DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 27-54 of U.S. Application No. 18/319210 filed on 03/02/2026 have been examined.
Office Action is in response to the Applicant's amendments and remarks filed03/02/2026. Claims 27, 35, 36, 41, & 50 are presently amended, and Claims 1-26 are cancelled. Claims 27-54 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101: Applicant is reminded claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. Per the MPEP 2106.05(f) Mere Instructions to Apply An Exception, the courts have also identified limitations that did not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application: Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Examiner interprets that the processors and the network interfaces and the server are applying instructions in order to reach the end result of detecting a parking violation. Using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other task (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) after the abstract idea does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (see at least MPEP 2106.05(f)). Further Per the MPEP 2106.05(g) based on the examples given by the courts as insignificant extra-solution activity, such as: “Obtaining information about transactions using the Internet to verify credit card transactions”, “Consulting and updating an activity log” and other examples. These examples are court decisions that were considered mere data gathering and further outputting the result which is similar to what the claim set describes. The claim set describes a device that receives license plate data at different times and checks at another point in time, the same data for a parking violation. The application appears to have a generic computers for mere data gathering with insignificant extra solution activity with the end result being an output of a parking violation.
In regards to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new grounds of rejection is made in view of US 6081206A (“Kielland”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 27-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
A claim that recites an abstract idea, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon is directed to a judicial exception. Abstract ideas include the following groupings of subject matter, when recited as such in a claim limitation: (a) Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations; (b) Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and (c) Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Even when a judicial element is recited in the claim, an additional claim element(s) that integrates the judicial exception into a practical application of that exception renders the claim eligible under §101. A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception. The following examples are indicative that an additional element or combination of elements may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
the additional element(s) reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
the additional element(s) that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
the additional element(s) implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
the additional element(s) effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
the additional element(s) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
Examples in which the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application include:
the additional element(s) merely recites the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
the additional element(s) adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
the additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
See the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 27 & 41 recite generating first parking events, each first parking event pertaining to a respective parking instance of a parked vehicle observed, comprising first parking data including at least a vehicle license plate of the parked vehicle and one additional parking parameter observed, obtain a set of at least one extraneous past parking event taken from the first parking events generated, obtain therefrom second parking data pertaining to parked vehicles observed, the second parking data comprising current parking data pertaining to a current parking instance of a nearby parked vehicle and including at least a current vehicle license plate of the nearby parked vehicle and one additional current parking parameter observed, generating a current parking event pertaining to the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle using the current parking data, determining a parking violation by searching the set of at least one extraneous past parking event by comparing the current parking event to individual extraneous past parking events in the set of at least one extraneous past parking event to identify amongst the at least one extraneous past parking event of the set a violation parking event for which the vehicle license plate of the violation parking event matches the current vehicle license plate and for which the additional current parking parameter and the additional parameter of the violation parking event indicates a violation of a regulation, generating a violation event for the nearby parked vehicle and storing the violation event, as drafted, is a device & process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer elements. The claim is practically able to be performed in the mind. For example, but for the “A distributed mobile parking enforcement system including a plurality of mobile parking enforcement devices movable to be brought to locations where vehicles are parked to monitor and/or enforce parking regulations, at least one first mobile parking enforcement device, storage in a remote parking enforcement server, a second mobile parking enforcement device separate from the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device, a wireless interface to obtain, from the remote parking enforcement server, a data interface communicatively couplable with parking data acquisition hardware, computer-readable memory storing program instructions; and a processor in communication with the wireless interface, the data interface, and the computer-readable memory. the processor being operable to execute the program instructions for, the computer-readable memory,” language, “generating first parking events, each first parking event pertaining to a respective parking instance of a parked vehicle observed, comprising first parking data including at least a vehicle license plate of the parked vehicle and one additional parking parameter observed, obtain a set of at least one extraneous past parking event taken from the first parking events generated, obtain therefrom second parking data pertaining to parked vehicles observed, the second parking data comprising current parking data pertaining to a current parking instance of a nearby parked vehicle and including at least a current vehicle license plate of the nearby parked vehicle and one additional current parking parameter observed, generating a current parking event pertaining to the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle using the current parking data, determining a parking violation by searching the set of at least one extraneous past parking event by comparing the current parking event to individual extraneous past parking events in the set of at least one extraneous past parking event to identify amongst the at least one extraneous past parking event of the set a violation parking event for which the vehicle license plate of the violation parking event matches the current vehicle license plate and for which the additional current parking parameter and the additional parameter of the violation parking event indicates a violation of a regulation, generating a violation event for the nearby parked vehicle and storing the violation event” in the context of this claim encompasses the user observing a parked vehicle and comparing the information to past information to determine if it in violation. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – using “an estimation portion; an image generation portion which generates an image around the present vehicle including a graphic;”. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect a parking violation) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “A distributed mobile parking enforcement system including a plurality of mobile parking enforcement devices movable to be brought to locations where vehicles are parked to monitor and/or enforce parking regulations, at least one first mobile parking enforcement device, storage in a remote parking enforcement server, a second mobile parking enforcement device separate from the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device, a wireless interface to obtain, from the remote parking enforcement server, a data interface communicatively couplable with parking data acquisition hardware, computer-readable memory storing program instructions; and a processor in communication with the wireless interface, the data interface, and the computer-readable memory. the processor being operable to execute the program instructions for, the computer-readable memory,”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Similarly for claims 28-40 & 42-54 is a device that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, in the context of these claim encompasses the user utilizing additional elements to help calculate and store information regarding the parking violations. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The devices are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., device configured to detect a parking violation) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-29, 31-32, 35-43, 45-46, & 49-54 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6081206 (“Kielland”).
