DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (20110122503) hereafter Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses in fig. 1B and fig. 2 an optical module, comprising: a base (14); a holding component (12) disposed on the base (14), wherein a position of the holding component (12) relative to the base (14) along a first axial direction (D2 as the claimed “first axial position) is adjustable (par. [0025], note that lens module 12 moves along direction D2) ; an optical element (fig. 1B, par. [0021], line 1, the lens 120 as the claimed “optical element”) disposed on the holding component (12); and at least one detachable structure (fig. 1B, par. [0036], the screw 16 as the claimed “detachable structure” extended from one of the base and the holding component (12) to face another one of the base (14) and the holding component (fig. 1B, par. [0036], the screw extends from holding component 12 to the base 14 for fixing the holding component to the base), so as to limit a position of the holding component (12) relative to the base (14) along a second axial direction (fig. 1B; D1 as the claimed “second axial direction”).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 1, wherein the first axial direction (D2) is perpendicular to the second axial direction (D1) (fig. 1B, par. [0022], lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 1, wherein the first axial direction (D2) and the second axial direction (D1) are perpendicular to an optical axis (shown in labeled fig 1b) of the optical element (see fig. 1B, note D1 and D2 are perpendicular to the optical axis).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 1, wherein the base (14) has two opposite inner walls (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036], the portion of the base 14 that contacts the slots of 1220 of fixing component 120 as the claimed “inner walls”), the holding component (12) has two opposite lateral surfaces (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036], fixing component 12 and through slots 1220 provide the claimed “lateral surfaces”), the two lateral surfaces face the two inner walls respectively (see fig. 5), and the at least one detachable structure (16) is positioned between at least one of the inner walls and at least one of the lateral surfaces (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036], note that screw 16 penetrates through the slot 1220 to connect with the walls of element 14).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 4, wherein the at least one detachable structure (16) is extended from the at least one lateral surface (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036] elements 122 and 1220 provide the claimed “lateral surface”) to face the at least one inner wall (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036], the portion of the base 14 that contacts the slots of 1220 of fixing component 120 as the claimed “inner walls”).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 4, wherein a quantity of the at least one detachable structure (16) is plural (fig. 1b and 5, par. [0016], lines 9-11, the figures clearly depict multiple screws) a part of these detachable structures (16) is positioned between one of the lateral surfaces and a corresponding inner wall (shown in fig. 1b and 5, par. [0036], lines 7-12), and another part of these detachable structures (16) is positioned between another one of the lateral surfaces and a corresponding inner wall (seen in fig. 5, note the screw shaft extends between the elements 122, 1220, and the portion of the base 14 that contacts the slots of 1220 of fixing component 120).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 1, wherein the at least one detachable structure (16) has a connecting part (the shaft of the screw 16 as the claimed “connecting part”) and a limiting part (the head of the screw 16 as the “limiting part”), the connecting part is connected between one of the base and the holding component and the limiting part (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036], the shaft of screw 16 penetrates through the slot 1220 and fixed on to base 14), and the limiting part faces another one of the base and the holding component (fig. 5, par. [0016], lines 7-12).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 8, wherein an outer diameter of the connecting part is smaller than an outer diameter of the limiting part (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036], the shaft of screw 16 as the claimed “connecting part,” has a smaller diameter than the head of the screw 16. The larger diameter of the head of screw 16 is what limits the screw from passing completely through the slot 1220).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 1, wherein a quantity of the at least one detachable structure (16) is plural (fig. 1b and 5, par. [0016], lines 9-11, the figures clearly depict multiple screws), and these detachable structures are connected sequentially along a direction from one of the base and the holding component to another one of the base and the holding component (seen in fig. 1B and 5, note the screw shaft extends between the elements 122, 1220, and the portion of the base 14 that contacts the slots of 1220 of fixing component 120).
Regarding claim 12, Lin discloses the optical module according to claim 1, wherein an outer diameter of the at least one detachable structure (16) gradually increases from one of the base and the holding component to another one of the base and the holding component (fig. 1B and 5, par. [0036] the outer diameter of the screw increases from the base 14 having the smaller diameter of the screw and the holding component 120 having the larger diameter of the screw).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical module specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the at least one detachable structure is extended from the at least one inner wall to face the at least one lateral surface”.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical module specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the at least one detachable structure is in a T-shaped form”.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical module specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the at least one detachable structure is in a L-shaped form.”
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical module specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “at least one gasket, wherein the at least one gasket is detachably disposed between one of the base and the holding component and the at least one detachable structure.”
Conclusion
Liu (20100135010) is being cited herein to show a reference that discloses some similar features to that of the claimed invention. Specifically, fig. 3 shows a base being connected to a lens holding component.
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872