DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 16, ln 1-2, “comprises two conductive” should read “comprises two conductive members”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the protective assembly is linked with the vaporization shell, the protective assembly being driven by rotating the vaporization shell to regulate an amount of a flowing liquid outputted from the liquid storage cavity to the liquid flowing channel, an amount of air entering the vaporization assembly, and on/off of a circuit between the vaporization assembly and a power supply assembly of an electronic vaporization device” on ln 9-13. The limitation renders to claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the protective assembly is a single component, or can be embodied by multiple components at separate positions of the vaporizer. Based on the disclosures of the specification, Fig. 3 shows that the protective assembly 30 comprises liquid flowing control mechanism 30a, conductive structure 30b, and air inlet control mechanism 30c disposed at separate positions of the vaporizer (see instant specification, [0064]-[0084], Fig. 3). For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted the limitation such that the protective assembly can be embodied by multiple components at separate positions of the vaporizer. Claims 2-20, which depend on Claim 1, are similarly rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the liquid flowing control mechanism” on ln 1-2. Claim 4 recites the limitation “the liquid flowing control mechanism” on ln 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted the claim to include the limitation of Claim 2: “wherein the protective assembly comprises a liquid flowing control mechanism, and wherein the liquid flowing control mechanism is arranged in the vaporization shell and is driven into rotation by the rotation of the vaporization shell so as to regulate the liquid flowing amount of the liquid flowing channel, wherein the vaporization assembly comprises a vaporization base, the liquid flowing control mechanism being rotatably arranged on the vaporization base, and wherein the liquid flowing channel is arranged on the vaporization base. Claims 5-6, which depend on Claim 4, are similarly rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the air inlet control mechanism” on ln 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted the limitation as “an air inlet control mechanism.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qiu (CN 111317180 A, cited on the IDS dated 9/30/2025, English Translation cited by Examiner).
Regarding Claim 1, Qiu, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]-[0004]), teaches a vaporizer ([0047], Figs. 1-4; This invention provides an electronic cigarette, which includes an atomizer 100 and a power supply device (not shown) electrically connected to the atomizer 100. Atomizer 100 (vaporizer) of Figs. 1-3 comprises an atomizing assembly 30 configured to vaporize an e-liquid), comprising:
a vaporization shell ([0047]-[0050], [0062], Figs. 1-3; Electronic cigarette comprises liquid storage assembly 10, a base assembly 20, and an atomizing assembly 30. Housing 11 and lower cover 22 form a vaporization shell of the electronic cigarette);
a vaporization assembly ([0047]-[0050], Figs. 1-3; Electronic cigarette comprises liquid storage assembly 10, a base assembly 20, and an atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly)); and
a protective assembly ([0058], [0062]-[0065], Figs. 1-4; liquid storage assembly 10 also includes a first adjusting member 15. The base assembly 20 also includes a second adjustment member 24. [0070], Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. [0071], When the atomizer 100 is in the first state, the second liquid outlet 151 is connected to the second liquid inlet 241, the second air outlet 152 is connected to the second air inlet 242, and the second smoke inlet 153 is connected to the second smoke outlet 243. At this time, both the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1) and the e-liquid channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4) are opened, and the user can perform a suction operation. [0074], Figs. 5-6; When the atomizer 100 is in the second state, both the airflow channel and the liquid channel are closed. First adjusting member 15 and second adjustment member 24 form a protective assembly such that the user cannot operate the device in the second state),
