DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on November 21, 2025 is acknowledged. One page specification and one page of drawing were received on November 21, 2025. The specification and the drawing are acceptable to correct the obvious scrivener’s errors in the original disclosure.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spray head is configured to slidably displace toward the spray core in response to a force being applied against the spray head cover and wherein the spray head is configured to slidably displace away from the spray core in response to the spray head cover being released such that the force is not applied against the spray head cover as recited in new claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. In fact, only a frictional force of the rotation of the spray head cover 30 is discussed in paragraph [0068]. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
rotation mechanism in claim 2, where “mechanism” is a place holder and “rotation” is the functional language;
damping mechanism in claim 8, where “mechanism” is a place holder and “damping” is the functional language;
anti-slip structure in claim 17, where “structure” is a place holder and “anti-slip” is the functional language; and
indicating structure in claim 18, where “structure” is a place holder and “indicating” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the spray head is configured to slidably displace toward the spray core in response to a force being applied against the spray head cover and wherein the spray head is configured to slidably displace away from the spray core in response to the spray head cover being released such that the force is not applied against the spray head cover as recited in new claim 20. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bochmann (US 3901449).
With respect to claim 1, Bochmann discloses a spray device (Figs. 1-5), comprising: a housing (14, 12); a spray head assembly (elements providing fluid passage from 70 to 40 and 30 and 28); and a spray head cover (42, 38, 40. Fig. 1), wherein a liquid storage cavity (defined by 12) is provided inside the housing, wherein the spray head assembly partially protrudes from the housing (Fig. 3) and is in communication with the liquid storage cavity, the spray head assembly comprising a spray nozzle (fluid constriction between 38 and 42. Fig. 6), wherein the spray head cover is rotatably arranged on the housing and covers the spray head assembly, a spray hole (at 40) being provided on the spray head cover, wherein, when the spray head cover is rotated to a first position (second position. shown in phantom in Fig, 1), the spray hole is correspondingly in communication with the spray head assembly, and when the spray head assembly is pressed (when 30 is press to move/slide left or right), a liquid vaporization medium (fluid pressurized by 20) in the liquid storage cavity is configured to (capable of) be sprayed out from the spray hole, wherein, when the spray head cover is rotated to a second position (first inoperative position), the spray head cover covers the spray nozzle and is locked with the housing to block the liquid vaporization medium in the liquid storage cavity from being sprayed out (in the inoperative position, it overlies switch 30 thereby shielding the switch from accidentally being pushed when the discharge equipment is in the storage position. Col. 2, lines 43-46), and wherein the spray head assembly comprises a spray head (left half of 42) and a spray core (right half of 42), the spray head is slidably sleeved on the spray core along an axial (horizontal) direction of the spray core.
With respect to claim 2, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head assembly is rotatably connected to the spray head cover using a rotation mechanism (pivotal fitting 42).
With respect to claim 3, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head assembly comprises a spray head (right half of 42 or outlet of 42 connecting 38 in Fig. 3), and the rotation mechanism comprises a rotating shaft (See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below), wherein through holes are provided on the two opposite (left and right) sides of the spray head cover, and wherein the (hollowed) rotating shaft passes through (fluidly) the through holes and is connected to the spray head assembly for a rotation of the spray head cover.
With respect to claim 4, Bochmann discloses wherein the rotation mechanism further comprises a cover body arranged at an (left) end of the rotating shaft (Fig. 6), a (diameter) size of the cover body being greater than a (inner diameter) size of the through hole (right through hole in Fig. 6) to (capable of) restrict the spray head cover from detaching from the rotating shaft.
With respect to claim 5, Bochmann discloses wherein the rotating shaft is of a hollow structure (See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below) with a sleeve connection (See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below) at an end, wherein a connection structure is arranged between the rotation mechanism and the spray head, the connection structure comprising a connection positioning hole (encasing the unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6. See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below) and a connection positioning column (surrounded by unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6), and wherein the connection positioning column is arranged in (within) the rotating shaft and extends toward the sleeve connection, and the connection positioning hole is arranged on a (left) side wall of the spray head.
With respect to claim 6, Bochmann discloses wherein a limiting structure is arranged between the rotation mechanism and the spray head, the limiting structure comprising a limiting boss (surrounded by unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6) and a limiting notch (encasing the unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6. See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below), and wherein the limiting boss is arranged on a (left) side wall of the spray head, the limiting notch being arranged on a (left) side wall of the rotating shaft and arranged corresponding to the limiting boss to engage with the limiting boss.
With respect to claim 7, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head assembly comprises the spray head, and the spray head comprises a spray head body (body of the right half of 42) and a connecting tube (in the right half of 42) arranged at an (downstream) end of the spray head body, wherein a positioning shaft (surrounded by unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6) is arranged at a joint (of 42) between the (left end of) spray head body and the (outlet opening of) connecting tube, the positioning shaft extending toward (in the direction of) an inner side wall of the housing (Fig. 4), and wherein the rotating shaft is sleeved on the positioning shaft.
With respect to claim 8, Bochmann discloses wherein a damping mechanism (unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6 and the frictional surfaces between the two halves of 42) is arranged on the rotation mechanism.
