DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 7/10/2026 has been considered by examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 13-20 are cancelled, and claims 21-28 are added. Claims 1-12 and 21-28 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the specification have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon et al. (US 2011/0076567, hereinafter "Bouillon") in view of Nam et al. (KR 20090113106, referring to examiner provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Nam") and Hahn et al. (WO 2005036689, referring to examiner provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Hahn").
Regarding claim 1, Bouillon teaches a lithium-ion type battery, wherein the lithium-ion type battery has a solid electrolyte (“solid-state” battery) [Abstract, 0005, “Lithium-ion type batteries have the advantage of comprising a solid non-flammable electrolyte”]. Bouillon teaches that the lithium-ion type battery comprises an elementary cell [0027, “It should be noted that, in FIG. 1 and in the following drawings, a single elementary cell forming a lithium-ion type battery is shown”]. Bouillon teaches that the lithium-ion type battery comprises a cathode collector 18 (“cathode current collector”), a cathode 20 on the cathode collector, a battery electrolyte 22 (“solid-state electrolyte”) on the cathode, and an anode 24 on the battery electrolyte [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0029]. Bouillon further teaches an anode collector 28 (“anode current collector”) on the anode [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0036]. Bouillon further teaches an insulating protection layer (“insulation film”) formed of a stack of two layers 30 and 32 [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0039], wherein the insulating protection layer has an opening 34 which exposes the anode collector [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0040]. Bouillon teaches that a metallization 36 (“conductive redistribution layer”) is formed in the opening on the insulating protection layer [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0041]. Bouillon teaches that the lithium-ion type battery also comprises a first contact 38 (“first terminal”) connected to the metallization and a second contact 42 (“second terminal”) connected to the cathode (“first and second terminal”) [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0042, 0043]. Bouillon does not specifically teach that the lithium-ion type battery comprises a plurality of cells arranged in a stack wherein each cell comprises a cathode collector edge, an anode collector edge positioned on a first sidewall of the cell, the first sidewall of each cell being on a surface of the cell opposite the cathode collector edge of the cell. Bouillon also does not specifically teach the metallization extending from the opening to the anode collector edge in the opposite direction from the cathode collector edge, wherein the first contact is electrically connected to the anode collector at the anode collector edge on the first one of the opposite sides of a stack of cells, and wherein the second contact is electrically connected to the cathode or cathode collector at the cathode collector edge on a second one of the opposite sides of a stack of cells.
Nam teaches analogous art of a thin film battery module (“solid-state battery”) comprising a plurality of thin film battery unit cells arranged in a stack [pg. 2, paragraph 1]. Nam teaches that each thin film battery unit cell 100 comprises, in sequential order, a substrate 110, a positive current collector (“cathode current collector/CCC”) 120, a positive active material thin film 130 (“cathode”), a solid electrolyte thin film 140 (“solid electrolyte”), a negative current collector 150 (“anode current collector/ACC”), and a negative active material thin film 160 [Nam Fig. 1, pg. 10, paragraph 1]. Fig. 1 of Nam shows that each thin film battery unit cell comprises a positive electrode current collector edge (“CCC edge”) on a left sidewall of the thin film battery module 1 and a negative electrode current collector edge (“ACC edge”) on a right sidewall (“first sidewall”) of the thin film battery module 1 on a surface of the thin film battery unit cell opposite the negative electrode current collector edge [see annotated Nam Fig. 1 below]. Nam also teaches a protective coating layer 170 (“barrier/insulation film”) on top of each thin film battery unit cell [Nam Fig. 2, pgs. 10-11]. Nam further teaches that each thin film battery unit cell comprises a negative conductive film 220 (“conductive redistribution layer”) formed on the negative electrode current collector and extending to the negative electrode current collector edge in the opposite direction from the positive electrode current collector edge [pg. 11, see annotated Nam Fig. 1 below]. Nam discloses that the thin film battery unit cells are arranged in a stack with the negative electrode current collector edges and negative conductive films aligned along one side of the stack and the positive electrode current collector edges aligned along an opposite side of the stack [pg. 12, see annotated Nam Fig. 1 below]. Nam teaches that a negative terminal connection portion 320 (“first terminal”) is electrically connected to each negative conductive film at the negative electrode current collector edges on the right side of the stack of thin film battery unit cells, and a positive terminal connection portion 310 (“second terminal”) electrically connected to each positive electrode at the positive electrode current collector edges on an opposite side of the stack of thin film battery unit cells [pg. 12, see annotated Nam Fig. 1 below].
