DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The addition of claims 48-54 and the amendments to claims 1, 21, in the response filed on 07/28/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 13-18, 21-33, 26, and 39-40 remain pending in the application.
Claims 2-7 and 13-14 are withdrawn.
Claims 8-12, 19-20, 24-25, 27-38, and 40-47 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 15-18, 21-23, 26, 39, and 48-54 are examined.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments to the claims. The applicant has modified claim 1 to require wherein the outer diameter of the distal shaft is no greater than 1.8 mm…the distal shaft of the first portion projecting distally from the housing of the second portion…wherein the distal shaft is configured to slide between a first position and a second position, the second position being proximal of the first position, and wherein the at least one objective lens is sheathed within the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is in the first position and wherein the at least one objective lens is unsheathed distal to the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is withdrawn proximally into the second position, limitations heretofore not presented for examination in this application. As such, the scope of the claims was substantially changed and new grounds for rejection are presented.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the distal shaft is configured to slide between a first position and a second position, the second position being proximal of the first position, and wherein the at least one objective lens is sheathed within the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is in the first position and wherein the at least one objective lens is unsheathed distal to the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is withdrawn proximally into the second position” (the examiner notes that Fig. 7A-7B only shows the lenses configured to move, not the distal shaft), “first distal tip portion”, “second distal tip portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 50, and 52-54 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 50 recites “to the proximal portion”. The examiner believes “to the proximal portion of the intraocular endoscopic device” are the correct words to use here.
Claim 52-54 recites “a maximum outer dimension”. The examiner believes “wherein a maximum outer dimension of the distal shaft” are the correct words to use here.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080064925 A1 to Gill et al. (hereinafter “Gill”) in view of US 4624243 A to Lowery et al. (hereinafter “Lowery”).
Regarding claim 1, Gill discloses an endoscopic device configured to provide three-dimensional visualization of an intraocular object, the device comprising: a first portion (304 and 342), Fig. 16D, [0094]) comprising: a distal shaft (342, Fig. 16E, [0094]) having a lumen extending along a longitudinal axis (342), wherein the distal shaft has an outer diameter sized for positioning in an intraocular space ([0099]- In a preferred embodiment, the outer diameter of outer tube 362 is 1.7 mm), wherein the outer diameter of the distal shaft is no greater than 1.8 mm ([0099]- In a preferred embodiment, the outer diameter of outer tube 362 is 1.7 mm); an illumination guide extending through the lumen of the distal shaft (316, Fig. 6D); at least one image transmitter extending through the lumen of the distal shaft ([0095]- Imaging device 352 can be a CCD or CMOS imaging sensor within electronics module 354 which can include processing, control and wired or wireless connection as described elsewhere herein; 26, Fig. 5, [0065]); and at least one objective lens at a distal end of the at least one image transmitter (see Fig. 16I &10A; and a second portion coupled to the first portion (306 and 349), Fig. 16D, the second portion comprising: a housing (349), the distal shaft of the first portion projecting distally from the housing of the second portion (Fig. 16D-16F); an illumination source (348, Fig. 16F, [0095]) positioned within the housing in optical communication with a proximal end of the illumination guide ((Fig. 16D-16F); and at least one image sensor positioned within the housing in optical communication with a proximal end of the at least one image transmitter (352, Fig. 16E).
Gill fails to expressly teach wherein the distal shaft is configured to slide between a first position and a second position, the second position being proximal of the first position, and wherein the at least one objective lens is sheathed within the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is in the first position and wherein the at least one objective lens is unsheathed distal to the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is withdrawn proximally into the second position.
However, Lowery teaches of an analogous device wherein the distal shaft (107) is configured to slide between a first position (Fig. 7) and a second position (Fig. 8), the second position being proximal of the first position (Fig. 8) and wherein the at least one objective lens is sheathed within the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is in the first position and (71, Fig. 7) wherein the at least one objective lens is unsheathed distal to the lumen of the distal shaft when the distal shaft is withdrawn proximally into the second position (71, Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill to utilize a distal shaft in the manner as taught by Lowery. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of protecting the patient from injury due to the sharp distal end of the sheath (Col. 6, lines 40-44).