As per claim 27 Kielland discloses
A distributed mobile parking enforcement system including a plurality of mobile parking enforcement devices movable to be brought to locations where vehicles are parked to monitor and/or enforce parking regulations (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.), the system comprising:
at least one first mobile parking enforcement device generating first parking events, each first parking event pertaining to a respective parking instance of a parked vehicle observed by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device and comprising first parking data including at least a vehicle license plate of the parked vehicle and one additional parking parameter observed by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device about the parking instance of the parked vehicle and transmitting the first parking events for storage in a remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 10-25: In preferred embodiments described below, a data link 56 enables the transfer of information to and from various external databases maintained by various judicial and/ or financial institutions. The link to data may a real time communications link to data Stored at a remote Site, a real-time link over the local communication bus 120 to data stored on-board the patrol vehicle 50 or a post-mission link to data Stored at a remote Site…FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible. & col. 12 lines 21-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Sub system 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle’s Epoch-ID.); and
a second mobile parking enforcement device separate from the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. col. 23 lines 34-41:Therefore, in a preferred embodiment (not illustrated), each patrol vehicle contributes all of its observed Epoch-IDs to a remote database (by means of either a real-time or post-mission link 56). No attempt is made to serve printed citations on Over-parked vehicles therefore no real-time data analysis is required. Data from all patrol vehicles is simply accumulated into a Single database for a considerable length of time (typically a full working day).), comprising:
a wireless interface to obtain, from the remote parking enforcement server, a set of at least one extraneous past parking event taken from the first parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.);
a data interface communicatively couplable with parking data acquisition hardware to obtain therefrom second parking data pertaining to parked vehicles observed by the parking data acquisition hardware, the second parking data comprising current parking data pertaining to a current parking instance of a nearby parked vehicle and including at least a current vehicle license plate of the nearby parked vehicle and one additional current parking parameter observed by the second mobile parking enforcement device about the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.);
computer-readable memory storing program instructions; and a processor in communication with the wireless interface, the data interface, and the computer-readable memory. the processor being operable to execute the program instructions for (see at least Kielland, col. 8 lines 15-25: FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a computer system 100 in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention. Computer system 100 includes a host computer 101. Host computer 101 includes a CPU 102, a memory 103, a communication bus 120, a display device 130 (e.g., a computer monitor), and input/output devices Such as a keyboard 131 and printer 132. Memory 103 may include device drivers 110 and operational software modules. License Plate Recognition Software 111, vehicle navigation Software 112 and database Software 113 are described in detail below.):
generating a current parking event pertaining to the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle using the current parking data (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 54-65: In a preferred embodiment, the patrol vehicle is driven past a row of parked cars 500 and the plate-string visible in each Successively captured raster image 501 is extracted using Full Recognition Mode LPR 503. Each plate-string 503 is geo-referenced 504 and time-stamped 502. The observed plate-String, its time of observation and its location of observation are concatenated into an Epoch-ID record 505 that is Suitably formatted for Storage in the System's data base 113. The reliability indicators described above are also concatenated into the Epoch-ID (not illustrated). To assure the privacy of citizens (described below) the data is typically encrypted 506 before being stored in the database 507.);
determining a parking violation by searching the set of at least one extraneous past parking event by comparing the current parking event to individual extraneous past parking events in the set of at least one extraneous past parking event to identify amongst the at least one extraneous past parking event of the set a violation parking event for which the vehicle license plate of the violation parking event matches the current vehicle license plate and for which the additional current parking parameter and the additional parameter of the violation parking event indicates a violation of a regulation (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.); and
generating a violation event for the nearby parked vehicle and storing the violation event in the computer-readable memory (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.).
As per claim 28 Kielland discloses
wherein the processor is operable to execute the program instructions for determining a particular geographic location of the second mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 20-45: The present invention can use an “off the Shelf positioning System to provide geo-referencing information for each Epoch-ID. Satellite systems such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) are the preferred sub system….The geographic coordinates observed by the positioning sub-system define the position of the patrol vehicle rather than that of the (nearby) parked cars under Surveillance. The parking violation detection algorithm described below assumes that the coordinates logged in the Epoch-ID describes the position of each parked car. Therefore, in a preferred embodiment, the distance observed from the patrol vehicle to each parked vehicle (measured by the range finder) and the known geometry between the location of the camera, the range finder and the positioning System's antenna, is used to compute the geographic coordinates of each parked car's license plate. The estimated position of each license plate (and its estimated uncertainty) is then stored in the parked vehicle's Epoch-ID.),
wherein the wireless interface is to transmit an indication of the particular geographic location to the remote parking enforcement server, and wherein the set of at least one extraneous past event obtained at the wireless interface is selected based on the particular geographic location of the second mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 18 lines 20-52: To address this speed limitation, a preferred embodiment of the present invention utilizes the information available from the positioning Sub-System 53 to accelerate the Search for matching vehicle identifiers. AS each new Epoch-ID is observed 505, instead of searching through thousands of records in the database for a matching vehicle identifier, the database first searches to find those few Epoch-IDS that are positioned a short distance from the current Epoch-ID. Conducting a preliminary “nearest neighbor” search of the database is much faster than trying to find a matching plate-model 520. By localizing the Search to only those few vehicles that might conceivably be the same (over-parked) vehicle, extra processing time becomes available for carrying out more Sophisticated LPR analysis. The distance criterions used to Search for “nearest neighbor' Epoch-IDs will typically be the same distance criterion used by the violation detection algorithm to test if a vehicle has moved “appreciably” between observations (described above). The nearest neighbor distance criterion may therefore be comprised of a distance to compensate for instrumental noise in the positioning System as well as a regulated distance imposed to force motorists to completely vacate the vicinity after legally occupying a parking spot. Therefore, in a preferred embodiment, the database Search 519 also comprises a preliminary nearest neighbor Search to find Epoch-IDs located a short distance away from the patrol vehicle's current geographic location. The few Epoch-IDS found by this preliminary Search are then Searched to See if there are any matching plate-models. If a plate-match is found, then the rest of the data processing proceeds as illustrated in FIG. 6.).
