DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: The amendment filed on 03/12/2026. This action is made final.
Claims 1-4, 7, 13, 15-17, 22-24, 27-30 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 13, and 22 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 23 recites the limitations that are recited in claim 1 upon which it depends.
Claim 24 is rejected as incorporating the deficiency of the claim 23 upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 13, 15-17, 22-24, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starner et al. (US 2015/0268799 A1; hereinafter as Starner) in view of Davis et al. (US 2019/0121522 A1; hereafter Davis).
As to claim 1, Starner discloses:
An interface displaying method (see ¶ 0005-0006), comprising:
in response to an interface displaying instruction, recognizing a preset human body part (see Fig. 3A and ¶ 0059; The user may direct where the projection of the laser pattern of objects 300 is displayed based on a gaze direction of the user (e.g., a direction that the user is looking) In the example shown in FIG. 3A, the user is looking at a hand 302, and thus, the laser pattern of objects 300 may be projected onto the hand 302. In this example, the hand 302 may be considered a display hand, and the laser projection of objects 300 is a number keypad);
determining an interface displaying area on the recognized preset human body part (see ¶ 0109; a location of the hand can be determined; As another example, the processor may be configured to determine an area of the surface, and to instruct the projector to provide the virtual input device onto the area of the surface, such as by widening or narrowing the projection to accommodate an available area; Thus, the projection may initially be of a first coverage area, and may subsequently be modified to that of a second coverage area that is less than or greater than the first coverage area (e.g., start off wide and decrease, or start off narrow and increase));
generating and displaying an operation interface according to the interface displaying area (see ¶ 0109; instruct the projector to provide the virtual input device onto the area of the surface. See Figs. 3A-5 and ¶ 0062-0064; virtual input device is displayed/projected onto the hand 302);
receiving a clicking operation for the operation interface from a user on the preset human body part (see Fig. 5-6 and ¶ 0065-0066; receiving an input on a virtual input device; a user may use an opposite hand to provide an input by selecting one of the objects of the laser pattern of objects 308. See Figs. 11A-11C and ¶ 0092; selection and/or clicking operation).
Starner does not appear to teach: performing an interactive operation in response to the clicking operation for the operation interface. However, Davis is relied upon for teaching the limitations. Specifically, Davis teaches a method for displaying an interface on a user’s body part (see Figs. 4A-4B and ¶ 0587) comprising:
generating and displaying an operation interface according to the interface displaying area (see ¶ 0581, 0587; The device detects the user's hands and based on predetermined or user input projects 308 a user interface on the user's hand. See Fig. 7A-9C; user interface are displayed onto user’s hand/wrist);
receiving a clicking operation for the operation interface from a user on the preset human body part (see ¶ 0587; The user then uses their other hand to manipulate the AGUI user interface using gestures or by manipulating the interface projected on their hand. In this case, the user has positioned their palm so that the AGUI device is able to clearly project a display image on it. See Figs. 10A-10B and ¶ 0592; user can select a menu item using other hand. ¶ 0770; the user may touch a virtual control to make a selection).
performing an interactive operation in response to the clicking operation for the operation interface (See Figs. 10A-10B and ¶ 0592; When the AGUI device detects that the finger has touched the SEARCH menu control 520, it instructs the running application program to display a sub-menu 505. The AGUI device is aware of the size and placement of the user's hand and that it is in the field of view of the user and selects the user's palm and fingers to display the sub-menu 505 comprising a large display surface 534 and further menu controls 532).
Starner teaches wherein determining the interface displaying area on the preset human body part (see ¶ 0109; determine the location of the surface). Starner does not explicitly discloses the determination comprises: recognizing a plurality of human body key points of the preset human body part; and determining the interface displaying area corresponding to the plurality of human body key points. However, Davis teaches determining an interface displaying area on the preset human body part comprises: recognizing a plurality of human body key points of the preset human body part; and determining the interface displaying area corresponding to the plurality of human body key points (see ¶ 0581-0582, 0721, 0725, 0735; the mapping system and the intelligence surrounding it identify zones corresponding to a central palm area and finger areas that extend out from the palm area. ¶ 0722; mapping the surface consists of determining the 3-dimensional spatial location of each point of the projected pattern that can be captured in the image. See Figs. 6A-6C and ¶ 0588; the AGUI system maps out the position of the body parts, detects that the user’s fingers are together, and determines that it can project a large display surface 330 on the palm of the hand, including fingers. ¶ 0747; Processed mapping data recognizes that finger zones include sub-zones separated by joints, and the device can choose to further divide selection content onto specific parts of fingers).
