DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1- 51 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 14, and 42 have been amended. Claims 9, 12- 13, 15- 41, 47, and 50 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First Argument (pages 13- 15) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that “the secondary transformation mode” and “the first transformation mode” are two completely independent modes” such that “at most only one” is executed.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim teaches that when the secondary transformation condition is satisfied, the method performs “the secondary transformation mod” which includes “performing a first candidate transformation mode on the first block” and then “performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficients of the transformed first block”. Therefor the claim teaches the secondary transformation mode including a first transform followed by a second transform, rather than mutual exclusivity. Furthermore, Lim teaches “performing at least one transform of primary transform and secondary transform on the residual block” (Lim [0014]). Lim further teaches “the secondary transform may be sequentially performed on the primary transform coefficients generated after the primary transform“ (Lim [0251]). Therefore, Lim teaches first transforming the block and then transforming the resulting coefficient, which corresponds to the claimed sequence.
Second Argument (pages 15- 17) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that Zhang and Liu do not disclose “determining whether each of one or more second blocks satieties an implicit skip transformation condition”.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liu teaches sub-block based implicit transform skip determination. Liu teaches “splitting residual of a current video block into N sub-blocks” where “the N sub-blocks include K1 sub-blocks which employ a transform skip“ (Liu [0006]). And further teaches “it is determined which the sub-blocks employ the transform skip mode implicitly from the specific split pattern” (Liu [0213]). Liu highlights determining if a transform skip mode is applicable to the current block (Liu [0007]). Therefore, Liu teaches deriving second blocks from the first block and implicitly determine which of those derived sub-blocks satisfy the condition for transform skip Zhang further adds determining if transform skip condition is met, and if met then the transformation is skipped (Zhang [0274]).
Third Argument (page 17) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that independent Claims 14 recites similar features as amended claim 1, and thus, also is patentable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to amended claim 1. And further argues that Claims 2-5, 8, 10, and 11 depend on independent claim 1, and therefore include all the features of their base claim, and are patentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 for at least the same reasons set forth with respect to amended claim 1.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See Response to first and second arguments.
Fourth Argument (pages 18- 19) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that Lim, Zhang and Liu do not disclose “the discrete cosine transform being performed on the first block only once” and do not disclose that “the first candidate transformation mode is not an implicit transformation mode”.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lim teaches a first transform followed by a second transform. Lim states that “primary transform of the residual signal results in transform coefficients” (Liu [0239]) and that “the secondary transform of the transform coefficients results in secondary transform coefficients.” (Liu [0239]) Lim further teaches that the primary transform may use “discrete cosine transform (DCT)”, and that “The transform coefficients generated through the primary transform may undergo the secondary transform” therefore, Lim teaches a DCT based first candidate transformation mode performed on the block, followed by a second transform performed on the resulting coefficients. Since the first transform is a DCT transform, it is not an implicit transformation mode. Zhang further adds that “if IT is used for a block, TS mode is applied; otherwise, DCT2 is used” (Zhang [0274]). Therefore Zhang teaches that the first transform is a DCT based transformation, and not an implicit transformation mode.
Fifth Argument (pages 19- 20) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that Claims 6 and 7 dependent on claim 1, and alleges that Bae does not remedy the deficiencies of Lim, Zhang, and Liu set forth with respect to amended claim 1.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See Response to first and second arguments.
Sixth Argument (pages 20- 21) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that independent Claims 42 recites similar features as amended claim 1, and thus, also is patentable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to amended claim 1. And further argues that Claims 43-45, 48, and 49 depend on independent claim 42, and therefore include all the features of their base claim, and are patentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 for at least the same reasons set forth with respect to amended claim 1.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See Response to first and second arguments.
Seventh Argument (pages 21- 22) under Remarks:
Applicant argues that Claim 46 dependent on claim 42, and alleges that Rapaka does not remedy the deficiencies of Lim, Zhang, Liu, and Li as set forth with respect to amended claim 42.
