DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 3/2/26 is acknowledged. Claims 18-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/11/24 was filed on 4/11/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 5/17/23 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2011/0236760) in view of Zhang et al (CN 110783654 A, machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-5, Jones discloses an automatic system “10” (system for maintaining a flooded lead-acid battery), comprising:
a battery cell “12” (flooded lead-acid battery);
a water source “22” (water tank) to store water “34” (condensed water), where the water can be any suitable water supply;
a water pump “52” fluidically coupled between the water source and the battery cell through a water conduit “24” (water line), wherein, when activated, the water pump fills the battery cell from the water source through the water conduit;
an electronic level indicator “48” (level sensor) on the battery cell to measure the level of electrolyte in the battery cell;
a controller “50” that is coupled to the electronic level indicator and the water pump, and wherein the controller may be any suitable controller and may provide other intelligent functions with other components and inherently comprises: a processor and instructions that direct the processor to: monitor the level of electrolyte in the battery cell; and activate the water pump if the level of electrolyte is lower than a target value;
a water filter “36” fluidically coupled between the condenser and the water tank;
a pressure sensor (blockage sensor) on the water filter electrically coupled to the controller that is inherently capable of directing the processor to: monitor the pressure sensor (blockage sensor); and alert an operator if flow through the water filter is below a target value; and
an electrically controlled valve “46” (water cutoff valve) fluidically coupled between the battery cell and the water conduit, wherein the electrically controlled valve is electrically coupled to the controller, wherein the valve is capable of preventing backflow from the battery cell into the water conduit ([0023],[0026],[0029],[0054]-[0058] and Figs. 1-3).
However, Jones does not expressly teach a condenser to condense water from humid air (claim 1); a back flush valve fluidically coupled to a line between the condenser and the water filter, and wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to: open the back flush valve; reverse the water pump; and activate the water pump to backwash the filter (claim 4).
Zhang et al discloses a vapor condensation device “2” (condenser) that is connected to a battery “6” (lead-acid battery) and is used to condense water vapor (humid air) ([0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones system to include a condenser to condense water from humid air in order to utilize a recycled water source to efficiently replenish water inside of the battery cells. In addition, the substitution of one known water source for another would have yielded predicable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang system to include a back flush valve fluidically coupled to a line between the condenser and the water filter because the duplication of parts was held to have been obvious (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). Also, the Jones controller is inherently capable of opening the back flush valve, reversing the water pump, and activating the water to backwash the filter. Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang system to include a water filter fluidically coupled between the condenser and the water tank because the rearrangement of part was held to be obvious (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). The relocation of the water filter to be positioned between the condenser and the water tank would still provide the same function of removing particulate matter from the water source and does not change the overall functionality of the system.
Claims 6-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Zhang et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spence et al (US 2016/0079636).
However, Jones as modified by Zhang et al does not expressly teach a water quality sensor electrically coupled to the controller (claim 6); wherein the controller comprises instructions that direct the processor to close the water cutoff valve if the water quality sensor detects a low pH, high impurity levels, or high particulate concentrations, or any combinations thereof (claim 8); a camera electrically coupled to the controller, wherein the controller comprises image analysis software (claim 9); wherein the controller comprises a communications unit coupled to a centralized management and control system (claim 16).
Spence et al discloses a lead-acid battery processing system comprising a control system having at least one controller including a processor which enable the controller to store and execute instructions to control operations of the system, the system including any number of sensing field devices such as pH sensor (water quality sensor) that are disposed throughout the system and are communicatively coupled to the controller via a wired or wireless communication channel (communications unit) to enable the controller to determine the operational parameters of the system ([0039]); and a battery imaging system that provides imaging data to the processor of the controller to perform the image analysis, wherein the imaging analysis may involve optical imaging such as a camera ([0029],[0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang system to include a water quality sensor such as pH sensor electrically coupled to the controller; a camera electrically coupled to the controller, wherein the controller comprises image analysis software, wherein the controller comprises a communications unit coupled to a centralized management and control system in order to provide a system for selectively separating and separately processing portions of spent lead-acid batteries to improve efficiency and reduce costs ([0002]). In addition, the Jones/Zhang/Spence controller is inherently capable of directing the processor to close the water cutoff valve if the water quality sensor detects a low pH.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Zhang et al and Spence et al as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Feng et al (CN 115187969 A, machine translation).
However, Jones as modified by Zhang et al and Spence et al does not expressly teach an image analysis software comprising an artificial intelligence (Al) analysis to determine if an image indicates problems with the flooded lead-acid battery (claim 10).
Feng et al discloses a lead-acid battery recycling system comprising a specialized neural network (artificial intelligence) that is used to detect and identify the local appearance of lead-acid batteries and identify quality problems of battery components ([0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang/Spence system to include an image analysis software comprising an artificial intelligence (Al) analysis to determine if an image indicates problems with the flooded lead-acid battery in order to quickly identify quality problems of battery components, thereby achieving fast, accurate and automated battery sorting ([0037]).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Zhang et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Al-Ghanim et al (US 2021/0043900).
However, Jones as modified by Zhang et al does not expressly teach a gas analysis sensor electrically coupled to the controller (claim 11); wherein the gas analysis sensor comprises a hydrogen sensor, an acid gas sensor, or both (claim 12); an exhaust fan actuator electrically coupled to the controller (claim 13); wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to activate the exhaust fan if hydrogen gas, acid gas, or both are detected (claim 14); a door lock switch, and entry detector, or both, wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to lock a door in response to an alarm condition (claim 15).
Al-Ghanim et al discloses a system for ventilating a lead-acid battery comprising a hydrogen sensor (gas analysis sensor) that generate a signal indicating a hydrogen concentration detected by the hydrogen sensor and a monitoring device (controller) that is configured to operate a fan control system to active an exhaust fan upon receipt of a signal from the hydrogen detector indicating that the hydrogen concentration is at or above the first threshold ([0014]); wherein the monitoring device is configured to generate an output signal to active alert devices (alarm) that is positioned near the door of a battery room ([0035]). Examiner’s note: it is within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to lock a door in response to an alarm condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang system to include a hydrogen sensor (gas analysis sensor) electrically coupled to the controller; and an exhaust fan actuator electrically coupled to the controller; wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to activate the exhaust fan if hydrogen gas is detected; and a door lock switch, and entry detector, or both, wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to lock a door in response to an alarm condition in order to provide a system for detecting and remediating a hazardous level of a toxic gas by utilizing a smart ventilation to remove excess hydrogen gas at hazardous locations ([0001]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Zhang et al and Spence et al as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Shima et al (JP 2012205054 A, machine translation).
However, Jones as modified by Zhang et al does not expressly teach a radio uplink coupled to the communications unit, wherein the radio uplink is coupled to the centralized management and control system (claim 17).
Shima et al discloses a control unit comprising a master unit (control system) that establishes an uplink radio channel with a slave unit (communication unit) (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang system to include a radio uplink coupled to the communications unit, wherein the radio uplink is coupled to the centralized management and control system in order to improve reliability and stability of signal transmission and reception between sensors and the controller (Abstract).
Conclusion
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/11/2026