Both references, each is directed to a method of displaying a user interface onto an identified user’s body part; therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the user interface disclosed in Starner to include the adaptive graphic user interface of Davis such that the user can make a selection on the displayed interface and perform an interactive operation associated with the selected element as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because of the overlapping subject matter (i.e., displaying a user interface on a user’s hand), and the advantage described in Davis is to allow the user to interface with the system in a more convenient way (Davis: see ¶ 0005) and to allow the user to better interact with the system (Davis: see ¶ 0561).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Starner and Davis further teach wherein before in response to the interface displaying instruction, the method comprises: detecting a current gesture action of a user; if the current gesture action is determined to be a preset gesture action, obtaining the interface displaying instruction (Davis: ¶ 0587, 0581; The device detects the user's hands and based on predetermined or user input projects 308 a user interface on the user's hand; the user has positioned their palm so that the AGUI device is able to clearly project a display image on it. ¶ 0597; Gestures may be employed by the user to indicate the exact position and size of the area of the table to be used as a display). Thus, combining Starner and Davis would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Starner and Davis further teach wherein the generating and displaying an operation interface according to the interface displaying area comprises: recognizing area size information of the interface displaying area; generating and displaying the operation interface according to the area size information (Starner: see ¶ 0052, 0108; the display 202 is positioned and sized such that images being displayed appear to be overlaid upon or to "float" in a user's view of the physical world, thus providing an experience in which computer-generated information can be merged with the user's perception of the physical world. To do so, on-board computing system 204 may be configured to analyze video footage that is captured by the video camera 208 to determine what graphics should be displayed, and how the graphics should be displayed (e.g., location on the display, size of the graphics, etc.). Davis: see ¶ 0581. ¶ 0036, 0227; illustrates how an AGUI system adapt display content to the shape and size of displays). Thus, combining Starner and Davis would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Starner and Davis further teach wherein the generating and displaying the operation interface according to the area size information comprises: determining scaling ratio information according to the area size information (Starner: see ¶ 0052, 0108; the display 202 is positioned and sized such that images being displayed appear to be overlaid upon or to "float" in a user's view of the physical world, thus providing an experience in which computer-generated information can be merged with the user's perception of the physical world. To do so, on-board computing system 204 may be configured to analyze video footage that is captured by the video camera 208 to determine what graphics should be displayed, and how the graphics should be displayed (e.g., location on the display, size of the graphics, etc.). Davis: see ¶ 0581. ¶ 0036, 0227; illustrates how an AGUI system adapt display content to the shape and size of displays. ¶ 0565; The AGUI system may adapt a graphic user interface or other multimedia content to the active display device and/or surface by receiving precise size, shape, pixel or other dimensional and display specifications from the device and then adapting and optimizing the graphic user interface or other multimedia content for the AGUI display device and/or surface);
scaling, according to the scaling ratio information, a preset standard operation interface, to generate and display the operation interface (Davis: see ¶ 0612; the interface adapts in real time; The display content may also be reorganized or resized to fit the updated available surface. ¶ 0725, 0739; Content may also dynamically adjust in size, spatial position and orientation within each visual display sub-area or zone in relation to the spatial position and viewing angle of one or more viewing parties. ¶ 0734; the application consults rules to determine whether this should cause scaling or positioning of the display content to change to compensate for a change in order to maintain a steady display). Thus, combining Starner and Davis would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Starner and Davis further teach wherein the determining the interface displaying area corresponding to the plurality of human body key points comprises: determining an area surrounded by the reference bounding box to be the interface displaying area; or determining, in a reference bounding box and according to a preset shape, an area surrounded by a maximum bounding box to be the interface displaying area; or determining, in the reference bounding box, an area with a preset shape and a preset size to be the interface displaying area (Starner: see ¶ 0052, 0108; the display 202 is positioned and sized such that images being displayed appear to be overlaid upon or to "float" in a user's view of the physical world, thus providing an experience in which computer-generated information can be merged with the user's perception of the physical world. To do so, on-board computing system 204 may be configured to analyze video footage that is captured by the video camera 208 to determine what graphics should be displayed, and how the graphics should be displayed (e.g., location on the display, size of the graphics, etc.). Davis: see ¶ 0581, 0036, 0227; illustrates how an AGUI system adapt display content to the shape and size of displays. ¶ 0565; The AGUI system may adapt a graphic user interface or other multimedia content to the active display device and/or surface by receiving precise size, shape, pixel or other dimensional and display specifications from the device and then adapting and optimizing the graphic user interface or other multimedia content for the AGUI display device and/or surface. Davis: see ¶ 0612; the interface adapts in real time; The display content may also be reorganized or resized to fit the updated available surface. ¶ 0725, 0739; Content may also dynamically adjust in size, spatial position and orientation within each visual display sub-area or zone in relation to the spatial position and viewing angle of one or more viewing parties. ¶ 0734; the application consults rules to determine whether this should cause scaling or positioning of the display content to change to compensate for a change in order to maintain a steady display. ¶ 0581; the mapping system and the intelligence surrounding it identify zones corresponding to a central palm area and finger areas that extend out from the palm area). Thus, combining Starner and Davis