DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 filed on 05/18/2023 have been examined.
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 09/08/2025. Claims 1-8 and 10-16 have been amended. Claim 9 has been cancelled. Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on page 7 of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks (hereinafter referred to as the “Remarks”), filed 09/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of clams 1 and 16, and their corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 101 stating “…Claims 1 and 16 now recite that a seat has a radio tag that communicates with sensor of a passenger service unit. Upon a controller of the passenger service unit detecting a change in position or orientation of the seat, the controller adjusts an operation of a light, oxygen mask or air gasper responsive to detecting the change. It is submitted that automatically controlling the operation of a device, i.e., a light, oxygen mask or air gasper, responsive to a change in position or orientation of a seat, which are otherwise adjusted manually, is not an abstract concept. Removal of the rejection under section 101 is requested…” have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Examiner has withdrawn the rejection of clams 1 and 16, and their corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant’s accompanying amendments and arguments, on page 7 of the Applicant Remarks, filed 09/08/2025, with respect to the rejection of clams 1 and 16, and their corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 stating “… the cited art does not teach a controller of a passenger service unit detecting a change in position or orientation of a seat, and then adjusting an operation of a light, oxygen mask or air gasper responsive to detecting the change… The remaining art fails to teach the presently claimed features that are omitted from Beckmann. Removal of the rejections is requested…” have been considered but are moot due to the amendments and added limitations provided above. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Riedel US 20160090031 A1 (“Riedel”) and Kessler US 20110235350 A1 (“Kessler”).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“aircraft passenger service unit” provided in claims 1 and 8
The specification and drawings were used to define the generic placeholders (item a) specified:
Specification – “… an aircraft passenger service unit, which is to be installed in a passenger cabin of an aircraft, comprises a seat detection sensor… The evaluator may be integrated with the seat detection sensor… the position and/or the orientation of the at least one passenger seat may be determined by the evaluator based on data, which is provided by the seat detection sensor of the aircraft passenger service unit … The evaluator may be implemented in hardware or software or any suitable combination of hardware and software… the evaluator may comprise a microprocessor… the seat detection sensor comprises at least one receiver for receiving a radio signal… The master controller 116 may be integrated with one of the aircraft passenger service units 109… the master controller 116 may adapt the operation of the reading lights to the relative positions between aircraft passenger service units and passenger seats…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmeier-Beckmann et al. US 20100012780 A1 (“Kohlmeier-Beckmann”) in view of Riedel US 20160090031 A1 (“Riedel”) and Kessler US 20110235350 A1 (“Kessler”).
For claim 1, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses an aircraft system (See at least Abstract – “… a system for servicing … a plurality of installation elements, in particular passenger seats in an aircraft…” and [0118] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 10a again shows a seat whose lighting position 15 is illuminated with the system … the arrangement has … a plurality of lighting units 25, together with a control unit 30…. an operating or servicing unit 85 …”), comprising:
a passenger seat (See at least [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate … ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark …”);
a radio tag coupled to the passenger seat (See at least [0029] – “… it is also possible for example to use an RFID communication for transmission of the identifier from a position mark (in particular in the form of signal an RFID tag) to the servicing unit…”and [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate a concept of ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark… Disposed in the floor region which, as shown by the arrows in FIG. 10a… is a position mark 120… it is for example also possible to use an RFID position mark which presupposes a suitably adapted reading unit…”);
an aircraft passenger service unit, which is configured for being installed in a passenger cabin of an aircraft (See at least [0109]-[0110] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 6b shows a second cabin configuration … the spacing of the individual lighting units 25 corresponds to the distance by which the passenger seats 20 can be minimally displaced … In addition FIG. 6b diagrammatically shows a servicing unit … adapted to communicate … with a control unit”), the aircraft passenger service unit, located above the passenger seat (See at least [0133] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “… determining a position in accordance with a configuration of the invention the information in respect of the positioning of the respective seat, in the case of the control command, is transmitted for example by radio upwardly into the supply channel (PSU, `passenger service unit`)… radio transmission of a control signal from a servicing unit to a control unit (for example arranged in the PSU…”) comprising:
