DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, presently claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 16-27, in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 16-27 are under consideration on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claim 26 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 27 is vague because it is not clear if “is extrudable” is merely a statement of intended outcome (e.g. the hydrogel is capable of but not required to be extruded through the claimed needle gauge range) or if the claim requires an active step of extruding the claimed hydrogel through the claimed needle gauge range. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prestwich et al. (US 2013/0172985; provided in the IDS dated 5/18/2023).
Prestwich teaches a method of making a 3D organ construct, the method comprising (a) providing a reservoir containing an extrudable hydrogel composition, said composition comprising a cross-linkable prepolymer (i.e. hyaluronic acid (HA) or gelatin), a post-deposition crosslinking group (i.e. an excess of methacrylic anhydride), live cells (HepG2 C3A, Intestine 407, or NIH 3T3 cells), (b) depositing said hydrogel composition onto a substrate (e.g., by extrusion through a syringe); and then (c) cross-linking said prepolymer with said post-deposition crosslinking group by an amount sufficient to increase the stiffness of said hydrogel and form said three-dimensional organ construct (see the single working example at ¶0067-0079 HA-MA/gelatin-MA extrudable hydrogel made by UV crosslinking in a stacked ring pattern), anticipating claims 1, the embodiment of photoinitiated crosslinking for claim 2, and claim 4, the embodiment of stacked rings for claim 6, the embodiment of a first ring for the supporting polymer in an adjacent position for claim 7, Prestwich teaches that the hydrogel has a stiffness (e.g. G’ or elastic modulus) of 10 or 20 Pa (¶0076), anticipating the embodiment of (i) for claim 5. Prestwich teaches adding 2,2-dimethoxy-2-phenyl-acetophenone in NVP as a species of photoinitiator (¶0070), anticipating claims 16 and 17. Prestwich teaches that the hydrogel compositions are formed from aqueous buffered solutions (e.gh. comprising water; ¶0070), anticipating claim 19. Prestwich teaches that the hydrogel has an elastic modulus of about 100 Pa (e.g. 80-90 Pa; ¶0076), anticipating claim 26.
Regarding claim 27, claim scope is generally not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. See M.P.E.P. § 2111.04. In the instant case, claim 1 recites a manipulatively complete method and so the broadest reasonable interpretation of the wherein clause of a claim 27 amounts to an intended use; the methods of Prestwich are reasonably construed as being capable of meeting the intended use of the claim absent any showing to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16-19, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prestwich et al. (US 2013/0172985; provided in the IDS dated 5/18/2023).
The teachings of Prestwich are relied upon as set forth above in rejecting claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 as anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 18, Prestwich does not teach in a single embodiment a hydrogel composition further comprising decellularized extracellular matrix. In view of the indefiniteness rejection above and in the interest of compact prosecution, claim 26 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Prestwich does not teach the narrower embodiment of claim 26 of an elastic modulus range of 100-400 Pa.
In a separate embodiment, Prestwich teaches further adding extracellular matrix secreted from cells or obtained from genetically-manipulated cells (e.g. decellularized; ¶0057-0058), reading on claim 18. Prestwich teaches that an elastic modulus of 80-90 Pa is effective to yield a hydrogel enough like a fluid to be pulled into a syringe and extruded through a needle tip without visibly damaging the hydrogel structure yet solid enough to temporarily retain shape when printed before the secondary photocrosslinking step (¶0076), alternatively reading on claim 26.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further add extracellular matrix to the hydrogel composition of Prestwich A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Prestwich expressly considers the combination; “When a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 414, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-96 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)).
Alternatively regarding claim 26, generally, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation will generally not support patentability absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range to the contrary. See M.P.E.P. § 2144.05, particularly subsections II and III. In this case, Prestwich teaches that the elastic modulus of the hydrogel composition is a known result-effective variable, being enough like a fluid to be pulled into a syringe and extruded through a needle tip without visibly damaging the hydrogel structure yet solid enough to temporarily retain shape when printed before the secondary photocrosslinking step. Thus, the burden is shifted back to establish criticality of the claimed elastic modulus range by objective evidence.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prestwich as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cosson et al. (Scientific Reports (March 2014), 4:4462; Reference U).
The teachings of Prestwich are relied upon as set forth above in rejecting claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 as anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). Prestwich further teaches cell aggregates (e.g. 3D organ constructs) comprising embryonic cells and/or stem cells (¶0056), reading in-part on claim 8.
Regarding claim 8, Prestwich does not teach wherein said substrate comprises a microfluidic device having at least one chamber, and said depositing is carried out in said at least one chamber; or said substrate comprises a first planar member, said depositing step is carried out on said planar member, and said method further comprises the step of inserting said planar member into a chamber of a microfluidic device.
