DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on May 18, 2023. Claims 1-20 is pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-20 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gardner et al. (hereinafter ‘Gardner’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2018/0368712).
In regards to independent claim 1, Gardner discloses a three-dimensional (3D) nanoprobe device (neural interface device in Fig. 21) comprising:
a body portion comprising a plurality of body layers that are stacked (two microelectrode bodies 100a & 100b comprising connection bodies 120a & 120b stacked in a face-to-face orientation);
a plurality of nanoprobes respectively extending longitudinally from the body portion (probes 105 extending longitudinally from the connection bodies 120a & 120b), with each of the plurality of nanoprobes comprising a plurality of extension layers that are stacked (Figs. 1, 13 & 14 illustrate a plurality of extension layers including 110, 145 and 135, [0018]); and
an electrode portion disposed on a portion of the body portion ([0018]: the probe 105 comprises an interface pad 115 defined by an opening in an amorphous silicon carbide layer 135),
wherein each of at least two of the plurality of extension layers is longitudinally continuous with a corresponding one of the body layers ([0018], [0041]: the amorphous silicon carbide layer 135 forms the connection body 120a,b portions and the neural interface probe 105; the examiner notes that each of the neural interface probe 105 which comprises amorphous silicon carbide layer 135, layers 110 and 145 which are stacked above the silicon carbide layer 135, is longitudinally continuous with its corresponding body layer 120a or 120b).
In regards to claim 3, Gardner further discloses wherein each nanoprobe of the plurality of nanoprobes is spaced apart from a nearest other nanoprobe of the plurality of nanoprobes by about 10 nanometers (nm) to about 100 millimeters (mm) in a transverse direction of the body portion ([0058]: the probes 105 are spaced from about 0.005 mm to 1 mm since the spacer 194 in between the two connection body 120a,b is 0.005 mm to 1 mm thick).
In regard to claim 4, Gardner further discloses wherein the plurality of nanoprobes has any one or any combination of any two or more of a thickness of about 10 nm to about 200 micrometers (um), a width of about 10 nm to about 100 mm, or a length of about 0 nm to about 100 mm ([0042] & [0046]: b corresponding to the horizontal width of the probe is 5 microns; [0045]: h corresponding to the thickness of the probe is 10 microns; [0050]: neural interface probes has a length from 0.05 mm to 20 mm).
In regards to claim 5, Gardner further discloses wherein each of two or more of the plurality of nanoprobes has an aspect ratio of about 0.000005 to about 200000 ([0042], [0044]-[0045]: width and height ratio; 5 microns/10 microns = 0.5 which falls under the claimed range).
In regards to claim 6, Gardner further discloses wherein, each of two or more of the plurality of nanoprobes, comprise a separation region respectively between two or more of the plurality of extension layers, and the separation region is empty (the gap between the probes 105 in Fig. 21).
In regards to claim 9, Gardner further discloses wherein the separation region has a height of about 10 nm to about 30 um ([0058]: the probes 105 are spaced from about 0.005 mm to 1 mm since the spacer 194 in between the two connection body 120a,b is 0.005 mm to 1 mm thick).
In regards to claim 10, Gardner further discloses wherein, for each of two or more of the nanoprobes, respective extension layers, of the two or more of the nanoprobes, are sequentially stacked such that adjacent nanoprobes overlap each other, or are cross-stacked such that the adjacent nanoprobes cross each other ([0059]: probes 105 are sequentially stacked or stacked in a face-to-face orientation).
In regards to claim 12, Gardner further discloses wherein, for each of two or more of the nanoprobes, respective extension layers of adjacent nanoprobes are cross-stacked such that the adjacent nanoprobes overlap each other with an overlap width corresponding to 0% to less than 100% of an average width of the nanoprobes ([0059]: probes 105 are stacked in a face-to-face orientation which meets that 100% overlap in width).
In regards to claim 13, Gardner further discloses wherein each nanoprobe of the plurality of nanoprobes comprise:
a base layer having a shape of the nanoprobe (a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide 160 in Fig. 16, [0060]);
an electrode pattern layer disposed on the base layer (thin film metal trac 165 in Fig. 16, [0060]); and
a protective layer (a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide 170 in Fig. 16, [0060]), disposed on the electrode pattern layer, having an exposed tip region, wherein the base layer extends from the body portion (opening is formed in the second amorphous silicon carbide layer 170, [0060]),
wherein the base layer extends from the body portion (the first layer 160 of the probe portion 105 extends from the connection body 120a,b).