a controller (See at least [0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “…the control unit 30 which in turn on the basis of that indication selects and actuates a suitable lighting unit 25 so that the lighting region 15 of the passenger seat is illuminated …”);
a seat detection sensor, which is operationally coupled to the controller and communicates with the radio tag, for determining a change in position and/or an orientation of the passenger seat (See at least [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate … ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark … the arrangement has a single rail 40 with a plurality of lighting units 25, together with a control unit 30… the servicing unit 85 is coupled to a reading unit 110… equipped for a plurality of discrete positions for the seat 20, is a position mark 120 … The reading unit 110 reads off the position mark 120 and communicates the positional indication encoded therein to the servicing unit 85. The servicing unit 85 in turn, upon operation by the user, communicates a corresponding item of control information together with the positional indication to the control unit 30 which in turn on the basis of that indication selects and actuates a suitable lighting unit 25 so that the lighting region 15 of the passenger seat is illuminated…”), which is located below the aircraft passenger service unit (See at least Fig. 10a of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – seat 20 is located below the control unit 30 and lighting units 25);
a personal reading light, an air gasper and/or an oxygen mask, operationally coupled to the controller and located above the passenger seat (See at least [0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “…the control unit 30 which in turn on the basis of that indication selects and actuates a suitable lighting unit 25 so that the lighting region 15 of the passenger seat is illuminated …”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose the aircraft passenger service unit, located above the passenger seat comprising:
a seat detection sensor.
However, Riedel, in the same field of endeavor teaches the aircraft passenger service unit, located above the passenger seat comprising:
a seat detection sensor (See at least [0026] – “… The sensors …can be attached to each reading light assembly or, for example, to each PSU comprising a plurality of reading light assemblies...” and [0049] of Riedel – “… the reading light assembly 1 comprises a sensor 35 for determining a position of a seat to be illuminated or lighted by the reading light assembly 1…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Riedel teaches a reading light assembly for a passenger service unit that includes a sensor at the passenger service unit to determine a position of a seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of the aircraft passenger service unit located above the passenger seat including a seat detection sensor as taught by Riedel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a position of a seat to be lighted by a reading light assembly as specified in at least [0049] of Riedel.
Furthermore, Kohlmeier-Beckmann also fails to specifically disclose wherein the aircraft passenger service unit is configured to adjust an operation of the personal reading light and/or the operation of the air gasper and/or a deployment of the oxygen mask responsive to determining a change in position and/or orientation of the passenger seat.
However, Kessler, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the aircraft passenger service unit is configured to adjust an operation of the personal reading light and/or the operation of the air gasper and/or a deployment of the oxygen mask responsive to determining a change in position and/or orientation of the passenger seat (See at least [0042]-[0043] of Kessler – “The passenger seat comprises a detection device … which communicates a signal corresponding to the position of the passenger seat to the activation device 62. In dependence upon the position of the passenger seat the activation device 62 automatically activates the associated light-emitting diode, so that the passenger seat in any position, into which it has been displaced in the directions x.sub.1, x.sub.2, y.sub.1 and y.sub.2, is illuminated by the overhead reading lamp… FIG. 5 … pictorializes a change of the activation of the light-emitting diodes upon displacement of a passenger seat 136…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Kessler teaches an overhead reading lamp system for a passenger seat in an aircraft cabin that determines displacement seat positions and activates light-emitting diodes according to displacement of a passenger seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of the aircraft passenger service unit being configured to adjust an operation of the personal reading light and/or the operation of the air gasper and/or a deployment of the oxygen mask responsive to determining a change in position and/or orientation of the passenger seat as taught by Kessler, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to activate an associated light-emitting diode, so that the passenger seat in any position, into which it has been displaced, is illuminated by the overhead reading lamp as specified in at least [0042]-[0043] of Kessler.
For claim 2, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for detecting electromagnetic radiation in the range of visible light and/or in the range of infrared light or electromagnetic radiation in the radio frequency range (See at least [0029] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “… the servicing unit is adapted to read out the identifier … by radio transmission… reading out … an RFID tag…”).
