DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action in response to the communication filed on 05/18/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/18/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objections to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0045], Line 12 references FIGS, 3A-3C when there is no Figure 3C provided in the Application contents.
Paragraph [0048], Line 4 references FIG. 3C when there is no Figure 3C provided in the Application contents.
Appropriate correction in required.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing comprising the subject matter of Figure 3C under 37 CFR 1.81(c) or cancel references to said drawing in the specification. No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer et al. (US 2016/0193961 A1, hereinafter Fischer)
Claim 1 Discloses:
“A computer-implemented method for automatically providing real-time navigation directions using one or more vehicle components, comprising:”
Fischer teaches, (Abstract, Line 1) “A vehicle computing system,” wherein, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present disclosure relates to an illuminable display for use with a vehicle, in particular an illuminable display that provides vehicle operation information for an occupant of the vehicle,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0004]) “The system includes a navigation system, a plurality of sensors, and at least one controller configured to activate the light based on the navigation system and sensors.”
Regarding the navigation system, Fischer teaches that, (Paragraph [0004], Lines 6-10) “The at least one controller may be configured to receive vehicle drive data including at least one of navigation information having turn by turn directions via the navigation system, and object detection information via the plurality of sensors.”
“in response to receiving and identifying navigation direction data from a navigation service provider,”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0064], Lines 1-2) “In operation 506, the method 500 may receive navigation data including an upcoming turn or a merge.”
“converting the navigation direction data into different electrical communications to different vehicle components that may include one or more combinations of a light indicator component, a sound indicator component, and a vibration indicator component associated with a vehicle;”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 1-3) “The embodiments of the present disclosure generally provide for a plurality of circuits or other electrical devices,” and particularly, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
“and automatically presenting the real-time navigation directions using the different vehicle components by automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the one or more combinations of the light indicator component, the sound indicator component, and the vibration indicator component.”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-12) “A vehicle infotainment system may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker. The amount of information being communicated to the driver may be improved with the use of a light notification system. The light notification system may be implemented to notify a driver of an object in a blind spot, provide navigation directions.”
Claim 2 Discloses:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the light indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a brightness of a light emitting device associated with the light indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn, wherein automatically corelating the brightness with the distance further comprises increasing the brightness of the light emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
Claim 8 Discloses:
“A computer system for automatically providing real-time navigation directions using one or more vehicle components,”
Fischer teaches, (Abstract, Line 1) “A vehicle computing system,” wherein, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present disclosure relates to an illuminable display for use with a vehicle, in particular an illuminable display that provides vehicle operation information for an occupant of the vehicle,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0004]) “The system includes a navigation system, a plurality of sensors, and at least one controller configured to activate the light based on the navigation system and sensors.”
“comprising: one or more processors,”
Fischer teaches that, (Paragraph [0020], Lines 1-2) “PROCESSOR SET 110 includes one, or more, computer processors.”
“one or more computer-readable memories, one or more computer-readable tangible storage devices, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more storage devices for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories,”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 9-17) “These computer readable program instructions are stored in various types of computer readable storage media, such as cache 121 and the other storage media discussed below. The program instructions, and associated data, are accessed by processor set 110 to control and direct performance of the inventive methods. In computing environment 100, at least some of the instructions for performing the inventive methods may be stored in persistent storage 113.”
“wherein the computer system is capable of performing a method comprising: in response to receiving and identifying navigation direction data from a navigation service provider,”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-3) “the cloud services 206 are external data sources that provide information, such as real-time information, to the autonomous vehicle 210,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 10-11) “weather APIs offer up-to-date forecasts and conditions,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 17-19) “traffic data services offer real-time road conditions and alternative routes, helping the vehicle navigate efficiently and keep the passenger informed.”
“converting the navigation direction data into different electrical communications to different vehicle components that may include one or more combinations of a light indicator component, a sound indicator component, and a vibration indicator component associated with a vehicle;”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 1-3) “The embodiments of the present disclosure generally provide for a plurality of circuits or other electrical devices,” and particularly, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
“and automatically presenting the real-time navigation directions using the different vehicle components by automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the one or more combinations of the light indicator component, the sound indicator component, and the vibration indicator component.”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-12) “A vehicle infotainment system may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker. The amount of information being communicated to the driver may be improved with the use of a light notification system. The light notification system may be implemented to notify a driver of an object in a blind spot, provide navigation directions.”
