DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 is currently dependent on claim 3, however it appears that it should be dependent on claim 5 for proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. Claim will be examined as if claim depended on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “silicone based material” in claims 7 and 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “silicone based material” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what amount of silicone would be necessary to read on silicone based. Would it need to be over 50wt%? or simply the majority component?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Garces et al. (PGPub# US 20190335774 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Garces teaches an indoor smoker (figure 1) comprising: a cabinet 102 defining a discharge vent 200; a smoking chamber 120 positioned within the cabinet and defining a plurality of openings, the plurality of openings comprising a chamber inlet (158 mislabeled 160 in figure 1) and a chamber outlet 160; a smoke generation system (150, 184, 176) positioned within the cabinet in fluid communication with the smoking chamber; an exhaust duct 202 provided between the chamber outlet and the discharge vent; an air handler 190 provided within the exhaust duct for urging a flow of smoke from the smoking chamber, through the exhaust duct, and out of the discharge vent, the air handler creating a negative pressure within the smoking chamber (par. 46-47); a catalytic converter (210 214)positioned within the exhaust duct upstream from the air handler, the catalytic converter comprising a catalytic element 210 and a catalyst heater 214; and a plurality of seals provided within the cabinet, the plurality of seals comprising: an inlet seal 230 provided at the chamber inlet between the smoke generation system and the smoking chamber; and an outlet seal 232 provided at the chamber outlet between the exhaust duct and the smoking chamber. (figures 1-5 and par. 42-45 and 56: Dampers read on seals as the can be moved into position to block smoke from entering or exiting smoke chamber.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garces et al. (PGPub# US 20190335774 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein an airflow capacity of the air handler is directly proportional to a volumetric size of the smoking chamber.
However, Garces teaches that the air handler is a variable speed fan that can be used to control the amount of smoke drawn from the smoke generation system and depending on need to quickly evacuate the smoking chamber. (par. 37)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capacity of the fan in any manner desired in order to provide the desired evacuation rate as necessary as taught by Garces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have optimized the result-effective variable of air flow capacity as evidenced by Garces in order to achieve the desired evacuation rate. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 3, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein a negative pressure value created by the air handler within the smoking chamber is directly proportional to the airflow capacity of the air handler.
However, Garces teaches that the air handler is a variable speed fan that can be used to control the amount of smoke drawn from the smoke generation system and depending on need to quickly evacuate the smoking chamber. (par. 37) Garcia further teaches that a negative pressure environment is needed for the smoke chamber. (par. 46)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capacity of the fan in any manner desired in order to provide the desired evacuation rate/negative pressure as necessary as taught by Garces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have optimized the result-effective variable of air flow capacity/negative pressure as evidenced by Garces in order to achieve the desired evacuation rate and smoke conditions within the smoking chamber. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 4, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the negative pressure within the smoking chamber created by the air handler is between minus 10 and minus 20 Pascals (Pa).
However, Garces teaches that the air handler is a variable speed fan that can be used to control the amount of smoke drawn from the smoke generation system and depending on need to quickly evacuate the smoking chamber. (par. 37) Garcia further teaches that a negative pressure environment is needed for the smoke chamber. (par. 46)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capacity of the fan in any manner desired in order to provide the desired evacuation rate/negative pressure as necessary as taught by Garces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have optimized the result-effective variable of air flow capacity/negative pressure as evidenced by Garces in order to achieve the desired evacuation rate and smoke conditions within the smoking chamber. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 5, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of openings further comprises: a probe port; a cavity light port; and a temperature sensor port.
However, Garces teaches that a variety of sensors such as one or more temperature sensor and humidity sensors can be placed withing the smoking chamber and connected to a controller 140. (Par. 30-31)
Further, the examiner takes official notice that prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it was known in the art to include lights sensors temperature probes within a cooking chamber such as an indoor oven for allowing sight of the food and monitor food temperature and environment while cooking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a variety of ports into the smoking chamber of Garces, for the purpose of adding sensors, and probes into the smoking chamber for allowing sight of the food and monitor food temperature and environment while cooking.
Regarding claim 6, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of seals further comprises: a probe port seal provided at the probe port; a cavity light seal provided at the cavity light port; and a temperature sensor port seal provided at the temperature sensor port.
However, Garces teaches that the smoking chamber should be sealed to retain smoke and heat with the chamber. (par. 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealed all entry points of the smoking chamber in order to retain smoke and heat within the chamber as taught by Garces.
Regarding claim 7, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of seals is formed from a silicon based material.
The examiner takes official notice that prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it was known in the art that silicone is a well-known conventional material to be used for providing sealing needs in systems such as a cooking system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used silicone type seals as they are art conventional materials used for providing effective sealing.
Regarding claim 8, Garces teaches a door 126 rotatably attached to the cabinet to provide selective access to the smoking chamber. (par. 21)
Garces does not explicitly teach a door seal provided around a periphery of the door.
However, Garces teaches that the smoking chamber should be sealed to retain smoke and heat with the chamber. (par. 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealed all entry points of the smoking chamber in order to retain smoke and heat within the chamber as taught by Garces.
Regarding claim 9, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the exhaust duct is fixed to the smoking chamber via a plurality of fasteners.