Cosson teaches a hydrogel microfluidic system for both adherent or aggregate-based cell culture (p2, left column, paragraph starting “We reasoned…”). Cosson teaches that the substrate comprises a microfluidic device having at least one chamber, and said depositing of hydrogel is carried out in said at least one chamber and further comprises embryonic stem cells (Fig. 1 and p2, right column, subheading “ESC culture on hydrogel chip surface.”), reading on claim 8. Cosson teaches that the microfluidic device is advantageous to deliver biomolecules in a tightly controlled fashion to embryonic stem cells such that the embryonic stem cells differentiate into neural stem cells (p3-4, subheading starting “Spatiotemporarlly controlled…”, Fig. 3, and p4, 1st paragraph of the “Conclusion”), reading on claim 8.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to add the microfluidic device of Cosson to the methods of Prestwich. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because towards methods of making embryonic stem cell aggregates in-part by culturing said cells with a hydrogel composition, The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Cosson teaches that the microfluidic device is advantageous to deliver biomolecules in a tightly controlled fashion to embryonic stem cells such that the embryonic stem cells differentiate into neural stem cells, thus improving the methods of Prestwich to make neural stem cells from embryonic stem cells.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 20, 21, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prestwich as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anseth et al. (WO 2012/1063445; provided in the IDS dated 5/18/2023).
The teachings of Prestwich are relied upon as set forth above in rejecting claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 as anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). Prestwich further teaches cell aggregates (e.g. 3D organ constructs) comprising embryonic cells and/or stem cells (¶0056), reading in-part on claims 20, 21, and 23-25. Prestwich further teaches that the hydrogel composites produced therein are advantageous in downstream methods of tissue engineering (¶0051)
Regarding claim 20, Prestwich does not teach wherein said cross-linkable prepolymer is formed from a reaction of: (i) a thiol-substituted polymer and (ii) a first thiol-reactive crosslinking agent, wherein the reaction at least partially crosslinks the thiol-substituted polymer and the first thiol- reactive crosslinking agent. Regarding claim 21, Prestwich does not teach wherein said thiol-substituted polymer is selected from the group consisting of thiolated hyaluronic acid, thiolated gelatin, and a combination thereof, and wherein said first thiol-reactive crosslinking agent is selected from the group consisting of a polyalkylene glycol diacrylate, a polyalkylene glycol 4-arm acrylate, and a combination thereof. Regarding claim 23, Prestwich does not teach wherein said post-deposition crosslinking group comprises an alkyne. Regarding claim 24, Prestwich does not teach wherein said post-deposition crosslinking group comprises a multi-arm thiol-reactive crosslinking agent and/or polyethylene glycol dialkyne. Regarding claim 25, Prestwich does not teach wherein said post-deposition crosslinking group is a PEG 4-arm alkyne or PEG 8-arm alkyne.
Anseth teaches a thiol-yne polymeric material and methods for producing said polymers (Abstract). Anseth teaches that the polymers described herein can be used as a substrate for the growth of various cell types (p9, lines 1-5), reading in-part on claims 20-25. Anseth teaches the polymer formulated as a hydrogel (claim 6), reading in-part on claims 20, 21, and 23-25. Anseth teaches a thiol-substituted polymer comprising hyaluronic acid or gelatin (claim 5), reading on claim 20. Anseth teaches that a thiol-reactive crosslinking agent comprising 4-arm thiolated PEG (Example 3) further modified to comprise vinyl functional monomers such as acrylates (p7, lines 11-16), reading on claim 21. Anseth teaches a thiol-reactive crosslinking agent comprising an alkyne (claim 1), and a 4-arm PEG alkyne (paragraph spanning p1-2), reading on claims 23-25. Anseth teaches that there is a need in this art for materials in tissue regeneration that are low cost, versatile, and easily prepared (p1, lines 10-15), reading on claims 20, 21, and 23-25. Anseth teaches that the thiol-yne polymeric material may be used as a substrate for cell and stem cell growth (p9, lines 1-5), reading on claims 20, 21, and 23-25.
Regarding claims 20, 21, and 23-25, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the thiolated hyaluronic acid or thiolated gelatin and the thiolated 4-arm PEG alkyne of Anseth for the hyaluronic acid or gelatin and crosslinkable methacrylate groups of Prestwich in Prestwich’s methods. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because both Anseth and Prestwich are directed towards crosslinked hyaluronic acid and/or gelatin hydrogel compositions for either the culturing/manufacture of a stem cell aggregate (e.g. 3D organ construct) for Prestwich or culturing of stem cells for Anseth, and because both Anseth and Prestwich are directed towards downstream methods of tissue engineering/regeneration. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Anseth teaches that the thiolated hyaluronic acid or thiolated gelatin and the thiolated 4-arm PEG alkyne are predictably advantageous by being low cost, versatile, and easily prepared, and would thus improve upon the downstream methods of tissue engineering/regeneration taught by Prestwich.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19-22, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prestwich as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Prestwich et al. (US 2010/0330143; Reference A, and hereafter referred to as “the Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication”).
