DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are currently pending. The previously withdrawn claims 18-23 have been cancelled. New claims 24-26 have been added. The amended claim 1 does overcome the previously stated 103 rejections. However, upon further consideration, claims 1-17 and 24-26 are rejected under the following new 103 rejections. This action is made FINAL as necessitated by the amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/26 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 5/13/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 24 does not further limit claim 1 because claim 1 already recites a humidity sensor that determines the relative humidity of the humid air. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear how the controller activates the condenser to condense the water from the humid air because it is not clearly defined in the claims or described in the specification. It is also unclear what cooling for the condenser is sufficient to condense moisture from the humid air.
Regarding claim 26, it is unclear how the controller activates the condenser to condense the water from the humid air based on a relative humidity measured by the humidity sensor because it is not clearly defined in the claims or described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 2011/0236760) in view of Liu et al (CN 111509335 A, machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-5, 24, and 26, Jones discloses an automatic system “10” (system for maintaining a flooded lead-acid battery), comprising:
a battery cell “12” (flooded lead-acid battery);
a water source “22” (water tank) to store water “34” (condensed water), where the water can be any suitable water supply;
a water pump “52” fluidically coupled between the water source and the battery cell through a water conduit “24” (water line), wherein, when activated, the water pump fills the battery cell from the water source through the water conduit;
an electronic level indicator “48” (level sensor) on the battery cell to measure the level of electrolyte in the battery cell;
a controller “50” that is coupled to the electronic level indicator and the water pump, and wherein the controller may be any suitable controller and may provide other intelligent functions with other components and inherently comprises: a processor and instructions that direct the processor to: monitor the level of electrolyte in the battery cell; and activate the water pump if the level of electrolyte is lower than a target value;
a water filter “36” fluidically coupled between the condenser and the water tank;
a pressure sensor (blockage sensor) on the water filter electrically coupled to the controller that is inherently capable of directing the processor to: monitor the pressure sensor (blockage sensor); and alert an operator if flow through the water filter is below a target value; and
an electrically controlled valve “46” (water cutoff valve) fluidically coupled between the battery cell and the water conduit, wherein the electrically controlled valve is electrically coupled to the controller, wherein the valve is capable of preventing backflow from the battery cell into the water conduit ([0023],[0026],[0029],[0054]-[0058] and Figs. 1-3).
However, Jones does not expressly teach a condenser to condense water from humid air; receive a relative humidity of air from a humidity sensor; based on the relative humidity of the air, determine that a cooling for the condenser is sufficient to condense moisture from the humid air; and in response to determining that the cooling for the condenser is sufficient to condense the moisture from the humid air, activate the condenser to condense the water from the humid air (claim 1); a back flush valve fluidically coupled to a line between the condenser and the water filter, and wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to: open the back flush valve; reverse the water pump; and activate the water pump to backwash the filter (claim 4); a humidity sensor connected to the controller, the humidity sensor configured to determine the relative humidity of the humid air (claim 24); a condenser to condense water from humid air; a humidity sensor; a controller that is configured to activate the condenser to condense the water from the humid air based on a relative humidity measured by the humidity sensor (claim 26).
Liu et al discloses a water collection section which includes a condensation element “6” (condenser) that is connected to a battery “1” (lead-acid battery), wherein the condensation element converts water vapor in the air (humid air) into liquid water and collector it, wherein the condensation element is suitable for a wide range of relative humidity from 30% to 100% corresponding to different condensation rates, wherein the relative humidity is inherently measured from a humidity sensor ([0030],[0037][0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones system to include a condenser to condense water from humid air; receive a relative humidity of air from a humidity sensor; based on the relative humidity of the air, determine that a cooling for the condenser is sufficient to condense moisture from the humid air in order to allow for extraction of moisture from the air, enabling water collection in a low energy consumption matter without the need for manual operation, thus achieving sustainable and environmentally friendly utilization ([0039]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Liu system to include a back flush valve fluidically coupled to a line between the condenser and the water filter because the duplication of parts was held to have been obvious (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). Further, the Jones controller is inherently capable of determining that a cooling for the condenser is sufficient to condense moisture from humid air; and in response to determining that the cooling for the condenser is sufficient to condense the moisture from the humid air, activate the condenser to condense to condense the water from the humid air; activating the condenser to condense the water from humid air based on a relative humidity measured by the humidity sensor; opening the back flush valve, reversing the water pump, and activating the water to backwash the filter. Lastly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Zhang system to include a water filter fluidically coupled between the condenser and the water tank because the rearrangement of part was held to be obvious (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). The relocation of the water filter to be positioned between the condenser and the water tank would still provide the same function of removing particulate matter from the water source and does not change the overall functionality of the system.
