DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 6-9-26 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Amendment to claims filed 6-9-26 is acknowledged. Currently, claims 1-3 and 5-8 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 4 is canceled. Claims 7-8 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “at least one face provided a polymer material coating”. It’s not clear if it’s intended to recite “at least one face provided with a polymer material coating”.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a hard material body having a Vickers hardness greater than 1000 HV and at least one face provided a polymer material coating”. It’s not clear if the polymer material coating is provided to both the body and the face or the face only.
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savy et al. (US 6,213,635) in view of Bazin et al. (English abstract of CH713262).
Regarding claim 1, Savy et al. discloses an ornamental part 1 for a timepiece (claim 1, abstract, fig. 1-6), comprising:
A hard material body having a Vickers hardness greater than 1000 HV (col. 5, line 1-3, claim 10) and at least one face provided with a polymer material coating 9 (abstract, fig. 1-6, claims 1-2, 7).
Savy et al. teaches the polymer material is an elastomeric material but does not teach wherein the polymer material is elected from the following list: POM, PA, PPS, ABS, PC. However, Bazin et al. teaches a composite watch component useful for manufacturing timepiece. The matrix of the composite watch component includes thermosetting resins of the family of polyepoxides, of the family of acrylics, of the family of polyurethanes or of the family of thermoplastics including polyetherketones or polyamides, polyurethanes, polyolefins or the family of elastomers including polysiloxanes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select PA as the polymer material in Savy et al. since Bazin et al. teaches that PA is useful as a material for a watch component.
Regarding claim 2, Savy et al. discloses wherein the polymer material coating has a functionalized shape (fig. 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Savy et al. discloses wherein the body defines an internal space, the face 18 bordering said space (fig. 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, Savy et al. discloses a watch case (abstract, claim 13) comprising:
The ornamental part 1 according to claim 1, a crystal 18 (abstract, claim 6), and a bezel 19 (col. 1, lien 15-63) for holding the crystal on the part, the bezel being assembled to the part by the polymer material coating (fig. 3, 5, col. 4, line 14-24).
Regarding claim 6, Savy et al. discloses wherein the hard material body is ceramic, silicon nitride, zirconium oxide, sapphire, or alumina (col. 5, line 1-3 and claim 10).
Regarding claim 8, Savy et al. discloses wherein the ornamental part is a back 7 of the timepiece (see fig. 3, 5, claim 1, 4).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savy et al. in view of Bazin et al. as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Nagasawa et al. (US 10,928,781).
Regarding claim 7, Savy et al. does not teach wherein the hard material body is aluminum oxide. However, Nagasawa et al. teaches a case for a timepiece is formed of a high hardens material, e.g., ceramics such as aluminum oxide (col. 3k line 35-46, col. 9, line 65-col. 10, line 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select aluminum oxide as the hard material body since Nagasawa et al. teaches that aluminum oxide is a ceramic with a high hardness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/X.H.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1742 /CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742