DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 12/15/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 1-3,6,12-15 and 18. Claims 4,516 and 17 have been cancelled. New claims 21-24 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-15 and 18-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledges the Kwak reference (previously relied upon for the rejection of claim 9 in the Non-Final Rejection dated 12/15/2025) is now also relied upon for the newly amended limitation of claim 1 of “a bottom surface of the groove is provided by a surface of the first waveguide layer on a side of the first waveguide layer away from the first electrode” as shown in the prior art rejection of claim 1 below.
Similarly, these references are used to anticipate the amended limitations of claim 12 as shown in the prior art rejections of claim 12 below.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 13 has been withdrawn in light of the amendment made to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of claim 6 and 18 under 3524 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been withdrawn in light of the amendments made to claims 6 and 18.
Claims 1-3,6-15 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 15-17 of claim 1 reads “the groove sequentially penetrates the second electrode, the insulating layer, each layer in the light-emitting layer and between the insulating layer and the active layer, and the active layer” Examiner notes the use of the bold and underlined and term of “each layer in the light-emitting layer and between the insulating layer and the active layer” implies that each layer of the light emitting layer is being penetrated by the groove as well as layers between the insulating layer and the active layer are also being penetrated by the groove.
The language of the claim is implying that every layer of the light emitting layer is penetrated by the groove while also further limiting in lines 17-19 that a bottom surface of the groove is provided by a surface of the first waveguide layer. If all of the light emitting layers are penetrated by the groove then it is not possible for the bottom surface of the groove to be a surface of the first waveguide layer if the groove penetrates said first waveguide layer.
For the purposes of examination of the instant application, lines 15-17 of claim 1 will be understood as “the groove sequentially penetrates the second electrode, the insulating layer, each layer in the light-emitting layer between the insulating layer and the active layer, and the active layer” with the highlighted “and” term above removed from the interpretation.
Similarly, lines 16-18 of claim 12 will also be interpreted as “the groove sequentially penetrates the second electrode, the insulating layer, each layer in the light-emitting layer between the insulating layer and the active layer, and the active layer”.
Regarding claim 24, the term “close to first electrode” in claim 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “close to the first electrode” is not defined by the claims or the specification and therefore it is indefinite on what distance the limitation of claim 24 is defining as being “close” to the first electrode.
For the purpose of examination of the instant application, the term “close to the first electrode” is understood to mean at least on the opposite side of the active layer from the first electrode as shown in the prior art rejection of claim 24 below.
Claims 2,3, 6-11 and 24 are rejected at least on their dependency to indefinite claim 1.
Claims 13-15 and 18-23 are rejected at least on their dependency to indefinite claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (hereinafter Luo) (CN 105428992 A) in view of Kwak et al (hereinafter Kwak) (US 20060109881 A1) and Tatsumi (US 20040124424 A1). (Examiner notes an attached machine translation will be used for the claim mapping of Luo for the remainder of the instant office action. See PTO-892 form.)
Regarding claim 1, Luo discloses in Fig. 3,
A light-emitting device [Fig. 3] (Para [93]), comprising: a first electrode [15] (Para. [101]), a light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] (Para. [95]), an insulating layer [13] (Para. [97]) and a second electrode [14] (Para. [100]) which are sequentially arranged in a first direction [vertically Fig. 3]; wherein
the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] comprises a light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] and a non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3], an end of the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] in the first direction [vertically Fig. 3] is in contact with the second electrode [14] through a via hole in the insulating layer [13] (Paras. [100,108]), another end of the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] in the first direction [vertically Fig. 3] is in contact with the first electrode [15] (Para. [101]), and the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] is covered by the insulating layer [13] (Para. [105]); and
a surface of the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] covered by the insulating layer [13] is provided with a groove (Para. [105]), the groove extends along a boundary between the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] and the non-light- emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3], and the groove is used to block movement of carriers in the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] from the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] to the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] (Para. [49], See Fig. 5).
