DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10 April 2026. Claims 1-30 are now pending in the present application and claims 14-22 and 27-30 are non-elected (or withdrawn). This office action is made Non-Final.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 and 23-26 in the reply filed on 10 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-22 and 27-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 April 2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (hereinafter Ye; US 2023/0239837 A1) in view of further support by Yu et al. (hereinafter Yu; US 2022/0053524 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Arnold discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 106) { (see pg. 4, [0050]; Figs. 1-5) }, comprising:
one or more processors (e.g., 302) { (see pg. 6, [0076, 0071]; pg. 4, [0050]; Figs. 1-5) };
one or more memories (e.g., 306) coupled with the one or more processors (e.g., 302) { (see pg. 6, [0076, 0071]; pg. 4, [0050]; Figs. 1-5) }; and
instructions stored in the one or more memories (e.g., 306) and executable by the one or more processors (e.g., 302) to cause the apparatus to { (see pp. 6-7, [0076-0077, 0071]; pg. 4, [0050]; Figs. 1-5) }:
receive control signaling (e.g., signal) indicating a configuration that identifies a pattern where a network entity cycles (e.g., DRX) over time between a first network operation state and a second network operation state, the second network operation state associated with lower power consumption than the first network operation state { (see pg. 9, [0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B), where the system provides a signal (e.g., scheduling signal (see pg. 9, [0104, lines 8-14]) };
switch, at the UE (e.g., 106), from a first sidelink mode of operation to a second sidelink mode of operation base at least in part on the control signaling { (see pg. 9, [0109]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B), where the system provides two sidelink modes (see pg. 8, [0095]) },
wherein sidelink communication of the UE (e.g., 106) is scheduled by the network entity for the first sidelink mode of operation, and wherein the sidelink communication of the UE (e.g., 106) is scheduled by the UE or a second UE for the second sidelink mode of operation { (see pg. 9, [0109]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B), where the system provides two sidelink modes }; and
communicate, while operating in the second sidelink mode of operation, one or more sidelink messages with the second UE (e.g., 106) based at least in part on the switch { (see pg. 9, [0109]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B), where the system provides two sidelink modes }.
Ye inexplicitly disclose having the feature(s) switch, at the UE, from a first sidelink mode of operation to a second sidelink mode of operation base at least in part on the control signaling. However, in the alternative, the examiner maintains that the feature(s) switch, at the UE, from a first sidelink mode of operation to a second sidelink mode of operation base at least in part on the control signaling was well known in the art, as taught by Yu.
As further alternative support in the same field of endeavor, Yu discloses the feature(s)
switch, at the UE, from a first sidelink mode of operation to a second sidelink mode of operation base at least in part on the control signaling { (see pg. 6, [0071, 0074]; Figs. 1-5), where the system provides a sidelink can switched between a first mode and second mode }.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ye as further alternatively supported by Yu to have the feature(s) switch, at the UE, from a first sidelink mode of operation to a second sidelink mode of operation base at least in part on the control signaling, in order to provide a method and an apparatus that provides resource scheduling, as taught by Yu (see pg. 1, [0006]).
Regarding claims 2 and 24, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: transmit a request to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on the control signaling, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on the request { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claims 3 and 25, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on the indication { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claims 4 and 26, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication of a resource pool associated with the second sidelink mode of operation, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to communicate the one or more sidelink messages to the second UE via resources scheduled from the resource pool { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 4), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on the indication of the resource pool { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive an indication of a transition by the network entity between the first network operation state and the second network operation state, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on the indication of the transition between the first network operation state and the second network operation state { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication of a timer associated with a transition by the network entity between the first network operation state and the second network operation state, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on expiration of the timer associated with the transition between the first network operation state and the second network operation state { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: receive signaling indicative of a transition by the network entity between the first network operation state and the second network operation state, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on the signaling { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on a duration of the second network operation state satisfying a timing threshold { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation based at least in part on one of a duration of the first network operation state or a duty cycle of the first network operation state failing to satisfy a timing threshold { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to switch are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: switch from the first sidelink mode of operation to the second sidelink mode of operation for a subset of the one or more sidelink messages based at least in part on one of a packet delay budget of each of the subset of the one or more sidelink messages, a periodicity of each of the subset of the one or more sidelink messages, or each of the subset of the one or more sidelink messages being generated during the second network operation state { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first network operation state is an active state of a discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity and the second network operation state is an inactive state of the discontinuous transmission cycle of the network entity { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ye and Yu discloses every limitation claimed, as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ye further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first network operation state is an active state of a discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity and the second network operation state is an inactive state of the discontinuous reception cycle of the network entity { (see pg. 9, [0109, 0104]; Figs. 1-3 & 7-16B) }.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breuer et al. (US 2025/0358832 A1) discloses setup of a second sidelink in high range of frequency.
Elazzouni et al. (US 2024/0215106 A1) discloses sidelink time division multiplex in-device coexistence.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
21 September 2026