This action is in response to the original filing of 5/18/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunko et al. (US 7,369,868 B1) in view of Chakra et al. (US 2014/0040763 A1).
Claim 1. Dunko discloses a method comprising:
detecting a[n] interaction pattern of interactions by a first user, via a user system, with a content item communicated on an interaction system, a remote use interacts with interactive content (C 6 L 17-27 Fig 6),
by a second user, shared by a first user (C 6 L 17-27 Fig 6),
and responsive to detecting the determinable interaction pattern, automatically activating an action graphical user interface element that is user selectable to enable the first user to perform an action related to the content item, the interactive content is displayed for interaction by a user (C 11 L 4-13).
Dunko does not disclose detecting a determinable interaction pattern of interactions by a first user; the determinable interaction pattern comprising multiple access actions with respect to the content item by the first user, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Chakra discloses a dialog box displayed from a first device to a second device includes multiple selectable options (Yes or No options) (P 0039 Fig 3B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko and Chakra, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine detecting a determinable interaction pattern of interactions by a first user; the determinable interaction pattern comprising multiple access actions with respect to the content item by the first user with the teachings of Dunko with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko.
Claim 11. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, and Dunko discloses a remote use interacts with interactive content shared by a first user (C 6 L 17-27 Fig 6) and Chakra discloses a dialog box displayed from a first device to a second device includes multiple selectable options (Yes or No options) (P 0039 Fig 3B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko and Chakra, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine detecting a selection of the action graphical user interface element; and responsive to detecting the selection, automatically invoking a function of the interaction system to enable the first user to perform the action related to the content item with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko.
Claim 12. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 11, and Dunko discloses a remote use interacts with interactive content shared by a first user (C 6 L 17-27 Fig 6) and Chakra discloses a dialog box displayed from a first device to a second device includes multiple selectable options (Yes or No options) to reply to the notification sent by the first phone (P 0039 Fig 3B). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko and Chakra, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the function is a reply function to enable the first user to reply to the second user, responsive to the communication of the content item on the interaction system by the second user with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko.
Claim 13. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 11, Dunko discloses a remote use interacts with interactive content shared by a first user (C 6 L 17-27 Fig 6) the parties could send SMS messages to each other (C 7 L 16-29) and Chakra discloses a dialog box displayed from a first device to a second device includes multiple selectable options (Yes or No options) to reply to the notification sent by the first phone (P 0039 Fig 3B) the selections may be message windows (P 0048, 0050). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko and Chakra, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the function is a messaging function to enable the first user to send a message to the second user, responsive to the communication of the content item on the interaction system by the second user with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko.
Claim 14. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, and Dunko discloses wherein the content item is part of a set of content items published by the second user on the interaction system, and wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises automatically activating the action graphical user interface element with respect to each of the set of content items when accessed by the first user on the interaction system, the interactive content is displayed for interaction by a user (C 11 L 4-13) the shared content is used by the remote device (C 11 L 62-67) if the content is a song, the remote user can listen to the shared song (C 7 L 1-3).
Claim 15. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 14, and Dunko discloses wherein the set of content items is published by the interaction system as a feed associated with the second user, the feed being accessible to the first user on account of relationship information maintained by the interaction system indicating a relationship between the first user and the second user, the interactive content is displayed for interaction by a user (C 11 L 4-13) the shared content is used by the remote device (C 11 L 62-67) if the content is a song, the remote user can listen to the shared song (C 7 L 1-3). The interactive content is viewed by both the sharing first user and the remote user and can be considered a feed from the first user to the remote user.
Claim 16. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, and Dunko discloses wherein the action graphical user interface element comprises at least one of a camera button, a text input field, or a share button, a remote use interacts with interactive content shared by a first user (C 6 L 17-27 Fig 6) the parties could send SMS messages to each other (C 7 L 16-29).
Claim 18. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, and Chakra discloses a time limit may be placed within which a user must respond to any GUI element requesting information (P 0049). 3B) the selections may be message windows (P 0048, 0050). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko and Chakra, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the detecting of the multiple access actions comprises detecting the multiple access actions within a determinable time with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko.
Claim 19 is directed to a computing apparatus claim similar to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim similar to the method claim of Claim 1 and is rejected with the same rationale.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunko et al. (US 7,369,868 B1) in view of Chakra et al. (US 2014/0040763 A1) and further in view of Brodie et al. (US 9,953,086 B2).
Claim 2. Dunko and Chakra method of claim 1, but Dunko does not disclose wherein the detecting of the multiple access actions comprises detecting multiple viewings of the content item by the first user using an interaction client of the interaction system, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Brodie discloses media files may be ranked by the number of times a user has view individual images (C 11 L 64 – C 12 L 8) user behavior with individual media files is tracked (C 18 L 6-13) that are shared (C 18 L 32-37) and the media files are ranked according to metrics (C 18 L 43-52). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Brodie, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the detecting of the multiple access actions comprises detecting multiple viewings of the content item by the first user using an interaction client of the interaction system with the teachings of Dunko with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko and Chakra to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33).
