DETAILED OFFICIAL ACTION
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published application US 2024/0128464 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and Remarks filed on 21 April 2026 in response to the Non-Final Rejection dated 23 January 2026 (hereinafter "NFOA") have been entered and fully considered, respectively. Claims 1, 4-6, and 16-19 have been amended. As such, claims 1-20 remain pending and under consideration on the merits.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objection to the specification previously set forth in the NFOA.
The objection to the specification is withdrawn due to the amendment to the specification filed on 21 April 2026.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the objections to the claims previously set forth in the NFOA.
The objections to the claims previously set forth in the NFOA are withdrawn due to the present claim amendments.
New claim objections are set forth below as a result of the claim amendments.
Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) previously set forth in the NFOA.
The amendments to the claims have overcome less than all of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously set forth in the NFOA – the rejections that have not been overcome are maintained herein, and those that have been overcome are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues on Pages 9-13 of the Remarks, that Kim et al. (US 20240297310 A1; “Kim”) fails to disclose or teach all the features of amended claim 1. Additionally argued is that Kim teaches that the conductive material is discontinuous, whereas, Applicant teaches that the conductive material is continuous. Furthermore, Applicant argues that Kim does not disclose features related to the “blank area”. Applicant argues on Pages 13-14 of the Remarks, that Zhou et al. (CN 114284506 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Zhou”) fails to disclose or teach features related to the “blank area” since it is argued that the blind hole of Zhou contains conductive material.
However, Applicant's arguments are moot, as the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection over Kim and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over/including Zhou, both previously set forth in the NFOA, are overcome and hereby withdrawn as a result of the amendments to claim 1.
New grounds of rejection are set forth below, necessitated by the amendments to the claims and made in view of newly cited prior art identified as a result of additional search and consideration completed by the undersigned Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, “…plurality of blank area” constitutes a typographical error and/or improper grammar, which hinders the readability of the claim. In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested: “…plurality of blank areas.”
Regarding claim 19, “[[the]]a size of [[the]]an exceeding part is a” hinders the readability of the claim, given that there is sufficient implicit antecedent basis for “the size” and “the exceeding part”. In order to overcome the objection, the following amendment is respectfully suggested (to go back to the original phrasing): “the size of the exceeding part is a.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasenkox et al. (US 2014/0342227 A1; “Hasenkox”).
Regarding claim 1, Hasenkox discloses a lithium-sulfur cell comprising a cathode [0005], with a cathode current collector (a current collector) [0005, FIG. 3a], comprising a metallic material, e.g. aluminum foil (a substrate) [element 1, 0029, 0037, 0066, FIG. 3a], and a conductive layer (conductive coating layer) [element 2, 0066, FIG. 3a] coated on a surface of the aluminum foil metallic material (coated on a surface of the substrate) [0016, 0029, 0066, 0068]. The conductive layer is made of electrically conductive material, e.g. aluminum [0068] and has recesses introduced in a targeted manner (the conductive coating layer comprises alternately arranged raised parts and recessed parts) [0025, 0028, 0032, FIG. 3a], so as to realize ion transporting channels in a targeted manner [0019, 0025, 0028, 0033]. The conductive layer is applied by means of, inter alia printing and/or doctor blade application [0052], wherein a thickness of the conductive layer in raised parts is larger than a thickness of the conductive layer in the recesses due to the height/thickness differences (a thickness of the conductive coating layer in the raised parts is larger than a thickness of the conductive coating layer in the recessed parts) [FIG. 3a].
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Hasenkox discloses that the conductive layer has recesses introduced in a targeted manner [0025, 0028, 0032, FIG. 3a], therefore, there are raised parts present [0025, 0028, 0032, FIG. 3a], wherein the raised parts are present as convex stripes in intervals along a first direction (the raised parts comprises raised stripes, which are convex and arranged at intervals along a first direction) [0025, 0028, 0032, FIG. 3a]. Additionally, the recesses comprise a recessed thin layer of conductive layer, located between two adjacent raised stripes (the recessed parts comprises a recessed thin layer, located between two adjacent raised stripes) [FIG. 3a], and have a recessed structure on the conductive layer (forming a recessed structure on the conductive coating layer) [0025, 0028, 0032, FIG. 3a].