Claim 9 Discloses:
“The computer system of claim 8, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the light indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a brightness of a light emitting device associated with the light indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn, wherein automatically corelating the brightness with the distance further comprises increasing the brightness of the light emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
Claim 15 Discloses:
“A computer program product for automatically providing real-time navigation directions using one or more vehicle components, comprising:”
Fischer teaches, (Abstract, Line 1) “A vehicle computing system,” wherein, (Paragraph [0001]) “The present disclosure relates to an illuminable display for use with a vehicle, in particular an illuminable display that provides vehicle operation information for an occupant of the vehicle,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0004]) “The system includes a navigation system, a plurality of sensors, and at least one controller configured to activate the light based on the navigation system and sensors.”
“one or more tangible computer-readable storage devices and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more tangible computer-readable storage devices, the program instructions executable by a processor,”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0021], Lines 9-17) “These computer readable program instructions are stored in various types of computer readable storage media, such as cache 121 and the other storage media discussed below. The program instructions, and associated data, are accessed by processor set 110 to control and direct performance of the inventive methods. In computing environment 100, at least some of the instructions for performing the inventive methods may be stored in persistent storage 113.”
“the program instructions comprising: in response to receiving and identifying navigation direction data from a navigation service provider,”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 1-3) “the cloud services 206 are external data sources that provide information, such as real-time information, to the autonomous vehicle 210,” wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 10-11) “weather APIs offer up-to-date forecasts and conditions,” and further wherein, (Paragraph [0036], Lines 17-19) “traffic data services offer real-time road conditions and alternative routes, helping the vehicle navigate efficiently and keep the passenger informed.”
“converting the navigation direction data into different electrical communications to different vehicle components that may include one or more combinations of a light indicator component, a sound indicator component, and a vibration indicator component associated with a vehicle;”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0015], Lines 1-3) “The embodiments of the present disclosure generally provide for a plurality of circuits or other electrical devices,” and particularly, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
“and automatically presenting the real-time navigation directions using the different vehicle components by automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the one or more combinations of the light indicator component, the sound indicator component, and the vibration indicator component.”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-12) “A vehicle infotainment system may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker. The amount of information being communicated to the driver may be improved with the use of a light notification system. The light notification system may be implemented to notify a driver of an object in a blind spot, provide navigation directions.”
Claim 16 Discloses:
“The computer program product of claim 15, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the light indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a brightness of a light emitting device associated with the light indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn, wherein automatically corelating the brightness with the distance further comprises increasing the brightness of the light emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Fischer teaches, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6, 10-11, 13, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher in view of Szczerba et al. (US 2017/0123503 A1, hereinafter Szczerba)
Despite being directed to, (Abstract, Lines 1-4) “A transportation vehicle system, for providing feedback to a user-worn wearable device, including a hardware-based processing unit and a hardware-based computer-readable storage device,” Szczerba is relevant to the Applicant’s disclosure due its teachings regarding outputting audio and haptic feedback, which is derived from navigation data, towards a user. Additionally, Szczerba describes that, (Paragraph [0187]) “The present technology can be used with any of a wide variety of vehicle system, such as information, infotainment, communication, navigation, safety, or other.”
Claim 3 Discloses:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the sound indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a volume and a number of sounds for a sound emitting device associated with the sound indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn,”
Fischer does not teach the preceding sound indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “smart earrings or smart earbuds, whether part of eyeglasses,” (Paragraph [0014]) “in connection with navigation operations, provide sound, such as gentle beeps, at a low tempo and/or low volume when a right turn is required soon, and sound at a higher tempo and/or higher volume as the turn approaches.”
