DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to U.S. Patent Application No. 18319942 filed on 05/18/2023 in which Claims 1 – 9 were presented for examination.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2), and Claims 2 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Examiner Note
The Examiner cites particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraph numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/18/2023 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the modeling path information is information representing respective modeling paths of N modeling layers formed using the modeling material injected from the injection unit, N is an integer equal to or larger than 1”, this claim language is indefinite, because it is unclear how N can be 1, since if N is equal to one, it will render the claim indefinite, since no stacking of layers or additional layers will be available.
For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting N as larger than 1.
Claims 8 and 9 recites similar claim language, and accordingly, claims 8 and 9 are also indefinite.
Due to at least their dependency upon Claim 1, Claims 2 – 7 are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shiihara (US 2017/0123407) (hereinafter, Shiihara).
Regarding Claim 1, Shiihara teaches a controller (See Shiihara’s Abstract) comprising:
a processor controlling a three-dimensional modeling apparatus including a stage, an injection unit injecting a modeling material onto the stage, and a movement unit relatively moving the stage and the injection unit (Shiihara in par 0032 and Fig. 1,teaches that a 3D printer 102 is an example of a control apparatus configured to perform modeling of a three-dimensional object to be modeled based on special model data. Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer. The movement along the Z-axis is realized by, for example, moving the print head in the Z-axis direction or moving a build plate upward and downward); and
a memory unit in which modeling path information and correspondence information are stored (Shiihara in par 0076 and Fig. 4, further teaches that the object identifier refers to an identifier for uniquely identifying object data. In the column of the object data file, file paths each in which a file of object data is stored. The material to be used refers to the type of consumable material used in the modeling of an object. Shiihara in par 0134, further teaches that a change can be made in the filling settings of object. For example, the filling density of object is decreased to such an extent that the modeling can be performed within a range of the amount of consumable material in the 3D printer 102 that is available for use),
wherein the modeling path information is information representing respective modeling paths of N modeling layers formed using the modeling material injected from the injection unit (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve. Shiihara in par 0078 and Fig. 1, further teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer),
N is an integer equal to or larger than 1 (Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer),
the correspondence information is information in which overlap extent information representing an extent of overlap of the modeling paths and velocity information representing a relative movement velocity of the injection unit to the stage are correlated (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The printing speed is the modeling speed of the 3D printer 102. For example, in a case of a FDM 3D printer, the speed of expulsion of consumable material (filament material) under pressure is used as the modeling speed. Shiihara in par 0082 – 0083 and Fig. 8, further teaches that in the case where a change is made in the object shape and the object scale or the device settings and the modeling settings, the modeling instruction received in step S601 contains the contents of the changed data and the changed settings. An item 803 is an item for setting a printing speed value (ram/sec)),
the processor performs modeling control to model a three-dimensional modeled object in a predetermined shape by injecting the modeling material onto the stage using the injection unit and stacking the N modeling layers (Shiihara in par 0078, teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer), and
the modeling control includes movement velocity control to determine the movement velocity when the respective N modeling layers are formed by the injection unit based on the modeling path information and the correspondence information (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve. Shiihara in par 0078 and Fig. 1, further teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer).
