81698A discloses the system (refer to fig.3) includes a plurality of pipe assemblies (refer to plurality of straight pipe #93 in fig.3) to be connected in series (refer to the series connection of all the straight pipe #93 with snake #94 and hoop #21 in fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with includes a plurality of pipe assemblies to be connected in series, as taught by CN81698A, in order to contain and fill up the pipe system with more product and provide a uniform heated product (refer to abstract cited: “…the system includes a plurality of pipe assemblies to be connected in series …”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Ferrone (US2013/0042938A1) herein set forth as Ferrone, further in view of CN110081698A herein set forth as CN81698A, and further in view of CN110949473A herein set forth as CN49473A.
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Long, Ferrone and CN81698A discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 2, Long, Ferrone or CN81698A does not explicitly disclose the rack comprises a plurality of channels to receive a plurality of pipe supports of the plurality of pipe assemblies.
In the similar filed of cart for transporting pipe, CN49473A discloses the rack (#1, figure below) comprises a plurality of channels (#52, figure below) to receive a plurality of pipe supports (#53, figure below) of the plurality of pipe assemblies (#4, figure below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with the rack comprises a plurality of channels to receive a plurality of pipe supports of the plurality of pipe assemblies, as taught by CN49473A, in order to provide a better secure and organized transport of pipe assemblies, such that would make managing pipe assemblies on the cart easier.
Claims 4-5, 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Ferrone (US2013/0042938A1) herein set forth as Ferrone, further in view of Hauschulz (US2002/0008101A1) herein set forth as Hauschulz.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Long and Ferrone discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 1, Long or Ferrone does not explicitly disclose insulation abutting at least a portion of the pipe.
In the field of weather protection for the pipe and hose, Hauschulz discloses insulation (insulation layer #25, fig.7) abutting at least a portion of the pipe (refer to “P” annotated in the fig.1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with insulation abutting at least a portion of the pipe, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide insulation from the atmospheric temperature, such that the water temperature transported would not be effected by the atmospheric temperature.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 4, Long or Ferrone does not explicitly disclose a heat trace in contact with the pipe.
In the field of protection the pipe and hose, Hauschulz further discloses a heat trace (local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.7) in contact with the pipe (refer to the “P” annotated in fig. 1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with a heat trace in contact with the pipe, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide the capability to maintain a certain temperature for the water inside the pipe, such that the temperature of the water that is transported can be maintain at a desired temperature.
Regarding claim 7, Long discloses a pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3), comprising:
a pipe (hollow shaft #26 and manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) for fluid communication with a fluid source (stand pipe #31, fig.1);
a connection (refer to Col 2 line 38 -41 cited: “A relatively large reel 27 is mounted on the shaft 26 and such reel receives an elongated flexible hose 28 one end of which is in communication with the interior of the hollow shaft 26”) disposed at an end of the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) to couple to at least one of a flexible conduit (hose #28, fig.1) or another pipe assembly;
a pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) coupled to the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3), such that a lower portion (refer to the wheels #17 portion in fig.1) of the pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) contacts a ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4) to hold the pipe (manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) a distance (refer to the distance between the ground and the #26 in fig.1) above the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4).
Long does not specifically discloses the use of a connector for connection; and insulation abutting at least a portion of the pipe.
In the similar field of weather protection of pipe assembly, Ferrone discloses the use of connector (#14, fig.1) for connection of pipe (pipe #30, fig.1) and hose (hose #10, fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with the use of connector for the connection, as taught by Ferrone, in order to provide a more secure connection that will prevent leakage and would reduce wasting the fluid being transported.
The modification of Long and Ferrone does not discloses insulation abutting at least a portion of the pipe
In the field of protection the pipe and hose, Hauschulz discloses insulation (insulation layer #25, fig.7) abutting at least a portion of the pipe (refer to “P” annotated in the fig.1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with insulation abutting at least a portion of the pipe, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide insulation from the atmospheric temperature, such that the water temperature transported would not be effected by the atmospheric temperature.
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, Long or Ferrone does not explicitly disclose a heat trace in contact with the pipe.
In the field of protection the pipe and hose, Hauschulz further discloses a heat trace (local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.7) in contact with the pipe (refer to the “P” annotated in fig. 1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with a heat trace in contact with the pipe, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide the capability to maintain a certain temperature for the water inside the pipe, such that the temperature of the water that is transported can be maintain at a desired temperature.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Long or Hauschulz does not explicitly disclose a sensor to measure a temperature of an exterior surface of the pipe.
In the field of weather protection of pipe assembly, Ferrone further discloses a sensor (temperature sensor #240, fig.16) to measure a temperature of an exterior surface (refer to the surface of hose body #100 in fig.16) of the pipe (hose body #100, fig.16 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with a sensor to measure a temperature of an exterior surface of the pipe, as taught by Ferrone, in order to provide the capability to maintain an accurate temperature for the pipe, such that would reduce the possibility of pipe damaged by over heating or freezing.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Long does not disclose wherein the heat trace is a first heat trace and the pipe assembly is a first pipe assembly, the first pipe assembly further comprising: a first electrical connector coupled to an end of the first heat trace to couple the first heat trace to a second heat trace in contact with a first flexible conduit or a second pipe assembly; and a second electrical connector coupled to an opposite end of the first heat trace to couple the first heat trace to a third heat trace in contact with a second flexible conduit or a third pipe assembly.