wherein the vaporization shell comprises a liquid storage cavity ([0047]-[0050], Figs. 1-3; Electronic cigarette comprises a liquid storage chamber 110 (liquid storage cavity) for storing the e-liquid is provided inside the outer shell 11 (vaporization shell)),
wherein the vaporization assembly is arranged in the vaporization shell and comprises a heating structure and a liquid flowing channel ([0047]-[0050], Figs. 1-4; Atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) is arranged in the vaporization shell (housing 11/lower cover 22). [0078], Fig. 4; Atomizing component 30 comprises a heating component 32 (heating structure) and a liquid inlet 211. [0065], Liquid inlet 211, first liquid inlet hole 231, second liquid inlet hole 241 form a liquid flowing channel),
the liquid flowing channel being in communication with the heating structure so as to allow a vaporizable liquid medium in the liquid storage cavity to be outputted to the heating structure ([0047]-[0050], [0078], Figs. 1-4; The liquid flowing channel (elements 211/231/241) are in communication with heating component 32 (heating structure) so as to allow an e-liquid (vaporizable liquid medium) in the liquid storage chamber 110 to be outputted to heating component 32), and
wherein the protective assembly is linked with the vaporization shell ([0070], Figs. 1-6; Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. Protective assembly (elements 15/24) must be linked to the vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) such that rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 switches the device state),
the protective assembly being driven by rotating the vaporization shell to regulate an amount of a flowing liquid outputted from the liquid storage cavity to the liquid flowing channel, and an amount of air entering the vaporization assembly ([0058]-[0065], [0070], Figs. 1-4; Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. [0071], When the atomizer 100 is in the first state, the second liquid outlet 151 is connected to the second liquid inlet 241, the second air outlet 152 is connected to the second air inlet 242, and the second smoke inlet 153 is connected to the second smoke outlet 243. At this time, both the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1) and the e-liquid channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4) are opened, and the user can perform a suction operation. [0074], Figs. 5-6; When the atomizer 100 is in the second state, both the airflow channel and the liquid channel are closed. Protective assembly (elements 15/24) is driven by rotating vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) to regulate an amount of a flowing e-liquid outputted from the liquid storage chamber 110 to the liquid flowing channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4, closed in Fig. 5), and an amount of air entering atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) through the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1, closed in Fig. 6),
wherein the protective assembly is driven to regulate on/off of a circuit between the vaporization assembly and a power supply assembly of an electronic vaporization device ([0080], Fig. 1; A connecting pipe 221, which communicates with the inner cavity of the bottom cover 22, extends downward along the axial direction of the bottom cover 22 at the center of the lower end of the bottom cover 22. An electrode post 222 is installed inside the connecting pipe 221. An external thread is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the connecting pipe 221. The power supply device is threadedly connected to the connecting pipe 221. One of the positive and negative electrodes in the power supply device is electrically connected to the electrode post 222. The electrode post 222 is then electrically connected to one end of the heating element 32. Electrode post 222 and connecting pipe 221 can be regarded as a part of the protective assembly because it is links to bottom cover 22 (vaporization shell) and protects the lower end of atomizer 100. Electrode post 222 is driven by the rotation of bottom cover 22 (threated connections) to regulate on/off of a circuit between the heating element 32 of atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) and the positive and negative electrodes of a power supply assembly of an e-cigarette (electronic vaporization device)).