would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 23, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Starner and Davis further teach wherein determining the interface displaying area on the preset human body part comprises: recognizing a plurality of human body key points of the preset human body part; and determining the interface displaying area corresponding to the plurality of human body key points (Starner: see ¶ 0109; a location of the hand can be determined; As another example, the processor may be configured to determine an area of the surface, and to instruct the projector to provide the virtual input device onto the area of the surface, such as by widening or narrowing the projection to accommodate an available area; Thus, the projection may initially be of a first coverage area, and may subsequently be modified to that of a second coverage area that is less than or greater than the first coverage area (e.g., start off wide and decrease, or start off narrow and increase). Davis: see ¶ 0581-0582, 0721, 0725, 0735; the mapping system and the intelligence surrounding it identify zones corresponding to a central palm area and finger areas that extend out from the palm area. ¶ 0722; mapping the surface consists of determining the 3-dimensional spatial location of each point of the projected pattern that can be captured in the image. See Figs. 6A-6C and ¶ 0588; the AGUI system maps out the position of the body parts, detects that the user’s fingers are together, and determines that it can project a large display surface 330 on the palm of the hand, including fingers. ¶ 0747; Processed mapping data recognizes that finger zones include sub-zones separated by joints, and the device can choose to further divide selection content onto specific parts of fingers). Thus, combining Starner and Davis would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 24, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Starner and Davis further teach wherein determining the interface displaying area corresponding to the plurality of human body key points comprises: determining edge human body key points of the plurality of human body key points; connecting the edge human body key points to obtain a reference bounding box; and determining the interface displaying area according to the reference bounding box (Davis: see Figs. 8A-8C and ¶ 0590-0591; identify surface area 338. ¶ 0721; The size and shape of each surface identified through light and optical depth mapping, imaging, device or sensor networking and spatial positioning and the shape, edges and boundaries of each mapped and identified display surface may be further calculated in relation to their position within a 2-dimensional or 3-dimensional grid of squares. Each mapped surface may then be organized into zones of one or more visual display sub-areas and interactive graphic content may then be assigned to each visual display sub-area or zone of visual display sub-areas based on the size, shape and type of object and/or display surface and the type of content being displayed). Thus, combining Starner and Davis would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claims 13, 15-17, 27, 28, claims 13, 15-17, 27, 28 are directed to the electronic device comprising a processor, a memory for storing executable instructions for the processor; where in the processor is configured to read the executable instructions from the memory and execute the executable instructions to implement an interface displaying method as claimed in claims 1, 2-4, 23, 24, respectively; therefore, are rejected under similar rationale. (Starner: see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0036-0045).
As to claims 22, 29, 30, claims 22, 29, 30 are directed to the non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program configured to perform the interface displaying method recited in independent claims 1, 23, 24, respectively; therefore, are rejected under similar rationale. (Starner: see Fig. 1 and ¶ 0007, 0067).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued that claim 1 requires that the device affirmatively recognizes the preset human body part (e.g., by recognizing human body key points using a pre-trained neural network model) and that Starner’s gaze-directed projection mechanism does not involve recognizing key points on a human body part, nor does it determine an interface displaying area based on such key points. This key-point-based recognition and area determination is a specific technical approach that is entirely absent from Starner (see Remark page 8-9).
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., recognizing human body key points using a pre-trained neural network model) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (emphasis added).
In this case, all that recites in claim 1 is “recognizing a plurality of human body key points of the preset human body part and determining the interface displaying area corresponding to the plurality of human body key points”. The claim does not recite any specific technical algorithm for recognizing a plurality body key points. In addition, the disputed features are rejected based on the combined teaching of Starner and Davis. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicants argued that Davis’s zone-mapping approach is a different technical paradigm from the claimed key-point-based recognition and interface area determination (see Remark page 9).
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that claim 1 only requires a broad mechanism for recognizing a plurality of human body key points of the preset human body part. Claim 1 does not recite any a pre-trained neural network model being used in the recognizing mechanism. In this case, Davis discloses in Figs. 6A-6C and ¶ 0588 that the AGUI system maps out the position of the body parts, detects that the user’s fingers are together, and determines that it can project a large display surface 330 on the palm of the hand, including fingers. Also in ¶ 0747, Davis discloses the Processed mapping data recognizes that finger zones include sub-zones separated by joints, and the device can choose to further divide selection content onto specific parts of fingers. The finger zones that include sub-zones separated by joints reads on the recognized human body key points since finger zones are key points of the hand body part.
Applicants argued that there is no motivation to combine Stamer and Davis (see Remark page 10).
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that as long as some motivation or suggestion to combine the references is provided by the prior art taken as a whole, the law does not require that the references be combined for the reasons contemplated by the inventor.” In re Beattie, 974 F.2d 1309, 1312 (Fed. Cir. 1992) (citations omitted).
In addition, the examiner recognizes that obviousness can only be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988) and In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
For at least these reasons, the examiner maintains that the combined teaching of Starner and Davis renders obvious the disputed feature.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179