Nam teaches that by stacking and connecting in parallel a plurality of thin film battery unit cells, through the connection of the current collectors, the capacity of a thin film battery module is increased [pg. 2 paragraph 1].
1: Nam Fig. 1 (annotated by examiner)
Hahn teaches analogous art of a battery comprising a non-conductive substrate 1, and at least one cathode 4, one anode 6, a separator/electrolyte layer 5, current collector 7, and a first cover layer 16 (“barrier/insulation film”) consisting of an insulating material provided with recesses (“opening/via”) filled with an electroconductive material [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Hahn teaches that the battery may also include a metallization formed on the substrate 1 and disposed between the substrate and the cathode 4, wherein the metallization may serve as a current collector for the cathode [Hahn Fig. 1b, pg. 6, paragraph 4]. Hahn teaches that the batteries may comprise a stack of a plurality of anodes, electrolyte layers, and cathodes with their corresponding current collectors (depicted as white bars without numbering in Figs. 9a-9b) [Hahn Fig. 9b, pg. 13, paragraph 5]. Hahn teaches that this stack is encapsulated by the first cover layer 16, with openings formed in the first cover layer 16 to permit contact with the current collectors [Hahn Fig. 9b, pg. 14, paragraph 2]. Hahn teaches that all openings belonging to the positive battery contact 18 are arranged one above the other on a side of the stack, and all openings belonging to the negative battery contact 19 are arranged one above the other on an opposite side of the stack [Hahn Fig. 9b, pg. 14, paragraph 2]. Hanh discloses that the positive battery contacts and negative battery contacts are electrically connected via structured metal layers 11 [Hahn Fig. 9b, pg. 14, paragraph 3]. Fig. 9b of Hahn shows that the positive battery contacts 18 extend in one direction toward a positive current collector edge and the negative battery contacts 19 extend in an opposite direction toward a negative current collector edge.
Hahn teaches that very precise tolerances should be maintained in the direction of the superimposed current collector foils when forming the batteries, and that when mounting previously separated batteries onto the substrate, very high adjustment accuracy must be maintained [pg. 14, paragraph 4]. Hahn teaches that in the disclosed battery described above, since all batteries can be connected on the same side, the tolerance only needs to be maintained in one direction [pg. 14, paragraph 4].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium-ion type battery taught by Bouillon to include a plurality of cells arranged in a stack, each comprising positive electrode current collector edges all aligned with each other and connected to a positive terminal connection portion on one side of the stack and negative electrode current collector edges all aligned with each other and connected to a negative terminal connection portion on a side of the stack opposite to the positive electrode current collector edge as taught by Nam, in order to increase the capacity of the lithium-ion type battery.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the metallization, or conductive redistribution layer, taught by Bouillon extend in a direction opposite to the positive electrode current collector edge as taught by Hahn, in order to make formation of the lithium-ion type battery easier by only requiring a strict tolerance to be maintained in one direction.
Further regarding claim 2, Bouillon teaches that the cathode collector may comprise titanium, tungsten, molybdenum, tantalum, platinum, or an alloy of these materials, which are metals (“metal foil, sheet or film”) [0018, “the cathode collector layer is made of titanium, tungsten, molybdenum, tantalum, platinum, or of an alloy or a stack of these materials”].
Further regarding claim 4, Bouillon teaches that the cathode may comprise cobalt lithium oxide, or LiCoO2 (“lithium metal oxide”) [0018].
Further regarding claim 5, Bouillon teaches that the electrolyte may comprise a lithium phosphorus oxynitride (LiPON) [0018].
Further regarding claim 6, Bouillon teaches that the anode collector may comprise copper (“conductive metal”) [0018].
Further regarding claim 8, Bouillon teaches that the metallization may comprise aluminum (“air- and/or water-stable metal”) [0041, “Metallization 36 may be formed of a stack of aluminum and tantalum, of aluminum and titanium, or yet of aluminum and tantalum nitride”]. Aluminum may constitute the air- and/or water-stable metal, being the same material taught in the instant specification [see 0021 of the filed specification]. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present [see MPEP 2112.01(II)].
Further regarding claim 9, Bouillon teaches that the metallization completely fills the opening in the insulating protection layer [Bouillon Fig. 7].
Further regarding claim 21, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1.