With respect to claim 9, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head assembly comprises a spray head (two halves of 42 in Fig. 3), and the spray head comprises a spray head body (body of the two halves of 42) and a connecting tube (in the right half of 42) arranged at an (downstream) end of the spray head body, wherein an angle greater than 90 degrees and less than 180 degrees is formed between the connecting tube and the spray head body (at least the left half of 42), and wherein the spray nozzle is arranged at an (upstream) end of the spray head body away from the connecting tube.
With respect to claim 10, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray core is in communication with the liquid storage cavity (Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 11, Bochmann discloses wherein the housing comprises an opening (recess slot for 38 and 42), the spray head assembly partially protrudes from the opening, and the spray head cover is rotatably arranged at the opening.
With respect to claim 12, Bochmann discloses wherein a limiting guide mechanism (42) is arranged between the spray head cover and the housing, the limiting guide mechanism comprising a guide limiting groove (encasing the unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6 and the groove for the unmarked O-ring. See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below) and a (rotatably) slide block (surrounded by unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6), and wherein the guide limiting groove is arranged on an inner side wall (recess slot for 38 and 42) of the housing, and the slide block is arranged on the spray head cover and configured to (capable of) slide in the guide limiting groove.
With respect to claim 13, Bochmann discloses wherein the guide limiting groove comprises a first guide limiting portion (the groove for the unmarked O-ring. Figs. 4 and 6) and a second guide limiting portion (encasing the unmarked O-ring), wherein the first guide limiting portion extends along (annually aligned or paralleled with) a pressing direction (when 30 is press to move/slide left or right) of the spray head cover, and an end of the first guide limiting portion is connected to the second guide limiting portion (Fig. 6), and wherein the second guide limiting portion extends along a (horizontal) direction in which the spray head cover rotates relative to the housing.
With respect to claim 14, Bochmann discloses wherein a limiting locking mechanism (42) is arranged between the spray head cover and the housing, the limiting locking mechanism comprising a limiting groove (encasing the unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6 and the groove for the unmarked O-ring. See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below), a lock block (right half of 42), and a lock rod (encasing the unmarked O-ring), wherein the limiting groove is arranged on an inner side wall (recess slot for 38 and 42) of the housing, and the lock block is arranged in the limiting groove, and wherein the lock rod is arranged on the spray head cover, is configured to (capable of) slide in the limiting groove, and configured to engage with the lock block.
With respect to claim 15, Bochmann discloses wherein the housing comprises an opening (recess slot for 38 and 42); wherein the spray head cover comprises a cover portion (38 and 40) that is rotatable at the opening and (partially) covers the opening, wherein the cover portion comprises a cover surface (of 38), the cover surface being of a curved-surface (cylindrical) structure, and wherein the spray hole is arranged on (sleeved over) the cover portion.
With respect to claim 16, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head cover further comprises connection portions (42 and pivot at 40. Fig. 2) arranged on two opposite sides of the cover portion, and the connection portions protrude into (rested within the recess slot for 38 and 42) the housing from the opening and are rotatably connected to the spray head assembly.
With respect to claim 17, Bochmann discloses wherein an anti-slip structure (the unmarked O-ring. See Fig. 6 with additional annotations below) is arranged on the spray head cover.
With respect to claim 18, Bochmann discloses wherein an indicating structure (40 and the pivot at 40. Fig. 2) is arranged on the spray head cover, and the indicating structure and the spray hole are arranged at an interval (solid and phantom lines nozzle 40) on a rotation track of the spray head cover to indicate a position of the spray hole.
With respect to claim 19, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head is configured to (capable of) slidably displace along the axial direction relative to the spray core while remaining sleeved on the spray core (left half of 42 is capable of being partially separated/pulled-away, yet still connected, from right half of 42 exposing the unmarked O-ring in Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 20, Bochmann discloses wherein the spray head is configured to (capable of) slidably displace toward (abutting) the spray core (after the partial separated/pulled-away stage in claim 19) in response to a (axial directional) force being applied against the spray head cover and wherein the spray head is configured to (capable of) slidably displace away from the spray core in response to the spray head cover being released such that the (axial directional) force is not applied against the spray head cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on November 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the left half of 42 of Bochmann is not slidably sleeve on the right half of 42.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, element 42 is named as “pivotal fitting,” and Fig. 1 shows that the pivotal fitting 42 permits the wand 38 to be shifted from a first inoperative position wherein the wand overlies the top surface of the housing as shown to a second position wherein the wand is pivoted away from the housing as shown in phantom. Col. 2, lines 36-42. Therefore, it is clear that the two halves rotatably “slidable” relative to one another. Second, as shown in enlarged Fig. 6 above, outer potion of the left half of 42 “sleeve on” the right half 42 enclosing an unmarked O-ring to seal the ratably slidable fluid passages in the left and right halve of 42. Third, it appears that the Applicant is narrowly imposing “slidably sleeved” as only limited to a linear sliding. Therefore, Applicant's argument is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. No such limitations (linear slidably sleeved) can be found in the claimed invention.
As for the new claims 19 and 20. The claim limitations are met, as long as the two halves of 42 are capable of performing the recited functions in claim 19 and 20. Furthermore, claim 20 violates drawings requirements under 37 CFR 1.83(a) and written description requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph. See detailed rejections elaborated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 December 4, 2025