DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation of “the amorphous alumina source comprises greater than 90% wt. aluminum oxide” recited in claim 2 is contradicted to the limitation of “an amorphous alumina source comprising predominantly aluminum hydroxide” (emphasis added) recited in claim 1. According to the instant Specification, the term “predominant” is understood to mean present at greater than 50% (PGPUB US 2024/0383762 A1). For the purpose of the examination, the amorphous alumina source comprising greater than 90% Al(OH)3. Clarification and appropriated corrections are required.
The definitions for M and Q recited in claims 8-9 are missing. Appropriated corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burton et al. (US 2009/0060813 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Burton et al. teach a method of direct synthesis a crystalline aluminosilicate zeolite SSZ-82 ([005]-[0022]) comprising
mixing (a) a source of an amorphous oxide of a trivalent element, alternative an alumina including Al(OH)3 ([0039]-[0041] and [0046]), (b) a source of amorphous tetravalent element including colloidal silica SiO2([0037], [0046], [0053], (c) NaOH, (d) 1,6-bis(N-cyclohexyl pyrrolidinium)hexane dication ([0026], (e) hydroxide solution containing hydroxide ions ([0068] and [0077]), (f) seed crystal having SSZ-82 framework ([0068] and [0077]), and (g) deionized water ([0068] and [0077]);
heating to 160 0C for 10 days,
recovering solid products from the cooled reactor by vacuum filtration and washing ([0068] and [0077]). As drying, the crystal aluminosilicate zeolite SSZ-82 is obtained.
Regarding claim 2, as discussed above, the process of direct synthesis a crystalline aluminosilicate zeolite SSZ-82 taught by Burton et al. comprises amorphous aluminum oxide including Al(OH)3 as the instant claim ([0038] and [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, the silicon taught by Burton et al. is colloidal silica as the instant claim ([0037] and [0046]).
Regarding claims 4-6, as discussed above, Burton teach hydroxide of 1,6-bis(N-cyclohexyl pyrrolidinium) hexane and NaOH as the instant claims ([0068] and [0077]).
Regarding claim 7, the process taught by Burton et al. comprises 0.90-g fumed silica and0.033-g SSZ-82 seeds ([0074]).It reads on the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 8-9, Burton et al. a reaction mixture having a mole ratios as shown below (claim 12):
As wee above, the YO2 corresponds to the instant claimed SiO2, and WaOb corresponds to the instant claimed Al2O3.
Regarding claim 10, although Burton et al. do not specifically the resulting crystalline aluminosilicate molecular sieve having FAU framework structure as per applicant claim 10, since the combined reference of Burton et al. teach all of the claimed reagents, composition and method of making an aluminosilicate zeolite of SSZ-82, the physical properties of the resulting composition (i.e., FAU framework structure) would necessarily follow as set forth in MPEP 2112.01(II).[1]
Regarding claim 11, the product of SSZ-82 Burton et al. is a pure SSZ-82 according analyzed by XRD pattern. It is expected to have a purity of 100%wt as the instant claim ([0069] and [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, the process taught by Burton et al. is carried out in autoclave reactor at a temperature of 160 0C for 10 days to form crystal SSZ-82 ([0068]).
Burton et al. do not teach applying a pressure for the crystallization in the autoclave pressure reactor. It is considered the reaction would be an autogenous pressure reaction at the temperature of 160 0C as the pressure reactor used for prevent exploration.
Regarding claim 13, Burton et al. teach to remove Structure Directing Agent as the instant claim ([0049]).
Conclusion
YUN . QIAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1732
/YUN QIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738
[1][1] “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).