It is noted that the claim term “convex”, is interpreted for examination on the merits in the broadest reasonable manner in view of Applicant's specification, of which is any degree of convexity (see MPEP 2111, MPEP 2111.01, and MPEP 2173.01(I)).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the substrate defined by claim 15 – the metallic material is an aluminum foil (the substrate is configured to be a metal foil) [element 1, 0029, 0037, 0066, FIG. 3a].
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated for sake of brevity). Hasenkox discloses a lithium-sulfur cell cathode (a battery electrode plate) [0005] comprising the cathode current collector according to the rejection of claim 1 set forth above, and an active material layer coated on a surface of the cathode current collector (comprising the current collector according to claim 1 and an active material layer coated on a surface of the current collector) [0009-0012, 0019-0021, 0034, 0069-0071].
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated for sake of brevity). Hasenkox discloses the lithium-sulfur cell (a battery) [0005] comprising the cathode current collector according to the rejection of claim 1 set forth above (comprising the current collector according to claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Yokouchi et al. (US 2013/0295458 A1; "Yokouchi").
Regarding claim 3, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding a plurality of blank areas, not coated with the conductive coating layer, are distributed on the recessed thin layer.
However, Hasenkox discloses that the conductive layer is applied by means of, inter alia printing [0052].
Yokouchi is directed towards an aluminum foil positive current collector [0018], with an electrically conductive layer (Layer a) [0015, 0019-0020] provided on one or both sides of the metal foil [0015], formed from a coating liquid [0046, 0049-0050, 0058-0063, 0076-0077]. The electrically conductive layer may include, inter alia aluminum [0020], and may be provided on a portion of a surface of the metal foil [0041], in a pattern such as a dot pattern, a stripe pattern, a mesh pattern, a lattice (grid) pattern, a nested pattern, and a spiral pattern [0041]. The electrically conductive layer, relative to the area of the metal foil, is in a proportion of 50-100% [0041-0042, 0044-0046], wherein when the coverage is within the aforementioned range, the penetration resistance of the current collector is decreased, and therefore the internal resistance and impedance of an electrochemical element obtained by using the current collector may be decreased [0044]. The coverage may be controlled by changing an amount of a dispersion medium used when forming the electrically conductive layer, a method of preparing a coating liquid, or a method of applying the coating liquid [0034, 0046, 0049-0050]. The coating liquid, forming the electrically conductive layer on the metal foil, may be applied via, inter alia a printing method [0045, 0060], including a gravure coater [0061], of which allows for easy alternation of an amount of a coating liquid to be transferred (an amount of coating) and an application position by the design of a concave portion on the coating roll [0061]. The design on the coating roll may be adjusted to achieve a target coverage or a target amount of coating [0061], with design patterns including, inter alia a pyramidal pattern, a grid pattern, and/or a trapezoidal pattern [0061], and of which may be arranged regularly [0061]. Furthermore, the region to be applied or the coverage may be adjusted by designing a width and depth of a groove on the coating roll [0061].
Hasenkox and Yokouchi each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a current collector. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the conductive layer of Hasenkox, of which is coated on a surface of the aluminum foil, exhibit a coverage proportion of 50-100% relative to the area of the aluminum foil, through means of a gravure coater, so that penetration resistance of the current collector is decreased, and thus the internal resistance and impedance of the lithium-sulfur cell obtained by using the current collector may be decreased [Yokouchi, 0044], and allowing for easy alternation of an amount of a coating liquid to be transferred through design of a concave portion on the coating roll [Yokouchi, 0061]. The design on the coating roll may be adjusted to achieve a target coverage or a target amount of coating [0061], and the region to be applied or the coverage may be adjusted by designing a width and depth of a groove on the coating roll [Yokouchi, 0061]; see MPEP 2144.05(II). Furthermore, the coverage may be controlled by changing an amount of a dispersion medium used when forming the electrically conductive layer, a method of preparing a coating liquid, or a method of applying the coating liquid [Yokouchi, 0034, 0046, 0049-0050].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications (hereinafter “Hasenkox/Yokouchi”), the cathode current collector of Hasenkox/Yokouchi would have the conductive layer with recesses arranged regularly and introduced in a targeted manner. The conductive layer would be applied onto the aluminum foil metallic material by means of a gravure coater for easy alternation of an amount of the conductive layer coating liquid to be transferred (an amount of coating), so that the thickness of the conductive layer in the raised parts is larger than the thickness of the conductive layer in the recesses may be achieved. The design on the coating roll would be adjusted to achieve a target coverage or a target amount of conductive layer coating, wherein the conductive layer coated on a surface of the aluminum foil exhibits a coverage proportion of 50-100% relative to the area of the aluminum foil, thereby resulting in blank areas in a proportion of 0-50%. The region to be applied or the coverage would be adjusted by designing a width and depth of the design on the coating roll, or through changing a method of preparing a coating liquid, or a method of applying the coating liquid, therefore, in totality, reading on a plurality of blank areas, not coated with the conductive coating layer, are distributed on the recessed thin layer, as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, the modification of Hasenkox/Yokouchi set forth above in ¶30 the blank areas are distributed in the conductive layer matrix (the plurality of blank areas are distributed in a matrix).