Reply: The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See Response to first and second arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung Chang Lim (US 20210352326 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Li Zhang (US 20230199185 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Hongbin Liu (US 20220007057 A1) (hereinafter Liu):
Regarding Claim 1, Lim teaches a method for transformation based on an intra block copy (IBC) mode, the method being implemented on a computing device including at least one processor and a storage device ([0536], and [0247] teaches video apparatus with a processor and memory for IBC transformation), the method comprising:
obtaining a set of candidate transformation results by performing a set of candidate transformation modes on a first block in an image ([0368]- [0370] teach applying different transform modes to the same block and calculating the cost for each), wherein the set of candidate transformation modes include a first transformation mode, a second transformation mode ([0014] teaches primary and secondary transformation modes), wherein the performing a set of candidate transformation modes on a first block in an image comprises:
determining whether the first block satisfies a secondary transformation condition ([0489]- [0490] teaches the determination of the secondary transformation condition);
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the secondary transformation condition, performing the secondary transformation mode ([0239]- [0240], [0268], [0275]- [0277], [0472], [0483], [0489] teaches determining the secondary transformation condition, and performing the secondary transformation mode), including:
performing a first candidate transformation mode on the first block to generate a transformed first block ([0276] [0332] teach preforming the primary transformation mode on the to generate the transformed block); and
performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficients of the transformed first block, to complete a secondary transformation operation for the first block ([0251], and [0333] teach preforming the secondary transformation mode on the to generate the transformed block after the primary transform);
in response to determining that the first block does not satisfy the secondary transformation condition ([0333] teaches determining the if the block satisfies the condition for the secondary transformation),
determining a target transformation mode for the first block based on the set of candidate transformation results, wherein the target transformation mode is configured to encode the first block ([0267], and [0370] teach the evaluation of multiple transformation and selection the optimal transform based on conditions to encode the block).
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches determining whether each of one or more second blocks satisfies an implicit skip transformation condition ([0083] teaches determining implicit skip transform for the blocks): and
in response to determining that the each of the one or more second blocks satisfies the implicit skip transformation condition ([0083] teaches determining implicit skip transform for the blocks):
determining that the set of candidate transformation modes include an implicit selection of transform skip (ISTS) ([0424], and [0426]- [0427] teach ISTS based on block attributes).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Liu teaches (the set of candidate transformation modes include) a sub-block transformation mode ([0005]- [0006] teach sub block transformation mode);
determining whether each of one or more second blocks satisfies an implicit skip transformation condition ([0007], [0184], and [0218] teach determining if the block satisfies the condition for implicit skip transformation):
wherein the each of the one or more second blocks is determined based on the first block ([0185] teaches the second blocks are determined based on the first block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches wherein the determining a target transformation mode for the first block based on the set of candidate transformation results comprises:
determining whether the first block satisfies a sub-block transformation condition ([0182], and [0135], [0141], [0144] teaches determining if the block meets SBT conditions); and
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the sub-block transformation condition, selecting the target transformation mode from a plurality of candidate sub-block transformation modes ([0133]- [0144], [0039], teach the selection of the transformation mode based on determining the block satisfies SBT condition).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 2. Lim further teaches determining the target transformation mode by comparing a plurality of costs corresponding to the plurality of candidate sub-block transformation modes of the plurality of second blocks ([0267] teaches the determining of the transformation mode by comparing costs).
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Liu teaches determining a plurality of second blocks based on the first block ([0006] teaches the splitting of the block into N sub-blocks where the second blocks are based on the first block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Regarding Claim 4, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 3. Liu further teaches wherein the determining a plurality of second blocks based on the first block comprises:
dividing the first block into a plurality of sub-blocks based on a division mode ([0183] teaches splitting the block based on a pattern that corresponds to division mode); and
designating the plurality of sub-blocks as the plurality of second blocks ([0211] the sub-blocks are the plurality of K second blocks).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Regarding Claim 5, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 1. Lim further teaches wherein the performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficients of the transformed first block, to complete a secondary transformation operation for the first block ([0483] teaches the secondary transformation on the block) includes:
the first candidate transformation mode includes a discrete cosine transform ([0240] teach the transformation mode includes DCT); and
the secondary transformation condition is satisfied that the first candidate transformation mode is performed on the first block and the first candidate transformation mode is not an implicit transformation mode ([0483]- [0484] teaches the secondary transform is done after the primary transform).
