Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations are: “means for accessing an input data sequence; means for slicing the input data sequence based on a slice length hyperparameter to generate a stacked slice input data representation; means for processing the stacked slice input data representation with a slice attention layer to generate a stacked slice output data representation; and means for de-slicing the stacked slice output data representation to generate an output data sequence.” in claim 30.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Means for accessing is interpreted as a general computer function of being able to store/access data and thus is covered by generic storage/memory present in every device. Means for processing is a specialized computer function clearly linked to the algorithm shown partly in Fig. 3 with the steps that are spelled out in claim 2. As discussed below, means for slicing and de-slicing are indefinite and lack written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification (see
P0062) does not disclose sufficient corresponding structure for the claimed
functions of slicing the input data sequence based on a slice length hyperparameter to generate a stacked slice input data representation (see MPEP 2181 (IV)). The specification (see P0072) does not disclose sufficient corresponding structure for the claimed functions of de-slicing the stacked slice output data representation to generate an output data sequence (see MPEP 2181 (IV)).
Claim limitations “means for slicing the input data sequence based on a slice length hyperparameter to generate a stacked slice input data representation; …and means for de-slicing the stacked slice output data representation to generate an output data sequence” of claim 30 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between the structure and the functions can be found in the specification (P0062, P0072). The specification fails to clearly link the claimed functions to disclosed structures, materials, or acts (see MPEP 2181 (III)). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-17, 20-27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han Kai et al ("Transformer in Transformer", October 26 2021), hereafter Kai.
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 21, Kai teaches computer-implemented method, processing system, and non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a processing system, cause the processing system to perform an operation comprising (page 1, last four lines of abstract, and page 6, section 3.1 paragraph “Implementation Details”): accessing an input data sequence (“Therefore, we are motivated to explore a more exquisite visual image dividing method for generating visual sequences and improve the performance”, page 2, full paragraph 2. “we propose a novel Transformer-iN-Transformer (TNT) architecture for visual recognition as shown in Figure 1. To enhance the feature representation ability of visual transformers, we first divide the input images into several patches as “visual sentences” and then further divide them into sub-patches as “visual words”.”, page 2, full paragraph 3); slicing the input data sequence based on a slice length hyperparameter to generate a stacked slice input data representation (“we uniformly split it into n patches X = [X1, X2, …, Xn] ε Rn × p × p × 3, where (p, p) is the resolution of each image patch”, wherein P is the hyperparameter determining the slice length, page 3, section 2.2, full paragraph 1 and equation 4. “In TNT, we view the patches as visual sentences that represent the image. Each patch is further divided into m sub-patches, i.e., a visual sentence is composed of a sequence of visual words: Xi -» [xi,1, xi,2, …, xi,m] (4) where …, (s, s) is the spatial size of sub-patches”, wherein s is the hyperparameter determining slice length, page 3, section 2.2, lines 5-9); processing the stacked slice input data representation with a slice attention layer to generate a stacked slice output data representation (linear layer produces output based on divided input data. Page 3 section 2.1 subsection MSA and section 2.2 equation 6, page 2 figure 1); and de-slicing the stacked slice output data representation to generate an output data sequence (“With the above addition operation, the representation of sentence embedding is augmented by the word-level features”, page 4, section 2.2, lines 13-15. After data is pieced together it is output using the outer transformer block, page 2, figure 1, Outer Transformer Block).
Regarding claim 30, claim limitations “means for slicing the input data sequence based on a slice length hyperparameter to generate a stacked slice input data representation; … and means for de-slicing the stacked slice output data representation to generate an output data sequence” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. These elements are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as processor(s) with the algorithm described in the specification (the algorithms to slice the input data sequence and de-slice the output data sequence) that causes the processor(s) to perform the claimed function.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 22, and 30, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 21 as outlined above. Kai further teaches processing the stacked slice input data representation with a high-resolution local attention layer to generate local attention output data (transformer block analyzes a relationship between visual words, the relationship between the visual words being interpreted as local attention output data, pages 3-4, section 2.2, equations 6 and 7, paragraph above and below equations 6 and 7); processing the local attention output data with a slice embedding layer to generate slice embeddings (standard transformer block transforms sentence embeddings, page 4, section 2.2, text under equation 8, equations 9 and 10); processing the slice embeddings with a reduced-resolution global attention layer to generate global attention output data (sentence embeddings produce TNT blocks, page 4, section 2.2, text under equation 10, equation 11); and performing a broadcast addition of the local attention output data and the global attention output data to generate the stacked slice output data representation (fully connected layer processes TNT blocks to output a final classification).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 23, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 2, 12, and 22 as outlined above. Kai further teaches processing the stacked slice input data representation with the high-resolution local attention layer comprises applying a first set of trained weights to the stacked slice input data representation, and processing the slice embeddings with the reduced-resolution global attention layer comprises applying a second set of trained weights to the slice embeddings (each layer in the multi-layer perceptron (MLP) has a set of weights applied to it, pages 3-4, section 2.1 subsection MLP and section 2.2, page 2 figure 1, inner and outer transformer blocks).