In regards to claim 14, Gardner further discloses wherein each of the two or more of the plurality of nanoprobes, the plurality of extension layers comprise:
a base layer having a shape of the nanoprobe (thin film of polyimide 155 in Fig. 16);
an electrode pattern layer disposed on the base layer (thin film metal trace 165 which includes the electrode pattern 110 which is best shown in exemplary Figs. 13 and 14, [0054]-[0056]);
a first protective layer disposed on the electrode pattern layer (a first layer of amorphous silicon carbide 160 disposed on a lower surface of the trace 165);
an electrode pad layer disposed on the first protective layer (the trace 165 includes the interface pad 115, which is best shown in exemplary Figs. 13 and 14, [0054]-[0056], [0058] & [0060]);
a second protective layer disposed on the electrode pad layer (a second layer of amorphous silicon carbide 170 disposed over trace 165);
wherein the base layer extends from the body portion (the probe 105 portion of the thin film of polyimide 155 extends from the connection body 120a or 120b);
wherein the tip region of the corresponding nanoprobe is exposed in the first protective layer and the second protective layer (in the tip region, the first and second layers of amorphous silicon carbide 160 and 170 form the edges of each of the probes and therefore, are exposed to the neural environment);
wherein an electrode pad of the electrode pad layer is exposed in the second protective layer (opening is formed in the second amorphous silicon carbide layer 170 to provide for the interface pad 115, [0054]-[0056] & [0060]).
In regards to claim 15, Gardner further discloses wherein, for each of two or more of the plurality of nanoprobes, each of the base layer, the protective layer, the first protective layer, and the second protective layer has a thickness of about 10 nm to about 200 microns (note that the examiner takes the interpretation that each of the nanoprobes having each of the claimed layers has a total thickness of about 10 nm to about 200 microns; [0045]: h corresponding to the thickness of the probe is 10 microns).
In regards to claim 16, Gardner further discloses wherein the electrode pattern layer comprises an electrode pattern comprising any one or any combination of any two or more of a straight line, an oblique line, a zigzag, a streamline, a curve, or a comb profile (see exemplary Fig. 1 illustrating a straight line thin metal film 110), and the electrode pad layer comprises an electrode pad having a shape of any one or any combination of any two or more of a circle, an ellipse, a doughnut, or a polygon (see Fig. 13 illustrating the polygon or rectangular nature of the interface pad 115).
In regards to independent claim 17, Gardner discloses a three-dimensional (3D) nanoprobe device (neural interface device in Fig. 21) comprising:
a body portion comprising a plurality of body layers that are stacked (connection bodies 120a & 120b stacked in a face-to-face orientation; note that each of the connection bodies are formed from different layers as shown in Fig. 16);
an extension portion longitudinally from the body portion and in which a plurality of extension layers having a plurality of nanoprobes is stacked (probes 105 extending longitudinally from the connection bodies 120a & 120b; Figs. 1, 13 & 14 illustrate a plurality of extension layers including 110, 145 and 135, [0018]); and
an electrode portion disposed on a portion of the body portion ([0060]: the connection bodies 120a & 120b each comprises an opening for electrical contact pads 125 as shown in exemplary Fig. 21),
wherein each of at least two of the plurality of extension layers is longitudinally continuous with a corresponding one of the body layers ([0018], [0041]: the amorphous silicon carbide layer 135 forms the connection body 120a,b portions and the neural interface probe 105; the examiner notes that each of the neural interface probe 105 which comprises amorphous silicon carbide layer 135, layers 110 and 145 which are stacked above the silicon carbide layer 135, is longitudinally continuous with its corresponding body layer 120a or 120b).
In regard to claims 18-19, Gardner further discloses wherein the electronic device is configured to measure any one or any combination of any two or more of a biosignal, a biomaterial, and a brain signal and apply an external stimulus to a living body or is an implantable device ([0005], [0059]: neural interface device is an implantable device configured to measure biosignal or brain signal).