For claim 3, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses wherein the seat detection sensor comprises at least one radio receiver for receiving a radio signal, which is emitted by a radio tag located at or within the passenger seat (See at least [0029] – “… it is also possible for example to use an RFID communication for transmission of the identifier from a position mark (in particular in the form of signal an RFID tag) to the servicing unit…”and [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate a concept of ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark… Disposed in the floor region which, as shown by the arrows in FIG. 10a… is a position mark 120… it is for example also possible to use an RFID position mark which presupposes a suitably adapted reading unit…”).
For claim 15, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses an aircraft (See at least Abstract of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “The present invention concerns a system for servicing … a plurality of installation elements, in particular passenger seats in an aircraft…”), comprising:
the system of claim 1 (See at least Abstract – “… a system for servicing … a plurality of installation elements, in particular passenger seats in an aircraft…” and [0118] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 10a again shows a seat whose lighting position 15 is illuminated with the system … the arrangement has … a plurality of lighting units 25, together with a control unit 30…. an operating or servicing unit 85 …”);
a passenger cabin, housing a plurality of passenger seats (See at least [0109]-[0110] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 6b shows a … cabin configuration … the spacing of the individual lighting units 25 corresponds to the distance by which the passenger seats 20 can be minimally displaced…”); and
a plurality of the aircraft passenger service units, which are arranged within the passenger cabin (See at least [0019] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “… for servicing a plurality of installation elements, there is provided a plurality of service units…”).
For claim 16, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a method of adapting an operation of a personal reading light and/or an operation of an air gasper and/or a deployment of an oxygen mask of an aircraft passenger service unit (See at least [0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “…the control unit 30 which in turn on the basis of that indication selects and actuates a suitable lighting unit 25 so that the lighting region 15 of the passenger seat is illuminated …”), which is installed within a passenger cabin of an aircraft (See at least [0109]-[0110] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 6b shows a second cabin configuration … the spacing of the individual lighting units 25 corresponds to the distance by which the passenger seats 20 can be minimally displaced … In addition FIG. 6b diagrammatically shows a servicing unit … adapted to communicate … with a control unit”), wherein the method includes:
determining, by a controller of the aircraft passenger service unit, via a seat detection sensor that communicates with a radio tag located in a passenger seat arranged below the aircraft passenger service unit, a change in position and/or an orientation of the passenger seat that, is arranged below the aircraft passenger service unit, based on information obtained by the controller from the seat detection sensor (See at least [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate … ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark … the arrangement has a single rail 40 with a plurality of lighting units 25, together with a control unit 30… the servicing unit 85 is coupled to a reading unit 110… equipped for a plurality of discrete positions for the seat 20, is a position mark 120 … The reading unit 110 reads off the position mark 120 and communicates the positional indication encoded therein to the servicing unit 85. The servicing unit 85 in turn, upon operation by the user, communicates a corresponding item of control information together with the positional indication to the control unit 30 which in turn on the basis of that indication selects and actuates a suitable lighting unit 25 so that the lighting region 15 of the passenger seat is illuminated… it is for example also possible to use an RFID position mark which presupposes a suitably adapted reading unit” and Fig. 10a of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – seat 20 is located below the control unit 30 and lighting units 25);
wherein determining the change in position and/or the orientation of the passenger seat includes receiving a radio signal emitted by the radio tag, which is located at or within the passenger seat (See at least [0029] – “… it is also possible for example to use an RFID communication for transmission of the identifier from a position mark (in particular in the form of signal an RFID tag) to the servicing unit…”and [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate a concept of ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark… Disposed in the floor region which, as shown by the arrows in FIG. 10a… is a position mark 120… it is for example also possible to use an RFID position mark which presupposes a suitably adapted reading unit…”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose a seat detection sensor of the aircraft passenger service unit.
However, Riedel, in the same field of endeavor teaches a seat detection sensor of the aircraft passenger service unit (See at least [0026] – “… The sensors …can be attached to each reading light assembly or, for example, to each PSU comprising a plurality of reading light assemblies...” and [0049] of Riedel – “… the reading light assembly 1 comprises a sensor 35 for determining a position of a seat to be illuminated or lighted by the reading light assembly 1…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Riedel teaches a reading light assembly for a passenger service unit that includes a sensor at the passenger service unit to determine a position of a seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of a seat detection sensor of the aircraft passenger service unit as taught by Riedel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine a position of a seat to be lighted by a reading light assembly as specified in at least [0049] of Riedel.