“wherein automatically corelating the volume and the number of sounds with the distance further comprises increasing the volume and the number of sounds of the sound emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Szczerba teaches, (Paragraph [0104]) “The signal is in some implementations configured for processing by a smart hearing device, such as smart earbuds, whether part of sunglasses—again, structure like that of FIG. 7, only by way of example—or smart earrings, configured to, responsive to the signal, provide sound—gentle beeps, for instance—at a lowest frequency and/or amplitude when a right turn is required soon, and sound at one or more higher frequencies and/or amplitudes as the turn approaches.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a sound indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 4 Discloses:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the vibration indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a vibration intensity and a number of vibrations for a vibration emitting device associated with the vibration indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn,”
Fischer does not teach the preceding vibration indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0011]) “As shown, the vehicle may determine that the user should be advised of something having a right or left-sided focus. In some embodiments, the output to the user is handed, or provided at purposeful spatial context, such as by providing a vibration or tone to a right template portion of eyeglasses if the hazard or situation—e.g., direction of needed turn per navigation—being advised of is toward the right of the user.”
“wherein automatically corelating the vibration intensity and the number of vibrations with the distance further comprises increasing the vibration intensity and the number of vibrations of the vibration emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Szczerba teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “Smart sunglass, such as those shown in FIG. 7, can be configured to, for example, vibrate on a right side at a low frequency and/or low amplitude when a right turn is required soon according to a navigation system operating in the sunglasses or vehicle, and vibrate at a higher frequency and/or amplitude as the turn approaches. With or without glasses, a smart wearable head device can include one or two ear speakers (e.g., earbuds or earrings), as shown in FIG. 7.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 6 Discloses:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the light indicator component comprises a first light emitting device corresponding to a left turn associated with the navigation direction data and a second light emitting device corresponding to a right turn associated with the navigation direction data;”
Figure 3 of Fischer teaches light indicator components left side set 110b and right light side set 110d, and that, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
“wherein the sound indicator component comprises a first sound emitting device corresponding to the left turn and a second sound emitting device corresponding to the right turn; and wherein the vibration indicator component comprises a first vibration mechanism corresponding to the left turn and a second vibration mechanism corresponding to the right turn.”
Examiner Note: The preceding “wherein” contingent clause limitations directed to the sound indicator component and vibration indicator component have been interpreted as claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed. As MPEP 2111.04(II) reads, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” Due to the vehicle components originally being claimed as part of a method claim as, (Claim 1, Lines 5-7) “different vehicles may include one or more combinations of a light indicator component, a sound indicator component, and a vibration indicator component,” all wherein clauses do not to be performed because not all conditions of having a light indicator component, a sound indicator component, and a vibration indicator component need to be met. Therefore, the preceding limitations are not given patentable weight.
Fischer does not teach the preceding sound indicator component and vibration indicator component.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0011]) “As shown, the vehicle may determine that the user should be advised of something having a right or left-sided focus. In some embodiments, the output to the user is handed, or provided at purposeful spatial context, such as by providing a vibration or tone to a right template portion of eyeglasses if the hazard or situation—e.g., direction of needed turn per navigation—being advised of is toward the right of the user.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration and/or sound indicating an upcoming left or right turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 10 Discloses:
“The computer system of claim 8, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the sound indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a volume and a number of sounds for a sound emitting device associated with the sound indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn,”
Fischer does not teach the preceding sound indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “smart earrings or smart earbuds, whether part of eyeglasses,” (Paragraph [0014]) “in connection with navigation operations, provide sound, such as gentle beeps, at a low tempo and/or low volume when a right turn is required soon, and sound at a higher tempo and/or higher volume as the turn approaches.”
“wherein automatically corelating the volume and the number of sounds with the distance further comprises increasing the volume and the number of sounds of the sound emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Szczerba teaches, (Paragraph [0104]) “The signal is in some implementations configured for processing by a smart hearing device, such as smart earbuds, whether part of sunglasses—again, structure like that of FIG. 7, only by way of example—or smart earrings, configured to, responsive to the signal, provide sound—gentle beeps, for instance—at a lowest frequency and/or amplitude when a right turn is required soon, and sound at one or more higher frequencies and/or amplitudes as the turn approaches.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a sound indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 11 Discloses:
“The computer system of claim 8, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the vibration indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a vibration intensity and a number of vibrations for a vibration emitting device associated with the vibration indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn,”
Fischer does not teach the preceding vibration indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0011]) “As shown, the vehicle may determine that the user should be advised of something having a right or left-sided focus. In some embodiments, the output to the user is handed, or provided at purposeful spatial context, such as by providing a vibration or tone to a right template portion of eyeglasses if the hazard or situation—e.g., direction of needed turn per navigation—being advised of is toward the right of the user.”
