The office action is in response to the application filed on May 18, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0047], “to serve clients devices” should read “to serve client devices”.
In paragraph [0074], “In more detail, and as shown in Fig. 3, a DNN 600” should read “In more detail, and as shown in Fig. 6, a DNN 600”. The structure “DNN 600” is being referenced in Figure 6 of the disclosure, not Figure 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
Step 1: The claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter), or,
Step 2: The claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
Step 2A, Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Step 2A, Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I) states: "The mathematical concepts grouping is defined as mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, and mathematical calculations."
MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) states: "Accordingly, the "mental processes" abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions
Further, the MPEP states: "The courts do not distinguish between mental processes that are performed entirely in the human mind and mental processes that require a human to use a physical aid (e.g. pen and paper or a slide run) to perform the claim limitation.
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that Claims 1-20 are each directed to non-statutory subject matter as shown below:
Please note the following:
The following groups of claims are expressed in different statutory categories:
Claims 1-10 are directed to a method for generating a field service dispatch duration prediction by a machine learning model.
Claims 11-15 are directed to a system comprising of at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium configured to store instructions and a processor configured to carry out a process for generating a field service dispatch duration prediction by a machine learning model when said instructions are executed.
Claims 16-20 are directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing machine-executable instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to carry out a process.
With respect to Claims 1, 11, and 16, which are independent claims with identical claim limitations:
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a method, also known as a process, which is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter. Claim 11 is directed to a system for generating a field service dispatch duration prediction by a machine learning model, corresponding to an article of manufacture, which is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter. Claim 16 is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium on which machine-executable instructions are stored, corresponding to an article of manufacture, which is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claims as they recite mental processes, which are abstract ideas:
"determining, by the computing device, one or more relevant features from the information regarding the field service dispatch, the one or more relevant features influencing prediction of a dispatch duration; "; Determining one or more relevant features from the information regarding the field service dispatch in order to influence a prediction is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
“receiving, by a computing device, information regarding a field service dispatch from another computing device;”; Receiving information regarding a field service dispatch is considered insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) - See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
“generating, by the computing device using a machine learning (ML) model, a prediction of a dispatch duration for the field service dispatch based on the determined one or more relevant features;”; Generating a prediction of a dispatch duration for a field service dispatch using a machine learning model only amounts to "apply it" and the mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer - See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(1).
“and sending, by the computing device, the prediction of the dispatch duration for the field service dispatch to the another computing device.”; Sending the prediction of the field service dispatch duration is considered insignificant extra-solution activity (mere data gathering) - See MPEP § 2106.05(g).
Step 2B: The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Receiving, sending, and or transmitting data over a network or computing device are recognized as well‐understood, routine, and conventional when they are claimed in a generic manner." - See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II). Generating a prediction of a dispatch duration for a field service dispatch using a machine learning model only amounts to "apply it" and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. The claim limitation fails to recite details of how a solution or outcome to a problem is accomplished because it is unclear how the "AI system" or "machine learning" is used nor does the specification make it clear how these actions are performed - See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(1)).
Therefore, Claims 1, 11, and 16 are directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claims 2, 12, and 17, which have identical claim limitations and are dependent on Claims 1, 11, and 16 respectively:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is not recited in the claims as they do not recite an abstract idea (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes), law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application:
“wherein the ML model includes a deep neural network (DNN).”; A ML model including a DNN amounts to "apply it", and the mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer - See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(1) in addition to generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use - See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Step 2B: A ML model including a DNN amounts to "apply it" and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. The claim fails to recite details of how a solution or outcome to a problem is accomplished because it is unclear how the "AI system" or "machine learning" is used nor does the specification make it clear how these actions are performed - See MPEP § 2106.05(f)(1)). The usage of a DNN as a part of an ML model is generally linked to a particular technological environment or field of use (AI/ML) - See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Therefore, Claims 2, 12, and 17 are directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claims 3, 13, and 18 which have identical claim limitations and are dependent upon Claims 2, 12, and 17, respectively:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claims as they recite mental processes, which are abstract ideas:
“wherein the DNN predicts a regression response, wherein the regression response is the prediction of the dispatch duration for the field service dispatch.”; A DNN predicting a regression response responsible for predicting a dispatch duration for a field service dispatch is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claims 3, 13, and 18 are directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claims 4, 14, and 19 which have identical claim limitations and are dependent upon Claims 1, 11, and 16 respectively:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claims as they recite mental processes, which are abstract ideas:
