Response to Arguments
Claims 1-5,7-11 are pending. Applicant's arguments (Remarks) filed 30 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Cavasinni teaches the newly amended claim limitations: a plurality of attachment points fixedly attaching the substrate to the rail a wherein a window of movement of the variable suspension point is provided along the rail in the axial direction and defined between adjacent attachment points of the plurality of attachment points (Replacing previous attachment points 34 with end caps 60: 60 contributes to attaching substrate F to rail 12 and having window of movement 16 along rail 12 between each 60; Para. 0116; Fig. 8C-8D,10). Due to amendment, previous, the rejection has been updated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavasinni (US 2022/0074203 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Cavasinni discloses a suspension system (Para. 0094,0104; Fig. 1A-B,8A-D) comprising:
a substrate comprising a horizontal portion extending in an axial direction (Substrate F; Para. 0114; Fig. 8A-D);
a rail extending in the axial direction disposed on a top face of the horizontal portion of the substrate (Rail 12 on top face of substrate F; Para. 0114-0116; Fig. 8A-D);
a plurality of attachment points fixedly attaching the substrate to the rail (60 contributes to attaching substrate F to rail 12; Para. 0116; Fig. 8C-D,9); and
a variable suspension point slidably attached to the rail and having a suspension wire extending therefrom configured to be attached to an anchor point for the suspension system (Variable suspension point 50 attached to rail 12 having suspension wire 54; Para. 0104; Fig. 11),
wherein a window of movement of the variable suspension point is provided along the rail and defined between adjacent attachment points of the plurality of attachment points (Window 16 of movement of variable suspension point 50 along between each 60; Para. 0116; Fig. 8C-8D,10); and
wherein the substrate is suspended from the anchor point through the variable suspension point and the suspension wire (Substrate F suspended from anchor points 34 through variable suspension point 50 and suspension wire 54; Fig. 8A,11).
Regarding Claim 2, Cavasinni discloses the suspension system of claim 1, wherein the substrate is made from a sew-able fibrous material (Panels made of polyester/wool fiber materials known to be sewable; Para. 0117).
Regarding Claim 4, Cavasinni discloses the suspension system of claim 1, wherein the rail comprises a rail shaft raceway forming a cavity running axially along a length of the rail (Rail 12 with raceway 16; Para. 0106; Fig. 9); wherein the variable suspension point comprises a suspension bearing slidably disposed within the rail shaft raceway (Bearing 59 within raceway 16; Para. 0106; Fig. 11,16).
Regarding Claim 5, Cavasinni discloses the suspension system of claim 4, wherein the variable suspension point comprises a suspension body attached to the suspension bearing at a first end of the suspension body (Suspension body 55 attached to bearing 59 at first end 57; Para. 0106; Fig. 16); and
wherein the variable suspension point comprises the suspension wire attached to the suspension body at a second end of the suspension body (Suspension wire 54 attached to suspension body 55 at second end 52; Fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavasinni (US 2022/0074203 A1) in view of Geer (US 10,883,266 B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Cavasinni discloses the suspension system of claim 1. Cavasinni fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more attachment points (60 Fig. 8C-8D) are fiber-reinforced adhesive strips or adhesive-less strips. However, Geer teaches wherein the one or more attachment points are fiber-reinforced adhesive strips or adhesive-less strips (Geer: Attachment points 30 comprise webbing strap; Col. 7, Lines 50-67; Col. 8, Lines 1-10; Fig. 4-7). Geer and Cavasinni are in similar fields comprising suspended panels. Modifying Cavasinni with teachings of Geer would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the one or more attachment points are fiber-reinforced adhesive strips or adhesive-less strips for the purpose of distributing weight of the suspension system while securing mounting elements (Geer: Col. 9, Lines 1-30).
Regarding Claim 7, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to Claim 1. Claim 7 is rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 and additionally Cavasinni discloses an acoustic control structure comprising of the suspension system (Para. 0094,0104; Fig. 1A-B); a first sound dampening panel; and a second sound dampening panel (Alternative embodiment in Fig. 21-22 showing additional panels 140,142; Para. 0154,0159. Panels having acoustic properties; Para. 0001-0002).
Cavasinni fails to explicitly a first sound dampening panel; a second sound dampening panel; the first sound dampening panel, the second sound dampening panel, and the substrate (140, 142, F; Fig. 8A,21) are sewn together; and wherein the first sound dampening panel, the second sound dampening panel are suspended from the anchor point through the variable suspension point and the suspension wire. However, Geer teaches a first sound dampening panel; and a second sound dampening panel, and wherein the first sound dampening panel, the second sound dampening panel, and the substrate are sewn together (Geer’s cover 20 comprising acoustic panels 21/23 sewn around fiberglass substate; Col. 12, Lines 5-40; Fig. 2-3,7; and wherein the first sound dampening panel, the second sound dampening panel are suspended from the anchor point through the variable suspension point and the suspension wire (Follows as 20 is suspended through the same anchor point 30). Geer and Cavasinni are in similar fields comprising suspended panels. Modifying Cavasinni with teachings of Geer would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention wherein the first sound dampening panel, the second sound dampening panel, and the substrate are sewn together and wherein the first sound dampening panel, the second sound dampening panel are suspended from the anchor point through the variable suspension point and the suspension wire for the purpose of varying frequency absorption and encasing sound absorbent material in a single structure (Geer: Col. 12, Lines 10-35).
Regarding Claims 8-11, please note the rejection as set forth above with respect to Claim 2-5. Claim 8-11 is rejected for similar reasons as claims 2-5, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER B OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/DEDEI K HAMMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837