Claim 3. Dunko, Chakra and Brodie disclose the method of claim 2, and Brodie further discloses media files may be images, videos, graphics, animation, audio, text, interactive media combinations (C 3 L 24-27) where user behavior may be paybacks or rewind (C 5 L 49 – C 6 L 7). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Brodie, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the content item comprises video content, and the detecting of the multiple viewings of the content item comprises detecting re-watching of the video content by the first user using the interaction client with the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Brodie with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33).
Claim 4. Dunko, Chakra and Brodie disclose the method of claim 2, and Brodie further discloses media files may be images, videos, graphics, animation, audio, text, interactive media combinations (C 3 L 24-27) where user behavior may be an amount of time individual media files have been viewed (C 5 L 49 – C 6 L 7). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Brodie, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the content item comprises image content, and the detecting of the multiple viewings of the content item comprises detecting re-viewing of the image content by the first user using the interaction client with the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Brodie with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33).
Claim 5. Dunko, Chakra and Brodie disclose the method of claim 1, and Brodie further discloses media files may be images, videos, graphics, animation, audio, text, interactive media combinations (C 3 L 24-27) where user behavior may be a number of pauses, playbacks, rewinds, and/or fast-forward commands performed on playable media files (e.g., videos, animations, etc.) (C 5 L 49 – C 6 L 7). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Brodie, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the content item comprises audio content, and the detecting of the multiple access actions comprises detecting re-listening to the audio content by the first user using an interaction client of the interaction system with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33).
Claim(s) 6-10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunko et al. (US 7,369,868 B1) in view of Chakra et al. (US 2014/0040763 A1) and further in view of Plesur et al. (US 2015/0160793 A1)).
Claim 6. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, but Dunko does not disclose wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises visually highlighting the action graphical user interface element within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Plesur discloses currently popular videos are visually distinguished (P 0002). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises visually highlighting the action graphical user interface element within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to aid the user in in more readily identify media items that of particular interest to the user.
Claim 7. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, but Dunko does not disclose wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises causing the action graphical user interface element to undergo a display state change within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Plesur discloses currently popular videos are visually distinguished (P 0002) the color, size, or shape of the element or may cause the element to flash (P 0075). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises causing the action graphical user interface element to undergo a display state change within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to aid the user in in more readily identify media items that of particular interest to the user.
Claim 8. Dunko, Chakra and Plesur discloses the method of claim 7, and Plesur discloses currently popular videos are visually distinguished (P 0002) the color, size, or shape of the element or may cause the element to flash (P 0075). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the display state change comprises adjustment of a color of the action graphical user interface element with the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33) to aid the user in in more readily identify media items that of particular interest to the user.
Claim 9. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, but Plesur does not disclose wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises automatically adjusting a display state of the action graphical user interface element based on a number of times the content item has been accessed by the first user, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Plesur discloses servers store information identifying videos and images and a quantity of times that the videos and images have been accessed (P 0048). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises automatically adjusting a display state of the action graphical user interface element based on a number of times the content item has been accessed by the first user with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33) to aid the user in in more readily identify media items that of particular interest to the user.
Claim 10. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, but Dunko does not disclose wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises causing presentation of the action graphical user interface element in association with the content item within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system, wherein the action graphical user interface element is not presented in association with the content item within the context of the viewing user interface prior to the detection of the determinable interaction pattern, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Plesur discloses in response to topics that become particularly popular the user device or trending system alters the appearance of the element by altering the color, size, or shape of the element or may cause the element to flash, and other ways of alerting the user of particular topic or topics showing a strong upward trend in popularity may alternatively be used, the user device may generate a trigger based on detecting selection of the element (P 0048). The visually distinguishing alteration is made in response to a trend, such as popularity according to user selection. Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the automatic activation of the action graphical user interface element comprises causing presentation of the action graphical user interface element in association with the content item within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system, wherein the action graphical user interface element is not presented in association with the content item within the context of the viewing user interface prior to the detection of the determinable interaction pattern with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33) to aid the user in in more readily identify media items that of particular interest to the user.
Claim 17. Dunko and Chakra disclose the method of claim 1, but Dunko does not disclose wherein the action graphical user interface element comprises a tray of user selectable elements presented within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Plesur discloses in response to topics that become particularly popular the user device or trending system alters the appearance of the element by altering the color, size, or shape of the element or may cause the element to flash, and other ways of alerting the user of particular topic or topics showing a strong upward trend in popularity may alternatively be used, the user device may generate a trigger based on detecting selection of the element (P 0048) trending topic items are displayed in a presentation bar (P 0060). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dunko, Chakra and Plesur one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the action graphical user interface element comprises a tray of user selectable elements presented within a context of a viewing user interface of an interaction client of the interaction system with the teachings of Dunko and Chakra with the motivation to provide a comprehensive set of interaction options for content shared with the remote user of Dunko to create a more efficient method of determining the most relevant multimedia items for a user (Brodie: C 1 L 22-33) to aid the user in in more readily identify media items that of particular interest to the user.
Conclusion
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 5/16/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145