As per claim 29 Kielland discloses
wherein the data interface is communicatively couplable to a global position system (GPS) unit to obtain therefrom the particular geographic location of the second mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 20-45: The present invention can use an “off the Shelf positioning System to provide geo-referencing information for each Epoch-ID. Satellite systems such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) are the preferred sub system….The geographic coordinates observed by the positioning sub-system define the position of the patrol vehicle rather than that of the (nearby) parked cars under Surveillance. The parking violation detection algorithm described below assumes that the coordinates logged in the Epoch-ID describes the position of each parked car. Therefore, in a preferred embodiment, the distance observed from the patrol vehicle to each parked vehicle (measured by the range finder) and the known geometry between the location of the camera, the range finder and the positioning System's antenna, is used to compute the geographic coordinates of each parked car's license plate. The estimated position of each license plate (and its estimated uncertainty) is then stored in the parked vehicle's Epoch-ID.).
As per claim 31 Kielland discloses
wherein the wireless interface is to transmit at least a portion of the violation event to the remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 32 Kielland discloses
wherein the computer readable memory comprises a database of parking events, wherein the processor is operable to execute the program instructions for storing the current parking event in the database (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 35 Kielland discloses
A distributed mobile parking enforcement system including a plurality of mobile parking enforcement devices movable to be brought to locations where vehicles are parked to monitor and/or enforce parking regulations (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.), the system comprising:
at least one first mobile parking enforcement device generating first parking events, each first parking event pertaining to a respective parking instance of a parked vehicle observed by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device and comprising first parking data including at least a vehicle license plate of the parked vehicle and one additional parking parameter observed by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device about the parking instance of the parked vehicle and transmitting the first parking events for storage in a remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 10-25: In preferred embodiments described below, a data link 56 enables the transfer of information to and from various external databases maintained by various judicial and/ or financial institutions. The link to data may a real time communications link to data Stored at a remote Site, a real-time link over the local communication bus 120 to data stored on-board the patrol vehicle 50 or a post-mission link to data Stored at a remote Site…FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible. & col. 12 lines 21-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Sub system 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle’s Epoch-ID.); and
a second mobile parking enforcement device separate from the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. col. 23 lines 34-41:Therefore, in a preferred embodiment (not illustrated), each patrol vehicle contributes all of its observed Epoch-IDs to a remote database (by means of either a real-time or post-mission link 56). No attempt is made to serve printed citations on Over-parked vehicles therefore no real-time data analysis is required. Data from all patrol vehicles is simply accumulated into a Single database for a considerable length of time (typically a full working day).), comprising:
a wireless interface to obtain, from the remote parking enforcement server, a set of at least one extraneous past parking event taken from the first parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.);
a data interface communicatively couplable with parking data acquisition hardware to obtain therefrom second parking data pertaining to parked vehicles observed by the parking data acquisition hardware, the second parking data comprising current parking data pertaining to a current parking instance of a nearby parked vehicle and including at least a current vehicle license plate of the nearby parked vehicle and one additional current parking parameter observed by the second mobile parking enforcement device about the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.);
computer-readable memory storing program instructions; and a processor in communication with the wireless interface, the data interface, and the computer-readable memory. the processor being operable to execute the program instructions for (see at least Kielland, col. 8 lines 15-25: FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a computer system 100 in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the present invention. Computer system 100 includes a host computer 101. Host computer 101 includes a CPU 102, a memory 103, a communication bus 120, a display device 130 (e.g., a computer monitor), and input/output devices Such as a keyboard 131 and printer 132. Memory 103 may include device drivers 110 and operational software modules. License Plate Recognition Software 111, vehicle navigation Software 112 and database Software 113 are described in detail below.):
generating a current parking event pertaining to the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle using the current parking data (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 54-65: In a preferred embodiment, the patrol vehicle is driven past a row of parked cars 500 and the plate-string visible in each Successively captured raster image 501 is extracted using Full Recognition Mode LPR 503. Each plate-string 503 is geo-referenced 504 and time-stamped 502. The observed plate-String, its time of observation and its location of observation are concatenated into an Epoch-ID record 505 that is Suitably formatted for Storage in the System's data base 113. The reliability indicators described above are also concatenated into the Epoch-ID (not illustrated). To assure the privacy of citizens (described below) the data is typically encrypted 506 before being stored in the database 507.);
determining a parking violation by searching the set of at least one extraneous past parking event by comparing the current parking event to individual extraneous past parking events in the set of at least one extraneous past parking event to identify amongst the at least one extraneous past parking event of the set a violation parking event for which the vehicle license plate of the violation parking event matches the current vehicle license plate and for which the additional current parking parameter and the additional parameter of the violation parking event indicates a violation of a regulation (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.); and
generating a violation event for the nearby parked vehicle and storing the violation event in the computer-readable memory (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.);
wherein the second mobile parking enforcement comprises the parking data acquisition hardware including at least one license plate reader to capture license plate numbers as part of the second parking data pertaining to the parked vehicles observed by the parking data acquisition hardware (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.).