Regarding claim 5, Hasenkox/Yokouchi teaches the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Hasenkox/Yokouchi remains silent regarding a diameter of one or more of the plurality of blank areas between 10 μm-50 μm; and/or a distance between two adjacent blank areas is 80 μm-120 μm.
However, in view of the modification of Hasenkox/Yokouchi set forth above in ¶30, the conductive layer coated on a surface of the aluminum foil exhibits a coverage proportion of 50-100% relative to the area of the aluminum foil, thereby resulting in blank areas in a proportion of 0-50%. The region to be applied or the coverage may be adjusted by designing a width and depth of the design on the coating roll, or through changing a method of preparing a coating liquid, or a method of applying the coating liquid.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of applying the coating liquid of Hasenkox/Yokouchi so that the conductive layer coated on a surface of the aluminum foil exhibits a coverage proportion of 50-100% relative to the area of the aluminum foil, wherein the design on the coating roll may be adjusted to achieve a target coverage or a target amount of coating [Yokouchi, 0061], thereby resulting in blank areas in a proportion of 0-50%, in order to achieve the predictable results of decreased penetration resistance of the current collector, and decreased internal resistance and impedance of the lithium-sulfur cell obtained by using the current collector [Yokouchi, 0044].
In view thereof, one of ordinary skill in the art would have readily arrived at the claimed ratios through routine experimentation in order to obtain the conductive layer coated on a surface of the aluminum foil in a proportion of 50-100%, with blank areas in a proportion of 0-50%, since the method of applying and the coverage of the conductive layer may be adjusted, absent a showing of criticality and/or an unexpected result associated with/achieved by the range of a diameter of one or more of the plurality of blank area between 10 μm-50 μm; and/or a distance between two adjacent blank areas between 80 μm-120 μm, as claimed; see MPEP 2143(I)(E), MPEP 2144.05(II).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Hideaki et al. (JP 2010/260176 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; "Hideaki").
Regarding claim 6, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding a distance between two adjacent raised stripes is 60 μm -250 μm.
Hideaki is directed towards a gravure printing apparatus with a doctor blade and printing plate [0001, 0004, 0007-0008] for forming pattern electrodes on a substrate [0004, 0015]. Hideaki teaches the printing plate has a stripe recessed pattern [0015, 0071, FIG. 1], wherein the spacing between adjacent recesses is 1-100 μm.
Hasenkox and Hideaki each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – conductive layer on a substrate configuration. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductive layer of Hasenkox so that a distance between adjacent recesses is 1-100 μm in order to form fine conductive pattern layers in electronic components [Hideaki, 0030], of which overlaps with the claimed range, 60-250 μm, thereby rendering the range obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Kim et al. (KR 2015/0014617 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations, copy provided previously; "Kim").
Regarding claim 7, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Hasenkox further discloses that the conductive layer is formed from a porous material, so as to introduce ion transporting channels in a targeted manner [Hasenkox, 0031].
However, Hasenkox remains silent regarding a pore size of the conductive coating layer ranges from 50 nm to 2000 nm.
Kim is directed towards a current collector with a porous electron conductive layer [0018-0022, 0115-0116]. Kim teaches the porous electron conductive layer may have a pore size in a range of 100 nm or more and 5 cm or less [0019, 0038].