Regarding Claim 2, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, wherein the protective assembly comprises a liquid flowing control mechanism, and wherein the liquid flowing control mechanism is arranged in the vaporization shell and is driven into rotation by the rotation of the vaporization shell so as to regulate the liquid flowing amount of the liquid flowing channel ([0058]-[0065], [0070], Figs. 1-4; Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. [0071], When the atomizer 100 is in the first state, the second liquid outlet 151 is connected to the second liquid inlet 241, the second air outlet 152 is connected to the second air inlet 242, and the second smoke inlet 153 is connected to the second smoke outlet 243. At this time, both the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1) and the e-liquid channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4) are opened, and the user can perform a suction operation. [0074], Figs. 5-6; When the atomizer 100 is in the second state, both the airflow channel and the liquid channel are closed. Protective assembly (elements 15/24) therefore comprises a liquid flowing control mechanism arranged in the vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22). Protective assembly (elements 15/24) is driven by rotating vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) to regulate the liquid flowing amount to the liquid flowing channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4, closed in Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 2, wherein the liquid flowing control mechanism comprises a turntable and a communication channel arranged on the turntable, and wherein the turntable is arranged between the liquid storage cavity and the vaporization assembly and is driven into rotation by the rotation of the vaporization shell so that the communication channel is at least partially in communication with the liquid flowing channel and the liquid storage cavity or completely misaligned with the liquid flowing channel ([0058]-[0065], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 1-4; First adjusting member 15 and second adjusting member 24 (liquid flowing control mechanism) are both turntables. First adjusting member 15 comprises a second liquid outlet 151, and second adjusting member 24 comprises a second liquid inlet 241. In the first state (Figs. 1, 4), second liquid outlet 151 and second liquid inlet 241 are aligned to form a communication channel. The turntables (elements 15/24) are arranged between liquid storage chamber 110 and atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly). Protective assembly (elements 15/24) is driven by rotating vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) so that the communication channel (elements 151/241) is aligned with the liquid flowing channel (elements 241/231/211) as shown in Fig. 4, or misaligned as shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, wherein the protective assembly comprises a liquid flowing control mechanism, and wherein the liquid flowing control mechanism is arranged in the vaporization shell and is driven into rotation by the rotation of the vaporization shell so as to regulate the liquid flowing amount of the liquid flowing channel ([0058]-[0065], [0070], Figs. 1-4; Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. [0071], When the atomizer 100 is in the first state, the second liquid outlet 151 is connected to the second liquid inlet 241, the second air outlet 152 is connected to the second air inlet 242, and the second smoke inlet 153 is connected to the second smoke outlet 243. At this time, both the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1) and the e-liquid channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4) are opened, and the user can perform a suction operation. [0074], Figs. 5-6; When the atomizer 100 is in the second state, both the airflow channel and the liquid channel are closed. Protective assembly (elements 15/24) therefore comprises a liquid flowing control mechanism arranged in the vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22). Protective assembly (elements 15/24) is driven by rotating vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) to regulate the liquid flowing amount to the liquid flowing channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4, closed in Fig. 5),
wherein the vaporization assembly comprises a vaporization base, the liquid flowing control mechanism being rotatably arranged on the vaporization base, and wherein the liquid flowing channel is arranged on the vaporization base ([0062]-[0064], Fig. 1; The base assembly 20 includes a base 21 and a second seal 23 forming a vaporization base. Atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) is located directly below base 21. Second adjustment member 24 is located directly above second seal 23, and first adjustment member is located directly above second adjustment member 24. [0070], As members 15, 24 (liquid flowing control mechanism) rotate relative to each other, the liquid flowing control mechanism being rotatably arranged on the vaporization base. The liquid flowing channel (elements 241/231/211) is arranged on the vaporization base).
Regarding Claim 7, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 2, wherein a connecting positioning assembly is arranged between the vaporization shell and the liquid flowing control mechanism, wherein the connecting positioning assembly comprises a connecting positioning post and a positioning hole ([0052], Fig. 1; First support column 123 (connecting positioning post) is sleeved around first sealing member 14 and first adjusting member 15 (liquid flowing control mechanism) at its lower end. The gap between first adjusting member 15 and shell 11 (vaporization shell) can be regarded as a positioning hole. First support column 123 (connecting positioning post) and the positioning hole cooperate to form connecting positioning assembly),
the connecting positioning being is arranged on an inner side wall of the vaporization shell and extending in an axial direction of the vaporization shell ([0052], Fig. 1; First support column 123 (connecting positioning post) is arranged on an inner side wall of the shell 11 (vaporization shell) and extending in an axial direction of shell 11), and
wherein the positioning hole is arranged on the liquid flowing control mechanism corresponding to the connecting positioning post and configured to be engaged with the connecting positioning post ([0052], Fig. 1; The gap between first adjusting member 15 and shell 11 (vaporization shell) can be regarded as a positioning hole. The positioning hole is arranged on first adjusting member 15 (liquid flowing control mechanism) corresponding to the first support column 123 (connecting positioning post) and configured to be engaged with the first support column 123).