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches the discrete cosine transform being performed on the first block only once ([0256], [0259]- [0260] teaches DCT is used as the default transform mode which is done once before the secondary transform mode);
performing the second candidate transformation mode on a 4x4 transformation block in an upper left corner of the transformed first block after the first candidate transformation mode is performed on the first block (Fig. 11 teaches the second transformation on the top left 4X4 corner of the primary transformed block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 5. Lim further teaches wherein the determining a target transformation mode for the first block based on the set of candidate transformation results comprises:
comparing a first cost corresponding to the first candidate transformation mode and a second cost corresponding to the second candidate transformation mode ([0267], and [0368] teaches the comparison of the cost of the transformation mode); and
designating one of the first candidate transformation mode and the second candidate transformation mode whose cost is smaller among the first cost and the second cost as the target transformation mode ([0267], and [0368] teaches the comparison of the cost of the transformation mode, and selecting the mode that minimizes the cost).
Regarding Claim 10, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 1. Liu further teaches in response to determining that the first block satisfies the implicit selection of transform skip (ISTS), determining that the set of candidate transformation modes include the ISTS, wherein an ISTS condition is associated with attributes of a residual block, the residual block is determined based on the first block ([0007], [0218]- [0220] teach the determination that the block satisfies the conditions of ISTS and the ISTS conditions are associated with the residual block of the current block ).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 10. Liu further teaches in response to determining that the first block does not satisfy the ISTS condition, determining that the set of candidate transformation modes include at least one of the DCTi or The DSTi, wherein 1 ≤ i ≤ 8 ([0253]- [0259] teach when the transformation skip is not used, the transformation includes DST2 or DST7).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lim teaches a system for transformation based on an intra block copy (IBC) mode ([0536], and [0247] teaches video apparatus with a processor and memory for IBC transformation), comprising:
obtaining a set of candidate transformation results by performing a set of candidate transformation modes on a first block in an image ([0368]- [0370] teach applying different transform modes to the same block and calculating the cost for each), wherein the set of candidate transformation modes include a first transformation mode, a second transformation mode ([0014] teaches primary and secondary transformation modes), wherein the performing a set of candidate transformation modes on a first block in an image comprises:
determining whether the first block satisfies a secondary transformation condition ([0489]- [0490] teaches the determination of the secondary transformation condition);
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the secondary transformation condition, performing the secondary transformation mode ([0239]- [0240], [0268], [0275]- [0277], [0472], [0483], [0489] teaches determining the secondary transformation condition, and performing the secondary transformation mode), including:
performing a first candidate transformation mode on the first block to generate a transformed first block ([0276] [0332] teach preforming the primary transformation mode on the to generate the transformed block); and
performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficients of the transformed first block, to complete a secondary transformation operation for the first block ([0251], and [0333] teach preforming the secondary transformation mode on the to generate the transformed block after the primary transform);
in response to determining that the first block does not satisfy the secondary transformation condition ([0333] teaches determining the if the block satisfies the condition for the secondary transformation),
determining a target transformation mode for the first block based on the set of candidate transformation results, wherein the target transformation mode is configured to encode the first block ([0267], and [0370] teach the evaluation of multiple transformation and selection the optimal transform based on conditions to encode the block).