“wherein the ML model is generated using a training dataset generated from a corpus of historical field support data of an organization.”; A machine learning model being generated from a training dataset derived from historical data is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claims 4, 14, and 19 are directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claim 5:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claim as it recites a mental process which is an abstract idea:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a customer associated with the field service dispatch.”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s): (customer) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claim 5 is directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claim 6:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claim as it recites a mental process which is an abstract idea:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of product associated with the field service dispatch.”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s): (type of product) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claim 6 is directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claim 7:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claim as it recites a mental process which is an abstract idea:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of support associated with the field service dispatch.”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s): (type of support) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claim 7 is directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claim 8:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claim as it recites a mental process which is an abstract idea:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a support location associated with the field service dispatch.”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s): (support location) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) -See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claim 8 is directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claim 9:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claim as it recites a mental process which is an abstract idea:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a field support engineer associated with the field service dispatch.”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s): (field support engineer) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) -See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claim 9 is directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claim 10:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claim as it recites a mental process which is an abstract idea:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of trip associated with the field service dispatch.”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s): (type of trip) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) - See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claim 10 is directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
With respect to Claims 15 and 20, which have identical claim limitations and are dependent upon Claims 14 and 19 respectively:
Step 2A, Prong 1: A judicial exception is recited in the claims as they recite mental processes which are abstract ideas:
“includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data, wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of…”; Extracting a specific associative feature(s) from historical data to compile a dataset is an abstract idea of a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) -See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Step 2A, Prong 2: The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B: The claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, Claims 15 and 20 are directed to non-statutory subject matter and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Williams II et. Al, (U.S Patent Application Publication No. US 20190378397 A1, hereinafter “Williams”). Williams was filed on June 10, 2019, and this date is before the effective filing date of this application, i.e., May 18, 2023. Therefore, Williams constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
With respect to Claims 1, 11, and 16:
Williams teaches:
“receiving, by a computing device, information regarding a field service dispatch from another computing device;” (Paragraph [0083] discloses a SmartAdvisor Commons sub-system that allows the machine learning computer programs (Intelligent Agents) to receive information from the Computer Aided Dispatch (CAD) server sub-system, “The SmartAdvisor Commons sub-system includes software and hardware components that allow Intelligent Agents to be used within the system, including a receiver (REST) API allowing the Intelligent Agents to operate within the system and have access to CAD data and other tools.” Paragraph [0009] clarifies the relevancy of the Intelligent Agents in regards to field service dispatch, “where each Intelligent Agent is configured to perform a distinct dispatch-related analysis of the CAD data and to produce dispatch-related notifications based on such analysis.” Paragraph [0084] mentions another instance of data being transferred between computer devices, “Thus, the AgentHoster may be configured to host on-site agents and interface with remote or cloud-based agents, e.g., passing events and other CAD data to the agents.”)
“determining, by the computing device, one or more relevant features from the information regarding the field service dispatch, the one or more relevant features influencing prediction of a dispatch duration;” (Paragraph [0015] teaches the Intelligent Agents’ ability to determine a particular set of variables that can be used to establish the potential predictability of an event such as a dispatch duration, “Additionally or alternatively, the Intelligent Agents may include a correlation agent that produces a notification when a combination of variables is determined to contribute to the occurrence of an event. The correlation agent may include a machine learning correlation detector trained to detect correlations in the CAD data.” Paragraph [0264] discloses how the feature determination occurs, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.” Paragraph [0326] provides a means for gathering the relevant features to influence the prediction of a dispatch duration, “A TimeEstimation Agent can be included to provide time estimates for such things as estimated time of arrival (ETA) and time to complete an event.”)
“generating, by the computing device using a machine learning (ML) model, a prediction of a dispatch duration for the field service dispatch based on the determined one or more relevant features;” (Paragraph [0326] discloses a type of machine learning Intelligent Agent that specifically generates an estimation/prediction for the duration of an event based on prior pre-determined variables, “A TimeEstimation Agent can be included to provide time estimates for such things as estimated time of arrival (ETA) and time to complete an event.” This prediction based notification further utilizes machine learning to enhance upon its predictability as mentioned in paragraph [0087], “Here, the Intelligent Agents utilize local operational data as well as other data such as pre-defined customer preferences, behaviors, and goals to generate notifications and recommendations which can be filtered through a set of rules (which themselves may be machine learned) to determine which notifications and recommendations ultimately are presented to the dispatcher.”)