Regarding Claim 8, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, wherein the vaporization shell comprises an opening, and wherein the protective assembly comprises a conductive structure arranged close to an opening of the vaporization shell and being driven into rotation by the rotation of the vaporization shell so that the vaporization assembly is electrically connected to or disconnected from the power supply assembly of the electronic vaporization device ([0080], Fig. 1; A connecting pipe 221 forms an opening in bottom cover 22 (vaporization shell), and an electrode post 222 is installed inside the connecting pipe 221. An external thread is provided on the outer circumferential surface of the connecting pipe 221. The power supply device is threadedly connected to the connecting pipe 221. One of the positive and negative electrodes in the power supply device is electrically connected to the electrode post 222. The electrode post 222 is then electrically connected to one end of the heating element 32. Electrode post 222 and connecting pipe 221 form a conductive structure arranged close to an opening of bottom cover 22 (vaporization shell) and being driven into rotation by the rotation of bottom cover 22 so that heating element 32 of atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) is electrically connected to or disconnected from the positive and negative electrodes of a power supply assembly of an e-cigarette (electronic vaporization device)).
Regarding Claim 9, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 8, wherein the vaporization assembly comprises a conductive component ([0078], Fig. 1; The atomizing component 30 (vaporization assembly) includes a liquid guiding component 31 and a heating component 32 (conductive component). [0080], Heating component 32 can be electrically connected to electrode post 222),
the conductive structure comprises a movable member and at least one conductive member, the movable member is linked with the vaporization shell, the at least one conductive member is arranged on the movable member ([0080], Fig. 1; The conductive structure comprises a connecting pipe 221 (movable member) linked with the bottom cover 22 (vaporization shell) to move with the rotation of atomizer 100). The conductive structure comprises an electrode post 222 (conductive member) arranged on connecting pipe 221), and
the at least one conductive member is driven by the rotation of the movable member to contact the conductive component and an electrode on the power supply assembly such that the conductive component is electrically connected to the power supply assembly ([0080], Fig. 1; Electrode post 222 is driven by the rotation of connecting pipe 221 to contact heating element 32 (conductive component) is electrically connected to or disconnected from the positive and negative electrodes of a power supply assembly of an e-cigarette (electronic vaporization device)).
Regarding Claim 10, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 9, wherein the movable member comprises a disc body arranged coaxially with the vaporization shell, and a center of the disc body is located on an axis of the vaporization shell ([0080], Fig. 1; Connecting pipe 221 (movable member) has a disc-shaped cross-section arranged coaxially with shell 11. A center of connecting pipe 221 is located on an axis of the shell 1 as shown in Fig. 1. Any of the individual threads on connecting pipe 221 can also be regarded as disc bodies).
Regarding Claim 17, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 1, wherein the protective assembly comprises an air inlet control mechanism, the air inlet control mechanism comprises a movable member and a communication airway, the movable member is linked with the vaporization shell, the communication airway is arranged on the movable member, and the vaporization shell is driven into rotation by the movable member such that external air enters the vaporization assembly or the external air is prevented from entering the vaporization assembly by the movable member ([0058]-[0065], [0070], Figs. 1-6; Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. [0071], When the atomizer 100 is in the first state, the second liquid outlet 151 is connected to the second liquid inlet 241, the second air outlet 152 is connected to the second air inlet 242, and the second smoke inlet 153 is connected to the second smoke outlet 243. At this time, both the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1) and the e-liquid channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4) are opened, and the user can perform a suction operation. [0074], Figs. 5-6; When the atomizer 100 is in the second state, both the airflow channel and the liquid channel are closed. Protective assembly (elements 15/24) therefore comprises air inlet control mechanism comprising two movable members (elements 15/24). [0070]-[0071], First adjusting member 15 comprises a second air outlet 152, and second adjusting member 24 comprises a second air inlet 242. In the first state (Figs. 1, 4), second air outlet 152 and second air inlet 242 are aligned to form a communication airway. The movable members (elements 15/24) are linked with vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) such that rotating vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) aligns the communication channel (elements 152/242) to facilitate airflow to the atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 17, wherein the communication airway comprises an airflow through hole arranged on the movable member ([0070]-[0071], First adjusting member 15 (movable member) comprises a second air outlet 152 (airflow through hole), and second adjusting member 24 (movable member) comprises a second air inlet 242 (airflow through hole)).