In regards to independent claim 20, Gardner discloses a three-dimensional (3D) nanoprobe device (neural interface device in Fig. 21) comprising:
a body portion comprising a plurality of body layers that are stacked (connection bodies 120a & 120b stacked in a face-to-face orientation; note that each of the connection bodies are formed from different layers as shown in Fig. 16);
an extension portion extending from the plurality of body layers in a first direction to configure nanoprobes (probes 105 extending longitudinally from the connection bodies 120a & 120b, where the probes 105 are stacked; Figs. 1, 13 & 14 illustrate a plurality of extension layers including 110, 145 and 135, [0018]), wherein each of the nanoprobes is spaced apart from another in the first direction (Fig. 21 illustrates a gap between the probes 105); and
an electrode portion extending from the body portion in a second direction different from the first direction ([0018]: the probe 105 comprises an interface pad 115 defined by an opening in an amorphous silicon carbide layer 135; the electrode opening extends perpendicular to the gap between the probes 105),
wherein each of at least two of the plurality of extension layers is longitudinally continuous with a corresponding one of the body layers ([0018], [0041]: the amorphous silicon carbide layer 135 forms the connection body 120a,b portions and the neural interface probe 105; the examiner notes that each of the neural interface probe 105 which comprises amorphous silicon carbide layer 135, layers 110 and 145 which are stacked above the silicon carbide layer 135, is longitudinally continuous with its corresponding body layer 120a or 120b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner as applied to claim 6/1 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (hereinafter ‘Yoon’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2014/0288458).
In regard to claims 7-8, Gardner discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claims 6/1 and discussed above.
However, Gardner does not disclose wherein a portion or tip regions of the separation region is empty and another portion of the separation region comprises a water-soluble polymer.
Yoon teaches a neural probe for implantation (probe 10 in Fig. 1) and providing a biodegradable coating (18) disposed on disposed over a tip of the probe to provide the probe tip with sufficient integrity for insertion into the biological tissue and to degrade after insertion since the biodegradable coating can have an anti-inflammatory drug or other bioagent distributed therein for localized release to further reduce the immune response ([0002 0024], [0027], [0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the portion or tip regions of the nanoprobe of Gardner with the biodegradable coating of Yoon, thereby providing the separation region with a biodegradable coating/polymer which inherently is a water-soluble polymer to assist in insertion of the nanoprobes and to reduce immune response ([0002 0024], [0027], [0029]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner as applied to claim 6/1 above, and further in view of Campbell et al. (hereinafter ‘Campbell’, U.S. PGPub. No. 2022/0175278).
In regards to claim 11, Gardner discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above.
However, Gardner does not disclose wherein, for each of two or more of the nanoprobes, respective extension layers of adjacent nanoprobes are cross-stacked such that the adjacent nanoprobes are free of overlapping regions.
Campell discloses an electrode array comprising a plurality of electrode probes (device 100 comprising electrodes 135 in Fig. 1, [0029]) comprising a 3-D electrode array in which the probes are cross-stacked such that the adjacent probes are free of overlapping in the direction perpendicular to a surface of a substrate (100). Although Gardner discloses a nanoprobe arrangement in which the probes are cross-stacked such that the adjacent probes are overlapping in a face-to-face arrangement (see Fig. 21), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the nanoprobe arrangement of Gardner so that the nanoprobe arrangement is free of overlapping as taught by Campbell, as it would have been an obvious matter of design choice, since applicant has not disclosed that overlapping or non-overlapping stacked configuration solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with both configurations for neural sensing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s argument with respect to claims 1-6, 9-10, and 12-20 as being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gardner et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2018/0368712) has been fully considered. Applicant argues that Gardner fails to disclose, teach, or suggest in part, “wherein each of at least two of the plurality of extension layers is longitudinally continuous with a corresponding one of the body layers” as required in independent claims 1, 17 and 20. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Gardner discloses each of the at least two of the plurality of extension layers (the examiner notes that each of the neural interface probe 105 comprises amorphous silicon carbide layer 135, layers 110 and 145 as shown in exemplary Fig. 14) is longitudinally continuous with a corresponding one of the body layers (each of the two amorphous silicon carbide layers 135 is longitudinally continuous with its corresponding body layer 120a or 120b, [0018], [0041]). Therefore, the argument is unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained by the Examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 3/6/2026