Claim(s) 15, 16, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill, in view of Lowry, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,944,655 to Becker.
Regarding claim 15, Gill, in view of Lowery, teaches the device of claim 1.
Gill, in view of Lowery, fails to expressly teach wherein the at least one objective lens comprises a first objective lens and a second objective lens horizontally offset from the first lens.
However, Becker teaches of an analogous endoscopic device (Fig. 1), wherein the at least one objective lens comprises a first objective lens (1, Fig. 1. Col. 3, lines 13-16) and a second objective lens (2, Fig. 1, Col. 3, lines 13-16) horizontally offset from the first lens (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, to utilize two objective lenses, as taught by Becker. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of observation of an object (Col. 3. Lines 15-16).
Regarding claim 16, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker teaches the device of claim 15, but Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker fails to expressly teach wherein a distance between an optical axis of the first objective lens and an optical axis of the second objective lens defines a parallax angle for a distance from the first and second objective lenses to the intraocular object.
However, Becker further discloses wherein a distance between an optical axis of the first objective lens and an optical axis of the second objective lens defines a parallax angle for a distance from the first and second objective lenses to the intraocular object (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker to utilize two objective lenses, as taught by Becker. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of observation of an object (Col. 3. Lines 15-16).
Regarding claim 17, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker teaches the device of claim 15, but Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker fails to expressly teach wherein a subtended parallax angle forms two images of the intraocular object at different angular perspectives.
However, Becker further teaches wherein a subtended parallax angle forms two images of the intraocular object at different angular perspectives (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker to utilize a subtended parallax angle, as taught by Becker. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of observation of an object (Col. 3. Lines 15-16).
Regarding claim 18, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker teaches the device of claim 15, but Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker, fails to expressly teach wherein the first objective lens is coupled to a first bundle of the at least one image transmitter and the second objective lens is coupled to a second bundle of the at least one image transmitter.
However, Becker further teaches wherein the first objective lens is coupled to a first bundle of the at least one image transmitter (6) and the second objective lens is coupled to a second bundle of the at least one image transmitter (6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker to utilize at least one image transmitter, as taught by Becker. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of observation of an object (Col. 3. Lines 15-16).
Regarding claim 21, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker teaches the device of claim 18.
Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker, fails to expressly teach wherein when the distal shaft in the first position, the first and second objective lenses are sheathed by the distal shaft, and wherein when the distal shaft is withdrawn proximally into the second position, the first and second objective lenses are unsheathed from the distal shaft.
However, Lowery further teaches wherein when the distal shaft in the first position, the first and second objective lenses are sheathed by the distal shaft (Fig. 7), and wherein when the distal shaft is withdrawn proximally into the second position, the first and second objective lenses are unsheathed from the distal shaft (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker, to utilize a distal shaft in the manner as taught by Lowery. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of protecting the patient from injury due to the sharp distal end of the sheath (Col. 6, lines 40-44 of Lowery).
Claim(s) 22, 23, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill, in view of Lowry, and Becker, and further in view of US 20050234294 A1 to Saadat et al. (hereinafter “Saadat”).
Regarding claim 22, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker teaches the device of claim 21.
Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker fails to expressly teach wherein, when the distal shaft is in the second position, the first objective lens and the second objective lens move outward away from one another increasing the distance between their respective optical axes.
However, Saadat teaches of an analogous device (Fig. 1A) when the distal shaft is in the second position, the first objective lens and the second objective lens move outward away from one another increasing the distance between their respective optical axes (Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker so that the first objective lens and the second objective lens move outward away from one another, as taught by Sadaat. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of allowing the user to deploy the elements once the apparatus has been desirably situated within the body, thereby giving the user a versatile platform from which to access a greater portion of the body lumen while maintaining a device having a relatively small delivery profile ([0030] of Saadat).
Regarding claim 23, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker and Saadat, teaches the device of claim 22.
Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker and Saadat fails to expressly teaches further comprising a shape memory element configured to urge the first and second objective lenses to move outward from one another upon withdrawing the distal shaft into the second position.