Hasenkox and Kim each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a current collector. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode current collector of Hasenkox to incorporate teachings of Kim so that a pore size of the conductive coating layer ranges from 100 nm or more and 5 cm or less in order to improve lithium-ion movement from a negative electrode and reduce resistance, thereby improving the performance and capacity of the electrode [Kim, 0004, 0013, 0116]. The aforesaid range overlaps with the claimed range, 50-2,000 nm, thereby render the range obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Regarding claim 8, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Hasenkox further discloses that a thickness of the conductive layer is ≤5 μm [0035], where preference is given to the lowest possible value in order to achieve high energy density [0035]. Therefore, in view of explicit teachings of Hasenkox, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tested different conductive layer thicknesses, of which are ≤5 μm, in order to obtain the predictable result of achieving high energy density. Additionally, ≤5 μm is also a range which encompasses, and thereby renders obvious, the claimed thickness of 0.4-0.8 μm (MPEP 2144.05(I)), absent a showing of criticality and/or an unexpected result associated with/achieved by the range of 0.4-0.8 μm; see MPEP 2143(I)(E), see MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Hasenkox further discloses that a thickness of the aluminum foil is ≤20 μm [0037], where preference is given to the lowest possible value in order to achieve high energy density [0037, 0070]. Therefore, in view of explicit teachings of Hasenkox, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have tested different aluminum foil thicknesses, of which are ≤20 μm, in order to obtain the predictable result of achieving high energy density. Additionally, ≤20 μm is also a range which encompasses, and thereby renders obvious, the claimed thickness of 3-10; see MPEP 2144.05(II), see MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, and further in view of Tokuda et al. (US 2012/0308881 A1, cited to previously; “Tokuda”).
Regarding claim 10, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding a surface roughness of the substrate ranges from 0.2 μm to 3 μm.
Tokuda is directed towards a nonaqueous-electrolyte secondary battery and a current collector constituted of an electrolytic copper foil substrate produced through a rolling process with a surface treatment [0001, 0034-0037, 0597-0599]. Tokuda teaches that the substrate may have an average surface roughness (Ra) of 0.03 μm or higher, and 1.5 μm or less [0600], wherein current collector substrates having an Ra exceeding 1.5 μm generally are not easily available as foils having a thickness practical for batteries [0601]. Additionally, an Ra within the aforementioned range results in satisfactory charge/discharge cycle characteristics [0601], with the interface between the current collector substrate and a thin active-material layer has an increased area to improve adhesion [0601].
Hasenkox and Tokuda each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a current collector substrate. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the current collector of Hasenkox so that the aluminum foil substrate has a surface roughness of 0.03 μm or higher, and 1.5 μm or less, and does not exceed 1.5 μm, as substrates having said surface roughness would have been readily recognized as suitable for the intended use as current collectors in batteries (MPEP 2144.07), and/or to form a battery, including said current collector, having a practical thickness, resulting in satisfactory charge/discharge cycle characteristics due to improved adhesion as taught by Tokuda [Tokuda, 0601]. The aforesaid range overlaps with the claimed range, 0.2 μm to 3 μm, thereby rendering the range obvious (MPEP2144.05(I)).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0316013 A1, cited to previously; “Lee”).
Regarding claim 13, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding remains silent regarding a dispersing agent for preparing the conductive coating layer is polyvinyl pyrrolidone and/or a carboxymethyl cellulose material.
Lee is directed towards a current collector, of which is made of, inter alia aluminum [0022] with a first active material directly on the current collector [0022-0027], wherein the first active material includes a conductive material [0039], of which is, inter alia aluminum [0039]. Lee teaches a first binder for preparing the first active material layer is, inter alia polyvinyl pyrrolidone and/or carboxymethyl cellulose [0022-0027].
Hasenkox and Lee each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a current collector. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode current collector of Hasenkox so that the conductive layer includes polyvinyl pyrrolidone and/or carboxymethyl cellulose, like that of the first active material of Lee, as Lee’s first active material composition includes a conductive material, therefore it can also act as a conductive layer, as they would have been readily recognized as suitable for the intended use as an additive in conductive/active material compositions as a layer directly on top of aluminum foil current collectors (MPEP 2144.07), and/or, so as to increase adhesion of the layer, thereby maintaining a battery having high capacity [Lee, 0007, 0012].
Regarding claim 14, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding a binder of the conductive coating layer is a polyacrylic acid aqueous binder.