In the field of protection the pipe and hose, Hauschulz further discloses wherein the heat trace (local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) is a first heat trace (refer to the first set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) and the pipe assembly (refer as “P” in fig.1) is a first pipe assembly (refer as “P” in fig.1), the first pipe assembly (refer as “P” in fig.1) further comprising: a first electrical connector coupled to an end of the first heat trace (local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) to couple the first heat trace (refer to the first set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) to a second heat trace (refer to the second set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7); and a second electrical connector (refer to the connector between first set and second set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) coupled to an opposite end of the first heat trace (refer to the first set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) to couple the first heat trace (refer to the first set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7) to a third heat trace (refer to the third set of local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with wherein the heat trace is a first heat trace and the pipe assembly is a first pipe assembly, the first pipe assembly further comprising: a first electrical connector coupled to an end of the first heat trace to couple the first heat trace to a second heat trace, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide the capability to maintain a certain temperature for the water inside the pipe, such that the temperature of the water that is transported can be maintain at a desired temperature.
Hauschulz only does not explicitly disclose a first flexible conduit or a second pipe assembly and a second flexible conduit or a third pipe assembly.
In the similar field of weather protection of pipe assembly, Ferrone further discloses a pipe assemblies that connected through three different pipe assembly (refer to #30 connect to first #10 and then to second #10 in fig.1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Long’s system with a first flexible conduit or a second pipe assembly and a second flexible conduit or a third pipe assembly, as taught by Ferrone, in order to extend the pipe assemblies to different area and different operational purposes, such that increase the utility and adaptability of the system for wider market needs.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 8, Long does not disclose wherein the pipe assembly can sustain a temperature of at least about 150oC on the exterior surface of the pipe.
In the field of protection the pipe and hose, Hauschulz further discloses wherein the pipe assembly can sustain a temperature of at least about 150oC on the exterior surface of the pipe (refer to Paragraph 0006 cited: “…the acceptable temperature range for the piping is tight or small, i.e., within a few degrees of a set point, and sometimes, the set point temperature is relatively high, e.g., above 180.degree. C…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with wherein the pipe assembly can sustain a temperature of at least about 150oC on the exterior surface of the pipe, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide the capability to maintain a certain temperature for the water inside the pipe, such that the temperature of the water that is transported can be maintain at a desired temperature.
Regarding claim 12, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, Long, Ferrone or Hauschulz does not explicitly disclose wherein the pipe assembly can sustain a temperature under about 50oC on an exposed surface of the pipe assembly.
However, since material disclosed above capable to sustain 180oC, such material is inherently capable sustain a range of temperature that overlap 50oC and under, except in extreme low temperatures such as negative temperature. Since 50oC and under included positive temperature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the temperature range of the pipe assembly can sustain 50oC and under too, in this case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness/anticipation exists. Refer to MPEP 2131.03, such that it would capable to sustain lower temperature when the system is not operating, such that reduce the need to constant operation of the system to maintain temperature.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Hauschulz (US2002/0008101A1) herein set forth as Hauschulz
Regarding claim 16, Long discloses a method for transporting a fluid from a fluid source to an effects pod to provide atmospheric effects to an audience in a venue, the method (refer to fig.4) comprising:
coupling a pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3) to the fluid source (stand pipe #31, fig.1), the pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3) comprising:
a pipe (hollow shaft #26 and manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) for fluid communication with the fluid source (stand pipe #31, fig.1),
and
a pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) coupled to the pipe (hollow shaft #26 and manifold #29, fig.1 and 3), such that a lower portion (refer to the wheels #17 portion in fig.1) of the pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) contacts a ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4) to hold the pipe (hollow shaft #26 and manifold #29, fig.1 and 3) a distance (refer to the distance between the ground and the #26 in fig.1) above the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4);
coupling the pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3) to the effects pod (water gun #71, fig.1); and
the atmospheric effects comprising the fluid (refer to the water gun spraying water).
Long does not explicitly disclose a heat trace in contact with the pipe, insulation abutting at least a portion of the pipe and the heat trace; controlling a temperature of a fluid using a controller coupled to the heat trace while transporting the fluid from the fluid source, through the pipe, and to the effects pod.