As described above, Nam teaches that a negative terminal connection portion 320 (“first terminal”) is electrically connected to each negative conductive film at the negative electrode current collector edges on the right side of the stack of thin film battery unit cells, and a positive terminal connection portion 310 (“second terminal”) electrically connected to each positive electrode at the positive electrode current collector edges on an opposite side of the stack of thin film battery unit cells [pg. 12, see annotated Nam Fig. 1 above]. Nam teaches that the plurality of cells are connected in parallel [pg. 2, pg. 4].
Nam teaches that by stacking and connecting in parallel a plurality of thin film battery unit cells, through the connection of the current collectors, the capacity of a thin film battery module is increased [pg. 2 paragraph 1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium-ion type battery taught by modified Bouillon to connect the plurality of cells in parallel between the negative terminal connection portion and the positive terminal connection portion as taught by Nam, in order to increase the capacity of the lithium-ion type battery.
Further regarding claim 22, Bouillon teaches that the cathode may comprise cobalt lithium oxide, or LiCoO2 [0018].
Further regarding claim 23, Bouillon teaches that the anode collector may comprise copper [0018].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2021/0313579, hereinafter "Takahashi").
Regarding claim 3, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 2, as described in the rejection of instant claim 2. Bouillon is silent regarding the cathode collector comprising first and second barriers on opposite major surfaces of the metal foil having a thickness effective to prevent migration of atoms or ions from the metal foil into overlaying layers.
Takahashi teaches analogous art of a positive electrode (“cathode”) for a secondary battery comprising a collector (“cathode current collector”) and a protective layer (“barrier”) formed on at least one surface of the collector [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Takahashi teaches that the protective layer is preferably formed on both sides (“opposite major surfaces”) of the positive electrode current collector [0019]. Takahashi teaches that the protective layer may have a thickness of 1 µm to 5 µm [0026].
Takahashi teaches that the protective layer may suppress a redox reaction related to the current collector, therefore suppressing heat generation when an internal short-circuit occurs [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium-ion type battery taught by Bouillon to include a protective layer on the cathode collector as taught by Takahashi, in order to prevent redox reactions and heat generation in the cathode collector.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keates et al. (US 2017/0271626, hereinafter "Keates").
Regarding claim 7, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach the insulating protection layer comprising a polyolefin.
Keates teaches analogous art of an apparatus comprising a cathode current collector, anode current collector, and active material layers coupled to the current collectors [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon], as well as a solid electrolyte [0023]. Keates further teaches a layer of non-conducting material (“barrier and/or insulation film”) coated on the cathode current collector and anode current collector, the non-conducting material comprising polypropylene, which is a polyolefin [0047]. Keates teaches that the non-conducting material is coated in such a way that portions of the anode and cathode current collector are exposed [0047].
Both the non-conducting material taught by Keates and the insulating protection layer taught by Bouillon have the effect of keeping a current collector insulated while still allowing for electrical connection to a terminal or contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the material in the insulating protection layer taught by modified Bouillon with the polypropylene taught by Keates to yield the predictable result of insulating the anode current collector [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Claims 10, 11, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20130022342, referring to previously-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 10, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach the contacts, or terminals, comprising a conductive epoxy.
Kim teaches analogous art of a thin-film battery comprising a battery structure comprising a positive current collector (“cathode current collector”), a positive electrode (“cathode”) an electrolyte layer (“solid-state electrolyte”), a negative current collector (“anode current collector”), a negative electrode, and a protective film covering the battery structure and exposing a portion of the current collectors (“barrier and/or insulation film”) [pg. 9, paragraph 1]. Kim also teaches a positive terminal reinforcement pattern and a negative terminal reinforcement pattern on the protective film and connected to the positive current collector and negative current collector respectively through the exposed portion [pg. 9, paragraph 1]. Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns comprise a conductive metal in an epoxy resin (“conductive epoxy”) [pg. 9, paragraph 2].
Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns are external connections [pg. 7, paragraph 1, “the terminal portion exposed to the outside of the thin-film battery”]. Bouillon teaches that the contacts, or terminals, are external connections [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0042-0043]. Bouillon also teaches that the contacts may be formed by any known method [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the contacts taught by modified Bouillon with the conductive metal epoxy taught by Kim to yield the predictable result of an external connection on the battery [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 11, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach the contacts, or terminals, comprising a noble metal.