Lee is directed towards a current collector, of which is made of, inter alia aluminum [0022] with a first active material directly on the current collector [0022-0027], wherein the first active material includes a conductive material [0039], of which is, inter alia aluminum [0039]. Lee teaches a first binder for preparing a first active material layer directly on the current collector is, inter alia polyacrylic acid [0022-0027].
Hasenkox and Lee each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a current collector. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode current collector of Hasenkox so that the conductive layer includes polyacrylic acid, like that of the first active material of Lee, as Lee’s first active material composition includes a conductive material, therefore it can also act as a conductive layer, as it would have been readily recognized as suitable for the intended use as a binder in conductive/active material compositions as a layer directly on top of aluminum foil current collectors (MPEP 2144.07), and/or, so as to increase adhesion of the layer, thereby maintaining a battery having high capacity [Lee, 0007, 0012].
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view Cyman, Jr. et al., (US 2017/0253777 A1; “Cyman, Jr.”).
Regarding claim 17, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 16.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding a tab is positioned on a surface of the battery electrode plate and located on the surface of the substrate; or the tab is located on a surface of the conductive coating layer away from the substrate.
Cyman, Jr. is directed towards a battery, including a substrate with an outer surface and a cathode and anode tab [0026]. Cyman, Jr. teaches that the cathode tab [element 106, FIGs. 1, 3A, 5B, 6A, 10] is conductively coupled to cathode material and extends outwardly beyond adhesive material deposited on the inner surface of the substrate [0027-0029, 0041].
Hasenkox and Cyman, Jr. each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery electrode plate. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode of Hasenkox so that a cathode tab is conductively coupled to cathode material and extends outwardly beyond adhesive material deposited on the inner surface of the substrate, like that of Cyman, Jr., so as to allow for conductive connection between cathode tabs of individual batteries in a multi-cell battery [Cyman, Jr., 0045, 0047], thereby, reading on, a tab is positioned on a surface of the battery electrode plate and located on the surface of the substrate, as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 16.
Hasenkox remains silent regarding a tab is positioned on one side of the substrate; and on another side of the substrate, an area, opposite to the tab, is a blank foil area, or coated with a conductive coating, with or without being coated by an active material layer.
Cyman, Jr. is directed towards a battery, including a substrate with an outer surface and a cathode and anode tab [0026]. Cyman, Jr. teaches that the cathode tab [element 106, FIGs. 1, 3A, 5B, 6A, 10] is conductively coupled to cathode material and extends outwardly beyond adhesive material deposited on the inner surface of the substrate [0027-0029, 0041], and on another side of the substrate, opposite the cathode tab, is coated with the adhesive material and cathode material [0041, 0047, FIG. 10].
Hasenkox and Cyman, Jr. each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – a battery electrode plate. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode of Hasenkox so that a cathode tab is deposited on the inner surface of the substrate, and on another side of the substrate, opposite the cathode tab, is coated with the adhesive material and cathode material, like that of Cyman, Jr., so as to allow for conductive connection between cathode tabs of individual batteries in a multi-cell battery [Cyman, Jr., 0045, 0047], thereby, reading on, a tab is positioned on one side of the substrate; and on another side of the substrate, an area, opposite to the tab, is coated with a conductive coating, with being coated by an active material layer, as claimed.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox in view of Cyman, Jr. as applied to claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Li (US 2023/0040872 A1; “Li”).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above is incorporated herein. Hasenkox in view of Cyman, Jr. (“Hasenkox/Cyman, Jr.”) teaches the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 18.
Hasenkox/Cyman, Jr. remains silent regarding a conductive coating being coated by the active material layer completely or partially; and, the active material layer covers the conductive coating layer, and an edge of the active material layer exceeds a corresponding edge of the conductive coating layer; the size of the exceeding part is a, and a value of a is 0-5 mm; or an edge of the conductive coating layer exceeds an edge of the corresponding active material layer; the size of the exceeding part is b, and a value range of b is 0-5 mm.
Li is directed towards an electrode plate, including a current collector, a first active substance layer, and a second active substance layer, wherein the first active substance layer comprises conductive material [0006, 0031-0034, 0055-0059]. Li teaches a distance between an edge of the first end [element 102a, 0038, FIGs. 1-14] of the first active substance layer [element 102] in the length direction of the electrode plate and an edge of the fifth end [element 103a] of the second active substance layer [element 103] in the length direction of the electrode plate is less than or equal to 3 mm [0038, FIGs. 1-14]. Li exemplifies a length of the second positive electrode active substance layer that extends beyond the first active substance layer is 1 mm [0086, Example 1].