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 24, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 3, 13, and 23 as outlined above. Kai further teaches generating a local key vector, a local query vector, and a local value vector by applying the first set of trained weights to the stacked slice input data representation (queries, keys, and values are generated, page 3, section 2.1, subsection MSA, equation 6 in section 2.2); and generating the local attention output data based on the local key vector, local query vector, and local value vector (outer transformer block generates outputs based on MSA, which is generated using queries, keys, and values, equations 9 and 11, page 4 and figure 1, page 2).
Regarding claims 5, 15, and 25, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 4, 14, and 24 as outlined above. Kai further teaches adding a local positional embedding to the local key vector and the local query vector, and a length of the local positional embedding is based on the slice length hyperparameter (position encoding is assigned to paired input data with the length of the position encoding dependent upon n number of words in the sentence, page 4, section 2.2, subsection Position Encoding and page 1, figure 1, word position encoding).
Regarding claims 6, 16, and 26, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 3, 13, and 23 as outlined above. Kai further teaches wherein processing the slice embeddings with the reduced-resolution global attention layer comprises: generating a global key vector, a global query vector, and a global value vector by applying the second set of trained weights to the slice embeddings (MSA generates keys, queries, and values, page 3, section 2.1, subsection MSA. MSA equation is shown on page 4 as equation 9); and generating the global attention output data based on the global key vector, global query vector, and global value vector (keys, queries, and values are split into h parts before being concatenated and linearly projected to form the final output, page 3, section 2.1, subsection MSA and Outer Transformer Block, page 2, figure 1).
Regarding claims 7, 17, and 27, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 6, 16, and 26 as outlined above. Kai further teaches processing the slice embeddings with the reduced-resolution global attention layer comprises adding a global positional embedding to the global key vector and the global query vector, and a length of the global positional embedding is based on an input data sequence length divided by the slice length hyperparameter (position encoding to retain special information is added to embeddings for sentence and word embeddings, with the length of the position encoding being based on the sentence divided by n words, page 4, section 2.2, subsection Position encoding and page 2, figure 1, Sentence position encoding).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11 as outlined above. Kai further teaches wherein the slice attention layer comprises a plurality of slice attention heads (variants of TNT architecture include pluralities of heads, page 5, section 2.4, column #heads).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 18-19, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kai in view of Li et al (Pub. No.: US 20250069382 A1), hereafter Li (has priority date of provisional application 63/296625 (January 5th 2022), support found in P0045-P0047 of specification of provisional application).
Regarding claims 8, 18, and 28, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 2, 12, and 22 as outlined above. Kai does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein processing the stacked slice input data representation with the high-resolution local attention layer comprises performing overlapping slice local attention and wherein slicing the input data sequence is performed based further on an overlap hyperparameter to generate overlapping slices of the input data sequence”.
Li teaches wherein processing the stacked slice input data representation with the high-resolution local attention layer comprises performing overlapping slice local attention and wherein slicing the input data sequence is performed based further on an overlap hyperparameter to generate overlapping slices of the input data sequence (input tensors may be partitioned (split) into different portions. Portions of the input processed by the MLP may be overlapping, P0044).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kai and Li before them, to include Li’s specific teaching of input tensors being split into different portions with overlapping portions of the input processed by the MLP in Yu’s system of Weakly-supervised Object Detection Using One Or More Neural Networks. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of input tensors being split into different portions with overlapping portions of the input processed by the MLP (see Li P0044), and linearly transforming inputs into multiple parts to perform an attention function in parallel on each part of the input and concatenate and linearly project the outputs of each part (see Kai page 3 section 2.1 subsection MSA).
Regarding claims 9, 19, and 29, Kai teaches the limitations of claims 2, 12, and 22 as outlined above.
Kai does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein processing the stacked slice input data representation with the high-resolution local attention layer comprises performing focal slice local attention, wherein: slicing the input data sequence comprises generating a plurality of slices having a plurality of sequence lengths; and performing the focal slice local attention comprises: generating a plurality of intermediate tensors based on the plurality of slices, and aggregating the plurality of intermediate tensors”.
Li teaches wherein processing the stacked slice input data representation with the high-resolution local attention layer comprises performing focal slice local attention, wherein: slicing the input data sequence comprises generating a plurality of slices having a plurality of sequence lengths (input tensor may be partitioned (split) into different sizes, P0045); and performing the focal slice local attention comprises: generating a plurality of intermediate tensors based on the plurality of slices, and aggregating the plurality of intermediate tensors (global branch may automatically scale to handle inputs of different sizes by partitioning the input tensor irrespective of the size of the input tensor, P0045).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of
Kai and Li before them, to include Li’s specific teaching of input tensors being split into different portions with a plurality of sizes in Yu’s system of Weakly-supervised Object Detection Using One Or More Neural Networks. One would have been motivated to make such a combination of input tensors being split into different portions with a plurality of sizes (see Li P0045), and linearly transforming inputs into multiple parts to perform an attention function in parallel on each part of the input and concatenate and linearly project the outputs of each part (see Kai page 3 section 2.1 subsection MSA).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10956810 B1 (Wright et al) teaches a system including determining a result of a diagnostic test strip comprising a machine learning transformer architecture which parallel processes input.
US 20230360376 A1 (Hinz et al) teaches a system including a transformer model used to transform three-dimensional learned embeddings into learned query, value, and key representations of different input indices.
/I.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141