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches at least one storage device configured to store a set of program instructions ([0640] teaches a storage device the store program instructions);
and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one storage device ([0643] teaches the processor coupled to a storage device), wherein
the at least one processor is configured to execute the program instructions, which causes the system to perform operations ([0643] the processor executes the program instructions) including:
determining whether each of one or more second blocks satisfies an implicit skip transformation condition ([0083] teaches determining implicit skip transform for the blocks): and
in response to determining that the each of the one or more second blocks satisfies the implicit skip transformation condition ([0083] teaches determining implicit skip transform for the blocks):
determining that the set of candidate transformation modes include an implicit selection of transform skip (ISTS) ([0424], and [0426]- [0427] teach ISTS based on block attributes).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Liu teaches (the set of candidate transformation modes include) a sub-block transformation mode ([0005]- [0006] teach sub block transformation mode);
determining whether each of one or more second blocks satisfies an implicit skip transformation condition ([0007], [0184], and [0218] teach determining if the block satisfies the condition for implicit skip transformation), wherein the each of the one or more second blocks is determined based on the first block ([0185] teaches the second blocks are determined based on the first block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung Chang Lim (US 20210352326 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Li Zhang (US 20230199185 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Hongbin Liu (US 20220007057 A1) (hereinafter Liu) further in view of Tae Meon Bae (US 20220086451 A1) (hereinafter Bae):
Regarding Claim 6, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficients of the transformed first block comprises:
in response to determining that the block vector of the first block in the horizontal direction is not 0, performing the second candidate transformation mode on the coefficients of the transformed first block in the horizontal direction. ([0143], and [0238]- [ 0240] teach conditional transformation of the block in the horizontal direction).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
determining whether a block vector of the first block in a horizontal direction is 0 ([0131] teaches the determination of the block vector in the x direction is zero or non- zero), wherein the block vector is a position offset vector between the first block and a matching block corresponding to the first block ([0113] teaches the block vector offset between the block and the matching block);
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, Zhang, and Liu to further add the offset vector of Bae to decrease the signaling overhead of IBC prediction information (Bae [0121]).
Regarding Claim 7, Lim in view of Zhang and Liu teach the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficient of the transformed first block comprises:
in response to determining that the block vector of the first block in the vertical direction is not 0, performing the second candidate transformation mode on the coefficients of the transformed first block in the vertical direction. ([0143], and [0238]- [ 0240] teach conditional transformation of the block in the vertical direction).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
determining whether a block vector of the first block in a vertical direction is 0 ([0131] teaches the determination of the block vector in the x direction is zero or non- zero), wherein the block vector is a position offset vector between the first block and a matching block corresponding to the first block ([0113] teaches the block vector offset between the block and the matching block);
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, Zhang, and Liu to further add the offset vector of Bae to decrease the signaling overhead of IBC prediction information (Bae [0121]).
Claims 42-45, and 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung Chang Lim (US 20210352326 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Li Zhang (US 20230199185 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Hongbin Liu (US 20220007057 A1) (hereinafter Liu) further in view of Bin Li (US 20170070748 A1) (hereinafter Li):
Regarding Claim 42, Lim teaches a method for transformation based on an intra block copy (IBC) mode, the method being implemented on a computing device including at least one processor and a storage device, ([0536], and [0247] teaches video apparatus with a processor and memory for IBC transformation), the method comprising:
obtaining a code stream of a first block by encoding the first block based on a target transformation mode ([0268] teaches encoder transmitting a bitstream to the decoder, the bitstream contains information indicating the transformation performed), wherein:
the code stream includes a syntax element ([0139] teaches the bit stream includes syntax elements),
in the skip residual mode, no transformation, quantization, or encoding operations are performed on the first block ([0136] teaches the transformation is skip when the transformation skip mode is applied), and
before the obtaining a code stream of a first block by encoding the first block based on a target transformation mode, the method comprises:
obtaining a transformation mode with a smallest cost ([0267], and [0368] teaches the comparison of the cost of the transformation mode); and
determining the target transformation mode based on the transformation mode with the smallest cost ([0267], and [0368] teaches the comparison of the cost of the transformation mode), comprising:
determining whether the first block satisfies a secondary transformation condition ([0489]- [0490] teaches the determination of the secondary transformation condition);
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the secondary transformation condition, performing the secondary transformation mode ([0239]- [0240], [0268], [0275]- [0277], [0472], [0483], [0489] teaches determining the secondary transformation condition, and performing the secondary transformation mode), including:
performing a first candidate transformation mode on the first block to generate a transformed first block ([0276] [0332] teach preforming the primary transformation mode on the to generate the transformed block) wherein the first candidate transformation mode includes a discrete cosine transform ([0240] teach the transformation mode includes DCT)
performing a second candidate transformation mode on coefficients of the transformed first block, to complete a secondary transformation operation for the first block ([0251], and [0333] teach preforming the secondary transformation mode on the to generate the transformed block after the primary transform);
in response to determining that the first block does not satisfy the secondary transformation condition ([0333] teaches determining the if the block satisfies the condition for the secondary transformation),
obtaining the transformation mode with the smallest cost by comparing a cost of the first candidate transformation mode and a cost of the second candidate transformation mode ([0267], and [0368] teaches the comparison of the cost of the transformation mode and selecting the lowest cost mode);
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches the syntax element indicates a skip residual mode being performed on the first block ([0281] teaches the syntax element that indicates that the skip mode is enabled)
determining whether each of one or more second blocks satisfies an implicit skip transformation condition ([0083] teaches determining implicit skip transform for the blocks): and
in response to determining that the each of the one or more second blocks satisfies the implicit skip transformation condition ([0083] teaches determining implicit skip transform for the blocks):
determining that the set of candidate transformation modes include an implicit selection of transform skip (ISTS) ([0424], and [0426]- [0427] teach ISTS based on block attributes).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Liu teaches, wherein the each of the one or more second blocks is determined based on the first block ([0185] teaches the second blocks are determined based on the first block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Liu does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Li teaches a predicted value of the first block is determined as a reconstructed value of the first block ([0093], and [0106] teach the prediction value as the reconstructed value of the block)
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to further add the IBC prediction as disclosed by Li to improve coding efficiency for intra-BC-predicted bloc (Li [0033]).
Regarding Claim 43, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 42. Zhang further teaches wherein the syntax element includes a label of the skip residual mode, and the label indicates whether the skip residual mode is performed on the first block ([0281] teaches the syntax element that indicates that the skip mode is enabled).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Regarding Claim 44, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 42. Lim further teaches wherein the obtaining a code stream of a first block by encoding the first block comprises:
determining a residual corresponding to the first block ([0014] teaches obtaining the residual block of the block); and
obtaining the code stream of the first block by encoding the residual ([0268], and [0512] teach encoding the residual block, and the encoder, the encoder transmits a bitstream to the decoder, the bitstream contains the residual information).
Regarding Claim 45, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 44. Lim further teaches wherein the determining a residual corresponding to the first block comprises:
obtaining an actual value of the first block and a predicted value of the first block, wherein the predicted value of the first block is obtained in an inter prediction process ([0254], and [0239] teaches the original value and the prediction value, and the prediction value of the block is determined using inter prediction); and
determining the residual based on a difference between the actual value of the first block and the predicted value of the first block ([0002], [0135], and [0239] teaches the residual values as the difference between the predicted values and the original values).
Regarding Claim 48, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 42. Lim further teaches wherein the obtaining a transformation mode with a smallest cost further comprises:
obtaining the transformation mode with the smallest cost by comparing a cost of the implicit selection of transform skip transformation mode and a cost of the discrete cosine transform ([0267], and [0370] teach the evaluation of multiple transformation and selection the optimal transform based on conditions to encode the block).
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches determining whether the first block satisfies an implicit selection of transform skip condition, wherein the implicit selection of transform skip refers to a process of shifting and scaling a residual without transforming the residual ([0424], [0426], and [0489]- [0494] teaches the determination of ISTS for the block, where ISTS includes the shifting and scaling of the residual block);
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the implicit selection of transform skip condition, performing an implicit selection of transform skip transformation mode on the first block ([0424], [0426] teaches the determination of ISTS for the block and preform the ISTS);
performing a discrete cosine transform on the first block ([0256], [0259]- [0260] teaches DCT is used as the default transform mode which is done once before the secondary transform mode).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Regarding Claim 49, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 42. Lim further teaches wherein the obtaining a transformation mode with a smallest cost further comprises:
obtaining the transformation mode with the smallest cost by comparing a cost of the implicit selection of transform skip transformation mode, a cost of the discrete cosine transform, and a cost of the sub-block transformation mode ([0267], and [0370] teach the evaluation of multiple transformation and selection the optimal transform based on conditions to encode the block).