Regarding Claim 19, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 18, wherein the airflow through hole comprises a waist-shaped hole ([0070]-[0071], Second air outlet 152 (airflow through hole) and second air inlet 242 (airflow through hole) are waist-shaped holes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (CN 111317180 A, cited on the IDS dated 9/30/2025, English Translation cited by Examiner) in view of An (US 2021/0137163 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Qiu teaches the vaporizer of claim 4, but does not teach the vaporizer wherein a limiting assembly is arranged on the liquid flowing control mechanism and the vaporization base, and is configured to limit a rotation angle of the liquid flowing control mechanism, and wherein the limiting assembly comprises a limiting post and a limiting groove, the limiting post being arranged on the liquid flowing control mechanism, the limiting groove being arranged on the vaporization base and engaged with the limiting post, wherein the limiting groove is in a shape of an arc, and a center of a circle of the arc is concentric with a center of a rotation trajectory of the liquid flowing control mechanism.
An, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]), teaches an aerosol generating device ([0059], The aerosol generation device of FIGS. 1 and 2) comprising:
a first housing and second housing ([0059], Fig. 1-2; The aerosol generation device includes a first housing 10 and a second housing 30);
wherein a limiting assembly is arranged on the first housing and the second housing, and is configured to limit a rotation angle of the first housing, and wherein the limiting assembly comprises a limiting post and a limiting groove, the limiting post being arranged on the first housing, the limiting groove being arranged on the second housing and engaged with the limiting post ([0084], Figs. 2 and 4; First housing 10 further includes maintaining protrusions 14 (limiting post) protruding toward the second housing 30, and the second housing 30 further includes maintaining grooves 32 (limiting groove) slidably accommodating (engaged with) the maintaining protrusions 14. The maintaining protrusions 14 may slide along the maintaining grooves 32 with rotation of the second housing 30 with respect to the first housing 10. The maintaining protrusions 14 (limiting post) and maintaining grooves 32 (limiting groove) form a limiting assembly configured to limit a rotation angle of the first housing 10),
wherein the limiting groove is in a shape of an arc, and a center of a circle of the arc is concentric with a center of a rotation trajectory of the first housing ([0084], Figs. 2 and 4; Maintaining grooves 32 (limiting groove) is in a shape of an arc, and a center of a circle of the arc is concentric with a center of a rotation trajectory of the first housing 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vaporizer of Qiu wherein a limiting assembly is arranged on the liquid flowing control mechanism and the vaporization base, and is configured to limit a rotation angle of the liquid flowing control mechanism, and wherein the limiting assembly comprises a limiting post and a limiting groove, the limiting post being arranged on the liquid flowing control mechanism, the limiting groove being arranged on the vaporization base and engaged with the limiting post, wherein the limiting groove is in a shape of an arc, and a center of a circle of the arc is concentric with a center of a rotation trajectory of the liquid flowing control mechanism similarly taught by An because Qiu and An are directed to aerosol generating devices, Qiu demonstrates that the liquid flowing control mechanism rotates within the vaporization base between a first and second state (Qiu, [0064], [0070], Fig. 1; Second adjustment member 24 rotates within base 21 (vaporization base)), An demonstrates that a limiting groove and limiting post and cooperate to limit the position of a rotating component (An, [0084], Fig. 2), and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teaching in An to prevent the rotation of the liquid flowing control mechanism beyond the first or second state.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (CN 111317180 A, cited on the IDS dated 9/30/2025, English Translation cited by Examiner) as applied to Claim 9, in view of Batista (US 2024/0398008 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Qiu does not teach the vaporizer wherein a mounting limit assembly is arranged on the movable member and the vaporization shell, and wherein the mounting limit assembly comprises a limiting engagement groove and a limiting engagement protrusion, the limiting engagement groove being arranged on a side wall of the movable member, and the limiting engagement protrusion being arranged on the vaporization shell and extending away from the vaporization shell in an axial direction from an opening of the vaporization shell, and is arranged corresponding to the limiting engagement groove and configured to be engaged with the limiting engagement groove.