Furthermore, Kohlmeier-Beckmann also fails to specifically disclose adjusting the operation of the personal reading light and/or the operation of the air gasper and/or the deployment of the oxygen mask responsive to determining the change in position and/or the orientation of the passenger seat.
However, Kessler, in the same field of endeavor teaches adjusting the operation of the personal reading light and/or the operation of the air gasper and/or the deployment of the oxygen mask responsive to determining the change in position and/or the orientation of the passenger seat (See at least [0042]-[0043] of Kessler – “The passenger seat comprises a detection device … which communicates a signal corresponding to the position of the passenger seat to the activation device 62. In dependence upon the position of the passenger seat the activation device 62 automatically activates the associated light-emitting diode, so that the passenger seat in any position, into which it has been displaced in the directions x.sub.1, x.sub.2, y.sub.1 and y.sub.2, is illuminated by the overhead reading lamp… FIG. 5 … pictorializes a change of the activation of the light-emitting diodes upon displacement of a passenger seat 136…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Kessler teaches an overhead reading lamp system for a passenger seat in an aircraft cabin that determines displacement seat positions and activates light-emitting diodes according to displacement of a passenger seat.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of adjusting an operation of the personal reading light and/or the operation of the air gasper and/or a deployment of the oxygen mask responsive to determining a change in position and/or orientation of the passenger seat as taught by Kessler, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to activate an associated light-emitting diode, so that the passenger seat in any position, into which it has been displaced, is illuminated by the overhead reading lamp as specified in at least [0042]-[0043] of Kessler.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmeier-Beckmann in view of Riedel and Kessler, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Walk US 20240159856 A1 (“Walk”).
For claim 4, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses further comprising a trigger signal transmitter for emitting a trigger signal (See at least [0035] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “… the servicing unit is adapted to emit a locating signal, and wherein the locating unit is adapted to receive the locating signal and to locate by means of the locating signal. Upon emission of a locating signal by a respective servicing unit the servicing unit and therewith the installation element linked to that servicing unit can be located by evaluation of the items of information connected to reception of the signal...”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose further comprising a trigger signal transmitter for emitting an electromagnetic trigger signal triggering the radio tag to emit a response radio signal, wherein the trigger signal transmitter is part of the seat detection sensor or wherein the trigger signal transmitter is provided separately from the seat detection sensor.
However, Walk, in the same field of endeavor teaches further comprising a trigger signal transmitter for emitting an electromagnetic trigger signal triggering the radio tag to emit a response radio signal, wherein the trigger signal transmitter is part of the seat detection sensor or wherein the trigger signal transmitter is provided separately from the seat detection sensor (See at least [0018] of Walk – “… it may be that … power for the respective RFID tags to emit RF signals to the reader 10 is (e.g. solely) derived from RF trigger signals received by the tags from the reader 10… it may be that one or more or each of the RFID tags are semi-active RFID tags which derive some power from RF trigger signals received by the tag from the reader 10 …”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Walk teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags that uses an RFID tag reader to send a trigger signal to RFID tags to emit response signals to the reader.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of a trigger signal transmitter for emitting an electromagnetic trigger signal triggering the radio tag to emit a response radio signal as taught by Walk, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the location of an RFID tag as specified in at least [0022] of Walk.
For claim 10, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for detecting the electromagnetic radiation, which is emitted by the radio tag (See at least [0029] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “… the servicing unit is adapted to read out the identifier … by radio transmission… reading out … an RFID tag… it is also possible for example to use an RFID communication for transmission of the identifier from a position mark (in particular in the form of an RFID tag) to the servicing unit”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein the radio tag is configured for emitting electromagnetic radiation in the radio frequency range in response to receiving an electromagnetic trigger signal.
