DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lum (US 20130148636 A1) in view of Jain (US 20170093457 A1) and Loui (US 10218068 B1).
For claim 1. Lum discloses A method comprising: receiving statuses of a plurality of cellular radios ([0031]), each of the statuses comprising an idle status or an active status with one or more operating bands ([0044], [0046]: signals transmitted at 2.48 GHz (e.g., Wi-Fi.RTM. signals) are simultaneously transmitted with signals at 2.5 GHz (e.g., LTE band 7 signals), [0047], [0065]); evaluating the operating bands for potential interferences between each other ([0044]-[0047]); determining, based on the statuses and the potential interferences, a configuration of a switch matrix (figure 5, switch 102) configured to connect each of a plurality of cellular antennas to either one of the cellular radios (figure 5, [0049]-[0053]), the configuration such that antennas connected to the radios with the potential interferences are physically isolated from each other; applying the configuration to the switch matrix ([0049]-[0053]); and communicating with at least one remote system using the cellular radios with the active status via their respective connected cellular antennas ([0049]-[0053]).
Lum fails to mention Wi-Fi being a cellular radio, evaluating the operating bands for potential interferences between the radios and with one or more other radios.
This teaching is disclosed by Jain ([0033], [0035], [0036]: WLANs or Wi-Fi APs as neighboring cells; further [0070], [0073], [0078]: evaluating the operating bands for potential interferences between the radios (LTE B20 and Wi-Fi Channel 4) and with one or more other radios (GNSS), for reducing intermodulation interferences with selected antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as to improve antenna isolation and transmission signal quality and throughput.
Lum and Jain fail to mention to connect the antennas to a termination resistor.
This teaching is disclosed by Loui (figure 3, column 7 lines 1-3, claim 5, termination resistance (e.g., 50Ω) 160; switch matrix 130, the antennas 210, 220, 230, and 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Loui into the art of Lum as modified by Jain as to improve antenna isolation.
For claim 2. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Jain discloses wherein the other radios comprise a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) radio ([0070], [0073], [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation for GNSS.
For claim 3. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Jain discloses wherein the cellular antennas and antennas of the other radios are collocated (figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation for GNSS.
For claim 4. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 3, Lum discloses wherein the cellular antennas are less than half an operating wavelength apart ([0019], figure 3; 2.4GHz’s half wavelength is about 0.062 meter).
For claim 5. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Lum discloses wherein the cellular antennas are all similar in structure (figure 5, [0037] using any suitable antenna types including same type).
For claim 6. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Lum discloses wherein the cellular radios correspond to respective wireless carriers ([0031], [0032], figure 5).
For claim 7. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Lum discloses wherein a number of the cellular antennas is equal to a number of the cellular radios (figure 5).
For claim 8. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Jain discloses wherein the operating bands of the cellular radios are variable and operating bands of the other radios are fixed ([0070]-[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation for GNSS.
For claim 9. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Loui discloses wherein the configuration is such that each of the cellular antennas that are not connected to the cellular radios with the active status are connected to the termination resistor (figure 3, column 7 lines 1-3, claim 5, column 10 lines 4-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Loui into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation.
For claim 10. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the method of claim 1, Jain discloses wherein the evaluating the operating bands of the cellular radios for potential interferences comprises looking up the potential interferences in a lookup table ([0060], [0062], [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation using quick lookup table and program.
For claim 11. Lum discloses A system comprising: a plurality of cellular radios ([0031]); a plurality of cellular antennas (figure 5); a switch matrix (102) configured to connect each of the cellular antennas to either one of the cellular radios (figure 5); at least one processor; and computer-readable storage media comprising instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to: receive statuses of the cellular radios, each of the statuses comprising an idle status or an active status with one or more operating bands ([0044], [0046]: signals transmitted at 2.48 GHz (e.g., Wi-Fi.RTM. signals) are simultaneously transmitted with signals at 2.5 GHz (e.g., LTE band 7 signals), [0047], [0065]); evaluate the operating bands for potential interferences between each other ([0044]-[0047]); determine, based on the statuses and the potential interferences, a configuration of the switch matrix (figure 5, switch 102), the configuration such that antennas connected to the radios with the potential interferences are physically isolated from each other (figure 5, [0049]-[0053]); and cause the switch matrix to assume the configuration ([0049]-[0053]).
Lum fails to mention Wi-Fi being a cellular radio, evaluating the operating bands for potential interferences between the radios and with one or more other radios.
This teaching is disclosed by Jain ([0033], [0035], [0036]: WLANs or Wi-Fi APs as neighboring cells; further [0070], [0073], [0078]: evaluating the operating bands for potential interferences between the radios (LTE B20 and Wi-Fi Channel 4) and with one or more other radios (GNSS), for reducing intermodulation interferences with selected antennas).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as to improve antenna isolation and transmission signal quality and throughput.
Lum and Jain fail to mention to connect the antennas to a termination resistor.
This teaching is disclosed by Loui (figure 3, column 7 lines 1-3, claim 5, termination resistance (e.g., 50Ω) 160; switch matrix 130, the antennas 210, 220, 230, and 240).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Loui into the art of Lum as modified by Jain as to improve antenna isolation.
For claim 12. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Jain discloses wherein the other radios comprise a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) radio ([0070], [0073], [0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation for GNSS.
For claim 13. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Jain discloses wherein the cellular antennas and antennas of the other radios are collocated (figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation for GNSS.
For claim 14. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 13, Lum discloses wherein the cellular antennas are less than half an operating wavelength apart ([0019], figure 3; 2.4GHz’s half wavelength is about 0.062 meter).
For claim 15. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Lum discloses wherein the cellular antennas are all similar in structure (figure 5, [0037] using any suitable antenna types including same type).
For claim 16. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Lum discloses wherein the cellular radios correspond to respective wireless carriers ([0031], [0032], figure 5).
For claim 17. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Lum discloses wherein a number of the cellular antennas is equal to a number of the cellular radios (figure 5).
For claim 18. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Jain discloses wherein the operating bands of the cellular radios are variable and operating bands of the other radios are fixed ([0070]-[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation for GNSS.
For claim 19. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Loui discloses wherein the configuration is such that each of the cellular antennas that are not connected to the cellular radios with the active status are connected to the termination resistor (figure 3, column 7 lines 1-3, claim 5, column 10 lines 4-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Loui into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation.
For claim 20. Lum in combination with Jain and Loui substantially teaches the system of claim 11, Jain discloses wherein the evaluation of the operating bands of the cellular radios for potential interferences comprises looking up the potential interferences in a lookup table ([0060], [0062], [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the selection techniques taught by Jain into the art of Lum as modified by Jain and Loui as to improve antenna isolation using quick lookup table and program.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300, submitted online via the USPTO's Electronic Filing System-Web (EFS-Web) (Registered eFilers only, Registered users of the USPTO's EFS-Web system may submit a response electronically through EFS-Web at https://efs.uspto.gov/TruePassSample/AuthenticateUserLocalEPF.html), or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Rui Meng Hu/
R.H./rh
September 25, 2025
/JINSONG HU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643