DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 10 and 13 – 20 have been examined. Claims 11 – 12 have been withdrawn by Applicant via election/restriction. It should be noted that the current claim listing has the status identifiers of claims 11 – 12 as (Original). These claims should be identified as (Withdrawn).
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11 – 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 – 8, 10, 13 – 14, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugata (2013/0030636). In regard to claims 1, 13, and 14, Sugata discloses a dual electric motor coupling system for a vehicle comprising a vehicle having a vehicle body (Fig. 7), a first electric motor attached to the vehicle body (Fig. 7, item 12), a second electric motor attached to the vehicle body (Fig. 7, item 13), and a vehicle axle attached to the vehicle body, the vehicle axle including a first rotating member coupled to with the first electric motor and connectable to a first wheel assembly of the vehicle (Fig. 7, item 21), and a second rotating member coupled to the second electric motor and connectable to a second wheel assembly of the vehicle (Fig. 7, item 23), wherein the first- and second-wheel assemblies, when connected to the first rotating member and second rotating member, respectively, are disposed on opposing ends of the vehicle axle (Fig. 7), and a mechanical coupling disposed in relation to the first electric motor and the second electric motor, wherein the mechanical coupling is operable to selectively couple the first electric motor and the second electric motor and provide a coupling torque to the vehicle axle (Fig. 7, item 25).
In regard to claims 6 and 19, Sugata discloses wherein the mechanical coupling provides variable coupling control between the first electric motor and the second electric motor (paragraph 51).
In regard to claims 7 and 20, Sugata discloses wherein the mechanical coupling provides on/off coupling control between the first electric motor and the second electric motor (paragraph 51).
In regard to claim 8, Sugata discloses wherein the mechanical coupling includes a clutch pack (paragraph 45).
In regard to claim 10, Sugata discloses wherein at least one of the first rotating member and the second rotating member includes a motor shaft (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 5, 9, and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugata (2013/0030636) as applied to claims 1, 6 – 8, 10, 13 – 14, and 19 – 20 above, and further in view of Kaimer et al. (11,312,352). Sugata does not disclose a combined torque mode. In regard to claims 2 and 15, Kaimer discloses wherein a first electric motor is operable to generate a first drive torque, a second electric motor is operable to generate a second drive torque, and wherein a mechanical coupling selectively couples the first electric motor and the second electric motor to generate a combined drive force and, provide a combined torque to first- and second-wheel assemblies when the first- and second-wheel assemblies are connected to first and second rotating members, respectively (Fig. 3).
In regard to claims 3 and 16, Kaimer discloses wherein the mechanical coupling is operable to provide a first torque to the first rotating member, and a second torque to the second rotating member, and wherein the first torque includes the first drive torque transmitted by a first gear set plus the coupling torque, and the second torque includes the second drive torque transmitted by a second gear set less the coupling torque (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 4, Kaimer discloses wherein the mechanical coupling is operable to provide a first torque to the first wheel assembly, when the first wheel assembly is connected to the first rotating member, and a second torque to the second wheel assembly, when the second wheel assembly is connected to the second rotating member, and wherein the first torque includes the first drive torque transmitted by a first gear set less the coupling torque, and the second torque includes the second drive torque transmitted by a second gear set plus the coupling torque (Fig. 1, items 24a and 24i).
In regard to claim 5, Kaimer discloses wherein the mechanical coupling provides a combined torque to one of the first wheel assembly, when the first wheel assembly is connected to the first rotating member and the second wheel assembly, when the second wheel assembly is connected to the second rotating member (Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 17, Kaimer discloses wherein one of the first torque provided and the second torque provided is greater than the other of the first torque provided and the second torque provided (Fig. 4).
In regard to claim 18, Kaimer discloses providing the coupling torque to one of the first rotating member and the second rotating member, wherein one of the first torque and the second torque is zero (Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined torque modes of Kaimer, to the electric motor coupling system of Sugata, in order to improve vehicle dynamics by increasing handling responsiveness (Kaimer column 2, lines 31 – 54).
Sugata in view of Kaimer does not specify a clutch brake. In regard to claim 9, Official Notice is taken that clutch brakes are old and well known in the art, and one of ordinary skill would be well within their level of knowledge to include one, in a vehicle, when appropriate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gloceri et al. (2010/0025131) disclose an electric propulsion system;
Hiereth (2024/0262189) discloses a device for controlling an individual wheel drive;
Takahashi et al. (2024/0286492) disclose a control system for a vehicle;
Tai-Her (EP1642759) discloses an electrical drive system.
/JOHN D WALTERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613