Batista, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]), teaches a device ([0158]-[0164], Figs. 1 and 4; The cartridge assembly 10 is used with an aerosol generating device) comprising
a movable member ([0164]-[0169], Fig. 1, 2A, 2B; Cartridge assembly 10 comprises a mouthpiece 12 and a liquid storage portion 14 (movable member). Figs. 2A/2B show that liquid storage portion 14 is capable of moving within mouthpiece 12) and
a vaporization shell ([0164]-[0169], Fig. 1, 2A, 2B; Cartridge assembly 10 comprises susceptor 28, wick 38 forming a vaporization assembly. [0171], Figs. 4A and 4B show a cross-sectional view of the rectangular embodiment of the cartridge assembly 10 within an aerosol-generating device 54. Square 62 indicates where the alternating magnetic field is generated by a planar inductor coil. Device 54 comprises a shell (see annotated Fig. 4A) which surrounds square 62 and the vaporization assembly. The shell is therefore a vaporization shell)
a mounting limit assembly is arranged on the movable member and the vaporization shell, and
wherein the mounting limit assembly comprises a limiting engagement groove and a limiting engagement protrusion ([0164]-[0169], Fig. 1, 2A, 2B, 4A, 4B; Liquid storage portion 14 (movable member) comprises a limiting engagement groove and the shell of device 54 comprises a limiting engagement protrusion forming a mounting limit assembly (see annotated Figs. 2A and 4A)),
the limiting engagement groove being arranged on a side wall of the movable member, and the limiting engagement protrusion being arranged on the vaporization shell and extending away from the vaporization shell in an axial direction from an opening of the vaporization shell, and is arranged corresponding to the limiting engagement groove and configured to be engaged with the limiting engagement groove ([0164]-[0169], Fig. 1, 2A, 2B, 4A, 4B; Limiting engagement groove is arranged on a side wall of the liquid storage portion 14 (movable member). Limiting engagement protrusion is arranged on shell of device 54 (vaporization shell) and extending away from the shell of device 54 in an axial direction from an opening at the bottom end of the shell of device 54. Limiting engagement protrusion is arranged corresponding to the limiting engagement groove and configured to be engaged with the limiting engagement groove (see annotated Figs. 2A and 4A)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the vaporizer of Qiu wherein a mounting limit assembly is arranged on the movable member and the vaporization shell, and wherein the mounting limit assembly comprises a limiting engagement groove and a limiting engagement protrusion, the limiting engagement groove being arranged on a side wall of the movable member, and the limiting engagement protrusion being arranged on the vaporization shell and extending away from the vaporization shell in an axial direction from an opening of the vaporization shell, and is arranged corresponding to the limiting engagement groove and configured to be engaged with the limiting engagement groove as taught by Batista because Qiu and Batista are directed to aerosol generating devices, Batista demonstrates that the mounting limiting assembly allows the movable member and vaporization shell to detach from each other while ensure secure connection between the components (Batista, [0164]-[0171], Figs. 1-2, and 4), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (CN 111317180 A, cited on the IDS dated 9/30/2025, English Translation cited by Examiner) as applied to Claim 9, and further in view of Liu (US 2016/0233708 A1) and Lu (US 2025/0194680 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Qiu does not teach the vaporizer wherein the at least one conductive member comprises an elastic sheet structure, wherein the at least one conductive member comprises a first abutting portion configured to abut against the conductive component, a second abutting portion configured to abut against the electrode, and a connection portion configured to connect the first abutting portion to the second abutting portion, wherein the first abutting portion is bent relative to the connection portion, and the first abutting portion comprises an arc-shaped structure protruding away from the movable member.