Regarding Claim 8, Shiihara teaches a controller (See Shiihara’s Abstract) comprising:
a processor controlling a three-dimensional modeling apparatus including a stage, an injection unit injecting a modeling material onto the stage, and a movement unit relatively moving the stage and the injection unit (Shiihara in par 0032 and Fig. 1,teaches that a 3D printer 102 is an example of a control apparatus configured to perform modeling of a three-dimensional object to be modeled based on special model data. Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer. The movement along the Z-axis is realized by, for example, moving the print head in the Z-axis direction or moving a build plate upward and downward); and
a memory unit in which modeling path information and correspondence information are stored (Shiihara in par 0076 and Fig. 4, further teaches that the object identifier refers to an identifier for uniquely identifying object data. In the column of the object data file, file paths each in which a file of object data is stored. The material to be used refers to the type of consumable material used in the modeling of an object. Shiihara in par 0134, further teaches that a change can be made in the filling settings of object. For example, the filling density of object is decreased to such an extent that the modeling can be performed within a range of the amount of consumable material in the 3D printer 102 that is available for use),
wherein the modeling path information is information representing respective modeling paths of N modeling layers formed using the modeling material injected from the injection unit (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve. Shiihara in par 0078 and Fig. 1, further teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer),
N is an integer equal to or larger than 1 (Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer),
the correspondence information is information in which overlap extent information representing an extent of overlap of the modeling paths and width information representing a width of the modeling path are correlated (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. With a smaller value of the layer thickness, a modeled object with a smoother surface is obtained),
the processor performs modeling control to model a three-dimensional modeled object in a predetermined shape by injecting the modeling material onto the stage using the injection unit and stacking the N modeling layers (Shiihara in par 0078, teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer), and
the modeling control includes width control to determine the width of the modeling path when the respective N modeling layers are formed by the injection unit based on the modeling path information and the correspondence information (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve. Shiihara in par 0078 and Fig. 1, further teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer).
Regarding Claim 9, Shiihara teaches a three-dimensional modeling apparatus (See Shiihara’s Abstract) comprising:
a stage (Shiihara in para 0078, teaches moving a build plate upward and downward);
an injection unit injecting a modeling material onto the stage (Shiihara in par 0078, teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature);
a movement unit relatively moving the stage and the injection unit (Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer. The movement along the Z-axis is realized by, for example, moving the print head in the Z-axis direction or moving a build plate upward and downward); and
a controller (Shiihara in par 0032 and Fig. 1,teaches that a 3D printer 102 is an example of a control apparatus configured to perform modeling of a three-dimensional object to be modeled based on special model data),
wherein the controller includes
a processor controlling the injection unit and the movement unit (Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer. The movement along the Z-axis is realized by, for example, moving the print head in the Z-axis direction or moving a build plate upward and downward), and
a memory unit in which modeling path information and correspondence information are stored (Shiihara in par 0076 and Fig. 4, further teaches that the object identifier refers to an identifier for uniquely identifying object data. In the column of the object data file, file paths each in which a file of object data is stored. The material to be used refers to the type of consumable material used in the modeling of an object. Shiihara in par 0134, further teaches that a change can be made in the filling settings of object. For example, the filling density of object is decreased to such an extent that the modeling can be performed within a range of the amount of consumable material in the 3D printer 102 that is available for use),
the modeling path information is information representing respective modeling paths of N modeling layers formed using the modeling material injected from the injection unit (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve. Shiihara in par 0078 and Fig. 1, further teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer),
N is an integer equal to or larger than 1 (Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer),
the correspondence information is information in which overlap extent information representing an extent of overlap of the modeling paths and velocity information representing a relative movement velocity of the injection unit to the stage are correlated (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The printing speed is the modeling speed of the 3D printer 102. For example, in a case of a FDM 3D printer, the speed of expulsion of consumable material (filament material) under pressure is used as the modeling speed. Shiihara in par 0082 – 0083 and Fig. 8, further teaches that in the case where a change is made in the object shape and the object scale or the device settings and the modeling settings, the modeling instruction received in step S601 contains the contents of the changed data and the changed settings. An item 803 is an item for setting a printing speed value (ram/sec)),
the processor performs modeling control to model a three-dimensional modeled object in a predetermined shape by injecting the modeling material onto the stage using the injection unit and stacking the N modeling layers (Shiihara in par 0078, teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer), and
the modeling control includes movement velocity control to determine the movement velocity when the respective N modeling layers are formed by the injection unit based on the modeling path information and the correspondence information (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve. Shiihara in par 0078 and Fig. 1, further teaches that control commands 501 are a file in text format in which a control command for the 3D printer 102 is described in each line. The 3D printer 102 acquires the control commands line by line and performs modeling according to the commands. Examples of information contained in the control commands 501 include coordinate information about the movement of a print head, the amount of consumable material to be used (in the case of FDM, the length of expulsion of a filament under pressure, etc.), a stacking pitch, and a head temperature. The coordinates of the movement of the print head are designated in X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions. For example, commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiihara in view of Takushima et al. (US 2023/0294170) (hereinafter, Takushima).