However, Walk, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the radio tag is configured for emitting electromagnetic radiation in the radio frequency range in response to receiving an electromagnetic trigger signal (See at least [0018] of Walk – “… it may be that … power for the respective RFID tags to emit RF signals to the reader 10 is (e.g. solely) derived from RF trigger signals received by the tags from the reader 10… it may be that one or more or each of the RFID tags are semi-active RFID tags which derive some power from RF trigger signals received by the tag from the reader 10 …”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Walk teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags that uses an RFID tag reader to send a trigger signal to RFID tags to emit response signals to the reader.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of the radio tag being configured for emitting electromagnetic radiation in the radio frequency range in response to receiving an electromagnetic trigger signal as taught by Walk, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the location of an RFID tag as specified in at least [0022] of Walk.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmeier-Beckmann in view of Riedel, Kessler, and Walk, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of White et al. US 10346657 B1 (“White”).
For claim 5, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining a time difference between the emission of the electromagnetic trigger signal and the receipt of the radio signal (See at least [0026] – “… the system is adapted to determine the absolute or relative position by a transit time comparison of the received signals… determining a relative or absolute position of the servicing unit and therewith the corresponding installation element involves the comparison of the reception times of signals, the emission of which is in a fixed time relationship relative to each other…”, [0035]-[0036] – “… Upon emission of a locating signal by a respective servicing unit the servicing unit and therewith the installation element linked to that servicing unit can be located… the servicing unit emits a non-directional signal the items of information necessary for determining the position or locating the servicing unit can be taken from the reception properties including transit time, transit time difference …” and [0040] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “…The information used for locating purposes can for example involve a time sequence in relation to a delivery of enquiry signals…”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining a time difference between the emission of the electromagnetic trigger signal and the receipt of the radio signal, which is emitted by the radio tag in response to receiving the electromagnetic trigger signal.
However, White, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining a time difference between the emission of the electromagnetic trigger signal and the receipt of the radio signal, which is emitted by the radio tag in response to receiving the electromagnetic trigger signal (See at least Col. 15 lines 34-67 through Col. 16 lines 1-35 of White – “… The emitted RFID intended recipient message is transmitted from at least one antenna …one or more various responsive RFID devices in the space 610 receive the RFID intended recipient message wirelessly transmitted from the at least one antenna… At 750, the emitting antenna receives the responsive RFID reply message signal … At 760, the RFID processor determines a signal attribute of the reply message signal … is at least one of …time difference of arrival... The determined attribute of the received reply message is usable in estimating a location within the space from which the received reply message was transmitted…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while White teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags based on the time difference of arrival for a response signal received from an RFID tag.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of determining a time difference between the emission of the electromagnetic trigger signal and the receipt of the radio signal, which is emitted by the radio tag in response to receiving the electromagnetic trigger signal as taught by White, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the location of an RFID tag as specified in at least Col. 16 lines 19-22 of White.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmeier-Beckmann in view of Riedel and Kessler, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Hewett et al. US 20200096599 A1 (“Hewett”).
For claim 6, Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining an amplitude of the received radio signal.
However, Hewett, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining an amplitude of the received radio signal (See at least [0061] of Hewett – “… the processor may estimate the distance between each antenna and the RFID tag based on the amplitude … of each LOS signal… These distance estimates may be used to estimate the RFID tag's location...”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Hewett teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags based on the amplitude determined for received signals from the RFID tags.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of determining an amplitude of the received radio signal as taught by Hewett, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the location of an RFID tag as specified in at least [0061] of Hewett.
For claim 7, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining a spatial direction (D1, D2), from where the received signal is received (See at least [0037] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “… the locating signal includes a directional signal, wherein the locating unit is equipped with a plurality of signal sensors and is adapted for location on the basis of an indication by signal sensors receiving the directional signal... the servicing unit and therewith the installation element can be located from the information about the orientation properties of the locating signal, which are predetermined in the system, and the information in respect of the signal sensor or sensors which receive the signal. If, with a directional signal, the information from the known orientation is additionally used for locating purposes, it is thus possible in that way to achieve a very accurate location…”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining a spatial direction (D1, D2), from where the received radio signal, which is emitted by the radio tag, is received.
