DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/20/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 8/20/2025. Claims 1-2 and 6-8 have been rejected as follows. Claims 3-5 and 9-14 are objected to.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitations recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a first adhesive film” and “means of a second adhesive film” in claims 8 and 10.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dodworth (US 2021/0023830).
Regarding claim 1, Dodworth discloses a body part (300, Fig. 3) for a road vehicle (body panels, [0091], lines 4-5) comprising an outer portion (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3) configured to be disposed outwardly of a road vehicle (para. 0074, lines 1-8) and defining a first side of the body part; an inner portion (140; Fig. 3) configured to be disposed, with respect to the outer portion (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3), towards a passenger compartment of the road vehicle, and defining a second side of the body part; wherein the outer portion (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3) comprises one or more first composite material layers (see annotated Fig. 3 below); and wherein the inner portion (140; Fig. 3) comprises at least one or more second composite material layers (see annotated Fig. 3 below); the body part further comprising an intermediate portion (120; Fig. 3) arranged between the inner portion (140; Fig. 3) and the outer portion (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3); wherein the intermediate portion further comprises a layer (120; Fig. 3) of sound- absorbing material (para. [0066]); and wherein the inner portion (140; Fig. 3), the intermediate portion (120; Fig. 3) and the outer portion (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3) are integrally coupled together forming a single multilayer body (300; Fig. 3); wherein the outer portion comprises an odd number (three) (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3) of first composite material layers (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3); wherein the outer portion comprises at least two first composite material layers (110, 130; Fig. 3) having at least a first grammage (layer 110 has a grammage of 80 gsm; para. [0059], and layer 130 has a grammage in the range of 80-300 gsm (para. [0102])), therefore they can both have a grammage of 80 gsm or a “first grammage”) and at least one first composite material layers (310; Fig. 3) having a second grammage (80 gsm para. [0076]), which are arranged alternately (as shown in Fig. 3).
Note that the value of the first grammage can be the same as the value of the second grammage as evidenced by the following from the last two lines of page 13 of the specification of applicant’s invention to the first line of page 14 thereof.
Regarding claim 2, Dodworth further discloses wherein the outer portion (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3) comprises at least three first composite material layers (see annotated Fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 6, Dodworth further discloses wherein the sound-absorbing material (120; Fig. 3) is a closed cell foam (para. [0063]).
Regarding claim 7, Dodworth discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 6 above, and further discloses wherein the layer of sound-absorbing material (120; Fig. 3) has a thickness of 8 mm or less (para. [0067], lines 9-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dodworth (US 2021/0023830) in view of Myoung et al (KR 2020 0030772 A).
Regarding claim 8, Dodworth discloses all of the claimed limitations of the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. However, Dodworth does not expressly disclose wherein the intermediate portion and the inner portion are coupled to each other by means of a first adhesive film disposed therebetween; and wherein the intermediate portion and the outer portion are coupled to each other by means of a second adhesive film disposed therebetween.
Myoung et al teaches that it is known to use adhesive layers for coupling skin layers and a foam core layer in the analogous field of the claimed invention of vehicle composite panels. Referring to FIG. 1, the sandwich structure (100) includes a first skin layer (10), a second skin layer (20), and a core layer (30). The sandwich structure (100) may further include an adhesive. An adhesive is present between (disposed therebetween) the first skin layer (10) and the core layer (30) and between the second skin layer (20) and the core layer (30), thereby providing a sandwich structure during thermal bonding (100) and improve the bonding strength between each layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the single multilayer body of Dodworth by incorporating the type of adhesive coupling as taught by Myoung et al. Doing so would provide a sandwich structure during thermal bonding and improve the bonding strength between each layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 3 is the inclusion of the limitations “wherein the first grammage is lower than the second grammage, wherein the outermost layer has the first grammage”. Claim 4 contains allowable subject matter in that the limitations of claim 4 also include the relationship wherein the first grammage is lower than the second grammage and the outermost layer has the first grammage in the recitation “the first grammage is from 200 g/m2 to 300 g/m2 and the second grammage is from 300 g/m2 to 500 g/m2.” The closest prior art of Dodworth does not disclose a layered arrangement with this relationship. Applicant’s first grammage is smaller than the second grammage so that it is possible to obtain, by means of the second grammage, structural performances that would not be possible with the first grammage, whereas the first grammage meets the aesthetic requirements set for these composite materials. Therefore, advantageously, the outer layers of the outer portion have the first grammage.
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 5 is the limitation of the inner portion being multilayered by the inclusion of “wherein the inner portion comprises at least two second composite material layers having a grammage of from 200 g/m2 to 300 g/m2 .” For symmetry and aesthetic related reasons, the inner portion comprises at least two second composite material layers. The closest prior art of Dodworth does not disclose a multilayered inner portion (140 thermoset layer, 410 thermoplastic layer; Fig. 4) in combination with the limitations of claim 1 requiring the outer portion comprising an odd number (three) (130, 310, 110; Fig. 3) of first composite material layers; wherein the outer portion comprises at least two first composite material layers having at least a first grammage and at least one first composite material layers having a second grammage, which are arranged alternately. The first grammage has an aesthetic and aerodynamic function and is visible from outside the vehicle; whereas the second grammage has a structural, performance-related function and faces the inside of the passenger compartment to stiffen and improve the rigidity of the roof panel. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record.
The primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter in claim 9 is the inclusion of the method limitations, in particular, of “a second forming phase, following the coupling phase, during which the single multilayer body is formed by placing in an autoclave the previously coupled outer portion, the intermediate portion and the inner portion.” The combination of high temperature and high pressure of autoclave forming or curing of the multilayer body improves structural integrity and surface quality of the body part while allowing a lighter weight. The closest prior art of Dodworth does not disclose an autoclave but rather cures at low pressure in a heated mold, kiln, or oven. Claims 10-14 contain allowable subject matter by virtue of dependency from claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-26, filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. On pages 8-9 of Applicant’s response, with respect to claim 1, applicant argues that the prior art of Zhao discloses a multilayer panel comprising "nonwoven film, GMT enhancement layer, nonwoven film, PU foam, nonwoven film, GMT enhancement layer, nonwoven film" in which there is only a single reinforcing composite ply (the "GMT enhancement layer") on each face. Zhao defines the GMT enhancement layer as the fiber-reinforced composite ("thermoplastic resin fiber and reinforcing fiber), while the nonwoven films are bonding/skin layers. It is agreed that Zhao lacks an outer portion comprising three or more composite plies as Zhao's nonwoven films are distinguishable from the fiber-reinforced GMT composite material layers for creating the multilayer panel. Claims 2-14 depend from the subject matter of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made as set forth above.
On page 14 of Applicant’s response, with respect to claim 8, applicant argues that Myoung does not disclose the specific configuration of two discrete adhesive films disposed therebetween the intermediate and inner/outer portions as recited in claim 8. Instead, Myoung's preferred manufacturing approach is to avoid adhesives by heat bonding. Regarding applicant’s arguments, claim 8 does not recite two discrete adhesive films nor does the claim preclude the adhesive from heat bonding. Broadly interpreted, Myoung's adhesive is a “film” (coating) present between the first skin layer (10) and the core layer (30) and between the second skin layer (20) and the core layer (30). It is presumed that the adhesive layers are “disposed therebetween” the intermediate (30) and inner/outer portions (10, 20) since the adhesives serve the purpose of coupling the intermediate and inner/outer portions together to improve the bonding strength between each layer. Applicant’s specification has not disclosed that the adhesive film has any criticality or purpose other than coupling. Myoung's adhesive is a functionally equivalent way to connect two structural elements.
Conclusion
/D.L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612