“wherein automatically corelating the vibration intensity and the number of vibrations with the distance further comprises increasing the vibration intensity and the number of vibrations of the vibration emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Szczerba teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “Smart sunglass, such as those shown in FIG. 7, can be configured to, for example, vibrate on a right side at a low frequency and/or low amplitude when a right turn is required soon according to a navigation system operating in the sunglasses or vehicle, and vibrate at a higher frequency and/or amplitude as the turn approaches. With or without glasses, a smart wearable head device can include one or two ear speakers (e.g., earbuds or earrings), as shown in FIG. 7.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 13 Discloses:
“The computer system of claim 8, further comprising: wherein the light indicator component comprises a first light emitting device corresponding to a left turn associated with the navigation direction data and a second light emitting device corresponding to a right turn associated with the navigation direction data;”
Figure 3 of Fischer teaches light indicator components left side set 110b and right light side set 110d, and that, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
“wherein the sound indicator component comprises a first sound emitting device corresponding to the left turn and a second sound emitting device corresponding to the right turn; and wherein the vibration indicator component comprises a first vibration mechanism corresponding to the left turn and a second vibration mechanism corresponding to the right turn.”
Fischer does not teach the preceding sound indicator component and vibration indicator component.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0011]) “As shown, the vehicle may determine that the user should be advised of something having a right or left-sided focus. In some embodiments, the output to the user is handed, or provided at purposeful spatial context, such as by providing a vibration or tone to a right template portion of eyeglasses if the hazard or situation—e.g., direction of needed turn per navigation—being advised of is toward the right of the user.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration and/or sound indicating an upcoming left or right turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 17 Discloses:
“The computer program product of claim 15, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the sound indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a volume and a number of sounds for a sound emitting device associated with the sound indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn,”
Fischer does not teach the preceding sound indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0013]) “smart earrings or smart earbuds, whether part of eyeglasses,” (Paragraph [0014]) “in connection with navigation operations, provide sound, such as gentle beeps, at a low tempo and/or low volume when a right turn is required soon, and sound at a higher tempo and/or higher volume as the turn approaches.”
“wherein automatically corelating the volume and the number of sounds with the distance further comprises increasing the volume and the number of sounds of the sound emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Szczerba teaches, (Paragraph [0104]) “The signal is in some implementations configured for processing by a smart hearing device, such as smart earbuds, whether part of sunglasses—again, structure like that of FIG. 7, only by way of example—or smart earrings, configured to, responsive to the signal, provide sound—gentle beeps, for instance—at a lowest frequency and/or amplitude when a right turn is required soon, and sound at one or more higher frequencies and/or amplitudes as the turn approaches.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a sound indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 18 Discloses:
“The computer program product of claim 15, wherein automatically transmitting the electrical communications based on the navigation direction data to the vibration indicator component further comprises: automatically correlating a vibration intensity and a number of vibrations for a vibration emitting device associated with the vibration indicator component with a distance to an upcoming turn based on the navigation direction data to indicate the distance to the upcoming turn,”
Fischer does not teach the preceding vibration indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0011]) “As shown, the vehicle may determine that the user should be advised of something having a right or left-sided focus. In some embodiments, the output to the user is handed, or provided at purposeful spatial context, such as by providing a vibration or tone to a right template portion of eyeglasses if the hazard or situation—e.g., direction of needed turn per navigation—being advised of is toward the right of the user.”
“wherein automatically corelating the vibration intensity and the number of vibrations with the distance further comprises increasing the vibration intensity and the number of vibrations of the vibration emitting device as the distance decreases between the vehicle and the upcoming turn.”