However, Hewett, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the seat detection sensor is configured for determining a spatial direction (D1, D2), from where the received radio signal, which is emitted by the radio tag, is received (See at least [0101]-[0102] of Hewett – “… FIG. 3B, which shows a system with several RFID readers 320a-320c (collectively, RFID readers 320) that interrogate RFID tags… measure the RFID tags' LOS and NLOS signatures at different angles of arrival… Multiple relative (or absolute) AOAs for a single RFID tag can be used to estimate the RFID tag's relative (or absolute) position…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Hewett teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags based on the angles of arrival determined for received signals from the RFID tags.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of determining a spatial direction, from where the received radio signal, which is emitted by the radio tag, is received as taught by Hewett, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the location of an RFID tag as specified in at least [0102] of Hewett.
Claims 8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmeier-Beckmann in view of Riedel and Kessler, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lauwereins et al. US 20220324398 A1 (“Lauwereins”).
For claim 8, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses at least one other aircraft passenger service unit (See at least [0019] – “… for servicing a plurality of installation elements, there is provided a plurality of service units…” and [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate … ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark … the arrangement has a single rail 40 with a plurality of lighting units 25, together with a control unit 30… the servicing unit 85 is coupled to a reading unit 110… equipped for a plurality of discrete positions for the seat 20, is a position mark 120 … The reading unit 110 reads off the position mark 120 and communicates the positional indication encoded therein to the servicing unit 85…”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein the aircraft passenger service unit is configured for sharing information about a received radio signal with at least one other aircraft passenger service unit, and/or
wherein the aircraft passenger service unit is configured for receiving information about a received radio signal from at least one other aircraft passenger service unit that comprises a corresponding seat detection sensor.
However, Lauwereins, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the aircraft passenger service unit is configured for sharing information about a received radio signal with at least one other aircraft passenger service unit (See at least [0055] of Lauwereins – “… an overhead unit is only capable of receiving messages from and transmitting messages to its nearest neighbours when the overhead units are lined up…”), and/or
wherein the aircraft passenger service unit is configured for receiving information about a received radio signal from at least one other aircraft passenger service unit that comprises a corresponding seat detection sensor. Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Lauwereins teaches a system for overhead units that shares information between different/neighboring overhead units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of the aircraft passenger service unit being configured for sharing information about a received radio signal with at least one other aircraft passenger service unit as taught by Lauwereins, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to share signals between service units that comprise instructions with respect to position determinations as specified in at least [0063]-[0066] of Lauwereins.
For claim 11, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses including:
an aircraft passenger service unit assembly, comprising:
a plurality of the aircraft passenger service units (See at least [0019] – “… for servicing a plurality of installation elements, there is provided a plurality of service units…” and [0117]-[0119] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIGS. 10a and 10b illustrate … ascertaining the position of an aircraft passenger seat by reading out a position mark … the arrangement has a single rail 40 with a plurality of lighting units 25, together with a control unit 30… the servicing unit 85 is coupled to a reading unit 110… equipped for a plurality of discrete positions for the seat 20, is a position mark 120 … The reading unit 110 reads off the position mark 120 and communicates the positional indication encoded therein to the servicing unit 85…”).
Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein the plurality of aircraft passenger service units are configured to communicate with each other and to share information, gathered by their respective seat detection sensors.
However, Lauwereins, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the plurality of aircraft passenger service units are configured to communicate with each other and to share information (See at least [0055] of Lauwereins – “… an overhead unit is only capable of receiving messages from and transmitting messages to its nearest neighbours when the overhead units are lined up…”), gathered by their respective seat detection sensors (See at least [0063]-[0066] of Lauwereins – “The processing module of the overhead unit is configured to receive signals via the receival modules from a neighbouring overhead unit or the control unit, and/or to cause the transmission modules to send out signals to a neighbouring overhead unit and/or the control unit. These signals preferably comprise instructions regarding… position determining signals”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Lauwereins teaches a system for overhead units that shares information between different/neighboring overhead units.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units being configured to communicate with each other and to share information, gathered by their respective seat detection sensors as taught by Lauwereins, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to share signals between service units that comprise instructions with respect to position determinations as specified in at least [0063]-[0066] of Lauwereins.