Liu, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]-[0004]), teaches a conductive member comprising an elastic sheet structure ([0043]-[0047], Fig. 4; First elastic sheet 2 (conductive member) is an electrically conductive sheet configured to electrically connect to a PCB board and a charging electrode 5),
wherein the at least one conductive member comprises a first abutting portion configured to abut against a conductive component, a second abutting portion configured to abut against an electrode, and a connection portion configured to connect the first abutting portion to the second abutting portion, wherein the first abutting portion is bent relative to the connection portion ([0043]-[0047], Fig. 4; First elastic sheet 2 includes a first connection portion 21, a first abutting portion 22 which is bent and projected from one end of the first connection portion 21, and a second charging electrode 23 (second abutting portion) which is bent from the other end of the first connection portion 21. First abutting portion 22 abuts PCB board (conductive component). Second charging electrode 23 abuts charging electrode 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the conductive member of Qiu wherein the at least one conductive member comprises a first abutting portion configured to abut against a conductive component, a second abutting portion configured to abut against an electrode, and a connection portion configured to connect the first abutting portion to the second abutting portion, wherein the first abutting portion is bent relative to the connection portion as taught by Liu because Qiu and Liu are directed to aerosol generating devices, Liu demonstrates that the conductive member can electrically connect a conductive component to an electrode (Liu, [0043]-[0047], Fig. 4), Liu demonstrates that a bent abutting portion provides sufficient surface area to form electrical connection to a conductive component (Liu, [0043]-[0047], Fig. 4), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Because the conductive component of Qiu is axially aligned the movable member (Qiu, [0080], Fig. 1; Electrode post 222 has a lower edge which protrudes from connecting pipe 221), it is reasonably understood that the bent first abutting portion would protrude away from the movable member
Qiu in view of Liu does not teach the vaporizer wherein the first abutting portion comprises an arc-shaped structure.
Lu, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0002]), teaches a conductive member comprising a first abutting portion comprising an arc-shaped structure ([0058]-[0061], Fig. 12; Electrode connecting member 101 (conductive member) comprises a contact piece 1011 (first abutting portion) having an arc-shaped structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the conductive member of Qiu in view of Liu wherein the first abutting portion comprises an arc-shaped structure as taught by Lu because Qiu, Liu and Lu are directed to aerosol generating devices, changing the shape of the first abutting portion to an arc-shape constitutes a change in form of shape to another known shape in the art. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B.
Regarding Claim 15 Qiu in view of Liu and Lu teaches the vaporizer of claim 14, wherein the at least one conductive member comprises two conductive members, and first abutting portions of the two conductive members extend in opposite directions, wherein the at least one conductive member comprises two conductive, and first abutting portions of the two conductive members extend in a same direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the conductive member and dispose it on the movable member in order to ensure electrical connection between the vaporization assembly and the power supply assembly. This would merely involve duplication of parts and positioning another conductive member on the movable member to facilitate energy supply.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the first abutting portions of the two conductive members to extend in opposite directions or configure the first abutting portions of the two conductive members to extend in a same direction because the direction of the conductive members is dependent on the angle to which the first abutting portion is bent relative to the conductive member, and the angle of orientation of the conductive member with respect to the movable member. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try configuring the first abutting portions of the two conductive members to extend in opposite directions or configuring the first abutting portions of the two conductive members to extend in a same direction because each other these configurations is one of a finite number of predictable solutions.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (CN 111317180 A, cited on the IDS dated 9/30/2025, English Translation cited by Examiner) as applied to Claim 1, in view of Chen (US 2023/0157356 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Qiu teaches an electronic vaporization device ([0047], Figs. 1-4; This invention provides an electronic cigarette (electronic vaporization device), which includes an atomizer 100 and a power supply device (not shown) electrically connected to the atomizer 100. Atomizer 100 (vaporizer) of Figs. 1-3 comprises an atomizing assembly 30 configured to vaporize an e-liquid), comprising:
a power supply assembly ([0047], Figs. 1-4; Electronic cigarette includes an atomizer 100 (vaporizer) and a power supply device); and
the vaporizer of claim 1 ([0047], Figs. 1-4; Electronic cigarette includes an atomizer 100 (vaporizer)),
wherein the vaporizer is connected to the power supply assembly ([0047], Figs. 1-4; Electronic cigarette includes an atomizer 100 (vaporizer) and a power supply device electrically connected to the atomizer 100), and
wherein the protective assembly of the vaporizer comprises the air inlet control mechanism, the air inlet control mechanism comprises the movable member and the communication airway arranged on the movable member, the movable member is linked with the vaporization shell to be driven into rotation by rotation of the vaporization shell ([0058]-[0065], [0070], Figs. 1-6; Rotating the liquid storage assembly 10 relative to the base assembly 20 or rotating the base assembly 20 relative to the liquid storage assembly 10 can cause the first adjusting member 15 and the second adjusting member 24 to rotate relative to each other, thereby allowing the atomizer 100 to switch between the first state and the second state. [0071], When the atomizer 100 is in the first state, the second liquid outlet 151 is connected to the second liquid inlet 241, the second air outlet 152 is connected to the second air inlet 242, and the second smoke inlet 153 is connected to the second smoke outlet 243. At this time, both the airflow channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 1) and the e-liquid channel (shown by arrows in Fig. 4) are opened, and the user can perform a suction operation. [0074], Figs. 5-6; When the atomizer 100 is in the second state, both the airflow channel and the liquid channel are closed. Protective assembly (elements 15/24) therefore comprises air inlet control mechanism comprising two movable members (elements 15/24). [0070]-[0071], First adjusting member 15 comprises a second air outlet 152, and second adjusting member 24 comprises a second air inlet 242. In the first state (Figs. 1, 4), second air outlet 152 and second air inlet 242 are aligned to form a communication airway. The movable members (elements 15/24) are linked with vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) such that rotating vaporization shell (housing 11 and lower cover 22) aligns the communication channel (elements 152/242) to facilitate airflow to the atomizing assembly 30 (vaporization assembly) as shown in Fig. 1),
but does not teach the device wherein the power supply assembly comprises a support and an air inlet hole in communication with outside arranged on the support, wherein when the movable member is driven into rotation by rotation of the vaporization shell, the communication airway is at least partially in communication with the air inlet hole or completely misaligned with the air inlet hole.
Chen, directed to aerosol generating devices ([0001]), teaches an electronic vaporization device ([0029], FIG. 1 is a schematic drawing of a delivery system in the form of a non-combustible aerosol provision device 1 (electronic vaporization device)) comprising:
power supply assembly ([0029]-[0030], Fig. 1; Non-combustible aerosol provision device 1 (electronic vaporization device) comprises control module 3 (power supply assembly), which includes a battery 4 and a circuit board 5),
wherein the power supply assembly comprises a support and an air inlet hole in communication with outside arranged on the support ([0033]-[0039], Fig. 1-3; Control module 3 (power supply assembly) comprises a housing 6 (support) and vent 22 (air inlet hole) in communication with outside arranged on housing 6. Vent 22 also allows air to circulate into and out of the housing 6 to minimise any temperature differences).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Qiu wherein the power supply assembly comprises a support and an air inlet hole in communication with outside arranged on the support as taught by Chen because Qiu and Chen are directed to aerosol generating devices, Chen demonstrates that the air inlet hole allows air to circulate into and out of the support to minimise any temperature differences within the power supply assembly (Chen, [0038]), and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further, because the air inlet to the vaporization shell of Qiu is not in communication with the power supply assembly (Qiu, [0052], Fig. 1; See the path from air inlet 1221 to mouthpiece 13), when the movable member is driven into rotation by rotation of the vaporization shell, the communication airway must be completely misaligned with the air inlet hole of the power supply assembly.
Conclusion
/J.M.M./
Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755