As per claim 36 Kielland discloses
the second mobile parking device being movable to be brought nearby one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.), wherein:
the data interface is to obtain from the parking data acquisition hardware subsequent current parking data pertaining to subsequent parking instances of the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles, the subsequent current parking data including at least a subsequent current vehicle license plate for the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles and one subsequent additional current parking parameter observed by the second mobile parking enforcement device about the subsequent parking instances of the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.); and
the processor is to execute the program instructions for generating one or more subsequent current parking events for the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles using the subsequent current parking data (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.).
As per claim 37 Kielland discloses
wherein determining the parking violation comprises searching the one or more subsequent current parking events by comparing the current parking event to individual subsequent current parking events (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.).
As per claim 38 Kielland discloses
wherein the wireless interface is to transmit, to the remote parking enforcement server, part or all of the subsequent current parking events database (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 39 Kielland discloses
wherein the wireless interface is to transmit at least a portion of the current parking event generated by the processing device to the remote parking enforcement device database (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 40 Kielland discloses
wherein the second mobile parking enforcement device comprises a user interface for providing data to and obtaining input from a user database (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: In a preferred embodiment, when the parking violation alarm is triggered, the computer 101 displays the two Stored images of the parked vehicle on the display monitor 130. The Officer then verifies that the two images appear to portray the same vehicle. The Officer also visually verifies that the two plate-Strings are identical to the plate-String recognized by LPR analysis 515..), wherein the processor is operable to execute the program instructions for:
causing the user interface to display image data associated with the current parking event and the violation parking event (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: In a preferred embodiment, when the parking violation alarm is triggered, the computer 101 displays the two Stored images of the parked vehicle on the display monitor 130. The Officer then verifies that the two images appear to portray the same vehicle. The Officer also visually verifies that the two plate-Strings are identical to the plate-String recognized by LPR analysis 515..);
obtaining, via the user interface, user input indicative of a confirmation of a match in the image data (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.);
wherein determining the parking violation is based at least in part on the confirmation (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.).
As per claim 41 Kielland discloses
A method for performing parking enforcement using a distributed mobile parking enforcement system including a plurality of mobile parking enforcement devices movable to be brought to locations where vehicles are parked to monitor and/or enforce parking regulations (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.), the method comprising:
generating, using at least one first mobile parking enforcement device, first parking events, each first parking event pertaining to a respective parking instance of a parked vehicle observed by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device and comprising first parking data including at least a vehicle license plate of the parked vehicle and one additional parking parameter observed by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device about the parking instance of the parked vehicle and transmitting the first parking events for storage in a remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 10-25: In preferred embodiments described below, a data link 56 enables the transfer of information to and from various external databases maintained by various judicial and/ or financial institutions. The link to data may a real time communications link to data Stored at a remote Site, a real-time link over the local communication bus 120 to data stored on-board the patrol vehicle 50 or a post-mission link to data Stored at a remote Site…FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible. & col. 12 lines 21-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Sub system 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle’s Epoch-ID.); and
obtaining, at a wireless interface of a second mobile parking enforcement device separate from the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. col. 23 lines 34-41:Therefore, in a preferred embodiment (not illustrated), each patrol vehicle contributes all of its observed Epoch-IDs to a remote database (by means of either a real-time or post-mission link 56). No attempt is made to serve printed citations on Over-parked vehicles therefore no real-time data analysis is required. Data from all patrol vehicles is simply accumulated into a Single database for a considerable length of time (typically a full working day).),
a set of at least one extraneous past parking event taken from the first parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.);;
obtaining, at a data interface of the second mobile parking enforcement device, second parking data from parking data acquisition hardware communicatively couplable to the data interface, the second parking data pertaining to parked vehicles observed by the parking data acquisition hardware and comprising current parking data pertaining to a current parking instance of a nearby parked vehicle and including at least a current vehicle license plate for the nearby parked vehicle and one additional current parking parameter observed by the second mobile parking enforcement device about the current parking instance of the nearby parked vehicle (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.);
generating a current parking event for the nearby parked vehicle using the current parking data (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 54-65: In a preferred embodiment, the patrol vehicle is driven past a row of parked cars 500 and the plate-string visible in each Successively captured raster image 501 is extracted using Full Recognition Mode LPR 503. Each plate-string 503 is geo-referenced 504 and time-stamped 502. The observed plate-String, its time of observation and its location of observation are concatenated into an Epoch-ID record 505 that is Suitably formatted for Storage in the System's data base 113. The reliability indicators described above are also concatenated into the Epoch-ID (not illustrated). To assure the privacy of citizens (described below) the data is typically encrypted 506 before being stored in the database 507.);
determining a parking violation by searching the set of at least one extraneous past parking event by comparing the current parking event to individual extraneous past parking events in the set of at least one extraneous past parking event to identify amongst the at least one extraneous past parking event of the set a violation parking event for which a vehicle license plate of the violation parking event matches the current vehicle license plate and for which the additional current parking parameter and an additional parameter of the violation parking event indicates a violation of a rule (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.); and
generating a violation event for the nearby parked vehicle and storing the violation event in a computer-readable memory (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.).