Szczerba teaches, (Paragraph [0010]) “Smart sunglass, such as those shown in FIG. 7, can be configured to, for example, vibrate on a right side at a low frequency and/or low amplitude when a right turn is required soon according to a navigation system operating in the sunglasses or vehicle, and vibrate at a higher frequency and/or amplitude as the turn approaches. With or without glasses, a smart wearable head device can include one or two ear speakers (e.g., earbuds or earrings), as shown in FIG. 7.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claim 20 Discloses:
“The computer program product of claim 15, further comprising: wherein the light indicator component comprises a first light emitting device corresponding to a left turn associated with the navigation direction data and a second light emitting device corresponding to a right turn associated with the navigation direction data;”
Figure 3 of Fischer teaches the light indicator components left side set 110b and right light side set 110d, and that, (Paragraph [0065]) “In operation 510, the method 500 may calculate the distance to the turn and/or merge and increase the intensity or change the color of the one or more activated light sets 110. For example, if the navigation data indicates a right turn is needed within three hundred feet, the method 500 may activate the side light set 110d and/or the front light set 110e to emit a green color at a low intensity. The side light set 110d activated may be used as a visual indication to the driver that a right turn is coming up. As the vehicle 31 gets closer to the right turn, the method 500 may increase the intensity of the brightness at the side light set 110d and/or front light set 110e in operation 512.”
“wherein the sound indicator component comprises a first sound emitting device corresponding to the left turn and a second sound emitting device corresponding to the right turn; and wherein the vibration indicator component comprises a first vibration mechanism corresponding to the left turn and a second vibration mechanism corresponding to the right turn.”
Fischer does not teach the preceding sound indicator component and vibration indicator component.
Szczerba does teach the preceding limitations.
Szczerba teaches that, (Paragraphs [0158-0159]) “FIG. 7 shows another example implementation 700, involving smart sunglasses 702. In a first section 710, the vehicle computing system determines that an output to the user regarding driving or navigation should be provided to the user. The view 700 shows a navigation map 712 and an image 714 showing an upcoming turn. Each view may be presented to the user, such as via a vehicle HUD,” wherein, (Paragraph [0011]) “As shown, the vehicle may determine that the user should be advised of something having a right or left-sided focus. In some embodiments, the output to the user is handed, or provided at purposeful spatial context, such as by providing a vibration or tone to a right template portion of eyeglasses if the hazard or situation—e.g., direction of needed turn per navigation—being advised of is toward the right of the user.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration and/or sound indicating an upcoming left or right turn as taught by Szczerba, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Szczerba describes, (Paragraph [0028]) “The technology in various embodiments promotes safety by allowing the user to communicate in less obtrusive ways, such as by the user, without having to take their eyes off of the road, … (2) to receive instructions, such as navigation feedback indicating that a left or right turn is needed soon, or that a turn was missed.”
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Moore et al. (US 2020/0333157 A1, hereinafter Moore)
Claim 5 Discloses:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: automatically converting audio content and displayable content associated with the identified and received navigation direction data into a second type of audio content and a second type of displayed content, … reducing natural language associated with the audio content and the displayable content, and only displaying the reduced natural language in response to a direction from the navigation direction data.”
Fischer does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or display based output devices.
Moore does teach the preceding limitations in the context of a navigation display device.
Moore teaches, (Paragraph [0146]) “In some embodiments, when a device running the navigation application in a 3D mode is about to reach a junction with a turn, the navigation application switches to a 2D mode in order to enable the user to more clearly identify the turn. FIG. 7 illustrates the switching from 3D mode to 2D mode of some embodiments. The figure is shown in five stages 701-705. In stage 701, the application shows a navigation map in a 3D view. The navigation box 710 shows a right turn in 50 feet. The map 712 is in 3D as is the location identifier 714,” wherein, (Paragraph [0514]) “The audio subsystem 6230 is coupled to a speaker to output audio (e.g., to output voice navigation instructions),” the outputted voice instructions of which a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand are conventionally applied to navigation instructions such as those present in Figure 7. As Moore discloses, (Paragraph [0496]) “Some embodiments incorporate navigation into voice-activated service output in order to provide a better user experience. For instance, when the user utilizes voice-activated service during navigation, the voice-activated service incorporates the verbal turn-by-turn navigational directions into voice-activated service interactions with the user.”
Top Portion of Figure 7 of Moore
Upon viewing the top portion of Figure 7, it can be seen that the displayed navigation instruction, a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would reasonably interpret being capable of being additionally outputted audibly via a speaker, is reduced from, “25 Feet Turn right into A St,” to “Turn right into A St.,” upon the vehicle approaching the turn.