The light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] comprises an active layer [7] (Para. [33]) and a first waveguide layer [4] (Para. [39]) which are between the insulating layer [13] (Para. [35]) and the first electrode [15] (Para. [42]), the groove (Para. [105]) sequentially penetrates each layer in the light-emitting layer and between the insulating layer [13] (Para. [35]) and the active layer [7] (Para. [33]), and the active layer [7],
Luo fails to disclose,
the groove sequentially penetrates the second electrode, the insulating layer, and
a bottom surface of the groove is provided by a surface of the first waveguide layer on a side of the first waveguide layer away from the first electrode
Tatsumi discloses in Fig. 4,
a groove [628] (Para. [0012]) penetrating an upper electrode [626] (Para. [0011]) and insulating layer [613] (Para. [0010])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to penetrate the groove of Luo through the electrode and insulating layers as shown in Tatsumi for the purpose of achieving electrical isolation with the grooves. (Tatsumi Para. [0012])
Luo in view of Tatsumi fails to disclose,
a bottom surface of the groove is provided by a surface of the first waveguide layer on a side of the first waveguide layer away from the first electrode
Kwak discloses in Fig. 2,
a bottom surface of a groove [160] (Para. [0031]) is provided by an upper surface of a first waveguide layer [116] (Para. [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the depth of the trenches shown in Kwak exposing the first waveguide layer of the modified device of Luo for the purpose of selectively blocking the path through which the current leaks. (Kwak Para. [0031])
Regarding claim 2, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] further comprises a first confinement layer [2] (Para. [15,65]), and a second confinement layer [11] (Para. [95]) the first confinement layer [2] (Para. [15,65]), the first waveguide layer [4] (Para. [35]), the active layer [7] (Para. [35])and the second confinement layer [11] (Para. [95]) are sequentially arranged in the first direction [vertically]
Examiner notes the Luo label of “first gradient limiting layer 2” (Para. [15]) is a translational error where the intended label is “a first graded confinement layer”. This is further supported with the use of the term “third gradation limiting layer 11” (Para. [94] intended to mean “third graded confinement layer 11” (Para. [95])
Regarding claim 3, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 2 above further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] further comprises a second waveguide layer [9] (Para. [94]), the second waveguide layer [9] is between the active layer [7] and the second confinement layer [11]
Regarding claim 6, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
further comprising a substrate [0] (Para. [101]) between the first electrode [15] and the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] (Para. [101]),
Regarding claim 7, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] comprises two non-light-emitting portions respectively on two opposite sides of the light-emitting portion [left and right portions on both sides of middle portion Fig. 3], a surface of each of the non-light-emitting portions covered by the insulating layer [13] (Para. [99]) is provided with a groove (Para. [95]), which extends along a boundary between the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] and the non-light- emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] (Para. [95]), and used to block movement of carriers in the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12 Fig. 3] from the light- emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] to the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] (Para. [91], See Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 8, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the insulating layer [13] is provided with a through hole (Para. [105]), and the through hole is connected to the groove (Paras. [97,105]).
Regarding claim 9, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a distance between the groove and the light-emitting portion ranges from 10 µm to 20 µm.
Kwak discloses in Fig. 2,
a distance [D] between trenches [160] and a light emitting ridge portion [124a] in the range of 10µm-20µm (Para. [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the distance of trenches from a light emitting portion as shown in Kwak with the grooves of the modified device of Luo for the purpose of not affecting an optical mode of the device. (Kwak Para. [0041])
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mochida (US 20200212655 A1)
Regarding claim 10, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a width of the groove ranges from 10 µm to 20 µm.
Mochida discloses in Fig. 2,
A groove [131] with a width of 10µm (Para. [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the groove width of Mochida with the grooves of Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak for the purpose of effectively confining light in the middle ridge portion. (Mochida Para. [0080])
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sakamoto et al. (hereinafter Sakamoto) (US 20090137098 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a depth of the groove ranges from 20 µm to 50 µm.
Sakamoto discloses in Fig. 1B,
a groove [16] with a depth ranging between 20 µm and 50µm (Para. [0060])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the groove depth of Sakamoto into the grooves of Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak for the purpose of controlling the division with the grooves. (Sakamoto Para. [0060])
Regarding claim 24, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 2 above and further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
a side of the second confinement layer [top side of 11] (Para. [95[) away from the first electrode [15] (Para. [101]) is provided with a strip protrusion [11 protruding vertically] (Para. [95]), and the insulating layer [13] (Para. [97]) is entirely located on a side of a plane, in which a surface of the strip protrusion away from the first electrode [15] lies [13 entirely on sides of layer 11] (Para. [97]), close to the first electrode [15] (Para. [101]).
Claims 12-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak and further in view of Motobayashi et al. (hereinafter Motobayashi) (US 20210181614 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Luo discloses in Fig. 3,
A light-emitting device [Fig. 3] (Para [93]), comprising: a first electrode [15] (Para. [101]), a light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] (Para. [95]), an insulating layer [13] (Para. [97]) and a second electrode [14] (Para. [100]) which are sequentially arranged in a first direction [vertically Fig. 3]; wherein
the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] comprises a light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] and a non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3], an end of the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] in the first direction [vertically Fig. 3] is in contact with the second electrode [14] through a via hole in the insulating layer [13] (Paras. [100,108]), another end of the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] in the first direction [vertically Fig. 3] is in contact with the first electrode [15] (Para. [101]), and the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] is covered by the insulating layer [13] (Para. [105]); and
a surface of the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] covered by the insulating layer [13] is provided with a groove (Para. [105]), the groove extends along a boundary between the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] and the non-light- emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3], and the groove is used to block movement of carriers in the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] from the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] to the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] (Para. [49], See Fig. 5).