The examiner takes official notice that prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it was known in the art that ducts and other parts of a smoking appliance can be attached by use of a plurality of fasteners to prevent undesired movement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a plurality of fasteners to attach the exhaust duct to the smoking chamber in order to prevent undesired movement.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garces et al. (PGPub# US 20190335774 A1) in view of Garces2 (PGPub# US2021/0037840 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Garces teaches an indoor smoker (figure 1) comprising: a cabinet 102 defining a discharge vent 200; a smoking chamber 120 positioned within the cabinet and defining a plurality of openings, the plurality of openings comprising a chamber inlet (158 mislabeled 160 in figure 1) and a chamber outlet 160; a smoke generation system (150, 184, 176) positioned within the cabinet in fluid communication with the smoking chamber the system having a smoldering heater 184; an exhaust duct 202 provided between the chamber outlet and the discharge vent; an air handler 190 provided within the exhaust duct for urging a flow of smoke from the smoking chamber, through the exhaust duct, and out of the discharge vent, the air handler creating a negative pressure within the smoking chamber (par. 46-47); a catalytic converter (210 214)positioned within the exhaust duct upstream from the air handler, the catalytic converter comprising a catalytic element 210 and a catalyst heater 214; and a plurality of seals provided within the cabinet, the plurality of seals comprising: an inlet seal 230 provided at the chamber inlet between the smoke generation system and the smoking chamber; and an outlet seal 232 provided at the chamber outlet between the exhaust duct and the smoking chamber. (figures 1-5 and par. 42-45 and 56: Dampers read on seals as the can be moved into position to block smoke from entering or exiting smoke chamber.)
Garces does not explicitly teach the smoke generation system comprising a hopper and an auger.
However, Garces2 teaches a similar indoor smoking system that includes a hopper 244 and auger 240 for selectively adding combustible material into the smoke generation system. (par. 42 and figure 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the auger/hopper system of Garces2, into the smoke generation system of Garces, in order to allow for selectively adding combustible material into the smoke generation system as taught by Garces2.
Regarding claim 11, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein an airflow capacity of the air handler is directly proportional to a volumetric size of the smoking chamber.
However, Garces teaches that the air handler is a variable speed fan that can be used to control the amount of smoke drawn from the smoke generation system and depending on need to quickly evacuate the smoking chamber. (par. 37)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capacity of the fan in any manner desired in order to provide the desired evacuation rate as necessary as taught by Garces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have optimized the result-effective variable of air flow capacity as evidenced by Garces in order to achieve the desired evacuation rate. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 12, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein a negative pressure value created by the air handler within the smoking chamber is directly proportional to the airflow capacity of the air handler.
However, Garces teaches that the air handler is a variable speed fan that can be used to control the amount of smoke drawn from the smoke generation system and depending on need to quickly evacuate the smoking chamber. (par. 37) Garcia further teaches that a negative pressure environment is needed for the smoke chamber. (par. 46)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capacity of the fan in any manner desired in order to provide the desired evacuation rate/negative pressure as necessary as taught by Garces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have optimized the result-effective variable of air flow capacity/negative pressure as evidenced by Garces in order to achieve the desired evacuation rate and smoke conditions within the smoking chamber. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 13, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the negative pressure within the smoking chamber created by the air handler is between minus 10 and minus 20 Pascals (Pa).
However, Garces teaches that the air handler is a variable speed fan that can be used to control the amount of smoke drawn from the smoke generation system and depending on need to quickly evacuate the smoking chamber. (par. 37) Garcia further teaches that a negative pressure environment is needed for the smoke chamber. (par. 46)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capacity of the fan in any manner desired in order to provide the desired evacuation rate/negative pressure as necessary as taught by Garces. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have optimized the result-effective variable of air flow capacity/negative pressure as evidenced by Garces in order to achieve the desired evacuation rate and smoke conditions within the smoking chamber. See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding claim 14, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of openings further comprises: a probe port; a cavity light port; and a temperature sensor port.
However, Garces teaches that a variety of sensors such as one or more temperature sensor and humidity sensors can be placed withing the smoking chamber and connected to a controller 140. (Par. 30-31)
Further, the examiner takes official notice that prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it was known in the art to include lights sensors temperature probes within a cooking chamber such as a indoor oven for allowing sight of the food and monitor food temperature and environment while cooking.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a variety of ports into the smoking chamber of Garces, for the purpose of adding sensors, and probes into the smoking chamber for allowing sight of the food and monitor food temperature and environment while cooking.
Regarding claim 15, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of seals further comprises: a probe port seal provided at the probe port; a cavity light seal provided at the cavity light port; and a temperature sensor port seal provided at the temperature sensor port.
However, Garces teaches that the smoking chamber should be sealed to retain smoke and heat with the chamber. (par. 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealed all entry points of the smoking chamber in order to retain smoke and heat within the chamber as taught by Garces.
Regarding claim 16, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of seals is formed from a silicon based material.
The examiner takes official notice that prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it was known in the art that silicone is a well-known conventional material to be used for providing sealing needs in systems such as a cooking system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used silicone type seals as they are art conventional materials used for providing effective sealing.
Regarding claim 17, Garces teaches a door 126 rotatably attached to the cabinet to provide selective access to the smoking chamber. (par. 21)
Garces does not explicitly teach a door seal provided around a periphery of the door.
However, Garces teaches that the smoking chamber should be sealed to retain smoke and heat with the chamber. (par. 20)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sealed all entry points of the smoking chamber in order to retain smoke and heat within the chamber as taught by Garces.
Regarding claim 18, Garces does not explicitly teach wherein the exhaust duct is fixed to the smoking chamber via a plurality of fasteners.
The examiner takes official notice that prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it was known in the art that ducts and other parts of a smoking applicant can be attached by use of a plurality of fasteners to prevent undesired movement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a plurality of fasteners to attach the exhaust duct to the smoking chamber in order to prevent undesired movement.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761