“wherein automatically converting the audio content and the displayable content further comprises removing map-based content associated with a navigation interface,”
Moore teaches, (Paragraph [0147], Lines 1-6) “As the device approaches the junction in stage 702 (as indicated by navigation box 720) the 3D map 712 switches to a 2D map 722 with the location indicator 724 in 2D as well. The mapping application also changes the appearance of the 3D control 150 to indicate that the map is now in 2D,” and therefore 3D map based content is removed from the navigation interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of reducing outputted audio/display information for a vehicle navigation device as said vehicle approaches a turn as taught by Moore, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of removing extra information or clutter on a display to help the user more easily discern turn information. As Moore describes, (Paragraph [0253], Lines 10-15) “While multitasking or looking at lists of instructions, for example, the mapping application of some embodiments draws the simpler maneuver abstraction in order to produce something more easily discernible in a smaller area,” and further describes that, (Paragraph [0502], Lines 11-13) “Integrating the navigation output into the voice-activated service output provides a uniform experience for the user.”
Moore additionally provides a particular advantageous scenario directly correlating saving display space into an outputted verbal instruction wherein, (Paragraph [0500]), Lines 4-13) “The narrower navigation banner is used in some embodiments to show navigational directions while navigation application is running in the background and another application (in this example the voice-activated service) is running in the foreground. The navigation banner 6042 shows that the device has reached within 50 feet of the next turn. Once the device is within 50 feet of the next turn, the navigation application prepares a verbal voice guidance announcement such as “turn left onto Main Street in 50 feet”.”
Claim 12 Discloses:
“The computer system of claim 8, further comprising: automatically converting audio content and displayable content associated with the identified and received navigation direction data into a second type of audio content and a second type of displayed content, … reducing natural language associated with the audio content and the displayable content, and only displaying the reduced natural language in response to a direction from the navigation direction data.”
Fischer does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or display based output devices.
Moore does teach the preceding limitations.
Moore teaches, (Paragraph [0146]) “In some embodiments, when a device running the navigation application in a 3D mode is about to reach a junction with a turn, the navigation application switches to a 2D mode in order to enable the user to more clearly identify the turn. FIG. 7 illustrates the switching from 3D mode to 2D mode of some embodiments. The figure is shown in five stages 701-705. In stage 701, the application shows a navigation map in a 3D view. The navigation box 710 shows a right turn in 50 feet. The map 712 is in 3D as is the location identifier 714,” wherein, (Paragraph [0514]) “The audio subsystem 6230 is coupled to a speaker to output audio (e.g., to output voice navigation instructions),” the outputted voice instructions of which a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand is conventionally applied to navigation instruction such as those present in Figure 7. As Moore discloses, (Paragraph [0496]) “Some embodiments incorporate navigation into voice-activated service output in order to provide a better user experience. For instance, when the user utilizes voice-activated service during navigation, the voice-activated service incorporates the verbal turn-by-turn navigational directions into voice-activated service interactions with the user.”
Top Portion of Figure 7 of Moore
Upon viewing the top portion of Figure 7, it can be seen that the displayed navigation instruction, a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would reasonably interpret being capable of being additionally outputted audibly via a speaker, is reduced from, “25 Feet Turn right into A St,” to “Turn right into A St.,” upon the vehicle approaching the turn.
“wherein automatically converting the audio content and the displayable content further comprises removing map-based content associated with a navigation interface,
Moore teaches, (Paragraph [0147], Lines 1-6) “As the device approaches the junction in stage 702 (as indicated by navigation box 720) the 3D map 712 switches to a 2D map 722 with the location indicator 724 in 2D as well. The mapping application also changes the appearance of the 3D control 150 to indicate that the map is now in 2D,” and therefore 3D map based content is removed from the navigation interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of reducing outputted audio/display information for a vehicle navigation device as said vehicle approaches a turn as taught by Moore, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of removing extra information or clutter on a display to help the user more easily discern turn information. As Moore describes, (Paragraph [0253], Lines 10-15) “While multitasking or looking at lists of instructions, for example, the mapping application of some embodiments draws the simpler maneuver abstraction in order to produce something more easily discernible in a smaller area,” and further describes that, (Paragraph [0502], Lines 11-13) “Integrating the navigation output into the voice-activated service output provides a uniform experience for the user.”