As per claim 42 Kielland discloses
comprising: determining a particular geographic location of the second mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 20-45: The present invention can use an “off the Shelf positioning System to provide geo-referencing information for each Epoch-ID. Satellite systems such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) are the preferred sub system….The geographic coordinates observed by the positioning sub-system define the position of the patrol vehicle rather than that of the (nearby) parked cars under Surveillance. The parking violation detection algorithm described below assumes that the coordinates logged in the Epoch-ID describes the position of each parked car. Therefore, in a preferred embodiment, the distance observed from the patrol vehicle to each parked vehicle (measured by the range finder) and the known geometry between the location of the camera, the range finder and the positioning System's antenna, is used to compute the geographic coordinates of each parked car's license plate. The estimated position of each license plate (and its estimated uncertainty) is then stored in the parked vehicle's Epoch-ID.),
transmitting, by the wireless interface, an indication of the particular geographic location to the remote parking enforcement server; wherein the set of at least one extraneous past event obtained at the wireless interface is selected based on the particular geographic location of the second mobile parking enforcement device (see at least Kielland, col. 18 lines 20-52: To address this speed limitation, a preferred embodiment of the present invention utilizes the information available from the positioning Sub-System 53 to accelerate the Search for matching vehicle identifiers. AS each new Epoch-ID is observed 505, instead of searching through thousands of records in the database for a matching vehicle identifier, the database first searches to find those few Epoch-IDS that are positioned a short distance from the current Epoch-ID. Conducting a preliminary “nearest neighbor” search of the database is much faster than trying to find a matching plate-model 520. By localizing the Search to only those few vehicles that might conceivably be the same (over-parked) vehicle, extra processing time becomes available for carrying out more Sophisticated LPR analysis. The distance criterions used to Search for “nearest neighbor' Epoch-IDs will typically be the same distance criterion used by the violation detection algorithm to test if a vehicle has moved “appreciably” between observations (described above). The nearest neighbor distance criterion may therefore be comprised of a distance to compensate for instrumental noise in the positioning System as well as a regulated distance imposed to force motorists to completely vacate the vicinity after legally occupying a parking spot. Therefore, in a preferred embodiment, the database Search 519 also comprises a preliminary nearest neighbor Search to find Epoch-IDs located a short distance away from the patrol vehicle's current geographic location. The few Epoch-IDS found by this preliminary Search are then Searched to See if there are any matching plate-models. If a plate-match is found, then the rest of the data processing proceeds as illustrated in FIG. 6.).
As per claim 43 Kielland discloses
wherein determining the particular geographic location of the second mobile parking enforcement device comprises obtaining, at the data interface of the second mobile parking enforcement device, the particular geographic location from a global position system (GPS) unit (see at least Kielland, col. 15 lines 20-45: The present invention can use an “off the Shelf positioning System to provide geo-referencing information for each Epoch-ID. Satellite systems such as the Global Positioning System (GPS) are the preferred sub system….The geographic coordinates observed by the positioning sub-system define the position of the patrol vehicle rather than that of the (nearby) parked cars under Surveillance. The parking violation detection algorithm described below assumes that the coordinates logged in the Epoch-ID describes the position of each parked car. Therefore, in a preferred embodiment, the distance observed from the patrol vehicle to each parked vehicle (measured by the range finder) and the known geometry between the location of the camera, the range finder and the positioning System's antenna, is used to compute the geographic coordinates of each parked car's license plate. The estimated position of each license plate (and its estimated uncertainty) is then stored in the parked vehicle's Epoch-ID.).
As per claim 45 Kielland discloses
comprising transmitting, by the wireless interface, at least a portion of the violation event to the remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 46 Kielland discloses
comprising storing the current parking event in a database of the computer-readable memory (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 49 Kielland discloses
wherein obtaining second parking data from the parking data acquisition hardware comprises capturing, by at least one license plate reader, license plate numbers as part of the second parking data pertaining to the parked vehicles observed by the parking data acquisition hardware (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.).
As per claim 50 Kielland discloses
comprising: moving the second mobile parking device nearby to one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicle (see at least Kielland, Fig. 2 & col. 9 lines 20-25: FIG. 2, illustrates two instances of the parking patrol vehicle 50 being driven past a line of parked cars 60. A raster image showing each vehicle's license plate 61 is captured by the video camera 51 into the system's on-board computer 101. Each of these raster images shows a parked car 60 such that its license plate 61 is clearly visible.);
obtaining, at the data interface and from the parking data acquisition hardware, subsequent current parking data pertaining to subsequent parking instances of the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles, the subsequent current parking data including at least a subsequent current vehicle license plate for the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles and one subsequent additional current parking parameter observed by the second mobile parking enforcement device about the subsequent parking instances of the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.); and
generating one or more subsequent current parking events for the one or more subsequent nearby parked vehicles using the subsequent current parking data (see at least Kielland, col. 12 lines 20-30: At the same instant that each vehicle's raster image is captured by the Video camera 51, the computer also captures the current time (from the time sensor 55) and the vehicle's current geographical position (from the positioning Subsystem 53). These three observed data (time, location and vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the system's database 113. Each of these data records is hereafter referred to as the parked vehicle's “Epoch-ID”. col. 23 lines 55-65: For example, a patrol vehicle might traverse a long route that only permits it to observe all parked vehicles once every 2 hours. However, if eight Surveillance vehicles patrol that same route (while maintaining approximately equal spacing between them) then each parked car along the route would be observed approximately once every 15 minutes. Concatenating all of the Epoch-IDs observed by all eight patrol vehicles would permit each parked vehicle's virtual-parking-meter to be re-observed and updated once every 15 minutes.).