Kim teaches analogous art of a thin-film battery comprising a battery structure comprising a positive current collector (“cathode current collector”), a positive electrode (“cathode”) an electrolyte layer (“solid-state electrolyte”), a negative current collector (“anode current collector”), a negative electrode, and a protective film covering the battery structure and exposing a portion of the current collectors (“barrier and/or insulation film”) [pg. 9, paragraph 1]. Kim also teaches a positive terminal reinforcement pattern and a negative terminal reinforcement pattern on the protective film and connected to the positive current collector and negative current collector respectively through the exposed portion [pg. 9, paragraph 1]. Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns may comprise a noble metal such as Au, Pt, or Cu [pg. 9, paragraph 2].
Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns are external connections [pg. 7, paragraph 1, “the terminal portion exposed to the outside of the thin-film battery”]. Bouillon teaches that the contacts, or terminals, are external connections [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0042-0043]. Bouillon also teaches that the contacts may be formed by any known method [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the contacts taught by modified Bouillon with the noble metal taught by Kim to yield the predictable result of an external connection on the battery [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Regarding claim 28, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 10, as described in the rejection of instant claim 10.
As described above, Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns comprise a conductive metal in an epoxy resin (“conductive epoxy”) [pg. 9, paragraph 2]. Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns may also comprise a noble metal such as Ag or Ni in the epoxy resin (“Ag-filled conductive epoxy paste/Ni- filled conductive epoxy paste”) [pg. 9, paragraph 2].
Kim teaches that the positive and negative terminal reinforcement patterns are external connections [pg. 7, paragraph 1, “the terminal portion exposed to the outside of the thin-film battery”]. Bouillon teaches that the contacts, or terminals, are external connections [Bouillon Fig. 7, 0042-0043]. Bouillon also teaches that the contacts may be formed by any known method [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the contacts taught by modified Bouillon with the conductive metal epoxy filled with Ag or Ni taught by Kim to yield the predictable result of an external connection on the battery [see MPEP 2143(I)(B)].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2024/0047792, hereinafter "Ishikawa").
Regarding claim 12, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach a dummy cell.
Ishikawa teaches analogous art of a solid-state battery comprising a substrate and a solid-state battery on the substrate [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Ishikawa teaches that the solid-state battery comprises a plurality of stacked positive electrode layers, negative electrode layers, and solid electrolyte layers [Ishikawa Fig. 1, 0039]. Ishikawa further teaches that the substrate may comprise a dummy substrate electrode layer (“dummy cell”) on a main surface opposite to the surface facing the solid-state battery [0110].
Ishikawa teaches that the dummy substrate electrode layer is a metal layer that prevents water vapor from infiltrating the solid-state battery [0110]. While Fig. 9 of Ishikawa shows the substrate and dummy substrate electrode layer on the bottom of the solid-state battery stack, when the battery is rotated 180°, the dummy substrate electrode layer would be disposed on the uppermost surface of the stack [Bouillon Fig. 9].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by modified Bouillon to include a dummy substrate electrode layer on the uppermost surface of a stack of the plurality of cells as taught by Ishikawa, in order to prevent water vapor from infiltrating the solid-state battery.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasuda et al. (WO 2020070932, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Yasuda").
Regarding claim 24, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach the anode collector having a thickness of 0.1 µm to 5 µm.
Yasuda teaches analogous art of a thin-film stacked lithium-ion secondary battery equipped with an inorganic solid electrolyte [0007]. Yasuda teaches that the lithium-ion secondary battery comprises a positive electrode layer, a solid electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode current collector layer [0011]. Yasuda teaches that the thickness of the negative electrode current collector layer can be 5 nm or more and 50 μm or less [0043], which encompasses the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) [see MPEP 2144.05(I)].
Yasuda teaches that when the thickness of the negative electrode current collector layer is less than 5 nm, corrosion resistance and current collection function will decrease, and if the thickness of the negative electrode current collector layer exceeds 50 μm, the internal resistance of the battery increases, which is disadvantageous for high-speed charging and discharging [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anode collector taught by modified Bouillon to have a thickness within the range disclosed by Yasuda, in order to avoid decreasing its corrosion resistance and current collection function and to avoid increasing the internal resistance of the battery.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Speichermann et al. (DE 102020127786, referring to examiner provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Speichermann").
Regarding claim 25, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach the anode collector having length and width dimensions that are 50% to 90% of corresponding length and width dimensions of the cell.