Moore additionally provides a particular advantageous scenario directly correlating saving display space into an outputted verbal instruction wherein, (Paragraph [0500]), Lines 4-13) “The narrower navigation banner is used in some embodiments to show navigational directions while navigation application is running in the background and another application (in this example the voice-activated service) is running in the foreground. The navigation banner 6042 shows that the device has reached within 50 feet of the next turn. Once the device is within 50 feet of the next turn, the navigation application prepares a verbal voice guidance announcement such as “turn left onto Main Street in 50 feet”.”
Claim 19 Discloses:
“The computer program product of claim 15, further comprising: automatically converting audio content and displayable content associated with the identified and received navigation direction data into a second type of audio content and a second type of displayed content, … reducing natural language associated with the audio content and the displayable content, and only displaying the reduced natural language in response to a direction from the navigation direction data.”
Fischer does not explicitly teach the preceding limitations.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, (Paragraph [0029], Lines 1-2) “Additional sources that may interface with the vehicle include a personal navigation device 54,” further wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or display based output devices.
Moore does teach the preceding limitations.
Moore teaches, (Paragraph [0146]) “In some embodiments, when a device running the navigation application in a 3D mode is about to reach a junction with a turn, the navigation application switches to a 2D mode in order to enable the user to more clearly identify the turn. FIG. 7 illustrates the switching from 3D mode to 2D mode of some embodiments. The figure is shown in five stages 701-705. In stage 701, the application shows a navigation map in a 3D view. The navigation box 710 shows a right turn in 50 feet. The map 712 is in 3D as is the location identifier 714,” wherein, (Paragraph [0514]) “The audio subsystem 6230 is coupled to a speaker to output audio (e.g., to output voice navigation instructions),” the outputted voice instructions of which a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would understand is conventionally applied to navigation instruction such as those present in Figure 7. As Moore discloses, (Paragraph [0496]) “Some embodiments incorporate navigation into voice-activated service output in order to provide a better user experience. For instance, when the user utilizes voice-activated service during navigation, the voice-activated service incorporates the verbal turn-by-turn navigational directions into voice-activated service interactions with the user.”
Top Portion of Figure 7 of Moore
Upon viewing the top portion of Figure 7, it can be seen that the displayed navigation instruction, a person of ordinary skill in the art of which would reasonably interpret being capable of being additionally outputted audibly via a speaker, is reduced from, “25 Feet Turn right into A St,” to “Turn right into A St.,” upon the vehicle approaching the turn.
“ wherein automatically converting the audio content and the displayable content further comprises removing map-based content associated with a navigation interface,”
Moore teaches, (Paragraph [0147], Lines 1-6) “As the device approaches the junction in stage 702 (as indicated by navigation box 720) the 3D map 712 switches to a 2D map 722 with the location indicator 724 in 2D as well. The mapping application also changes the appearance of the 3D control 150 to indicate that the map is now in 2D,” and therefore 3D map based content is removed from the navigation interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of reducing outputted audio/display information for a vehicle navigation device as said vehicle approaches a turn as taught by Moore, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the benefits of removing extra information or clutter on a display to help the user more easily discern turn information. As Moore describes, (Paragraph [0253], Lines 10-15) “While multitasking or looking at lists of instructions, for example, the mapping application of some embodiments draws the simpler maneuver abstraction in order to produce something more easily discernible in a smaller area,” and further describes that, (Paragraph [0502], Lines 11-13) “Integrating the navigation output into the voice-activated service output provides a uniform experience for the user.”
Moore additionally provides a particular advantageous scenario directly correlating saving display space into an outputted verbal instruction wherein, (Paragraph [0500]), Lines 4-13) “The narrower navigation banner is used in some embodiments to show navigational directions while navigation application is running in the background and another application (in this example the voice-activated service) is running in the foreground. The navigation banner 6042 shows that the device has reached within 50 feet of the next turn. Once the device is within 50 feet of the next turn, the navigation application prepares a verbal voice guidance announcement such as “turn left onto Main Street in 50 feet”.”
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer in view of Buttolo et al. (US 2010/0198458 A1, hereinafter Buttolo)
Claim 7 Discloses:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a location of the vibration indicator component is selected from at least one of a steering wheel and a driver seat.”