The light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] comprises an active layer [7] (Para. [33]) and a first waveguide layer [4] (Para. [39]) which are between the insulating layer [13] (Para. [35]) and the first electrode [15] (Para. [42]), the groove (Para. [105]) sequentially penetrates each layer in the light-emitting layer and between the insulating layer [13] (Para. [35]) and the active layer [7] (Para. [33]), and the active layer,
Luo fails to disclose,
the groove sequentially penetrates the second electrode, the insulating layer, and
a bottom surface of the groove is provided by a surface of the first waveguide layer on a side of the first waveguide layer away from the first electrode
Tatsumi discloses in Fig. 4,
a groove [628] (Para. [0012]) penetrating an upper electrode [626] (Para. [0011]) and insulating layer [613] (Para. [0010])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to penetrate the groove of Luo through the electrode and insulating layers as shown in Tatsumi for the purpose of achieving electrical isolation with the grooves. (Tatsumi Para. [0012])
Luo in view of Tatsumi fails to disclose,
a bottom surface of the groove is provided by a surface of the first waveguide layer on a side of the first waveguide layer away from the first electrode
Kwak discloses in Fig. 2,
a bottom surface of a groove [160] (Para. [0031]) is provided by an upper surface of a first waveguide layer [116] (Para. [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the depth of the trenches shown in Kwak exposing the first waveguide layer of the modified device of Luo for the purpose of selectively blocking the path through which the current leaks. (Kwak Para. [0031])
Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak fails to disclose,
A laser source comprising at least one light-emitting device
Motobayashi discloses,
A laser source [Figs. 1,2 and 3] (Paras. [0023-0029]) comprising a plurality of light-emitting elements [121 in 12] (Para. [0023]) as an array inside of a housing [13,14] (Para. [0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the light emitting devices of the modified devices of Luo into an array in a laser source as shown in Motobayashi for the purpose of having a projection apparatus that suppresses the occurrence of leakage. (Motobayashi Para. [0009])
Regarding claim 13, Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi as applied to claim 12 above further discloses,
comprising: a plurality of the light-emitting devices [Luo Fig. 3 in array shown in Motobayashi Figs. 1,2 and 3 (Motobayashi Para. [0023,0027])] [Luo Fig. 3], and a housing [Motobayashi 13,14 Fig. 2] (Para. [0057]), wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices is arranged [Motobayashi 121 in 12] (Para. [0023]) as an array inside of a housing [Motobayashi 13,14] (Para. [0057])
Regarding claim 14, Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] of each light-emitting device further comprises a first confinement layer [2] (Para. [15,65]) and a second confinement layer [11] (Para. [95]) the first confinement layer [2], the first waveguide layer [4], the active layer [7] and the second confinement layer [11] (Para. [95]) are sequentially arranged in the first direction [vertically]
Regarding claim 15, Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 14 above and further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] of each light-emitting device further comprises a second waveguide layer [9] (Para. [94the second waveguide layer [9] is between the active layer [7] and the second confinement layer [11]
Regarding claim 18, Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above and further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein each of the at least one light-emitting device [Motobayashi Figs. 1-3] further comprises a substrate [Luo 0 Fig. 3] (Para. [101]) which is between the first electrode [Luo 15 Fig. 3] and the light-emitting layer [Luo layers 1-12] (Para. [101]),
Regarding claim 19 Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above and further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12] of each light-emitting device comprises two non-light-emitting portions respectively on two opposite sides of the light-emitting portion [left and right portions on both sides of middle portion Fig. 3], a surface of each of the non-light-emitting portions covered by the insulating layer [13] (Para. [99]) is provided with a groove (Para. [95]), which extends along a boundary between the light-emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] and the non-light- emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] (Para. [95]), and used to block movement of carriers in the light-emitting layer [layers 1-12 Fig. 3] from the light- emitting portion [middle portion Fig. 3] to the non-light-emitting portion [left and right portions Fig. 3] (Para. [91], See Fig. 5)
Regarding claim 20, Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above and further discloses in Luo Fig. 3,
wherein the insulating layer [13] of each light-emitting device is provided with a through hole (Para. [105]), and the through hole is connected to the groove (Paras. [97,105]).
Regarding claim 21, Luo in view of Tatsumi, Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a distance between the groove and the light-emitting portion ranges from 10 µm to 20 µm.
Kwak discloses in Fig. 2,
a distance [D] between trenches [160] and a light emitting ridge portion [124a] in the range of 10µm-20µm (Para. [0031])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the distance of trenches from a light emitting portion as shown in Kwak with the grooves of the modified device of Luo for the purpose of not affecting an optical mode of the device. (Kwak Para. [0041])
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak and Motobayashi as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Mochida (US 20200212655 A1)
Regarding claim 22, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a width of the groove ranges from 10 µm to 20 µm.
Mochida discloses in Fig. 2,
A groove [131] with a width of 10µm (Para. [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the groove width of Mochida with the grooves of the modified device of Luo for the purpose of effectively confining light in the middle ridge portion. (Mochida Para. [0080])
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak and Motobayashi as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of Sakamoto et al. (hereinafter Sakamoto) (US 20090137098 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Luo in view of Tatsumi and Kwak and Motobayashi discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 12 above but fails to disclose,
wherein a depth of the groove ranges from 20 µm to 50 µm.
Sakamoto discloses in Fig. 1B,
a groove [16] with a depth ranging between 20 µm and 50µm (Para. [0060])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the groove depth of Sakamoto into the grooves of the modified device of Luo for the purpose of controlling the division with the grooves. (Sakamoto Para. [0060])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner particularly notes (US 20080036044 A1) which discloses a dual trench structure with a rectangular shape of the grooves.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828