DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 and 14 include the limitation “if the mappings from the first code event data”. This limitation should be changed to state “if the mappings from the first code events data” for consistency
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, 11 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 11 include the limitation “where the second lift device is the same as the first lift device”. However Claims 1 and 9, from which these claims depend, describe a mapping corresponding to a first lift device to be used to interpret data from a second lift device. It is unclear how two devices can be the same device. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “where the second lift device is a same type of device as the first lift device”.
Claims 7 and 14 include the limitation data “see if the mappings from the first code event data correctly predict the device events”. However it is unclear whether applicants intend to reference the first device events or the second device events. For examining purposes, this limitation is interpreted as stating “see if the mappings from the first code event data correctly predict the second device events”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(2) as being anticipated by Tyni et al. (US 7,423,398 B2).
Claims 1 and 9: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system for monitoring and managing lift devices, comprising: first code events data (command to open or close door) from a first lift device controller (control logic 26) for a door of a first lift device (elevator) (column 5 lines 52-54) transmitted to functional block (21) of a computing device (column 5 line 66 through column 6 line 2). First sensor information (tacho signal) from a first sensor on the first lift device (column 5 lines 54-59) is transmitted to the computing device (column 5 line 66 through column 6 line 2). The first sensor information is converted to information about different first device events (door opening, closing and re-opening operations), and correlations between the different first device events with the first code events data are mapped in order to remove data corresponding to re-opening door operations (column 6 lines 2-6). The mappings are stored and used to interpret (infer) second code events data from a second lift device controller for a door of a second lift device as second device events during a breaking-in period, and using these second device events to monitor and control the second lift device (column 12 lines 15-26).
Claims 2 and 10: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system as stated above, where transmitting first code events data from a first lift device controller for a first lift device to a computing device includes transmitting timing information for the first code events data, and transmitting first sensor information from the first lift device to the computing device includes transmitting timing information for the first sensor information so as to correspond to each instant of time (column 3 lines 3-7).
Claims 3 and 11: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system where the mappings are used during a breaking-in period of a second lift device as stated above. The second lift device then is a same type as the first lift device in order to interpret the mappings and apply them to the breaking-in period of the second lift device (column 12 lines 15-26).
Claims 5 and 13: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system as stated above, where second sensor information corresponding to at least one of current of motor driving the door, or motor friction, is transmitted from a second sensor on the first lift device to the computing device, and the first sensor information and second sensor information is converted to information about first device events (column 3 lines 26-29).
Claims 8 and 15: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system as stated above, where using second device events to monitor and control the second lift device further comprises using second sensor information corresponding to at least one of current of motor driving the door, or motor friction, from the second lift device with the second device events to monitor and control the second lift device (column 3 lines 26-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyni et al. (US 7,423,398 B2) in view of Kusserow et al. (US 2020/0198933 A1).
Claims 4 and 12: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system as stated above, but fails to disclose the first sensor information to be converted to information about first device events using computer vision artificial intelligence.
However Kusserow et al. teaches a method and system for monitoring and managing lift devices, where first sensor information from a camera system (page 5 paragraph [0068]) is converted to information about first device events (page 1 paragraph [0010]) using computer artificial intelligence (machine learning system) (page 7 paragraph [0089]). Due to the first sensor information being from a camera, the first sensor information is converted using computer vision artificial intelligence.
Given the teachings of Kusserow et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed in Tyni et al. with providing the first sensor information to be converted to information about first device events using computer vision artificial intelligence. Doing so would “allow for higher generalizability with lower manual effort [without] necessarily requir[ing] training data where labelled signal segments are used to ‘teach’ a machine learning system by example” as taught in Kusserow et al. (page 7 paragraph [0089]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyni et al. (US 7,423,398 B2) in view of Schuster et al. (US 8,540,057 B2).
Claim 6: Tyni et al. discloses a method as stated above, but fails to disclose the first sensor to be a camera.
However Schuster et al. teaches a method for monitoring and managing lift devices, where sensor information is transmitted from a sensor (second sensor 6) described as a camera (column 6 lines 57-65). The sensor is included in device (10) (column 6 lines 16-18), shown in Fig. 1 to be mounted on a first lift device (car).
Given the teachings of Schuster et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed in Tyni et al. with providing the first sensor to be a camera. Doing so would allow the first sensor to be mounted to the lift device “to detect items of maintenance information for modernization to an efficiency-optimized design of the elevator installation” as taught in Schuster et al. (column 16 lines 2-6).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyni et al. (US 7,423,398 B2) in view of Moore et al. (US 4,512,442).
Claims 7 and 14: Tyni et al. discloses a method and system as stated above, but fails to disclose the mappings to be updated by monitoring the first code events data and the first sensor information to see if the mappings from the first code event data correctly predict the device events, and if not correcting the mappings.
However Moore et al. teaches a method for monitoring and managing lift devices, where mappings are updated by monitoring first code events data corresponding to opening/closing of a door, and first sensor information corresponding to whether a door pump was observed to see if the mappings from the first code event data correctly predict the device events, and if not correcting the mappings (column 11 lines 13-22).
Given the teachings of Moore et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system disclosed in Tyni et al. with providing the mappings to be updated by monitoring the first code events data and the first sensor information to see if the mappings from the first code event data correctly predict the device events, and if not correcting the mappings. Doing so would allow for “self-correcting malfunctions” until exceeding an “associated parameter”, in which “an elevator mechanic should be immediately assigned to correct the problem” as taught in Moore et al. (column 11 lines 13-37), thereby improving accuracy of prediction which would reduce costly troubleshooting (column 1 lines 57-62).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2013/0073260 A1 and US 2016/0012707 A1 pertaining to monitoring and mapping sensed data to event data of lift devices.
/Christopher Uhlir/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 May 2, 2026