However, Saadat further teaches further comprising a shape memory element configured to urge the first and second objective lenses to move outward from one another upon withdrawing the distal shaft into the second position (21a, 21b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker and Saadat to utilize a shape memory element, as taught by Sadaat. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of allowing the user to deploy the elements once the apparatus has been desirably situated within the body, thereby giving the user a versatile platform from which to access a greater portion of the body lumen while maintaining a device having a relatively small delivery profile ([0030] of Saadat).
Regarding claim 26, Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker and Saadat, teaches the device of claim 23.
Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker and Saadat, fails to expressly teach wherein a maximum outer dimension of the first and second objective lenses in the second position is greater than an inner diameter of the distal shaft.
However, Saadat further teaches wherein a maximum outer dimension of the first and second objective lenses in the second position is greater than an inner diameter of the distal shaft (Fig. 1a, Fig. 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, and Becker and Saadat so that a maximum outer dimension of the first and second objective lenses in the second position is greater than an inner diameter of the distal shaft, as taught by Sadaat. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of allowing the user to deploy the elements once the apparatus has been desirably situated within the body, thereby giving the user a versatile platform from which to access a greater portion of the body lumen while maintaining a device having a relatively small delivery profile ([0030] of Saadat).
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20080064925 A1 to Gill et al. (hereinafter “Gill”) in view of US 4624243 A to Lowery et al. (hereinafter “Lowery”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0192824 to Ichihashi.
Regarding claim 39, Gill, in view of Lowery, teaches the device of claim 1.
Gill, in view of Lowery, fails to expressly teach wherein the at least one objective lens is a ball lens or a liquid lens.
However, Ichihashi teaches of a device (Ichihashi: 100, Fig. 1, [0033]) wherein the at least one objective lens is a ball lens or a liquid lens (Ichihashi: 4b, Fig. 2, [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, to utilize a ball lens in the manner as taught by Ichihashi. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of diffusing and irradiating the illuminating light into the object ([0071] of Ichihashi).
Claim(s) 22, 23, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill, in view of Lowry, and further in view of US 20050234294 A1 to Saadat et al. (hereinafter “Saadat”).
Regarding claim 40, Gill, in view of Lowery, teaches the device of claim1.
Gill, in view of Lowery, fails to expressly teach wherein the at least one objective lens is aligned with the longitudinal axis of the distal sheath when the sheath is in the first position and wherein the at least one objective lens moves outward relative to the longitudinal axis of the distal sheath upon being unsheathed from the distal sheath.
However, Saadat teaches of an analogous endoscopic device wherein the at least one objective lens is aligned with the longitudinal axis of the distal sheath when the sheath is in the first position (Fig. 1A) and wherein the at least one objective lens moves outward relative to the longitudinal axis of the distal sheath upon being unsheathed from the distal sheath (Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Gill, in view of Lowery, to utilize an objective lens, as taught by Sadaat. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of allowing the user to deploy the elements once the apparatus has been desirably situated within the body, thereby giving the user a versatile platform from which to access a greater portion of the body lumen while maintaining a device having a relatively small delivery profile ([0030] of Saadat).
Claim(s) 49-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160262597 A1 to Danchinyu et al. (hereinafter “Danchinyu”) in view of US 20050234294 A1 to Saadat et al. (hereinafter “Saadat”).
Regarding claim 49, Danchinyu discloses an intraocular endoscopic device comprising: a proximal portion (20) comprising: a proximal housing portion having a distal end region (20, Fig. 1, [0053]); and a distal portion coupled to the proximal portion (10, Fig. 1, [0053]), the distal portion comprising: a distal shaft projecting distally from the proximal housing portion of the proximal portion (10), the distal shaft comprising a lumen extending along a longitudinal axis to a distal opening (13, Fig. 1, [0058]), an outer diameter of the distal shaft that is no greater than 15 gauge (1.67 mm outer diameter) for positioning in an intraocular space ([0002]-[0003], [0097]); an imaging unit (120) comprising a first image sensor (121).