As per claim 51 Kielland discloses
wherein determining the parking violation comprises searching the one or more subsequent current parking events by comparing the current parking event to individual subsequent current parking events (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.).
As per claim 52 Kielland discloses
comprising transmitting, by the wireless interface, part or all of the subsequent current parking events to the remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 53 Kielland discloses
comprising transmitting, by the wireless interface, at least a portion of said current parking event generated by the processing device to the remote parking enforcement server (see at least Kielland, col. 13 lines 1-5: The System's computer also captures the current time and the current geographical coordinates observed by the positioning Sub-System. These three observed data (time, location and unique vehicle identifier) are concatenated and Stored as a data record in the System's database.).
As per claim 54 Kielland discloses
comprising: causing a user interface of the second mobile parking enforcement device to display image data associated with the current parking event and the violation parking event (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: In a preferred embodiment, when the parking violation alarm is triggered, the computer 101 displays the two Stored images of the parked vehicle on the display monitor 130. The Officer then verifies that the two images appear to portray the same vehicle. The Officer also visually verifies that the two plate-Strings are identical to the plate-String recognized by LPR analysis 515..);
obtaining, via the user interface, user input indicative of a confirmation of a match in said image data (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.);
wherein determining the parking violation is based at least in part on the confirmation (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-34, & 47-48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kielland, in view of US 2006/0255119A1 (“Marchasin”).
As per claim 33 Kielland discloses
wherein determining the parking violation comprises: comparing, by the processor, the additional parking parameter of the violation parking event and the additional current parking parameter (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.);
generating, by the processor, a violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.).
However Kielland does not explicitly disclose
generating, by the processor, a tentative violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation;
transmitting, by the wireless interface, a request for context data associated with the violation parking event to the parking enforcement server; and
obtaining, by the wireless interface, context data associated with the violation parking event from the parking enforcement server.
Marchasin teaches
comparing, by the processor, the additional parking parameter of the violation parking event and the additional current parking parameter (see at least Marchasin, para. [0073]: The parked vehicle data may include, but is not limited to, the following information: 1) the make, model, year, and color of the vehicle; 2) the license plate number of the vehicle; 3) the location of the parked vehicle (e.g., the lot, Street, and/or Zone); and 4) the date, time, and day of the week of the scan. One having ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that the PEO may enter the parked vehicle data into the Reader 8 using any Suitable input means, such as, for example, a keyboard, a keypad, and/or a voice recognition system. & para. [0077]: Having captured the RFID tag number and parked vehicle data, the Reader 8 sends this data to the PermitView System 1. FIG. 3 illustrates at least a portion of the steps of the permit management process performed by the Permit View System 1. As shown in FIG.3, the PermitView System 1 receives the tag number and parked vehicle data from the Reader 8 via the User Interface 20, in step S1. The information is provided to the Privilege Module 40, which in turn retrieves the tag data associated with the tag number from the Permit Database 50, in step SII.);
generating, by the processor, a tentative violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation (see at least Marchasin, para. [0081]: Returning to the process illustrated in FIG. 2, in step S8, if it is determined that there is a violation based on the privilege analysis (see step S7) or, as described above, no valid tag is associated with the parked vehicle (see step S5), a determination is made as to the appropriate enforcement action to be taken. One having ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that the determination as to the appropriate enforcement action may be made by the PermitView System 1 (as part of the privilege analysis), the PEO, or by a parking program manager.);
transmitting, by the wireless interface, a request for context data associated with the violation parking event to the parking enforcement server (see at least Marchasin, para. [0077-0078]: The information is provided to the Privilege Module 40, which in turn retrieves the tag data associated with the tag number from the Permit Database 50, in step SII. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the “tag data” includes, but is not limited to, the following information: 1) authorized vehicle data; 2) permit holder data; and/or 3) parking privilege data. The “authorized vehicle data” includes, but is not limited to the make, model, color, year, and/or license plate number of the vehicle or vehicles authorized under a valid permit. The “permit holder data” includes, but is not limited to, the permit holder's name, address, phone number, e-mail address, and/or facsimile number. The “parking privilege data” generally defines the scope of privileges or parking rights held by the permit holder, including, but is not limited to: a) the one or more locations, zones, streets, lots, spaces, or areas the vehicle is permitted to park; b) the term of the permit and/or the permit's expiration date; and/or c) the valid parking time or times (i.e., weekend-only rights; weekday-only rights, seasonal rights, etc.).); and
obtaining, by the wireless interface, context data associated with the violation parking event from the parking enforcement server (see at least Marchasin, para. [0077-0078]: The information is provided to the Privilege Module 40, which in turn retrieves the tag data associated with the tag number from the Permit Database 50, in step SII. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the “tag data” includes, but is not limited to, the following information: 1) authorized vehicle data; 2) permit holder data; and/or 3) parking privilege data. The “authorized vehicle data” includes, but is not limited to the make, model, color, year, and/or license plate number of the vehicle or vehicles authorized under a valid permit. The “permit holder data” includes, but is not limited to, the permit holder's name, address, phone number, e-mail address, and/or facsimile number. The “parking privilege data” generally defines the scope of privileges or parking rights held by the permit holder, including, but is not limited to: a) the one or more locations, zones, streets, lots, spaces, or areas the vehicle is permitted to park; b) the term of the permit and/or the permit's expiration date; and/or c) the valid parking time or times (i.e., weekend-only rights; weekday-only rights, seasonal rights, etc.).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kielland to incorporate the teachings of generating, by the processor, a tentative violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation, transmitting, by the wireless interface, a request for context data associated with the violation parking event to the parking enforcement server; and obtaining, by the wireless interface, context data associated with the violation parking event from the parking enforcement server of Marchasin, with a reasonable amount of success, in order to administer an efficient parking program (see at least Marchasin, para. [0015]).