Regarding Claim 2, Shiihara teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 1. Shiihara further teaches:
wherein the correspondence information includes first correspondence information in which first overlap extent information representing a predetermined first extent as the extent of overlap and first velocity information representing a predetermined first velocity as the movement velocity are correlated (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The printing speed is the modeling speed of the 3D printer 102. For example, in a case of a FDM 3D printer, the speed of expulsion of consumable material (filament material) under pressure is used as the modeling speed), and
however, Shiihara does not specifically disclose a second correspondence information in which second overlap extent information representing a second extent smaller than the first extent as the extent of overlap and second velocity information representing a second velocity lower than the first velocity as the movement velocity are correlated.
Takushima teaches a 3D printing apparatus (See Takushima’s Abstract). Takushima in par 0113, teaches that the control unit 51controls machining conditions for changing the amount of deposition in the second layer based on the measurement result of the first layer. The control unit 51 controls machining conditions by changing parameters such as the laser output of the machining laser 1, the scanning speed that is the moving speed of the drive stage 6, and the wire feed speed that is the supply speed of the machining material 7, for example.
Takushima in par 0116 – 0117, further teaches that the control unit 51 may perform machining control by changing a parameter other than the laser output, namely the moving speed of the drive stage 6 or the supply speed of the machining material 7. The control unit 51 may increase the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and reduce the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. The control unit 51 may reduce the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and increase the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. For example, when area II in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R2 higher than R1 so as to reduce the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V2 lower than V1 so as to reduce the bead width. When area III in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R3 lower than R1 so as to increase the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V3 higher than V1 so as to increase the bead width.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the teachings as in Takushima with the teachings as in Shiihara to monitor each layer in Shiihara as disclosed in Takushima. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively control the speed in the printing process in order to maintain the printed object with the designed width, thus maintaining the correct shape design (See Takushima’s par 0081).
Regarding Claim 3, Shiihara in view of Takushima teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Shiihara further teaches:
wherein the correspondence information is information in a table form including a record containing the first correspondence information and a record containing the second correspondence information (Shiihara in par 0066 – 0067 and Fig. 4, teaches that a modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The modeling setting identifier refers to an identifier for uniquely identifying a modeling setting. The printing speed is the modeling speed of the 3D printer 102).
Regarding Claim 4, Shiihara in view of Takushima teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Takushima further teaches:
wherein the correspondence information is a function of correlating the overlap extent information with the velocity information (Takushima in par 0116 – 0117 and Fig. 11, further teaches that the control unit 51 may perform machining control by changing a parameter other than the laser output, namely the moving speed of the drive stage 6 or the supply speed of the machining material 7. The control unit 51 may increase the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and reduce the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. The control unit 51 may reduce the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and increase the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. For example, when area II in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R2 higher than R1 so as to reduce the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V2 lower than V1 so as to reduce the bead width. When area III in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R3 lower than R1 so as to increase the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V3 higher than V1 so as to increase the bead width).
Regarding Claim 5, Shiihara in view of Takushima teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Shiihara further teaches:
wherein the processor specifies a direction of the modeling path in each position on the modeling path of a first modeling layer of the N modeling layers and a direction of the modeling path in each position on the modeling path of a second modeling layer stacked on the first modeling layer, (Shiihara in par 0078, further teaches that commands are described that designate X and Y coordinates indicating the print head movement corresponding to one layer and order the print, head to move along the Z-axis at the completion of stacking of the layer to perform stacking of a next layer. The movement along the Z-axis is realized by, for example, moving the print head in the Z-axis direction or moving a build plate upward and downward), and
However, Shiihara does not specifically disclose determines the extent of overlap with respect to the second modeling layer based on the specified directions in the movement velocity control.