“and sending, by the computing device, the prediction of the dispatch duration for the field service dispatch to the another computing device.” (Paragraph [0086] discloses an AgentHoster module that takes the dispatch duration prediction-based notification from the Intelligent Agent and sends it to the SmartAdvisor Notification sub-system, “The AgentHoster provides notifications from the Intelligent Agents to the SmartAdvisor Notifications subsystem for possible display on a dispatcher client device.” Paragraph [0089] further discusses the additional transferring of the duration prediction notification, “The SmartAdvisor will communicate with its users by issuing Notifications (represented by the Notifier block in FIG . 2 ). In this context, a Notification is the product or output of an intelligent analysis that communicates relevant information to the user.”)
Therefore, Claims 1, 11, and 16 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 2, 12, and 17:
Williams teaches:
“wherein the ML model includes a deep neural network (DNN).” (Paragraph [0326] discloses the overall utilization of a DNN to make the field service dispatch duration prediction, “A TimeEstimation Agent can be included to provide time estimates for such things as estimated time of arrival (ETA) and time to complete an event. Time estimation can be based on a specialized regression (e.g., DNN) based on such things as, without limitation, hour of the day, type of event.”)
Therefore, Claims 2, 12, and 17 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 3, 13, and 18:
Williams teaches:
“wherein the DNN predicts a regression response, wherein the regression response is the prediction of the dispatch duration for the field service dispatch.” (Paragraph [0051] discloses that the implementation of the DNN also encompasses a regression response that fosters the predictability of the dispatch duration, “FIG. 29 shows a specialized regression graph for a time estimation agent, in accordance with one exemplary embodiment.” This is further conveyed in paragraph [0327], “Historic events can be used to train the regression service, which can be updated constantly to improve time estimation. The dispatcher is notified with a better time estimation.”)
Therefore, Claims 3, 13, and 18 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 4, 14, and 19:
Williams teaches:
“wherein the ML model is generated using a training dataset generated from a corpus of historical field support data of an organization.” (Paragraph [0067] mentions a particular instance of a machine learning model (Intelligent Agent) that is generated through the utilization of historical operational data/training data, “and the ML model is trained to perform a given task based on sample data (referred to as “ training data ”) in order to learn how to produce a particular type output based on particular types of inputs. Thus, machine learning is useful for hard-to-solve problems that may have many viable solutions. ML solutions can exhibit non-expected behavior due to the artificial intelligence and can improve over time based on additional training data accumulated over time.” Paragraph [0084] further exhibits ML model training, “with each Intelligent Agent configured or trained to produce notifications based on a specific type of analysis of the historic operational data (e.g., one Intelligent Agent might detect patterns across events, another Intelligent Agent might detect similarities between events, etc.)”)
Therefore, Claims 4, 14, and 19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams II et. Al, (U.S Patent Application Publication No. US 20190378397 A1 filed on June 10, 2019, hereinafter "Williams"), in view of Gardiner et. Al, (U.S Patent Application Publication No. US 20220252411 A1 filed on May 2, 2022, hereinafter “Gardiner”).
With respect to Claims 5, 15, and 20:
Williams teaches:
“wherein each training/testing sample of the plurality of training/testing samples includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data,” (Paragraph [0264] teaches the feature extraction, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.”)
Williams does not appear to explicitly disclose:
"wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a customer associated with the field service dispatch."
However, Gardiner teaches:
“wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a customer associated with the field service dispatch." (Paragraph [0095] references the customer feature associated with the field service dispatch, “k. Driver's age group/gender/location.” Paragraph [0455] details why indicating specific features is integral to the system, “The Service Scheduling and Dispatch Device Prediction Al module automatically selects those independent variables or predictors that have greatest predictive power.”)
Williams and Gardiner are analogous art and in the same field of invention because both references pertain to incorporating machine learning predictive accuracy into the scheduling of field service operations to optimize resource allocation, reduce operational costs, and improve customer satisfaction. While Williams teaches a machine learning model that is generated through the utilization of a training dataset that derives/extracts its data from historical data, it does not teach specific feature indication of a customer. Gardiner teaches selecting/retrieving certain independent variables/predictors from historical data that have the greatest predictive power in regards to vehicular servicing, therefore, a “driver” can take the place of a “customer” in regards to this disclosure. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the base reference of Williams (training a machine learning model with a dataset of important extracted features) with the teachings of Gardiner (specific feature indication to compile training data) in order to enhance the interpretability and performance of a machine learning model. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because by integrating Williams’ framework into the methods of Gardiner one would be able to utilize artificial intelligence, “to provide service organizations with the capabilities to address both current and future aspects of care, maintenance, predictive needs, and potential upgrades not previously available {[0003] of Gardiner}.”
Therefore, Claims 5, 15, and 20 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 6, 15, and 20:
Williams teaches:
“wherein each training/testing sample of the plurality of training/testing samples includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data,” (Paragraph [0264] teaches the feature extraction, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.”)