As per claim 34 Kielland discloses
wherein the second mobile parking enforcement device comprises a user interface for providing data to and obtaining input from a user (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: In a preferred embodiment, when the parking violation alarm is triggered, the computer 101 displays the two Stored images of the parked vehicle on the display monitor 130. The Officer then verifies that the two images appear to portray the same vehicle. The Officer also visually verifies that the two plate-Strings are identical to the plate-String recognized by LPR analysis 515..),
the user interface to provide at least a portion of the context information to the user and to obtain confirmation that the tentative violation event is a parking violation from the user (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.),
wherein the processor being operable to execute the program instructions for determining the parking violation is based at least in part on the confirmation (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.).
As per claim 47 Kielland discloses
wherein determining the parking violation comprises: comparing, by the processor, the additional parking parameter of the violation parking event and the additional current parking parameter (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: AS Soon as each Epoch-ID has been entered into the database, the computer Searches to see if the same plate string has been observed previously by the system 508. If no matching vehicle identifier is found 509, then the algorithm reverts to waiting for the next parked car to be encountered 500. If a previous instance of the plate-String is found in the database of Epoch-IDs 509, then the vehicle's previous position coordinates are compared to its current position coordinates 510… When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.);
generating, by the processor, a violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation(see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: When a suspect vehicle has been flagged 510, the system then subtracts the time stamps of the two Epoch-IDs under suspicion 511, thereby determining the period of time that the car has been parked at that location. The System then Searches a database of geo-referenced parking regulations (described below) to determine the legal time limit that's applicable to the parked vehicle's present location 512. If the elapsed time is greater than the time period legally permitted for that location, then the System declares a parking violation 513.).
However Kielland does not explicitly disclose
generating, by the processor, a tentative violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation;
transmitting, by the wireless interface, a request for context data associated with said particular extraneous past parking event to said parking enforcement server; and
obtaining, by the wireless interface, context data associated with the violation parking event from said parking enforcement server.
Marchasin teaches
comparing, by the processor, the additional parking parameter of the violation parking event and the additional current parking parameter (see at least Marchasin, para. [0073]: The parked vehicle data may include, but is not limited to, the following information: 1) the make, model, year, and color of the vehicle; 2) the license plate number of the vehicle; 3) the location of the parked vehicle (e.g., the lot, Street, and/or Zone); and 4) the date, time, and day of the week of the scan. One having ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that the PEO may enter the parked vehicle data into the Reader 8 using any Suitable input means, such as, for example, a keyboard, a keypad, and/or a voice recognition system. & para. [0077]: Having captured the RFID tag number and parked vehicle data, the Reader 8 sends this data to the PermitView System 1. FIG. 3 illustrates at least a portion of the steps of the permit management process performed by the Permit View System 1. As shown in FIG.3, the PermitView System 1 receives the tag number and parked vehicle data from the Reader 8 via the User Interface 20, in step S1. The information is provided to the Privilege Module 40, which in turn retrieves the tag data associated with the tag number from the Permit Database 50, in step SII.);
generating, by the processor, a tentative violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation (see at least Marchasin, para. [0081]: Returning to the process illustrated in FIG. 2, in step S8, if it is determined that there is a violation based on the privilege analysis (see step S7) or, as described above, no valid tag is associated with the parked vehicle (see step S5), a determination is made as to the appropriate enforcement action to be taken. One having ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that the determination as to the appropriate enforcement action may be made by the PermitView System 1 (as part of the privilege analysis), the PEO, or by a parking program manager.);
transmitting, by the wireless interface, a request for context data associated with the violation parking event to the parking enforcement server (see at least Marchasin, para. [0077-0078]: The information is provided to the Privilege Module 40, which in turn retrieves the tag data associated with the tag number from the Permit Database 50, in step SII. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the “tag data” includes, but is not limited to, the following information: 1) authorized vehicle data; 2) permit holder data; and/or 3) parking privilege data. The “authorized vehicle data” includes, but is not limited to the make, model, color, year, and/or license plate number of the vehicle or vehicles authorized under a valid permit. The “permit holder data” includes, but is not limited to, the permit holder's name, address, phone number, e-mail address, and/or facsimile number. The “parking privilege data” generally defines the scope of privileges or parking rights held by the permit holder, including, but is not limited to: a) the one or more locations, zones, streets, lots, spaces, or areas the vehicle is permitted to park; b) the term of the permit and/or the permit's expiration date; and/or c) the valid parking time or times (i.e., weekend-only rights; weekday-only rights, seasonal rights, etc.).); and
obtaining, by the wireless interface, context data associated with the violation parking event from the parking enforcement server (see at least Marchasin, para. [0077-0078]: The information is provided to the Privilege Module 40, which in turn retrieves the tag data associated with the tag number from the Permit Database 50, in step SII. According to an embodiment of the present invention, the “tag data” includes, but is not limited to, the following information: 1) authorized vehicle data; 2) permit holder data; and/or 3) parking privilege data. The “authorized vehicle data” includes, but is not limited to the make, model, color, year, and/or license plate number of the vehicle or vehicles authorized under a valid permit. The “permit holder data” includes, but is not limited to, the permit holder's name, address, phone number, e-mail address, and/or facsimile number. The “parking privilege data” generally defines the scope of privileges or parking rights held by the permit holder, including, but is not limited to: a) the one or more locations, zones, streets, lots, spaces, or areas the vehicle is permitted to park; b) the term of the permit and/or the permit's expiration date; and/or c) the valid parking time or times (i.e., weekend-only rights; weekday-only rights, seasonal rights, etc.).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kielland to incorporate the teachings of generating, by the processor, a tentative violation event based on the result of the comparing and the regulation, transmitting, by the wireless interface, a request for context data associated with the violation parking event to the parking enforcement server; and obtaining, by the wireless interface, context data associated with the violation parking event from the parking enforcement server of Marchasin, with a reasonable amount of success, in order to administer an efficient parking program (see at least Marchasin, para. [0015]).
