DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 1, line 16, the phrase “the cascadable spiral pattern” should be changed to -- the non-overlapped, cascadable spiral pattern -- to provide proper and consistent antecedent basis.
In claim 5, line 3, the phrase “the surface” should be changed to -- a surface --.
In claim 6, line 1, the phrase “the one or more grooves” should be changed to -- one or more of the milled grooves -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 9, line 13, the phrase “a mat” should be changed to -- the mat --. In line 15, the phrase “a non-overlapped, cascadable spiral pattern” should be changed to -- the non-overlapped, cascadable spiral pattern --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1, 3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0312801 (Ji et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0077172 (Fukumoto et al.) and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0248462 (Farhadiroushan et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Ji et al. discloses a distributed fiber optic sensing system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-10G, an outdoor localization system (e.g. system as illustrated in Figure 9) comprising a distributed fiber optic sensing system (DFOS) (e.g. DFOS like DAS or DVS; paragraph [0075]) including a length of optical sensor fiber (e.g. field cable with optic fibers; paragraph [0075]); an optical interrogator (e.g. interrogator; paragraph [0028]) in optical communication with the length of optical sensor fiber such that the optical interrogator configured to generate optical pulses from laser light, introduce the pulses into the optical sensor fiber and receive backscattered signals from the optical sensor fiber (e.g. paragraphs [0028]-[0032],[0038]-[0040],[0043]-[0046],[0075]); an analyzer (e.g. intelligent analyzer; claim 1) for analyzing the backscattered signals so received and determining locations along the length of optical sensor fiber experiencing vibrational activity (e.g. paragraphs [0028],[0030],[0031], [0040]-[0042],[0044]-[0049]); at least a portion of the length of the optical sensor fiber is located along a floor surface and positioned underneath a roadway placed on the floor surface (e.g. paragraph [0074]). (See, paragraphs [0023] to [0085]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention are 1) an indoor localization system comprising a mat having a plurality of interlocking puzzle-tile templates where each puzzle-tile template having a series of milled grooves forming a structural template for accommodating the optical sensor fiber where a length of the optical sensor fiber is located along a floor surface and positioned underneath a top layer of the mat such that the length of optical sensor fiber is received within the milled grooves; 2) the length of optical fiber is arranged in a non-overlapped, cascadable spiral pattern wherein the cascadable spiral pattern includes an optical input and an optical output positioned at peripheral edges of the puzzle-tile template of the mat.
For difference 1), Fukumoto et al. discloses a tile carpet mat system comprising, as illustrated in 1-34, an indoor localization system (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 1; paragraphs [0107],[0072]) comprising a mat having a plurality of interlocking puzzle-tile templates CPn (e.g. puzzle pieces; paragraph [0080]; Figures 6,7) where each puzzle-tile template having a series of milled grooves (e.g. the concavity formed within the puzzle piece as observed in Figure 3) forming a structural template for accommodating an optical sensor fiber BUS1,BUS2 (e.g. optical fiber; paragraph [0076]) where a length of the optical sensor fiber is located along a floor surface (e.g. the layer/substrate not numbered underneath CPn in Figure 3 is the floor surface; paragraph [0072]; Figure 3) and positioned underneath a top layer of the mat such that the length of optical sensor fiber is received within the milled grooves (e.g. observed in Figure 3). (See, paragraphs [0069] to [0209]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing an indoor localization system comprising a mat having a plurality of interlocking puzzle-tile templates where each puzzle-tile template having a series of milled grooves forming a structural template for accommodating the optical sensor fiber where a length of the optical sensor fiber is located along a floor surface and positioned underneath a top layer of the mat such that the length of optical sensor fiber is received within the milled grooves as suggested by Fukumoto in lieu of an outdoor localization system underneath a roadway in the system of Ji et al. to have the ability to determine the location and characteristics of a human body when walking on the intelligent grid mat by providing high positioning accuracy, high sensing efficiency, and reducing the cost of optical fiber deployment and to have the ability to quickly assemble and secure the plurality of interlocking puzzle templates when in use and require little storage space when not assemble for use. (See, paragraphs [0022],[0081],[0098] of Fukumoto et al.).