Lim does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches determining whether the first block satisfies an implicit selection of transform skip condition ([0424], [0426], and [0489]- [0494] teaches the determination of ISTS for the block);
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the implicit selection of transform skip condition, performing an implicit selection of transform skip transformation mode on the first block ([0424], [0426] teaches the determination of ISTS for the block and preform the ISTS);
performing a discrete cosine transform on the first block ([0256], [0259]- [0260] teaches DCT is used as the default transform mode which is done once before the secondary transform mode).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to decrease the bandwidth needed for video processing (Zhang [0003]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Liu teaches determining whether the first block satisfies a sub-block transformation condition ([0128]- [0144] teaches the determination that the block meets the conditions for SBT)
in response to determining that the first block satisfies the sub-block transformation condition, performing a sub-block transformation mode on the first block ([0048] teaches the performing SBT on the block).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, to add the implicit selection of transform skip as disclosed by Zhang to further add the sub-block transformation as disclosed by Liu to improve runtime performance (Liu [0025]).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung Chang Lim (US 20210352326 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Li Zhang (US 20230199185 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Hongbin Liu (US 20220007057 A1) (hereinafter Liu) in view of Bin Li (US 20170070748 A1) (hereinafter Li) further in view of Krishnakanth Rapaka (US 20140010292 A1) (hereinafter Rapaka):
Regarding Claim 46, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 42; however, do not explicitly teach determining whether a cost of the skip residual mode is smaller than a cost of the transformation mode with the smallest cost; and
in response to determining that the cost of the skip residual mode is smaller than the cost of the transformation mode with the smallest cost, determining the skip residual mode as a target transformation mode with the smallest cost.
However, in an analogous art, Rapaka teaches determining whether a cost of the skip residual mode is smaller than a cost of the transformation mode with the smallest cost ([0008] determine the cost of the skip mode, and determining if the skip transform has a lower cost); and
in response to determining that the cost of the skip residual mode is smaller than the cost of the transformation mode with the smallest cost, determining the skip residual mode as a target transformation mode with the smallest cost ([0008] determine the cost of the skip mode, and determining if the skip transform has a lower cost, if the skip mode is the small cost, it is selected).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li to further add cost analysis of the transformation skip mode as disclosed by Rapaka to improve coding speed and efficiency (Rapaka [0190]).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung Chang Lim (US 20210352326 A1) (hereinafter Lim) in view of Li Zhang (US 20230199185 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Hongbin Liu (US 20220007057 A1) (hereinafter Liu) in view of Bin Li (US 20170070748 A1) (hereinafter Li) further in Kai Zhang (US 20220174299 A1) (hereinafter Kai):
Regarding Claim 51, Lim in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li teach the method of claim 42. Zhang further teaches in response to determining that a value of the label of the skip residual mode is 1, transforming a current coding unit based on the skip residual mode ([0281] teaches the syntax element that indicates that the skip mode is enabled); and
in response to determining that a value of the label of the skip residual mode is 0 ([0281] teaches the syntax element that indicates that the skip mode is disabled), transforming the current coding unit based on the IBC mode ([0271], and [0291] teaches the transformation of the block based on IBC mode)
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Kai teaches wherein a loop filtering operation is not performed on the first block ([0426] teaches the loop filtering operation is skipped in transform skip mode).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing method and apparatus as disclosed by Lim, in view of Zhang, Liu, and Li to further add loop filtering operation skip as disclosed by Kai to improve compression performance (Kai [0048]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486