For claim 14, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses an aircraft comprising:
a passenger cabin, housing a plurality of passenger seats (See at least [0109]-[0110] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 6b shows a … cabin configuration … the spacing of the individual lighting units 25 corresponds to the distance by which the passenger seats 20 can be minimally displaced…”); and
the system of claim 11, wherein the aircraft passenger service unit assembly is arranged within the passenger cabin (See at least [0109]-[0110] of Kohlmeier-Beckmann – “FIG. 6b shows a second cabin configuration … the spacing of the individual lighting units 25 corresponds to the distance by which the passenger seats 20 can be minimally displaced … In addition FIG. 6b diagrammatically shows a servicing unit … adapted to communicate … with a control unit”).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohlmeier-Beckmann in view of Riedel, Kessler, and Lauwereins, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hewett.
For claim 12, Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein:
each of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units are configured to determine a position of ones of the radio tags, which are located at or within ones of the passenger seats, from time differences (T1 T2, T3) and/or from phase differences (Δ1, Δ2, Δ3), which are encountered when a radio signal from the radio tag is received at the respective seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units.
However, Hewett, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein:
each of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units are configured to determine a position of ones of the radio tags, which are located at or within ones of the passenger seats, from time differences (T1 T2, T3) and/or from phase differences (Δ1, Δ2, Δ3), which are encountered when a radio signal from the radio tag is received at the respective seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units (See at least [0013] of Hewett – “… the present invention include apparatus, systems, and methods for locating radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags. In one example, a method of locating an RFID tag includes sensing, with a plurality of antennas, a signal from an RFID tag to the transmitter. One or more analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) generates a first digital representation of the response as detected by a first antenna in the plurality of antennas and a second digital representation of the response as detected by a second antenna in the plurality of antennas. A processor coupled to the ADC(s) generates plurality of sums of the first digital representation and the second digital representation. Each sum in the plurality of sums is at a relative phase difference representing a different angle of arrival for the signal from the RFID tag. The method also includes estimating a location of the RFID tag based on the plurality of sums.…”). Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Hewett teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags based on phase differences in the signals received by two antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of at least one of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units being configured to determine a position of a radio tag, which is located at or within the at least one passenger seat, from time differences and/or from phase differences, which are encountered when a radio signal from the radio tag is received at the respective seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units as taught by Hewett, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to estimate a location of the RFID tag based on the plurality of sums as specified in at least [0013] of Hewett.
For claim 13, Kohlmeier-Beckmann fails to specifically disclose wherein:
each of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units is configured to determine a position of ones of the radio tags, located at or within ones of the passenger seats, from the amplitudes encountered when receiving a radio signal from the radio tags at ones of the seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units; or
wherein ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units are configured to determine a position of ones of the radio tags, located at or within ones of the passenger seats, from the angles (α, β) from where a radio signal is received from ones of the radio tags at the respective seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units.
However, Hewett, in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein:
each of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units is configured to determine a position of ones of the radio tags, located at or within ones of the passenger seats, from the amplitudes encountered when receiving a radio signal from the radio tags at ones of the seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units (See at least [0060]-[0061] of Hewett – “… Based on the AOAs of LOS paths, the processor 130 can estimate the position of the RFID tag 10 using triangulation… the processor may estimate the distance between each antenna and the RFID tag based on the amplitude … of each LOS signal … the processor can trilaterate the RFID tag's location …”); or
wherein ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units are configured to determine a position of ones of the radio tags, located at or within ones of the passenger seats, from the angles (α, β) from where a radio signal is received from ones of the radio tags at the respective seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units. Thus, Kohlmeier-Beckmann discloses a system for determining the position of aircraft cabin passenger seats using RFID tags to actuate a suitable lighting unit to illuminate the lighting region of the passenger seats, while Hewett teaches a system for determining the location of RFID tags based on amplitudes of signals received by different antennas.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method as disclosed in Kohlmeier-Beckmann to include the feature of at least one of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units is configured to determine a position of a radio tag, located at or within the at least one passenger seat, from the amplitudes encountered when receiving a radio signal from the radio tag at the respective seat detection sensors of different ones of the plurality of aircraft passenger service units as taught by Hewett, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to trilaterate the RFID tag's location as specified in at least [0061] of Hewett.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668