Williams does not appear to explicitly disclose:
"wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of product associated with the field service dispatch."
However, Gardiner teaches:
“wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of product associated with the field service dispatch." (Paragraph [0081] references the type of product associated with the field service, “iii. Vehicle brand ( make ) and model.” Paragraph [0455] details why indicating specific features is integral to the system, “The Service Scheduling and Dispatch Device Prediction Al module automatically selects those independent variables or predictors that have greatest predictive power.”)
Therefore, Claims 6, 15, and 20 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 7, 15, and 20:
Williams teaches:
“wherein each training/testing sample of the plurality of training/testing samples includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data,” (Paragraph [0264] teaches the feature extraction, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.”)
Williams does not appear to explicitly disclose:
"wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of support associated with the field service dispatch."
However, Gardiner teaches:
“wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of support associated with the field service dispatch." (Paragraph [0078] references the type of support associated with the field service, “a. Historical repair order information (booked service items, recommended items, sold items” Paragraph [0455] details why indicating specific features is integral to the system, “The Service Scheduling and Dispatch Device Prediction Al module automatically selects those independent variables or predictors that have greatest predictive power.”)
Therefore, Claims 7, 15, and 20 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 8, 15, and 20:
Williams teaches:
“wherein each training/testing sample of the plurality of training/testing samples includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data,” (Paragraph [0264] teaches the feature extraction, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.”)
Williams does not appear to explicitly disclose:
"wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a support location associated with the field service dispatch."
However, Gardiner teaches:
“wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a support location associated with the field service dispatch." (Paragraph [0095] discloses the support location feature associated with the field service, “k. Driver's age group/gender/location.” Paragraph [0455] details why indicating specific features is integral to the system, “The Service Scheduling and Dispatch Device Prediction Al module automatically selects those independent variables or predictors that have greatest predictive power.”)
Therefore, Claims 8, 15, and 20 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 9, 15, and 20:
Williams teaches:
“wherein each training/testing sample of the plurality of training/testing samples includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data,” (Paragraph [0264] teaches the feature extraction, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.”)
Williams does not appear to explicitly disclose:
"wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a field support engineer associated with the field service dispatch."
However, Gardiner teaches:
“wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a field support engineer associated with the field service dispatch." (Paragraph [0088] discloses the field support engineer feature associated with the field service, “d. Technician's number and type of recommendations.” Paragraph [0455] details why indicating specific features is integral to the system, “The Service Scheduling and Dispatch Device Prediction Al module automatically selects those independent variables or predictors that have greatest predictive power.”)
Therefore, Claims 9, 15, and 20 are rejected.
With respect to Claims 10, 15, and 20:
Williams teaches:
“wherein each training/testing sample of the plurality of training/testing samples includes one or more features extracted from the historical field support data,” (Paragraph [0264] teaches the feature extraction, “Then, the Agent extracts from the Event the features for each categorical Variable and sends the feature data to the corresponding Categorial Variable that monitors it, requesting from them a list of possible outliers.”)
Williams does not appear to explicitly disclose:
"wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of trip associated with the field service dispatch."
However, Gardiner teaches:
“wherein the one or more features includes a feature indicative of a type of trip associated with the field service dispatch." (Paragraph [0086] discloses the type of trip feature associated with the field service, “iv. Service visit frequency.” The service visit frequency data feature is influenced by whether or not a service session can be completed in one visit or over consecutive days which is further disclosed in paragraph [0359], “In FIG. 2F, a third decision tree is provided [254] for the selected services that also requires a Yes [232] / No [234] answer to an additional question , “Is the service time block longer than eight (8) hours?”. When the answer is “yes” [232], the Carmen SSDD [100] determines looks up consecutive dates when the time blocks could be split and accommodated via a consecutive date determinator [256].” Paragraph [0455] details why indicating specific features is integral to the system, “The Service Scheduling and Dispatch Device Prediction Al module automatically selects those independent variables or predictors that have greatest predictive power.”)
It is worth noting, the specification indicates “type of trip” to mean “return trip” to showcase whether or not a field service engineer needs to make a return trip to the customer’s location for more servicing. In the case of Gardiner, the “service visit frequency” feature encompasses data that covers whether or not the driver (customer) returns to the servicing location for another servicing session. Gardiner teaches selecting/indicating certain independent variables/predictors from historical data that have the greatest predictive power in regards to vehicular servicing, therefore, “service visit frequency” can take the place of a “type of trip” in regards to this disclosure.
Therefore, Claims 10, 15, and 20 are rejected.
Conclusion
/NOOR F CHEEMA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2142 /N.F.C.//Mariela Reyes/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2142