In the field of protection the pipe and hose, Hauschulz discloses a heat trace (local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.7) in contact with the pipe (refer to the “P” annotated in fig. 1 and 7), insulation (insulation layer #25, fig.7) abutting at least a portion of the pipe (refer to “P” annotated in the fig.1 and 7); controlling a temperature of a fluid using a controller (control module #100, fig.7) coupled to the heat trace (local control module #100, Jacket #26 and heating component #22, fig.7) while transporting the fluid from the fluid source [refer to Paragraph 0049 cited: “…FIG. 4 shows a typical installation on an agricultural watering system 200 comprising a hose reel unit 210 and a sprinkler cart or trailer 220. On setting up the system in a field the sprinkler cart is extended from the hose reel unit, unwinding a hose 214 from a reel 212, wherein the hose is connected to a water supply on one end and the sprinkler cart on the other…”], through the pipe (refer to “P” annotated in the fig.1 and 7), and to the effects pod.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with a heat trace in contact with the pipe, as taught by Hauschulz, in order to provide the capability to maintain a certain temperature for the water inside the pipe, such that the temperature of the water that is transported can be maintain at a desired temperature.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Long and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 16, Long further discloses coupling the pipe assembly (refer to fig.1-3) to at least one of the effects pod (water gun #71, fig.1) or the fluid source (stand pipe #31, fig.1) using a flexible conduit (refer to flexible hose #28 or pipe #30 in fig.1).
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Long and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 16, Long further discloses wherein the pipe support (support member #24, fig.3) is not fixed (refer to the wheels #17 portion in fig.1) to the ground surface (refer to the surface where wheels #17, fig.1-2 and 4).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Ferrone (US2013/0042938A1) herein set forth as Ferrone, further in view of Hauschulz (US2002/0008101A1) herein set forth as Hauschulz, and further in view of Gey (US2008/0001405A1) herein set forth as Gey,
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, Long further discloses wherein the fluid is water (refer to abstract cited: “…a portable vehicle having a hose reel connected to a supply of water under pressure…” ).
Long, Ferrone or Hauschulz does not explicitly disclose that the water is food grade or drinkable.
In the similar field of transporting fluid, Grey discloses pipe assembly that convey drinking water (refer to Paragraph 0002 cited: “…The present invention generally relates to the field of designing and manufacturing of metallic pipe for conveying drinking-water.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with pipe assembly that convey drinking water, as taught by Grey, in order to provide the capability to expend the utilization of the system in to drinking field , doing so would increase the marketability and adaptability of the system.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Ferrone (US2013/0042938A1) herein set forth as Ferrone, in view of Hauschulz (US2002/0008101A1) herein set forth as Hauschulz, and further in view of IDA (US2009/0250203A1) herein set forth as IDA.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Long, Ferrone and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 7, Long, Ferrone or Hauschulz does not explicitly disclose wherein an interior surface of the pipe comprises a food grade material.
In the similar field of water supply system, IDA discloses a pipe comprises a food grade material [refer to Paragraph 0020 cited: “…the upper portion of the hot water storage tank 21 in turn to each other with a copper pipe or a stainless steel pipe…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified TANGEN’s system with wherein an interior surface of the pipe comprises a food grade material, as taught by IDA, in order to provide a better piping that do not rust or oxidize easily, such that would improve and provide better fluid and less contaminated fluid to the effects pod.
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Long, Ferrone, Hauschulz and IDA discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 14, Long, Ferrone, Hauschulz and IDA does not explicitly disclose the pipe comprises stainless steel.
In the similar field of water supply system, IDA discloses the pipe comprises stainless steel [refer to Paragraph 0020 cited: “…the upper portion of the hot water storage tank 21 in turn to each other with a copper pipe or a stainless steel pipe…”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with the pipe comprises stainless steel, as taught by IDA, in order to provide a better piping that do not rust or oxidize easily, such that would improve and provide better fluid and less contaminated fluid to the effects pod.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Hauschulz (US2002/0008101A1) herein set forth as Hauschulz, and further in view of Miki et al (US6630031B1) herein set forth as Miki.
Regarding claim 19, the modification of Long and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 16, long or Hauschulz does not explicitly disclose wherein the fluid source is a steam generator.
In the similar field of transporting fluid, Miki discloses the transported fluid is steam [refer to Col 3 line 11-15 cited: “…comprises a steam supply apparatus comprising a steam generation system, a steam-superheating system, a control system for supplied ultrapure-water quantity and heat amount, and a steam pressure control system …”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified long’s method with transporting steam, as taught by Miki, in order to interest the utility and marketability of the method, such that would increase the value of the method and compete in a different fields.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US4186881) herein set forth as Long, in view of Hauschulz (US2002/0008101A1) herein set forth as Hauschulz, further in view of Grey (US2008/0001405A1) herein set forth as Grey.
Regarding claim 20, the modification of Long and Hauschulz discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 16, Long further discloses wherein the fluid is water (refer to abstract cited: “…a portable vehicle having a hose reel connected to a supply of water under pressure…” ).
Long or Hauschulz does not explicitly disclose that the water is food grade or drinkable.
In the similar field of transporting fluid, Grey discloses pipe assembly that convey drinking water (refer to Paragraph 0002 cited: “…The present invention generally relates to the field of designing and manufacturing of metallic pipe for conveying drinking-water.…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Long’s system with pipe assembly that convey drinking water, as taught by Grey, in order to provide the capability to expend the utilization of the system in to drinking field , doing so would increase the marketability and adaptability of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TANGEN (US20200023395A1) discloses a similar cart transporting pipe assembly that may read on a lot of the independent claims.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 February 14th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761