Fischer does not teach the preceding vibration indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Buttolo does teach the preceding limitations.
Buttolo teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-6) “An apparatus and method of indicating to a vehicle operator a desired left/right direction of a turn required to follow a desired route generated by a navigation system. Haptic stimuli are provided to the operator in advance of the turn point by activating vibration generators to create vibrations in a steering input controller, such as a steering wheel,” wherein regarding the state of the art, Buttolo discloses that, (Paragraph [0007], Lines 1-9) “It has also been proposed to signal an approaching turn through vibrations on a steering wheel fitted with vibrating motors on the left side and the right side of the wheel. Turn-by-turn directions generated by a navigation system are sent to the steering wheel and the direction of the turn is indicated by causing one of the two motors vibrate before coming to a junction. The vibration starts 15 seconds before the junction and the strength and duration of each vibration increases as the junction nears.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration in a steering wheel indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Buttolo, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Buttolo describes, (Paragraph [0005], Lines 4-7) “Such directions are preferably communicated to the operator in a manner that does not require him/her to look at a map or other visual display while the vehicle is in motion.”
Claim 14 Discloses:
“The computer system of claim 8, wherein a location of the vibration indicator component is selected from at least one of a steering wheel and a driver seat.”
Fischer does not teach the preceding vibration indicator component.
However, Fischer does teach, (Paragraph [0016], Lines 1-8) “A vehicle infotainment system [which] may output information that may assist the driver to operate the vehicle. The vehicle infotainment system may process information for display using a vehicle computer system. The output information may be displayed at a user screen, at a speaker, an instrument cluster, and a combination thereof. For example, navigation information may be presented to the driver using the display and/or the speaker,” wherein, “The system 1 may communicate the data received from the nomadic device and/or the additional sources to one or more outputs. The one or more outputs may include, but is not limited to, the display 4, speaker 29, the light notification system (not shown), and/or a combination thereof,” and therefore the disclosure of Fischer may reasonably be contemplated to be combined with sound and/or vibration based output devices.
Buttolo does teach the preceding limitations.
Buttolo teaches, (Abstract, Lines 1-6) “An apparatus and method of indicating to a vehicle operator a desired left/right direction of a turn required to follow a desired route generated by a navigation system. Haptic stimuli are provided to the operator in advance of the turn point by activating vibration generators to create vibrations in a steering input controller, such as a steering wheel,” wherein regarding the state of the art, Buttolo discloses that, (Paragraph [0007], Lines 1-9) “It has also been proposed to signal an approaching turn through vibrations on a steering wheel fitted with vibrating motors on the left side and the right side of the wheel. Turn-by-turn directions generated by a navigation system are sent to the steering wheel and the direction of the turn is indicated by causing one of the two motors vibrate before coming to a junction. The vibration starts 15 seconds before the junction and the strength and duration of each vibration increases as the junction nears.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the vehicle navigation system of Fischer with the methodology of outputting a vibration in a steering wheel indicating an upcoming turn as taught by Buttolo, in order to yield predictable results.
Combining the references would yield the safety benefits of providing additional means for a user/driver to identify an upcoming turn without having to take their eyes off the road. As Buttolo describes, (Paragraph [0005], Lines 4-7) “Such directions are preferably communicated to the operator in a manner that does not require him/her to look at a map or other visual display while the vehicle is in motion.”
RELEVENT, BUT NOT CITED PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Miyajima et al., (US 8,214,143 B2) discloses (Abstract) “Navigation devices, methods, and programs obtain information indicating a route of a host vehicle, obtain information indicating a position of the host vehicle, and obtain information indicating a form of a number (N) of successive curves (where N is an integer of 2 or more) in front of the host vehicle position on the route The devices, methods, and programs excite a vibrator provided at a position where contact with a driver of the host vehicle is possible in a vibration mode corresponding to the form of the N successive curves when the host vehicle reaches a position at a predetermined distance from the closest curve among the N successive curves,” wherein, (Page 7, Column 2, Lines 39-43) “FIG. 2 is a schematic drawing showing a driver seat 50 according to the present example, and the same FIG. 2 indicates positions where the vibrators are incorporated by circles.”
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER V GENTILE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664