The teachings of Prestwich are relied upon as set forth above in rejecting claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 as anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim 20, Prestwich does not teach wherein said cross-linkable prepolymer is formed from a reaction of: (i) a thiol-substituted polymer and (ii) a first thiol-reactive crosslinking agent, wherein the reaction at least partially crosslinks the thiol-substituted polymer and the first thiol- reactive crosslinking agent. Regarding claim 21, Prestwich does not teach wherein said thiol-substituted polymer is selected from the group consisting of thiolated hyaluronic acid, thiolated gelatin, and a combination thereof, and wherein said first thiol-reactive crosslinking agent is selected from the group consisting of a polyalkylene glycol diacrylate, a polyalkylene glycol 4-arm acrylate, and a combination thereof. Regarding claim 22, Prestwich does not teach wherein said thiol-substituted polymer comprises thiolated hyaluronic acid and said first thiol-reactive crosslinking agent comprises polyethylene glycol diacrylate.
The Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication teaches a hydrogel composition comprising thiolated hyaluronic acid and PEDGA (i.e. CarbylanTM-SX) (¶0188, ¶0291, and ¶309), reading on claims 20-22. The Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication teaches that the hydrogel composition is advantageous as post-op adhesion barrier that is resorbable, easy to use, and stay in place after application (¶0253), reading on claims 20-22. The Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication teaches culturing a plurality of cells or cell aggregates (e.g. 3D organ construct) in the hydrogel composition and for downstream use in methods of tissue engineering (¶0266-0268), reading on claims 20-22
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to substitute the thiolated hyaluronic acid and PEDGA (i.e. CarbylanTM-SX) of the Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication for the hyaluronic acid and crosslinkable methacrylate groups of Prestwich in Prestwich’s methods. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because both the Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication and Prestwich are directed towards crosslinked hyaluronic acid hydrogel compositions for either the culturing/manufacture of a cell aggregate (e.g. 3D organ construct), and because both the Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication and Prestwich are directed towards downstream methods of tissue engineering/regeneration. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the Prestwich ‘143 pre-grant publication teaches that the thiolated hyaluronic acid and PEDGA (i.e. CarbylanTM-SX) hydrogen composition would be predictably advantageous as post-op adhesion barrier that is resorbable, easy to use, and stay in place after application, and would thus improve upon the downstream methods of tissue engineering/regeneration taught by Prestwich.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prestwich as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tirella et al. (Tissue Engineering: Part C (2011), 17(2), 229-237; Reference V).
The teachings of Prestwich are relied upon as set forth above in rejecting claims 1, 2, 4-7, 16, 17, 19, and 26 as anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). In view of the indefiniteness rejection above and in the interest of compact prosecution, claim 27 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103. Prestwich further teaches a crosslinkable macromolecule/polymer comprising alginic acid (¶0042), reading in-part on claim 27.
Regarding claim 27, Prestwich does not teach the embodiment of extruding the hydrogel composition through a needle having a needle gauge range of 20-30G.
Tirella teaches methods of making cell-incorporated alginate scaffold with piston-assisted microsyringe (PAM2) (Abstract). Tirella teaches extruding the alginate hydrogel through a 29 gauge needle (the paragraph spanning p230-231), reading on claim 27. Tirella teaches loading the alginate hydrogel composition with HepG2 cells (p230, right column, paragraph starting “HepG2 cell line”), reading in part on claim 27. Tirella teaches that the PAM2 system and methods fabricates well-defined 3D scaffolds using materials with high viscosity, typically hydrogels (paragraph spanning p230-231) and is capable of yielding hydrogel compositions in a hexagonal grid shape which mimics the hepatic lobule (p231 subheading “Cell-incorporated alginate scaffolds”, and Fig. 2), reading on claim 27.
Regarding claim 27, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to further extrude the hydrogel composition of Prestwich with the needle gauges of Tirella. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so because both Tirella and Prestwich are directed towards methods of extrudable cell-incorporated hydrogel scaffolds. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because the further extrusion of Prestwich’s hydrogel would be predictably advantageous to yield the HepG2 cells of Prestwich formulated as in a hexagonal grid shape which mimics the hepatic lobule.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. No claims are free of the art.
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653