Danchinyu fails to expressly teach an imaging unit comprising a first image sensor and a second image sensor; an armature extending through the lumen of the distal shaft, the armature comprising a first distal tip portion attached to the first image sensor and a second distal tip portion attached to the second image sensor, wherein the armature is configured to move between a sheathed position and an unsheathed position, wherein when in the sheathed position, the first distal tip portion and the second distal tip portion are located inside the lumen of the distal shaft proximal of the distal opening from the lumen and separated from one another by a first distance, and wherein when in the unsheathed position, the first distal tip portion and the second distal tip portion are located outside the lumen of the distal shaft distal to the distal opening from the lumen and separated from one another by a second distance that is greater than the first distance, wherein the second distance increases a parallax angle for three dimensional visualization through the distal shaft.
However, Saadat teaches of an analogous device wherein the imaging unit comprising a first image sensor (30a) and a second image sensor (30b); an armature extending through the lumen of the distal shaft (20), the armature comprising a first distal tip portion attached to the first image sensor (21a) and a second distal tip portion attached to the second image sensor (21b), wherein the armature is configured to move between a sheathed position (Fig. 1A)and an unsheathed position (Fig. 1B), wherein when in the sheathed position, the first distal tip portion and the second distal tip portion are located inside the lumen of the distal shaft proximal of the distal opening from the lumen and separated from one another by a first distance (Fig. 1A), and wherein when in the unsheathed position, the first distal tip portion and the second distal tip portion are located outside the lumen of the distal shaft distal to the distal opening from the lumen and separated from one another by a second distance that is greater than the first distance (Fig. 1B), wherein the second distance increases a parallax angle for three dimensional visualization through the distal shaft ([0030]-[0041])
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Danchinyu, to utilize an imaging unit, as taught by Sadaat. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of allowing the user to deploy the elements once the apparatus has been desirably situated within the body, thereby giving the user a versatile platform from which to access a greater portion of the body lumen while maintaining a device having a relatively small delivery profile ([0030] of Saadat).
Regarding claim 50, Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, teaches the device of claim 49, and Danchinyu further discloses wherein the distal portion further comprises an electronic connection from the imaging unit through the distal shaft to the proximal portion (121).
Regarding claim 51, Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, teaches the device of claim 49,but Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, fails to expressly teach wherein the second distance is greater than a width of an object being viewed through the distal shaft.
However, Saadat further teaches wherein the second distance is greater than a width of an object being viewed through the distal shaft (Fig. 1A- Fig. 1b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Danchinyu, in view of Saadat, the second distance is greater than a width of an object being viewed through the distal shaft, as taught by Sadaat. It would have been advantageous to make the combination for the purpose of allowing the user to deploy the elements once the apparatus has been desirably situated within the body, thereby giving the user a versatile platform from which to access a greater portion of the body lumen while maintaining a device having a relatively small delivery profile ([0030] of Saadat).
Regarding claim 52, Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, teaches the device of claim 49.
Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, fails to expressly teach wherein a maximum outer dimension in the unsheathed position is 0.14" - 0.42" (3.56 mm - 10.67 mm).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make/set the maximum outer dimension of Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat to have/be 0.14" - 0.42" (3.56 mm - 10.67 mm).since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device would not operate differently with the claimed outer dimension. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that the value is just a disclosed value.
Regarding claim 53, Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, teaches the device of claim 49.
Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, fails to expressly teach wherein the outer diameter of the distal shaft is no greater than 20 gauge (0.93 mm outer diameter) and a maximum outer dimension in the unsheathed position is 0.07" - 0.21" (1.78 mm - 5.33 mm).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make/set the outer diameter and max outer dimension of Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat to have/be 0.93 mm and 0.07" - 0.21" (1.78 mm - 5.33 mm), since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device would not operate differently with the claimed outer dimension. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that the value is just a disclosed value.
Regarding claim 54, Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, teaches the device of claim 49.
Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat, fails to expressly teach wherein the outer diameter of the distal shaft is no greater than 25 gauge (0.53 mm outer diameter) and a maximum outer dimension in the unsheathed position 0.04" - 0.12" (1.02 mm - 3.05 mm).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make/set the outer diameter and max outer dimension of Danchinyu, in view of Sadaat to have/be 0.53 mm and 0.04" - 0.12" (1.02 mm - 3.05 mm), since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device would not operate differently with the claimed outer dimension. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating that the value is just a disclosed value.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795