As per claim 48 Kielland discloses
comprising: providing, via a user interface for providing data to and obtaining input from a user (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: In a preferred embodiment, when the parking violation alarm is triggered, the computer 101 displays the two Stored images of the parked vehicle on the display monitor 130. The Officer then verifies that the two images appear to portray the same vehicle. The Officer also visually verifies that the two plate-Strings are identical to the plate-String recognized by LPR analysis 515..),
at least a portion of the context information to the user and to obtain confirmation that the tentative violation event is a parking violation from the user (see at least Kielland, col. 16 lines 1-65: In a preferred embodiment, when the parking violation alarm is triggered, the computer 101 displays the two Stored images of the parked vehicle on the display monitor 130. The Officer then verifies that the two images appear to portray the same vehicle. The Officer also visually verifies that the two plate-Strings are identical to the plate-String recognized by LPR analysis 515. col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.); and
wherein determining the parking violation is based at least in part on the confirmation (see at least Kielland, col. 17 lines 1-65: The Officer then visually inspects the images to verify that the vehicle captured at the first and Second observation epochs appears to be the same make and model of car. If the Violation alarm passes this visual inspection, the Officer then reads and enters the alphanumeric characters on the vehicle's license plate into the System where it becomes the plate-string inserted into each of the Epoch-Ids 521. Data entry is typically effected using the keyboard 131. The human-read plate-String is flagged as Such in the Epoch-ID, thereby certifying its high level of certainty in the event that the parking citation is contested in court. Once the plate String has been entered, the System proceeds to print out the parking citation 516, the Officer serves it 517 and proceeds along the patrol route 500.).
Claim(s) 30 & 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kielland, in view of US 2009/0267732A1 (“Chauvin”).
As per claim 30 Kielland does not explicitly disclose
wherein the set of at least one extraneous past parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device is selected based on a transmission time of the subset of at least one extraneous past parking event.
Chauvin teaches
wherein the set of at least one extraneous past parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device is selected based on a transmission time of the subset of at least one extraneous past parking event (see at least Chauvin, para. [0055]: A typical transmission time may be between 3-6 seconds. The actual transmission time depends on the amount and type of data required to send or receive. As such if there is no parking meter information to transmit or very little parking meter information, the time required to transmit may be less than a second. The coin collection cart may be in close proximity to the parking meter 200, such as for example within 15 feet, or as little as a foot. Since the receiver is typically in close proximity to the transmitter during transmission of the parking meter data, the parking meter information may be transmitted using less power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kielland to incorporate the teachings of wherein the set of at least one extraneous past parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device is selected based on a transmission time of the subset of at least one extraneous past parking event of Chauvin, with a reasonable amount of success, in order improved data collection for single space electronic parking meters (see at least Chauvin, para. [0001]).
As per claim 44 Kielland does not explicitly disclose
wherein the set of at least one extraneous past parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device is selected based on a transmission time of the subset of at least one extraneous past parking event.
Chauvin teaches
wherein the set of at least one extraneous past parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device is selected based on a transmission time of the subset of at least one extraneous past parking event (see at least Chauvin, para. [0055]: A typical transmission time may be between 3-6 seconds. The actual transmission time depends on the amount and type of data required to send or receive. As such if there is no parking meter information to transmit or very little parking meter information, the time required to transmit may be less than a second. The coin collection cart may be in close proximity to the parking meter 200, such as for example within 15 feet, or as little as a foot. Since the receiver is typically in close proximity to the transmitter during transmission of the parking meter data, the parking meter information may be transmitted using less power.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kielland to incorporate the teachings of wherein the set of at least one extraneous past parking events generated by the at least one first mobile parking enforcement device is selected based on a transmission time of the subset of at least one extraneous past parking event of Chauvin, with a reasonable amount of success, in order improved data collection for single space electronic parking meters (see at least Chauvin, para. [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668