Regarding claim 25, the Office takes the position that the Jones/Liu controller is inherently capable of activating the condenser at night when the relative humidity is higher.
Claims 6-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Liu et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spence et al (US 2016/0079636).
However, Jones as modified by Liu et al does not expressly teach a water quality sensor electrically coupled to the controller (claim 6); wherein the controller comprises instructions that direct the processor to close the water cutoff valve if the water quality sensor detects a low pH, high impurity levels, or high particulate concentrations, or any combinations thereof (claim 8); a camera electrically coupled to the controller, wherein the controller comprises image analysis software (claim 9); wherein the controller comprises a communications unit coupled to a centralized management and control system (claim 16).
Spence et al discloses a lead-acid battery processing system comprising a control system having at least one controller including a processor which enable the controller to store and execute instructions to control operations of the system, the system including any number of sensing field devices such as pH sensor (water quality sensor) that are disposed throughout the system and are communicatively coupled to the controller via a wired or wireless communication channel (communications unit) to enable the controller to determine the operational parameters of the system ([0039]); and a battery imaging system that provides imaging data to the processor of the controller to perform the image analysis, wherein the imaging analysis may involve optical imaging such as a camera ([0029],[0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Liu system to include a water quality sensor such as pH sensor electrically coupled to the controller; a camera electrically coupled to the controller, wherein the controller comprises image analysis software, wherein the controller comprises a communications unit coupled to a centralized management and control system in order to provide a system for selectively separating and separately processing portions of spent lead-acid batteries to improve efficiency and reduce costs ([0002]). In addition, the Jones/Liu/Spence controller is inherently capable of directing the processor to close the water cutoff valve if the water quality sensor detects a low pH.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Liu et al and Spence et al as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Feng et al (CN 115187969 A, machine translation).
However, Jones as modified by Liu et al and Spence et al does not expressly teach an image analysis software comprising an artificial intelligence (Al) analysis to determine if an image indicates problems with the flooded lead-acid battery (claim 10).
Feng et al discloses a lead-acid battery recycling system comprising a specialized neural network (artificial intelligence) that is used to detect and identify the local appearance of lead-acid batteries and identify quality problems of battery components ([0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Liu/Spence system to include an image analysis software comprising an artificial intelligence (Al) analysis to determine if an image indicates problems with the flooded lead-acid battery in order to quickly identify quality problems of battery components, thereby achieving fast, accurate and automated battery sorting ([0037]).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Liu et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Al-Ghanim et al (US 2021/0043900).
However, Jones as modified by Liu et al does not expressly teach a gas analysis sensor electrically coupled to the controller (claim 11); wherein the gas analysis sensor comprises a hydrogen sensor, an acid gas sensor, or both (claim 12); an exhaust fan actuator electrically coupled to the controller (claim 13); wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to activate the exhaust fan if hydrogen gas, acid gas, or both are detected (claim 14); a door lock switch, and entry detector, or both, wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to lock a door in response to an alarm condition (claim 15).
Al-Ghanim et al discloses a system for ventilating a lead-acid battery comprising a hydrogen sensor (gas analysis sensor) that generate a signal indicating a hydrogen concentration detected by the hydrogen sensor and a monitoring device (controller) that is configured to operate a fan control system to active an exhaust fan upon receipt of a signal from the hydrogen detector indicating that the hydrogen concentration is at or above the first threshold ([0014]); wherein the monitoring device is configured to generate an output signal to active alert devices (alarm) that is positioned near the door of a battery room ([0035]). Examiner’s note: it is within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to lock a door in response to an alarm condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Liu system to include a hydrogen sensor (gas analysis sensor) electrically coupled to the controller; and an exhaust fan actuator electrically coupled to the controller; wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to activate the exhaust fan if hydrogen gas is detected; and a door lock switch, and entry detector, or both, wherein the controller comprises instructions to direct the processor to lock a door in response to an alarm condition in order to provide a system for detecting and remediating a hazardous level of a toxic gas by utilizing a smart ventilation to remove excess hydrogen gas at hazardous locations ([0001]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones in view of Liu et al and Spence et al as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Shima et al (JP 2012205054 A, machine translation).
However, Jones as modified by Liu et al does not expressly teach a radio uplink coupled to the communications unit, wherein the radio uplink is coupled to the centralized management and control system (claim 17).
Shima et al discloses a control unit comprising a master unit (control system) that establishes an uplink radio channel with a slave unit (communication unit) (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Jones/Liu system to include a radio uplink coupled to the communications unit, wherein the radio uplink is coupled to the centralized management and control system in order to improve reliability and stability of signal transmission and reception between sensors and the controller (Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 and 24-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/21/2026