Speichermann teaches analogous art of an electrode for a solid state battery cell [0001]. Speichermann teaches that the electrode comprises an active layer including active material and a separate current collector [0016, 0018]. Speichermann teaches that the electrode may be an anode [0021]. Speichermann discloses that the current collector has a smaller area than the area occupied by the active material, which would mean that the current collector has a smaller area than the cell [0018].
Speichermann teaches that when the current collector has a smaller area than the area occupied by the active material, more expensive materials can be used for the current collector, which improves the conductor resistance of the current collector or allows the material thickness to be further reduced for the same conductor resistance [0020], thus making the area of the current collector a result effective variable. Since the area of the current collector is determined by its length and width dimensions, the length and width dimensions of the current collector are also result effective variables.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover an optimum range of the length and width dimensions of the anode collector as compared to the length and width dimensions of the cell of modified Bouillon through routine experimentation in order to improve the conductor resistance of the current collector as taught by Speichermann. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) [see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)].
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106) and Hahn (WO 2005036689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsuki et al. (US 2021/0359286, hereinafter "Matsuki").
Regarding claim 26, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1, as described in the rejection of instant claim 1. Bouillon does not specifically teach an adhesive or epoxy provided between adjacent cells.
Matsuki teaches analogous art of a solid-state battery in which single cell bodies as a solid-state thin film battery are stacked [Abstract]. Matsuki teaches that an adhesive layer is provided between a plurality of stacked single cell bodies, and that the adhesive layer covers each single cell [Abstract, 0014].
Matsuki teaches that the adhesive layer may decrease a local stress caused to the single cell at the time of bonding and stacking [0015]. Matsuki also teaches that the adhesive layer may seal the solid electrolyte layer from the outside air and provide insulation between positive and negative electrodes of each single cell [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid-state battery taught by modified Bouillon to include an adhesive layer between adjacent cells in the stack of the plurality of cells as taught by Matsuki, in order to decrease a local stress caused to the single cell at the time of bonding and stacking, seal the solid electrolyte layer from the outside air, and provide insulation between positive and negative electrodes of each single cell.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bouillon (US 2011/0076567) in view of Nam (KR 20090113106), Hahn (WO 2005036689), and Ishikawa (US 20240047792) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Yageta et al. (US 2003/0049527, hereinafter "Yageta").
Regarding claim 27, modified Bouillon teaches the solid-state battery of claim 12, as described in the rejection of instant claim 12.
As described previously, Ishikawa teaches a dummy substrate electrode layer (“dummy cell”) on a main surface opposite to the surface facing the solid-state battery [0110]. Ishikawa teaches that the dummy substrate electrode layer is a metal layer [0110].
Ishikawa discloses that the dummy substrate electrode layer prevents water vapor from infiltrating the solid-state battery [0110]. While Fig. 9 of Ishikawa shows the substrate and dummy substrate electrode layer on the bottom of the solid-state battery stack, when the battery is rotated 180°, the dummy substrate electrode layer would be disposed on the uppermost surface of the stack [Bouillon Fig. 9].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery taught by modified Bouillon to include a dummy substrate electrode layer on the uppermost surface of a stack of the plurality of cells as taught by Ishikawa, in order to prevent water vapor from infiltrating the solid-state battery.
Ishikawa is silent regarding the dummy substrate electrode layer being encapsulated in an encapsulant.
Yageta teaches analogous art of a battery comprising an electrolyte cell 204, an upper component part 201C disposed on a top surface of the electrolyte cell, and a lower component part 202C [0169, 0173]. Yageta teaches that the upper component part 201C (dummy cell) has a metal layer 212 and may be coated with a gas barrier resin 232 (“encapsulant”) [0173].
Yageta teaches that the disclosed battery comprising the upper component part 201C is durable and highly reliable [0175].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the solid-state battery taught by modified Bouillon to include a gas barrier resin encapsulating the metal of layer of the dummy substrate electrode layer, as taught by Yageta, in order to make the solid-state battery durable and highly reliable.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of instant claim 1 over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/468,606 in view of Kubota et al. (US 2014/0370365) previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/28/2026 is withdrawn due to the cancellation of claim 9 of ‘606.
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection of instant claims 1-8 and 9-12 over claims 1-6 and 8-12 of copending Application No. 18/319,532 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/28/2026 is withdrawn due to the terminal disclaimer filed 7/10/2026.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 7/10/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application No. 18/319,532 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 21-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729