Additionally, Li teaches that the second active substance layer completely covers all portions of the first active substance layer [0041], because if a portion of the first active substance layer is exposed, after lithium ions are released from the exposed portion, since there is no active substance for the lithium ions to embed into a corresponding electrode plate of the other polarity, the released lithium ions form lithium metal particles on an opposite current collector of the other polarity (i.e. the negative electrode current collector), and such situation worsens with the increase in cycles of the lithium-ion battery, thereby resulting in lithium metal particle bulges on the surface of the negative electrode plate and reducing capacity of the lithium-ion battery [0041].
Hasenkox, Cyman, Jr., and Li each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery electrode plate. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode of Hasenkox/Cyman, Jr. so that the conductive layer is coated by the cathode active material layer completely and an edge of the cathode active material layer exceeds an edge of the conductive layer by 1-3 mm, thereby promoting excellent battery capacity [Li, 0041].
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasenkox as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Yokouchi, Hideaki, Kim, Tokuda, Lee, and Li.
Regarding claim 9, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Furthermore, the teachings of Yokouchi are incorporated herein, the teachings of Hideaki are incorporated herein, the teachings of Kim are incorporated herein, the teachings of Tokuda are incorporated herein, the teachings of Lee are incorporated herein, and the teachings of Li are incorporated herein by reference, all of which are not repeated for sake of brevity.
In view of the totality of the foregoing, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hasenkox in view of Yokouchi, Hideaki, Kim, Tokuda, Lee, and Li (see above ¶28-31, 40-41, 45-46, 48-49, 53-54, 58-59, 62-63, 76-78), thereby resulting in modified Hasenkox exhibiting a lithium-sulfur cell comprising an active material layer coated on a surface of the cathode current collector. The cathode current collector includes a conductive layer made from electrically conductive material, e.g. aluminum, with raised parts present as convex stripes in intervals along a first direction and recesses arranged regularly and applied onto an aluminum foil metallic material by means of a gravure coater. This method allows for easy alternation of an amount of conductive layer coating liquid to be transferred (an amount of coating), wherein the thickness of the conductive layer in the raised parts is larger than the thickness of the conductive layer in the recesses. A design on the coating roll may be adjusted to achieve a target coverage or a target amount of conductive layer coating, wherein the conductive layer coated on a surface of the aluminum foil exhibits a coverage proportion of 50-100% relative to the area of the aluminum foil, thereby resulting in blank areas in a proportion of 0-50%, with the blank areas distributed in the conductive layer matrix. The region to be applied or the coverage may be adjusted by designing a width and depth of the design on the coating roll, or through changing a method of preparing a coating liquid, or a method of applying the coating liquid. The distance between adjacent recesses is 1-100 μm, and a pore size of the conductive coating layer ranges from 100 nm or more and 5 cm or less. Furthermore, a thickness of the conductive layer is ≤5 μm and a thickness of the aluminum foil is ≤20 μm, wherein for both thicknesses, preference is given to the lowest possible value in order to achieve high energy density. Additionally, the aluminum foil has a surface roughness of 0.03 μm or higher, and 1.5 μm or less, and does not exceed 1.5 μm. Moreover, the conductive layer includes polyvinyl pyrrolidone and/or carboxymethyl cellulose and includes polyacrylic acid. The conductive layer is coated by the cathode active material layer completely and an edge of the cathode active material layer exceeds an edge of the conductive layer by 1-3 mm.
Modified Hasenkox remains silent regarding a volume resistance of the cathode current collector is 1 mΩ-5 mΩ.