Takushima in par 0116 – 0117 and Fig. 11, further teaches that the control unit 51 may perform machining control by changing a parameter other than the laser output, namely the moving speed of the drive stage 6 or the supply speed of the machining material 7. The control unit 51 may increase the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and reduce the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. The control unit 51 may reduce the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and increase the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. For example, when area II in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R2 higher than R1 so as to reduce the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V2 lower than V1 so as to reduce the bead width. When area III in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R3 lower than R1 so as to increase the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V3 higher than V1 so as to increase the bead width).
Regarding Claim 6, Shiihara in view of Takushima teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 5. Takushima further teaches:
wherein the processor determines the extent of overlap with respect to the second modeling layer based on the direction of the modeling path of the second modeling layer and the direction of the modeling path of the first modeling layer with respect to each of one or more overlap positions in which the modeling path of the second modeling layer and the modeling path of the first modeling layer overlap, and determines the movement velocity when the second modeling layer is formed by the injection unit based on the extent of overlap with respect to the second modeling layer determined with respect to each of one or more overlap positions and the correspondence information in the movement velocity control (Takushima in par 0116 – 0117 and Fig. 11, further teaches that the control unit 51 may perform machining control by changing a parameter other than the laser output, namely the moving speed of the drive stage 6 or the supply speed of the machining material 7. The control unit 51 may increase the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and reduce the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. The control unit 51 may reduce the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and increase the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. For example, when area II in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R2 higher than R1 so as to reduce the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V2 lower than V1 so as to reduce the bead width. When area III in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R3 lower than R1 so as to increase the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V3 higher than V1 so as to increase the bead width. Takushima in par 0119, further teaches that in a case where the measurement position 43 is provided in the same direction as the direction in which the high-temperature portion 32 is generated with respect to the machining position, that is, in a case where the measurement position 43 is provided on the rear side with respect to the running direction of additive machining, when the i-th layer is deposited, the height of the i-th layer after deposition is measured. Therefore, in the case of controlling machining conditions using the measured height of the machining material supply unit 10, the control unit 51 stores, for the entire i-th layer, the measurement result for the measurement position 43 in the i-th layer, and uses the measurement result when depositing the (i+1)-th layer).
Regarding Claim 7, Shiihara in view of Takushima teaches the limitations contained in parent Claim 2. Shiihara further teaches:
Shiihara in par 0066 – 0068 and Fig. 4, further teaches that modeling setting management table 402 is a table configured to manage information about modeling settings associated with respective pieces of 3D printer information. Examples of information managed by the modeling setting management table 402 include a modeling setting identifier, a device identifier, a printing speed, a layer thickness, a filling density, a filling pattern, and a support structure. The layer thickness is the thickness (pitch width) per layer. The filling density is the filling density of modeled object. The filling pattern is the shape of an internal configuration of a modeled object. Examples of filling patterns include a rectilinear shape, a concentric shape, a honeycomb shape, and a Hilbert curve.
Takushima in par 0116 – 0117, further teaches that the control unit 51 may perform machining control by changing a parameter other than the laser output, namely the moving speed of the drive stage 6 or the supply speed of the machining material 7. The control unit 51 may increase the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and reduce the speed at which the machining position is moved when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. The control unit 51 may reduce the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is greater than a preset target value, and increase the supply speed of the machining material 7 when the width of the object 4 measured is smaller than the preset target value. For example, when area II in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R2 higher than R1 so as to reduce the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V2 lower than V1 so as to reduce the bead width. When area III in the second layer is machined, the control unit 51 changes the moving speed to R3 lower than R1 so as to increase the bead width. Alternatively, the control unit 51 changes the supply speed to V3 higher than V1 so as to increase the bead width.
Accordingly, Shiihara teaches the printing of plurality of layers, each of the layers having a thickness while Takushima teaches a plurality of layers, maintaining the predetermined thickness by changing the printing speed.
Accordingly, Shiihara in view of Takushima teaches or suggests wherein the processor specifies a width of the modeling path in each position on the modeling path of a third modeling layer of the N modeling layers and a width of the modeling path in each position on the modeling path of a fourth modeling layer stacked on the third modeling layer based on the modeling path information, and determines the extent of overlap with respect to the fourth modeling layer based on the specified widths in the movement velocity control.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ARIEL MERCADO-VARGAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118