For difference 2), Farhadiroushan et al. discloses a flexible substrate fiber optic sensing mat, as illustrated in Figures 1-35, a distributed sensor system (e.g. system illustrated in Figure 11; paragraph [0067]) comprising a mat 10,50 (e.g. flexible mat-like; paragraphs [0059],[0066]; Figures 1,9); a length of optical fiber 12,14,52,54 (e.g. optical fiber; paragraphs [0059],[0066]) is arranged in a non-overlapped, cascadable spiral pattern (e.g. observed in Figures 1,9; paragraphs [0054],[0059],[0066]) wherein the cascadable spiral pattern includes an optical input (e.g. an end of the fiber optic in Figures 1,9) and an optical output (e.g. the other end of the fiber optic in Figures 1,9) positioned at peripheral edges of the mat (e.g. observed in Figure 1,9). (See, paragraphs [0051] to [0098]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the length of optical fiber is arranged in a non-overlapped, cascadable spiral pattern wherein the cascadable spiral pattern includes an optical input and an optical output positioned at peripheral edges of the mat as suggested by Farhadiroushan et al. to the system of Guan et al. to have the ability to provide a sensor that operates to detect a disturbance at one or many regions along the length of the waveguide regardless of the shape of the waveguide, whether helical winded-shaped, serpentine-shaped or spiral-shaped, without departing from the scope of the invention. (See, paragraphs [0054],[0066] of Farhadiroushan et al.).
With regards to claim 3, Farhadiroushan et al. further discloses the non-overlapped cascadable spiral pattern is a pre-determined pattern selected from a group of pre-determined patterns (e.g. looping pattern or spiral pattern like linear spiral or logarithmic spiral; paragraphs [0054],[0066],[0080]).
With regards to claim 5, Farhadiroushan et al., modifying Fukumoto et al, further discloses the puzzle-tile templates are constructed from EVA foam (e.g. flexible material like rubber which is indicated in WO2008/011058 reference which is incorporated by reference herein in paragraph [0007]). Fukumoto et al. further discloses the milled grooves (e.g. the concavity formed within the puzzle piece as observed in Figure 3) are sized to receive the optical sensor fiber BUS1,BUS2 (e.g. optical fiber; paragraph [0076]) within the surface of the template (e.g. observed in Figure 3).
With regards to claim 6, Fukumoto et al. further discloses the one or more grooves form a pre-determined pattern (e.g. a concavity shape; paragraphs [0077],[0078]; Figure 3).
With regards to claim 7, Fukumoto et al. further discloses the mat is constructed from puzzle tiles CPn (e.g. puzzle pieces; paragraph [0080]; Figures 6,7) with grooves (e.g. the concavity formed within the puzzle piece as observed in Figure 3) for the optical sensor fiber BUS1,BUS2 (e.g. optical fiber; paragraph [0076]).
With regards to claim 8, Fukumoto et al. further discloses a plurality of optical sensor integrated mats CP1,CP2,CP3,CP4 (e.g. puzzle pieces; paragraphs [0070],[0080]; Figures 1,6,7) where each individual one of the optical sensor integrated mats optically connected to one another to form a continuous optical sensing fiber (e.g. Figures 1,8,11; paragraph [0081]).
With regards to claim 9, Ji et al., modified by Fukumoto et al. and Farhadiroushan et al., further discloses an optical switch (e.g. optical switches; paragraph [0043]) in optical communication with the interrogator; a plurality of optical sensor fibers (e.g. deployment of fiber optic cables having optical sensor fibers; paragraphs [0035]-[0036]); the optical switch configured to provide optical communication between the interrogator and the plurality of optical sensor fibers; the optical interrogator is configured to generate optical pulses from laser light, introduce the pulses into the plurality of optical sensor fibers via the optical switch, and receive backscattered signals from the plurality of optical sensor fibers via the optical switch (e.g. paragraphs [0028],[0032], [0038]-[0040],[0043]-[0046],[0075]); the analyzer Is configured to analyze the backscattered signals so received and determining locations along the lengths of the plurality of optical sensor fibers experiencing vibrational activity (e.g. paragraphs [0028],[0030],[0031], [0040]-[0042], [0044]-[0049]); at least a portion of the lengths of the plurality of optical sensor fibers is located along a floor surface and positioned underneath a mat (note: modified by Fukumoto et al.) placed on the floor surface; the length of one or more of the optical fibers is arranged in a non-overlapped cascadable spiral pattern (note: modified by Farhadiroushan et al.).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 and 5-9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855