However, the cathode current collector of modified Hasenkox would have been substantially identical or identical to the claimed and disclosed current collector in Applicant’s specification in terms of comprising:
an aluminum foil substrate, of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed substrate [claim 15, Applicant’s specification ¶0054], with
a thickness as low as possible to achieve high energy density, and especially ≤20 μm, of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed substrate thickness, 3-10 μm [claim 11, Applicant’s specification ¶0056], and
a conductive layer coated on top of the aluminum foil substrate, of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed configuration [claim 1, Applicant’s specification ¶0059], wherein
the conductive layer is made of an electrically conductive material, e.g. aluminum, of which corresponds to the disclosed conductive coating conductive filler [Applicant’s specification ¶0060], and
has recesses arranged regularly introduced in a targeted manner, of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed configuration [claim 1, Applicant’s specification ¶0040, 0045, 0051], with
the conductive layer applied by means of, inter alia a printing application, of which corresponds to the disclosed application [Applicant’s specification ¶0051],
allowing for a thickness of the conductive layer in raised parts to be larger than a thickness of the conductive layer in the recesses, of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed configuration [claim 1, Applicant’s specification ¶0040], wherein
the raised parts are raised convex stripes, arranged at intervals along a first direction and the recesses comprise a recessed thin layer, arranged regularly and located between two adjacent raised stripes, thereby forming a recessed structure on the conductive layer, of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed configuration [claim 2, Applicant’s specification ¶0039-0040, 0044].
The design on the coating roll adjusted or method of applying the coating liquid adjusting to achieve a target coverage or a target amount of conductive layer coating, wherein the conductive layer coated on a surface of the aluminum foil exhibits a coverage proportion of 50-100% relative to the area of the aluminum foil, thereby resulting in blank areas in a proportion of 0-50%, arranged in a matrix of which corresponds to the claimed and disclosed blank area configuration [claim 4, Applicant’s specification ¶0049-0050].
The spacing between adjacent recesses between 1-100 μm, of which overlaps, and corresponds with the claimed and disclosed range, 60-250 μm [claim 6, Applicant’s specification ¶0070], with
a pore size of the conductive coating layer ranges from 100 nm or more and 5 cm or less, of which overlaps, and corresponds with the claimed and disclosed range, 50-2000 nm [claim 7, Applicant’s specification ¶0067], and
a thickness of the conductive layer ≤5 μm, of which overlaps, and corresponds with the claimed and disclosed range, 0.4-0.8 μm [claim 8, Applicant’s specification ¶0068],
an additive in the conductive layer being polyvinyl pyrrolidone and/or carboxymethyl cellulose, of which corresponds with the claimed and disclosed dispersing agent [claim 13, Applicant’s specification ¶0062],
and a binder in the conductive layer being polyacrylic acid, of which corresponds with the claimed and disclosed binder [claim 14, Applicant’s specification ¶0061].
A surface roughness of the aluminum foil substrate from 0.03 μm or higher, and 1.5 μm or less, of which overlaps, and corresponds with the claimed and disclosed range, 0.2 μm to 3 μm [claim 10, Applicant’s specification ¶0055], and
a thickness of the aluminum foil ≤20 μm, with preference given to the lowest possible value in order to achieve high energy density, of which corresponds with the claimed and disclosed range, 3-10 μm [claim 11, Applicant’s specification ¶0056].
Given that the cathode current collector of modified Hasenkox is substantially identical or identical to the claimed and disclosed current collector in terms of the foregoing elements (a)-(p), it stands to reason, and there is a strong expectation, that the cathode current collector of modified Hasenkox would have necessarily exhibited a volume resistance of 1 mΩ-5 mΩ, as claimed, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II); MPEP 2145; and MPEP 2145(I). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 12, Hasenkox discloses the current collector set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, the rejection of claim 9 above is incorporated herein by reference (not repeated for sake of brevity).
Modified Hasenkox remains silent regarding a volume resistance of the aluminum foil is 0.5 mΩ-10 mΩ.
In view of the totality of the foregoing, the cathode current collector of modified Hasenkox is substantially identical or identical to the claimed and disclosed current collector in terms of the foregoing elements (a)-(p), in ¶83 above. As such it stands to reason, and there is a strong expectation, that the aluminum foil substrate of modified Hasenkox would have necessarily exhibited a volume resistance of 0.5 mΩ-10 mΩ, as claimed, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See ¶80-84 above. See MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II); MPEP 2145; and MPEP 2145(I).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Kumakari et al., US 2010/0279158 A1 – is directed towards a roller pressing method of increasing the density of an active material by applying a mixture layer containing the active material onto the surface of a current collector [0011-0014], with the formation of trenches in the surface of the mixture layer enhancing impregnating ability for the electrolyte [0012-0015].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR l.136(a).
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782